Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 (response to arguments of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on pages 8-16 with respect to claims 1, 3-15, and 17-30) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments argue that Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose … transmit, to a wireless node via the at least one transceiver and during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node. However, Lu et al discloses non-AP STA requesting association with AP. In Sections 0033, 0035, 0041, 0044, 0049, and 0065: non-AP STA can request for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP, and then AP transmits the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA in an association response. Since non-AP STA requests for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP and receives the preamble puncturing pattern from AP in an association response, AP is the claimed “unassociated” with non-AP STA until the association process with AP is completed (claimed “wherein the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node”). So, Lu et al disclose AP transmitting the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA, wherein AP is unassociated with non-AP STA. Das et al was used to disclose that AP can transmit updated parameters to non-AP STA when AP is unassociated with non-AP STA during a sensing measurement exchange. Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) and Sections 0117-0119: during a sensing measurement exchange, AP records the TSF time when AP sends a TF Ranging Poll in a measurement instance and informs STA of the TSF time as a Partial TSF. So, AP determines the updated TSF time in the measurement instance. The TSF time changes depending on the measurement instance, so the updated TSF time must be indicated to STA in order to synchronize STA with AP. Figure 11 discloses a method during a sensing measurement exchange for updating a TSF of an unassociated non-AP STA. Figure 11, step 1106: STA decodes a sensing sounding TF 1006 received from AP during a TF sounding phase of the TB sensing measurement instance; the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes the updated partial TSF information 904. STA updates a TSF of STA based on the partial TSF information. Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Although Das et al do not disclose the claimed “a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”, Das et al disclose that AP can transmit updated parameters to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange. By applying Das et al to Lu et al: AP of Lu et al can transmit updated parameters, such as a puncturing pattern update, to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange, as disclosed by Das et al. Lu et al disclose that AP can transmit the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA, wherein AP is unassociated with non-AP STA. Das et al was used to teach a similar method of AP transmitting updated parameters to non-AP STA when AP is unassociated with non-AP STA, and the use of a sensing measurement exchange to transmit the updated parameters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 14, 15, 18-21, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al.
Referring to claim 1, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 an apparatus (AP 1310) for wireless communications, comprising:
At least one transceiver (transceiver 1316).
One or more memories (memory 1314) comprising computer-executable instructions (Section 0056).
One or more processors (processor 1312) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to (processor 1312 executes instructions stored in memory 1314 to perform AP functions):
Obtain (changes) or receive via the at least one transceiver (transceiver 1316), at least one of a TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a puncturing pattern update (preamble puncturing pattern), or a spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: AP changes the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically as triggered by one or more predefined events, such as detection of radar signals, load control, avoidance of reaching a power limit, etc. So, AP updates (claimed “obtains”) the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically.
Transmit, to a wireless node (non-AP STA 1320) via the at least one transceiver …, a frame (management frame) comprising a notification (beacon or probe response) of at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) … Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1316, AP notifies non-AP STA of the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Lu et al do not disclose … transmit, to a wireless node via the at least one transceiver and during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node. However, Lu et al briefly discloses non-STA requesting association with AP. In Sections 0033, 0035, 0041, 0044, 0049, and 0065: non-AP STA can request for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP, and then AP transmits the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA in an association response. Since non-AP STA requests for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP and receives the preamble puncturing pattern from AP in an association response, AP is the claimed “unassociated” with non-AP STA until the association process with AP is completed (claimed “wherein the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node”).
Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) and Sections 0117-0119: during a sensing measurement exchange, AP records the TSF time when AP sends a TF Ranging Poll in a measurement instance and informs STA of the TSF time as a Partial TSF. So, AP determines the updated TSF time in the measurement instance. The TSF time changes depending on the measurement instance, so the updated TSF time must be indicated to STA in order to synchronize STA with AP. Figure 11 discloses a method during a sensing measurement exchange for updating a TSF of an unassociated non-AP STA. Figure 11, step 1106: STA decodes a sensing sounding TF 1006 received from AP during a TF sounding phase of the TB sensing measurement instance; the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes the updated partial TSF information 904. STA updates a TSF of STA based on the partial TSF information. Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Although Das et al do not disclose the claimed “a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”, Das et al disclose that AP can transmit updated parameters to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange. By applying Das et al to Lu et al: AP of Lu et al can transmit updated parameters, such as a puncturing pattern update, to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange, as disclosed by Das et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … transmit, to a wireless node via the at least one transceiver and during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-AP STA can receive updated parameters from AP even if non-STA is not associated with AP during a sensing measurement exchange to exchange data, thereby allowing non-AP STA to receive updates and discover APs without full association.
Referring to claim 4, Lu et al do not disclose wherein the sensing measurement exchange comprises a TB sensing measurement exchange.
Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) and Sections 0117-0119: during a TB sensing measurement exchange, AP records the TSF time when AP sends a TF Ranging Poll in a measurement instance and informs STA of the TSF time as a Partial TSF. So, AP determines the updated TSF time in the measurement instance. The TSF time changes depending on the measurement instance, so the updated TSF time must be indicated to STA in order to synchronize STA with AP. Figure 11 discloses a method during a TB sensing measurement exchange for updating a TSF of an unassociated non-AP STA with the use of a trigger frame 1102 to trigger the TB sensing measurement exchange. Figure 11, step 1106: STA decodes a sensing sounding TF 1006 received from AP during a TF sounding phase of the TB sensing measurement instance; the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes the updated partial TSF information 904. STA updates a TSF of STA based on the partial TSF information. Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the sensing measurement exchange comprises a TB sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-AP STA can receive updated parameters from AP with the use of a trigger frame from AP to initiate the TB sensing measurement exchange.
Referring to claim 5, Lu et al do not disclose wherein the frame comprises a trigger frame, and wherein the notification is transmitted via one or more bits of at least one of: a common information field of the trigger frame, a user information field of the trigger frame, a trigger dependent field of the trigger frame, or a BSS parameter change count field of the trigger frame.
Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) wherein the sensing sounding TF 1006 (claimed “trigger frame”) is transmitted via one or more bits (Figure 9, Sections 0121-0124, 0142, and 0145: TSF is indicated in bits) of at least one of: a common information field of the trigger frame (Section 0145: TSF can be indicated in bits of a common info subfield of a trigger frame), a user information field of the trigger frame (Figure 9, Sections 0121-0128, 0131-0133, 0135-0138, 0140-0144, and 0148-0156: the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes a special user information field 900 containing partial TSF information 904), or a trigger dependent field of the trigger frame (Sections 0142 and 0145: TSF can be indicated in bits of a Trigger Dependent User Info subfield of a trigger frame or in bits of a Trigger Dependent Common Info subfield of a trigger frame). Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the frame comprises a trigger frame, and wherein the notification is transmitted via one or more bits of at least one of: a common information field of the trigger frame, a user information field of the trigger frame, a trigger dependent field of the trigger frame, or a BSS parameter change count field of the trigger frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so since an updated parameter can be conventionally transmitted via bits of a common information field of the trigger frame, a user information field of the trigger frame, or a trigger dependent field of the trigger frame.
Referring to claim 6, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) via at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: AP notifies non-AP STA of the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Referring to claim 7, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first apparatus to:
Receive, via the at least one transceiver, a query frame (request frame). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1316, AP receives a request frame from non-AP STA for a preamble puncturing pattern update.
Transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) via a response frame (probe response) after receiving the query frame. Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1316 and in response to the request frame from non-AP STA, AP notifies non-AP STA of the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. The probe response frame is in response to a request frame, such as a probe request frame. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Referring to claim 14, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the apparatus is configured as an AP (AP 1310). Refer to Sections 0037-0110, specifically Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102.
Referring to claim 15, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 an apparatus (non-AP STA 1320) for wireless communications, comprising:
At least one transceiver (transceiver 1326).
One or more memories (memory 1324) comprising computer-executable instructions (Section 0056).
