DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' response to restriction requirement received on 05/04/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-20, 25-30 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20, 25-30 are currently presenting for examination.
Claims 21-24 are withdrawn.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, 17-20 are objected to because of the following reasons:
For claims 1, 3, 6, 11, 13, 17, from the claim language, Examiner assumes that it is the one or more processors that perform the functional steps.
However, Examiner recommends Applicants to further clarify the claim language by changing the phrase “to cause the UE to” to “to cause the one or more processors to”.
Otherwise, if Applicants intends for some other hardware components of the UE to perform the steps, then please amend the claims to include those hardware components and clearly indicate that those hardware components perform the steps.
If Applicants intends for any unknown hardware components of the UE to perform the steps, then please clearly states so on record. However, Applicants are reminded that doing so will raise 112 issues since then the claim language would impose no limits as to a particular structure for performing the claimed invention; hence the claims may cover all devices for/ways for performing the claimed functions. As thus, there is a failure to provide a clear-cut indication of claim scope because the functional language is not sufficiently precise and definite, resulting in no boundaries on the claim limitation.
Similarly, for claims 18-20, from the claim language, Examiner assumes that it is the one or more processors that perform the functional steps.
However, Examiner recommends Applicants to further clarify the claim language by changing the phrase “to cause the network entity to” to “to cause the one or more processors to”.
Otherwise, if Applicants intends for some other hardware components of the network entity to perform the steps, then please amend the claims to include those hardware components and clearly indicate that those hardware components perform the steps.
If Applicants intends for any unknown hardware components of the network entity to perform the steps, then please clearly states so on record. However, Applicants are reminded that doing so will raise 112 issues since then the claim language would impose no limits as to a particular structure for performing the claimed invention; hence the claims may cover all devices for/ways for performing the claimed functions. As thus, there is a failure to provide a clear-cut indication of claim scope because the functional language is not sufficiently precise and definite, resulting in no boundaries on the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, 14-19, 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Axmon, US 20130150054.
For claim 1. Axmon teaches: A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: (Axmon, fig 13, paragraph 204-207)
transmit, to a network entity associated with a serving cell, an indication of a capability of the UE to obtain location-specific cell coverage information from an external source, wherein the location-specific cell coverage information in the external source pertains to at least one neighbor cell that neighbors the serving cell; (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; fig 1b, paragraph 3, “An eNB 101a serves a UE 103 in the cell 105a. The eNB 101a is directly connected to the core network. The eNB 101a is also connected via an X2 interface to a neighboring eNB 101b serving another cell 105b.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
obtain the location-specific cell coverage information from the external source in accordance with the capability; and transmit a message to the serving cell based at least in part on the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 2. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the external source is a coverage map or a database and is stored locally or in a server. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “In this exemplary alternative embodiment of the invention, the UE maintains the coverage map database… The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 3. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein, to transmit the indication of the capability of the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit UE assistance information that includes the indication. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “However, in alternative embodiments, the method is performed by the radio network node and the UE in cooperation, as will be described hereinafter… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 4. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the location-specific cell coverage information is obtained from the external source in an absence of an activated measurement gap configuration at the UE. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer. The capability information may be used by the network for several purposes, such as to avoid configuring measurement gaps for certain frequency layers or RATs.”)
For claim 5. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the message transmitted to the serving cell is indicative of a mobility event triggered by the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network. The network in turn uses the received report results for performing one or more of the required mobility tasks described above… In still another alternative embodiment, relevant when the UE is in idle mode, the method is entirely performed by the UE, as it is the UE that decides about any mobility measures in terms of cell reselection when in idle mode. The UE thus performs the measurements, determines its location, assesses the coverage of a target cell of an unmeasured frequency layer based on the location and the coverage map, and eventually also determines whether to perform a cell reselection based on the assessed coverage.”)
