DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 01/21/2026, with respect to 102 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Somasundaram et al. (US 20080227453 A1)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Somasundaram et al. (US 20080227453 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Somasundaram et al. teach A cell selection method, comprising:
receiving, by a first communication apparatus, a first message from a first network device ([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block (block 203));
determining, by the first communication apparatus based on the first message, a first adjustment parameter associated with cell selection ([0098] If the cell under consideration is not a cell on which the WTRU would opt to camp due to the value of Qcell-_load, then the value of Qcell-_load is subtracted from the signal power and quality measurements (block 207). Note: The first adjustment parameter is interpreted as the parameter Qcell-_load);
performing, by the first communication apparatus based on the first adjustment parameter, signal measurement on a first cell corresponding to the first network device ([0098] By subtracting the value of Qcell-_load, the cell will have lower signal power and quality measurements as compared with other neighboring cells, thereby making it less likely that the cell will be chosen for cell reselection by the WTRU); and
if a signal measurement result meets a cell selection criterion ([0098] the servicing and neighboring cells are ranked (block 211)) including loading of a target cell ([0102] The parameter Qcell-_load may also be included along with the other parameters used in cell ranking) in relation to a required service type ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type), determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first cell as the target cell for camping on ([0098] the WTRU will select the cell with the better signal and camp on the better cell (block 213)).
Regarding claim 2, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a table of mapping between at least one service type and at least one candidate adjustment parameter ( [0117] the network may signal an optional scaling parameter along with the parameter signaled to the WTRU ... there may be different scaling factors (weights) to each of the ranking parameters).
Regarding claim 3, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises at least one candidate adjustment parameter corresponding to at least one service type, and the at least one candidate adjustment parameter is determined by the first network device for the at least one service type based on cell load information of the first cell ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type)..
Regarding claim 4, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining a first adjustment parameter comprises:
selecting, by the first communication apparatus from the at least one candidate adjustment parameter, a candidate adjustment parameter corresponding to a service type of the first communication apparatus as the first adjustment parameter ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type).
Regarding claim 5, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises cell load information of the first cell (([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU), and the determining a first adjustment parameter comprises:
determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first adjustment parameter based on the cell load information ([0098] By subtracting the value of Qcell-_load, the cell will have lower signal power and quality measurements as compared with other neighboring cells, thereby making it less likely that the cell will be chosen for cell reselection by the WTRU).
Regarding claim 7, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
performing, by the first communication apparatus, signal measurement on a serving cell of the first communication apparatus {0006] received signal code power (RSCP) is measured by the WTRU); and
the determining the first cell as a target cell for camping on comprises:
if the signal measurement result of the first cell is better than a signal measurement result of the serving cell, determining, by the first communication apparatus, the first cell as the target cell for camping on ([0098] the WTRU will select the cell with the better signal and camp on the better cell).
Regarding claim 8, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 7, wherein the performing signal measurement on a serving cell comprises:
performing, by the first communication apparatus, the signal measurement on the serving cell based on a second adjustment parameter ([0105] the parameter Qbw--_cap is added to the signal power and quality measurements for that cell (block 309)), wherein the second adjustment parameter is determined by the first communication apparatus based on a second message received by the first communication apparatus from a second network device ([0104] The WTRU calculates a parameter Qbw--_cap based on the bandwidth capabilities signaled by the network (block 303)) corresponding to the serving cell and a service type of the first communication apparatus ([0105] If the bandwidth capabilities of the cell under match those of the WTRU (block 305). Note: the second adjustment parameter is interpreted as the parameter Qbw--_cap).
Regarding claim 9, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 8, wherein at least one of the first adjustment parameter and the second adjustment parameter is zero ([0118] where a represents a scaling factor that may go from 0 to a value N).
Regarding claim 10, Somasundaram et al. teach A cell selection method, comprising:
generating, by a second communication apparatus, a first message ([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block); and
sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first message to a terminal device (([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block), so that the terminal device determines, based on the first message, a first adjustment parameter associated with cell selection ([0098] If the cell under consideration is not a cell on which the WTRU would opt to camp due to the value of Qcell-_load, then the value of Qcell-_load is subtracted from the signal power and quality measurements (block 207))that includes cell loading information for cell selection including loading of a target cell ([0102] The parameter Qcell-_load may also be included along with the other parameters used in cell ranking) in relation to a required service type ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type).
Regarding claim 11, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 10, wherein the first message comprises a table of mapping between at least one service type and at least one candidate adjustment parameter ( [0117] the network may signal an optional scaling parameter along with the parameter signaled to the WTRU ... there may be different scaling factors (weights) to each of the ranking parameters).
Regarding claim 12, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 10, wherein the second communication apparatus corresponds to a first cell ([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block (block 203), the first message comprises at least one candidate adjustment parameter ([0097] the parameter Qcell-_load) corresponding to at least one service type, and the at least one candidate adjustment parameter is determined by the second communication apparatus for the at least one service type based on cell load information of the first cell ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type)..
Regarding claim 13, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 10, wherein the second communication apparatus corresponds to a first cell ([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block (block 203), and the first message comprises cell load information of the first cell cell (([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU),.