One or more processors (processor 1322) configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to cause the apparatus to (processor 1322 executes instructions stored in memory 1324 to perform non-AP STA functions):
Receive, from a wireless node (AP) via the at least one transceiver …, a frame comprising a notification (beacon or probe response) indicating at least one of a TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a puncturing pattern update (preamble puncturing pattern), or a spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) ... Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: AP changes the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically as triggered by one or more predefined events, such as detection of radar signals, load control, avoidance of reaching a power limit, etc. So, AP updates the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically. Using transceiver 1326, non-AP STA receives from AP the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames.
Receive, via the at least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update (preamble puncturing pattern), or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1326, non-AP STA receives from AP the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Lu et al do not disclose … receive, from a wireless node via the at least one transceiver and during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node. However, Lu et al briefly discloses non-STA requesting association with AP. In Sections 0033, 0035, 0041, 0044, 0049, and 0065: non-AP STA can request for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP, and then AP transmits the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA in an association response. Since non-AP STA requests for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP and receives the preamble puncturing pattern from AP in an association response, AP is the claimed “unassociated” with non-AP STA until the association process with AP is completed (claimed “wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node”).
Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) and Sections 0117-0119: during a sensing measurement exchange, AP records the TSF time when AP sends a TF Ranging Poll in a measurement instance and informs STA of the TSF time as a Partial TSF. So, AP determines the updated TSF time in the measurement instance. The TSF time changes depending on the measurement instance, so the updated TSF time must be indicated to STA in order to synchronize STA with AP. Figure 11 discloses a method during a sensing measurement exchange for updating a TSF of an unassociated non-AP STA. Figure 11, step 1106: STA decodes a sensing sounding TF 1006 received from AP during a TF sounding phase of the TB sensing measurement instance; the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes the updated partial TSF information 904. STA updates a TSF of STA based on the partial TSF information. Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Although Das et al do not disclose the claimed “a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”, Das et al disclose that AP can transmit updated parameters to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange. By applying Das et al to Lu et al: AP of Lu et al can transmit updated parameters, such as a puncturing pattern update, to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange, as disclosed by Das et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receive, from a wireless node via the at least one transceiver and during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the wireless node. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-AP STA can receive updated parameters from AP even if non-STA is not associated with AP during a sensing measurement exchange to exchange data, thereby allowing non-AP STA to receive updates and discover APs without full association.
Referring to claim 18, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 20, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) is received via at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame. Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: AP notifies non-AP STA of the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Referring to claim 21, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first wireless node to:
Transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a query frame (request frame). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1326, non-AP STA transmits a request frame to AP for a preamble puncturing pattern update.
Wherein at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) is received via a response frame (probe response) after transmitting the query frame. Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Using transceiver 1316 and in response to the request frame from non-AP STA, AP notifies non-AP STA of the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. The probe response frame is in response to a request frame, such as a probe request frame. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Referring to claim 29, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless station (non-AP STA). Refer to Sections 0037-0110, specifically Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102.
Referring to claim 30, Lu et al disclose in Figures 1-15 a method of wireless communications by a second wireless node (non-AP STA 1320), comprising:
Receiving … a frame comprising a notification (beacon or probe response) indicating at least one of a TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a puncturing pattern update (preamble puncturing pattern), or a spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), … the first wireless node (AP). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: AP changes the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically as triggered by one or more predefined events, such as detection of radar signals, load control, avoidance of reaching a power limit, etc. So, AP updates the preamble puncturing pattern periodically or non-periodically. Non-AP STA receives from AP the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames.
Receiving at least one of the TPE update (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), the puncturing pattern update (preamble puncturing pattern), or the spatial stream change (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102: Non-AP STA receives from AP the updated preamble puncturing pattern in a management frame, such as beacon, probe response, or other frames. Refer to Sections 0037-0110.