For claim 11. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: compare the location-specific cell coverage information or a derivation therefrom with a threshold. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177, “Assessing a coverage of a target cell of the second frequency layer F2 based on the determined location and a coverage map for the at least two frequency layers. The coverage map is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on carrier F2 in that location.”; fig 4, paragraph 121-122, “A simplistic approach to determine from measurements on one carrier whether there is cell coverage on another carrier is illustrated in FIG. 4. Here, it is determined, from an estimated distance from an RBS 401a-c of each cell A, B and C on one carrier, whether the UE is within coverage of the cell D on another carrier. The estimated distances to the RBSs may be derived from timing offsets of signals received for the different cells A, B, and C, or from signal strength levels (e.g., RSRP, RSCP) and/or signal quality levels (e.g., RSRQ, Ec/No). In FIG. 4 it is illustrated how the coverage of an unmeasured cell D, which is normally given by the circle 402, may be expressed in distances from the RBSs 401a-c derived from the measured cells A, B, and C. If the UE is at a distance from the RBS 401a serving cell A which is greater than a1 and smaller than a2, and at a distance from the RBS 401b serving cell B which is greater than b1 and smaller than b2, and at a distance from the RBS 401c serving cell C which is greater than c1 and smaller than c2, the UE is within the area 403 which is thus within the coverage area 402 of cell D. In a more sophisticated approach, some entity in the network maintains a coverage map for intra-RAT and inter-RAT carriers with overlapping coverage. In the case of UTRA this entity may be the RNC, and in the case of E-UTRA, it may be the eNodeB. The particular deployment of the coverage map is not particularly important, as long as it accessible to the entity that seeks to determine whether there is coverage from an unmeasured cell. The entity may be a network node or the UE itself as will be described below. When e.g. the network receives updated information on the UE location, the coverage map(s) is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on other carriers potentially belonging to other RATs in that location. The coverage map may e.g. provide a mapping between signal strength values for the different frequency layers or carriers in a specified location. One example is a mapping between the CPICH RSCP value for a UTRA cell in a certain location and the corresponding RSRP value for a E-UTRA cell. The mapping of other parameter values such as quality measure values may also be provided by the coverage map. Examples of signal quality measures are CPICH Ec/No for a UTRA cell and RSRQ for a E-UTRA cell. Based on a combination of factors, such as a predicted quality of the coverage obtained from the coverage map and the UE location, and a priority of the other carriers relative to the priority of the current intra-frequency carrier, the network may take a decision to move the UE from a cell on one carrier to a cell on another carrier.”)
For claim 14. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 11, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the comparison is between the threshold and an offset between a neighbor signal quality of the at least one neighbor cell and a serving signal quality of the serving cell. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177, “Assessing a coverage of a target cell of the second frequency layer F2 based on the determined location and a coverage map for the at least two frequency layers. The coverage map is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on carrier F2 in that location.”; fig 4, paragraph 121-122, “A simplistic approach to determine from measurements on one carrier whether there is cell coverage on another carrier is illustrated in FIG. 4. Here, it is determined, from an estimated distance from an RBS 401a-c of each cell A, B and C on one carrier, whether the UE is within coverage of the cell D on another carrier. The estimated distances to the RBSs may be derived from timing offsets of signals received for the different cells A, B, and C, or from signal strength levels (e.g., RSRP, RSCP) and/or signal quality levels (e.g., RSRQ, Ec/No). In FIG. 4 it is illustrated how the coverage of an unmeasured cell D, which is normally given by the circle 402, may be expressed in distances from the RBSs 401a-c derived from the measured cells A, B, and C. If the UE is at a distance from the RBS 401a serving cell A which is greater than a1 and smaller than a2, and at a distance from the RBS 401b serving cell B which is greater than b1 and smaller than b2, and at a distance from the RBS 401c serving cell C which is greater than c1 and smaller than c2, the UE is within the area 403 which is thus within the coverage area 402 of cell D. In a more sophisticated approach, some entity in the network maintains a coverage map for intra-RAT and inter-RAT carriers with overlapping coverage. In the case of UTRA this entity may be the RNC, and in the case of E-UTRA, it may be the eNodeB. The particular deployment of the coverage map is not particularly important, as long as it accessible to the entity that seeks to determine whether there is coverage from an unmeasured cell. The entity may be a network node or the UE itself as will be described below. When e.g. the network receives updated information on the UE location, the coverage map(s) is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on other carriers potentially belonging to other RATs in that location. The coverage map may e.g. provide a mapping between signal strength values for the different frequency layers or carriers in a specified location. One example is a mapping between the CPICH RSCP value for a UTRA cell in a certain location and the corresponding RSRP value for a E-UTRA cell. The mapping of other parameter values such as quality measure values may also be provided by the coverage map. Examples of signal quality measures are CPICH Ec/No for a UTRA cell and RSRQ for a E-UTRA cell. Based on a combination of factors, such as a predicted quality of the coverage obtained from the coverage map and the UE location, and a priority of the other carriers relative to the priority of the current intra-frequency carrier, the network may take a decision to move the UE from a cell on one carrier to a cell on another carrier.”)