Regarding claim 15, Somasundaram et al. teach A first communication apparatus ([0004] a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU)), comprising:
at least one processor (Note: inherent in a WTRU); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (Note: inherent in a WTRU), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured with the at least one processor to enable the terminal device to perform the following steps:
receiving a first message from a first network device ([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU, signaling the parameter in a system information block (block 203));
determining, based on the first message, a first adjustment parameter associated with cell selection ([0098] If the cell under consideration is not a cell on which the WTRU would opt to camp due to the value of Qcell-_load, then the value of Qcell-_load is subtracted from the signal power and quality measurements (block 207). Note: The first adjustment parameter is interpreted as the parameter Qcell-_load);
performing, based on the first adjustment parameter, signal measurement on a first cell corresponding to the first network device ([0098] By subtracting the value of Qcell-_load, the cell will have lower signal power and quality measurements as compared with other neighboring cells, thereby making it less likely that the cell will be chosen for cell reselection by the WTRU); and
if a signal measurement result meets a cell selection criterion ([0098] the servicing and neighboring cells are ranked (block 211)) that includes cell loading information for cell selection ([0102] The parameter Qcell-_load may also be included along with the other parameters used in cell ranking, determining the first cell as a target cell for camping on ([0098] the WTRU will select the cell with the better signal and camp on the better cell (block 213)) based at least in part on the cell loading information including loading of a target cell in relation to a required service type ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type).
Regarding claim 16, Somasundaram et al. teach The first communication apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first message comprises a table of mapping between at least one service type and at least one candidate adjustment parameter ( [0117] the network may signal an optional scaling parameter along with the parameter signaled to the WTRU ... there may be different scaling factors (weights) to each of the ranking parameters).
Regarding claim 17, Somasundaram et al. teach The first communication apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first message comprises at least one candidate adjustment parameter corresponding to at least one service type, and the at least one candidate adjustment parameter is determined by the first network device for the at least one service type based on cell load information of the first cell ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “b” corresponding to the load, and selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type)..
Regarding claim 18, Somasundaram et al. teach The first communication apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the first adjustment parameter in the following manner:
selecting, from the at least one candidate adjustment parameter, a candidate adjustment parameter corresponding to a service type of the terminal device as the first adjustment parameter ( [0117] Equation (12) showing selecting an adjustment parameter “d” corresponding to the UE subscribed service type).
Regarding claim 19, Somasundaram et al. teach The first communication apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first message comprises cell load information of the first cell (([0097] After the parameter Qcell-_load has been determined, the network transmits the parameter to a WTRU), and the processor is further configured to determine the first adjustment parameter in the following manner:
determining the first adjustment parameter based on the cell load information ([0098] By subtracting the value of Qcell-_load, the cell will have lower signal power and quality measurements as compared with other neighboring cells, thereby making it less likely that the cell will be chosen for cell reselection by the WTRU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasundaram et al. (US 20080227453 A1) in view of Sfar (US 20130242767 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 3, but do not explicitly teach
wherein the cell load information comprises at least one of the following: a physical resource block utilization rate associated with the first cell, a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state, a radio resource control RRC connection capacity, a quantity of RRC connections, a random access channel delay, a cell capacity, and a transport network layer capacity.
In a similar endeavor, Sfar teaches
wherein the cell load information comprises a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state (Sfar [0020] the traffic load is determined based on a number of ongoing communications in the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Somasundaram et al. by incorporating Sfar traffic load to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have selected a cell with less traffic load to balance the traffic load over different cells..
Regarding claim 14, Somasundaram et al. teach The method according to claim 12, but do not explicitly teach
wherein the cell load information comprises at least one of the following:
a physical resource block utilization rate associated with the first cell,
a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state,
a radio resource control RRC connection capacity,
a quantity of RRC connections, a random access channel delay, a cell capacity, and a transport network layer capacity.
In a similar endeavor, Sfar teaches
wherein the cell load information comprises
a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state (Sfar [0020] the traffic load is determined based on a number of ongoing communications in the cell)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Somasundaram et al. by incorporating Sfar traffic load to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have selected a cell with less traffic load to balance the traffic load over different cells..
Regarding claim 20, Somasundaram et al. teach The first communication apparatus according to claim 17, but do not explicitly teach
wherein the cell load information comprises at least one of the following: a physical resource block utilization rate associated with the first cell, a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state, a radio resource control RRC connection capacity, a quantity of RRC connections, a random access channel delay, a cell capacity, and a transport network layer capacity.
In a similar endeavor, Sfar teaches
wherein the cell load information comprises a quantity of terminal devices in an activated state (Sfar [0020] the traffic load is determined based on a number of ongoing communications in the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Somasundaram et al. by incorporating Sfar traffic load to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have selected a cell with less traffic load to balance the traffic load over different cells..
Regarding claim 21, Somasundaram et al. teach The method of claim but do not teach
wherein the cell load information includes at least one of:
a physical resource block (PRB) utilization rate associated with a cell which comprises:
an uplink/downlink PRB utilization rate,
an uplink/downlink guaranteed bit rate (GBR) PRB utilization rate,
an uplink/downlink non-GBR PRB utilization rate, or physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) control channel unit (CCE) utilization rate, and
a quantity of RRC connections which may include a quantity of users in an RRC connected state, a quantity of RRC connections, or an RRC connection capacity, or a random access delay,
cell capacity information, or
a transport network layer capacity.
In a similar endeavor, Sfar teaches
wherein the cell load information comprises a quantity of RRC connections which may include a quantity of users in an RRC connected state (Sfar [0020] the traffic load is determined based on a number of ongoing communications in the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Somasundaram et al. by incorporating Sfar traffic load to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have selected a cell with less traffic load to balance the traffic load over different cells..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644