For claim 15. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the location-specific cell coverage information in the external source includes a current location of the UE and a predicted future location of the UE. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; paragraph 117-120, “There are several existing methods for estimating a UE's location… Location predicted based on a UE trail, such as recent handovers and time between those handovers, and knowledge of geography and/or topography. One example is when the UE is detected to be travelling along a particular route. It will be appreciated that any of the positioning methods described here or any other standardized or proprietary solution revealing the UE location with good enough accuracy may be used for the techniques described here for determining whether there is coverage from an unmeasured cell.”)
For claim 16. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the location-specific cell coverage information includes, for specific locations, one or more of a reference signal received power, a reference signal received quality, a signal to interference plus noise ratio, cell information of a cell associated with a location of the UE including one or more of synchronization signal frequency, carrier frequency, or subcarrier spacing. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; fig 4, paragraph 121-122, “A simplistic approach to determine from measurements on one carrier whether there is cell coverage on another carrier is illustrated in FIG. 4. Here, it is determined, from an estimated distance from an RBS 401a-c of each cell A, B and C on one carrier, whether the UE is within coverage of the cell D on another carrier. The estimated distances to the RBSs may be derived from timing offsets of signals received for the different cells A, B, and C, or from signal strength levels (e.g., RSRP, RSCP) and/or signal quality levels (e.g., RSRQ, Ec/No). In FIG. 4 it is illustrated how the coverage of an unmeasured cell D, which is normally given by the circle 402, may be expressed in distances from the RBSs 401a-c derived from the measured cells A, B, and C. If the UE is at a distance from the RBS 401a serving cell A which is greater than a1 and smaller than a2, and at a distance from the RBS 401b serving cell B which is greater than b1 and smaller than b2, and at a distance from the RBS 401c serving cell C which is greater than c1 and smaller than c2, the UE is within the area 403 which is thus within the coverage area 402 of cell D.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 17. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: refrain from performance of periodically-scheduled measurements based at least in part on the capability of the UE and on the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177, “In one embodiment, the method also comprises transmitting, in 750, a capability to the radio network node, wherein the capability indicates that the UE supports assessment of coverage of cells of the second frequency layer without performing measurements on said cells. In this way, the radio network node knows that it can request the UE to perform the coverage assessment of unmeasured cells.”)
For claim 18. Axmon teaches: A network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: (Axmon, fig 13, paragraph 204-207)
receive, from a UE associated with a serving cell, an indication of a capability of the UE to obtain location-specific cell coverage information from an external source, wherein the location-specific cell coverage information in the external source pertains to at least one neighbor cell that neighbors the serving cell; (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; fig 1b, paragraph 3, “An eNB 101a serves a UE 103 in the cell 105a. The eNB 101a is directly connected to the core network. The eNB 101a is also connected via an X2 interface to a neighboring eNB 101b serving another cell 105b.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
and receive, from the UE, a message based at least in part on the capability of the UE. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 19. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 18, and Axmon further teaches: wherein, to receive the indication of the capability of the UE, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive UE assistance information that includes the indication. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “However, in alternative embodiments, the method is performed by the radio network node and the UE in cooperation, as will be described hereinafter… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 25. Axmon teaches: A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Axmon, paragraph 153-158)
transmitting, to a network entity associated with a serving cell, an indication of a capability of the UE to obtain location-specific cell coverage information from an external source, wherein the location-specific cell coverage information in the external source pertains to at least one neighbor cell that neighbors the serving cell; (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; fig 1b, paragraph 3, “An eNB 101a serves a UE 103 in the cell 105a. The eNB 101a is directly connected to the core network. The eNB 101a is also connected via an X2 interface to a neighboring eNB 101b serving another cell 105b.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
obtaining the location-specific cell coverage information from the external source in accordance with the capability; and transmitting a message to the serving cell based at least in part on the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 26. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 25, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the external source is a coverage map or a database and is stored locally or in a server. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “In this exemplary alternative embodiment of the invention, the UE maintains the coverage map database… The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 27. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 25, and Axmon further teaches: wherein transmitting the indication of the capability of the UE comprises: transmitting UE assistance information that includes the indication. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “However, in alternative embodiments, the method is performed by the radio network node and the UE in cooperation, as will be described hereinafter… According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer.”; also see fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177 for more details)
For claim 28. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 25, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the location-specific cell coverage information is obtained from the external source in an absence of an activated measurement gap configuration at the UE. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “According to one embodiment, the UE may also report to the network its capability to support such a feature, i.e., the capability to provide derived measurement results for a certain target cell on a frequency layer without performing the actual measurement on that frequency layer. The capability information may be used by the network for several purposes, such as to avoid configuring measurement gaps for certain frequency layers or RATs.”)
For claim 29. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 28, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the message transmitted to the serving cell is indicative of a mobility event triggered by the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network. The network in turn uses the received report results for performing one or more of the required mobility tasks described above… In still another alternative embodiment, relevant when the UE is in idle mode, the method is entirely performed by the UE, as it is the UE that decides about any mobility measures in terms of cell reselection when in idle mode. The UE thus performs the measurements, determines its location, assesses the coverage of a target cell of an unmeasured frequency layer based on the location and the coverage map, and eventually also determines whether to perform a cell reselection based on the assessed coverage.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10, 20, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Axmon, US 20130150054 in view of Tang, US 20230337029.
For claim 6. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 1, however Axmon doesn’t teach: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE.
Tang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, from the network entity, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE. (Tang, fig 9, paragraph 136-152, “The UE 602 may also transmit “assistance information” to the BS 604 in step 614, which may include the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602, to help the BS 604 configure the MG… Step 616 includes the BS 604 determining a measurement configuration for the reference carrier/BWP of a MG. This MG may be based on a preferred MG determined by the UE 602 in step 612 and reported to the BS 604 in step 614… Further, the measurement resource configuration may indicate the time resources and/or frequency resources for a measurement, including a possible measurement gap… A measurement report configuration for a reference carrier/BWP enables the UE 602 to report the results of a measurement on the reference carrier/BWP. The measurement report configuration may include time-frequency resources for sending the measurement report. The measurement report configuration may also include a measurement report criterion or type, which defines a trigger for transmitting a measurement report. The measurement report type may indicate periodic measurement reporting or event-triggered measurement reporting… Step 618 includes determining a measurement report configuration for the non-reference carrier(s)/BWP(s) in the MG group(s) configured for the UE 602. A measurement report configuration for a non-reference carrier/BWP may be similar to a measurement report configuration for the reference carrier/BWP determined in step 616… Step 620 includes the BS 604 transmitting the measurement configuration(s) determined in step 616 and the measurement report configuration(s) determined in step 618 to the UE 602.”; fig 10, paragraph 162-167, “The BS 604 may also or instead configure the MG based on the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Tang into Axmon, since Axmon suggests a technique for UE communicating its capability to base station, and Tang suggests the beneficial way of having such base station determining measurement configuration for UE based on such capability and communicating such measurement configuration to the UE to reduce the overhead associated with measurement gaps (Tang, paragraph 179) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 7. Axmon and Tang disclose all the limitations of claim 6, and Tang further teaches: wherein the measurement gap configuration includes a measurement periodicity that is based on the capability of the UE. (Tang, fig 9, paragraph 136-152, “The UE 602 may also transmit “assistance information” to the BS 604 in step 614, which may include the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602, to help the BS 604 configure the MG… Step 616 includes the BS 604 determining a measurement configuration for the reference carrier/BWP of a MG. This MG may be based on a preferred MG determined by the UE 602 in step 612 and reported to the BS 604 in step 614… Further, the measurement resource configuration may indicate the time resources and/or frequency resources for a measurement, including a possible measurement gap… A measurement report configuration for a reference carrier/BWP enables the UE 602 to report the results of a measurement on the reference carrier/BWP. The measurement report configuration may include time-frequency resources for sending the measurement report. The measurement report configuration may also include a measurement report criterion or type, which defines a trigger for transmitting a measurement report. The measurement report type may indicate periodic measurement reporting or event-triggered measurement reporting… Step 618 includes determining a measurement report configuration for the non-reference carrier(s)/BWP(s) in the MG group(s) configured for the UE 602. A measurement report configuration for a non-reference carrier/BWP may be similar to a measurement report configuration for the reference carrier/BWP determined in step 616… Step 620 includes the BS 604 transmitting the measurement configuration(s) determined in step 616 and the measurement report configuration(s) determined in step 618 to the UE 602.”; fig 10, paragraph 162-167, “The BS 604 may also or instead configure the MG based on the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602.”)
For claim 8. Axmon and Tang disclose all the limitations of claim 6, and Tang further teaches: wherein the measurement gap configuration indicates that UE measurements are aperiodic, based on the capability of the UE. (Tang, fig 9, paragraph 136-152, “The UE 602 may also transmit “assistance information” to the BS 604 in step 614, which may include the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602, to help the BS 604 configure the MG… Step 616 includes the BS 604 determining a measurement configuration for the reference carrier/BWP of a MG. This MG may be based on a preferred MG determined by the UE 602 in step 612 and reported to the BS 604 in step 614… Further, the measurement resource configuration may indicate the time resources and/or frequency resources for a measurement, including a possible measurement gap… A measurement report configuration for a reference carrier/BWP enables the UE 602 to report the results of a measurement on the reference carrier/BWP. The measurement report configuration may include time-frequency resources for sending the measurement report. The measurement report configuration may also include a measurement report criterion or type, which defines a trigger for transmitting a measurement report. The measurement report type may indicate periodic measurement reporting or event-triggered measurement reporting… Step 618 includes determining a measurement report configuration for the non-reference carrier(s)/BWP(s) in the MG group(s) configured for the UE 602. A measurement report configuration for a non-reference carrier/BWP may be similar to a measurement report configuration for the reference carrier/BWP determined in step 616… Step 620 includes the BS 604 transmitting the measurement configuration(s) determined in step 616 and the measurement report configuration(s) determined in step 618 to the UE 602.”; fig 10, paragraph 162-167, “The BS 604 may also or instead configure the MG based on the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602.”)
For claim 9. Axmon and Tang disclose all the limitations of claim 6, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the message transmitted to the serving cell is indicative of a mobility event triggered by measurements made by the UE in accordance with the measurement gap configuration or triggered by a combination of the measurements and the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node. The reporting of the derived value of the target cell may be sent in response to a request from the network.”)
For claim 10. Axmon and Tang disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and Axmon further teaches: wherein the combination is a weighted average of the measurements and the location-specific cell coverage information. (Axmon, paragraph 153-158, “The UE performs measurements on cells of one frequency layer or RAT such as the serving RAT, and determines its location from the measurements. The UE then uses the coverage map to assess the coverage of a target cell of another RAT. Based on this assessment, the UE reports a derived value of a measurement on the target cell to the radio network node.”; fig 7a-b, paragraph 171-177, “Assessing a coverage of a target cell of the second frequency layer F2 based on the determined location and a coverage map for the at least two frequency layers. The coverage map is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on carrier F2 in that location.”; fig 4, paragraph 121-122, “A simplistic approach to determine from measurements on one carrier whether there is cell coverage on another carrier is illustrated in FIG. 4. Here, it is determined, from an estimated distance from an RBS 401a-c of each cell A, B and C on one carrier, whether the UE is within coverage of the cell D on another carrier. The estimated distances to the RBSs may be derived from timing offsets of signals received for the different cells A, B, and C, or from signal strength levels (e.g., RSRP, RSCP) and/or signal quality levels (e.g., RSRQ, Ec/No). In FIG. 4 it is illustrated how the coverage of an unmeasured cell D, which is normally given by the circle 402, may be expressed in distances from the RBSs 401a-c derived from the measured cells A, B, and C. If the UE is at a distance from the RBS 401a serving cell A which is greater than a1 and smaller than a2, and at a distance from the RBS 401b serving cell B which is greater than b1 and smaller than b2, and at a distance from the RBS 401c serving cell C which is greater than c1 and smaller than c2, the UE is within the area 403 which is thus within the coverage area 402 of cell D. In a more sophisticated approach, some entity in the network maintains a coverage map for intra-RAT and inter-RAT carriers with overlapping coverage. In the case of UTRA this entity may be the RNC, and in the case of E-UTRA, it may be the eNodeB. The particular deployment of the coverage map is not particularly important, as long as it accessible to the entity that seeks to determine whether there is coverage from an unmeasured cell. The entity may be a network node or the UE itself as will be described below. When e.g. the network receives updated information on the UE location, the coverage map(s) is checked to see whether there are cells with good coverage on other carriers potentially belonging to other RATs in that location. The coverage map may e.g. provide a mapping between signal strength values for the different frequency layers or carriers in a specified location. One example is a mapping between the CPICH RSCP value for a UTRA cell in a certain location and the corresponding RSRP value for a E-UTRA cell. The mapping of other parameter values such as quality measure values may also be provided by the coverage map. Examples of signal quality measures are CPICH Ec/No for a UTRA cell and RSRQ for a E-UTRA cell. Based on a combination of factors, such as a predicted quality of the coverage obtained from the coverage map and the UE location, and a priority of the other carriers relative to the priority of the current intra-frequency carrier, the network may take a decision to move the UE from a cell on one carrier to a cell on another carrier.”)
For claim 20. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 18, however Axmon doesn’t teach: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the UE, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE.
Tang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the UE, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE. (Tang, fig 9, paragraph 136-152, “The UE 602 may also transmit “assistance information” to the BS 604 in step 614, which may include the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602, to help the BS 604 configure the MG… Step 616 includes the BS 604 determining a measurement configuration for the reference carrier/BWP of a MG. This MG may be based on a preferred MG determined by the UE 602 in step 612 and reported to the BS 604 in step 614… Further, the measurement resource configuration may indicate the time resources and/or frequency resources for a measurement, including a possible measurement gap… A measurement report configuration for a reference carrier/BWP enables the UE 602 to report the results of a measurement on the reference carrier/BWP. The measurement report configuration may include time-frequency resources for sending the measurement report. The measurement report configuration may also include a measurement report criterion or type, which defines a trigger for transmitting a measurement report. The measurement report type may indicate periodic measurement reporting or event-triggered measurement reporting… Step 618 includes determining a measurement report configuration for the non-reference carrier(s)/BWP(s) in the MG group(s) configured for the UE 602. A measurement report configuration for a non-reference carrier/BWP may be similar to a measurement report configuration for the reference carrier/BWP determined in step 616… Step 620 includes the BS 604 transmitting the measurement configuration(s) determined in step 616 and the measurement report configuration(s) determined in step 618 to the UE 602.”; fig 10, paragraph 162-167, “The BS 604 may also or instead configure the MG based on the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Tang into Axmon, since Axmon suggests a technique for UE communicating its capability to base station, and Tang suggests the beneficial way of having such base station determining measurement configuration for UE based on such capability and communicating such measurement configuration to the UE to reduce the overhead associated with measurement gaps (Tang, paragraph 179) in the analogous art of communication.
For claim 30. Axmon discloses all the limitations of claim 25, however Axmon doesn’t teach: further comprising: receiving, from the network entity, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE.
Tang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising: receiving, from the network entity, a measurement gap configuration that is based at least in part on the capability of the UE. (Tang, fig 9, paragraph 136-152, “The UE 602 may also transmit “assistance information” to the BS 604 in step 614, which may include the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602, to help the BS 604 configure the MG… Step 616 includes the BS 604 determining a measurement configuration for the reference carrier/BWP of a MG. This MG may be based on a preferred MG determined by the UE 602 in step 612 and reported to the BS 604 in step 614… Further, the measurement resource configuration may indicate the time resources and/or frequency resources for a measurement, including a possible measurement gap… A measurement report configuration for a reference carrier/BWP enables the UE 602 to report the results of a measurement on the reference carrier/BWP. The measurement report configuration may include time-frequency resources for sending the measurement report. The measurement report configuration may also include a measurement report criterion or type, which defines a trigger for transmitting a measurement report. The measurement report type may indicate periodic measurement reporting or event-triggered measurement reporting… Step 618 includes determining a measurement report configuration for the non-reference carrier(s)/BWP(s) in the MG group(s) configured for the UE 602. A measurement report configuration for a non-reference carrier/BWP may be similar to a measurement report configuration for the reference carrier/BWP determined in step 616… Step 620 includes the BS 604 transmitting the measurement configuration(s) determined in step 616 and the measurement report configuration(s) determined in step 618 to the UE 602.”; fig 10, paragraph 162-167, “The BS 604 may also or instead configure the MG based on the AI/ML, positioning and/or sensing capabilities of the UE 602.”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Tang into Axmon, since Axmon suggests a technique for UE communicating its capability to base station, and Tang suggests the beneficial way of having such base station determining measurement configuration for UE based on such capability and communicating such measurement configuration to the UE to reduce the overhead associated with measurement gaps (Tang, paragraph 179) in the analogous art of communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHOA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462