Lu et al do not disclose … receiving, during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the first wireless node. However, Lu et al briefly discloses non-STA requesting association with AP. In Sections 0033, 0035, 0041, 0044, 0049, and 0065: non-AP STA can request for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP, and then AP transmits the preamble puncturing pattern to non-AP STA in an association response. Since non-AP STA requests for the preamble puncturing pattern in an association request to AP and receives the preamble puncturing pattern from AP in an association response, AP is the claimed “unassociated” with non-AP STA until the association process with AP is completed (claimed “wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the first wireless node”).
Das et al disclose in Figures 1-11 (specifically, Figures 9-11 and Sections 0115-0157) and Sections 0117-0119: during a sensing measurement exchange, AP records the TSF time when AP sends a TF Ranging Poll in a measurement instance and informs STA of the TSF time as a Partial TSF. So, AP determines the updated TSF time in the measurement instance. The TSF time changes depending on the measurement instance, so the updated TSF time must be indicated to STA in order to synchronize STA with AP. Figure 11 discloses a method during a sensing measurement exchange for updating a TSF of an unassociated non-AP STA. Figure 11, step 1106: STA decodes a sensing sounding TF 1006 received from AP during a TF sounding phase of the TB sensing measurement instance; the sensing sounding TF 1006 includes the updated partial TSF information 904. STA updates a TSF of STA based on the partial TSF information. Refer to Sections 0016-0157. Although Das et al do not disclose the claimed “a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”, Das et al disclose that AP can transmit updated parameters to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange. By applying Das et al to Lu et al: AP of Lu et al can transmit updated parameters, such as a puncturing pattern update, to non-STA in an unassociated state during a sensing measurement exchange, as disclosed by Das et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … receiving, during a sensing measurement exchange, a frame comprising a notification of at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change, wherein the notification is received while the apparatus is unassociated with the first wireless node. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-AP STA can receive updated parameters from AP even if non-STA is not associated with AP during a sensing measurement exchange to exchange data, thereby allowing non-AP STA to receive updates and discover APs without full association.
Claims 3, 17, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250301354 to Pushkarna et al.
Referring to claim 3, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the sensing measurement exchange comprises a non TB sensing measurement exchange.
Pushkarna disclose in Figures 1-42 and Sections 0147-0154 and 0169 wherein in a non-TB sensing measurement exchange, non-AP STA initiates the sensing measurement exchange with AP by transmitting a NDPA trigger frame. Refer to Sections 0059-0234. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the notification is transmitted during a sensing measurement exchange sequence. One would have been motivated to do so so that non-AP STA can receive updated parameters from AP without the use of a trigger frame from AP to initiate the TB sensing measurement exchange, so that non‑AP STA can initiate sensing directly with AP.
Referring to claim 17, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 31, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the non TB sensing measurement exchange comprises a measurement sounding phase and a reporting phase.
Pushkarna disclose in Figures 1-42 and Sections 0147-0154 and 0169 wherein in a non-TB sensing measurement exchange, non-AP STA initiates the sensing measurement exchange with AP by transmitting a NDPA trigger frame. The non-TB sensing measurement exchange includes a measurement sounding phase to measure sounding parameters and a reporting phase to report the measured sounding parameters. Refer to Sections 0059-0234. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the non TB sensing measurement exchange comprises a measurement sounding phase and a reporting phase. One would have been motivated to do so since in a TB sensing measurement exchange, a measurement sounding phase is used to measure sounding parameters and a reporting phase is used to report the measured sounding parameters.
Referring to claim 32, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the TB sensing measurement exchange comprises a polling phase, a NDPA sounding phase, a trigger frame sounding phase, and a reporting phase.
Pushkarna disclose in Figures 1-42 and Sections 0085-0088 and 0125-0128 wherein a TB sensing measurement exchange includes a polling phase for AP to poll STA, a NDPA sounding phase to enable STA to perform sounding measurements, a trigger frame sounding phase to trigger STA to perform sounding measurements, and a reporting phase for STA to report sounding measurements. Refer to Sections 0059-0234. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the non TB sensing measurement exchange comprises a measurement sounding phase and a reporting phase. One would have been motivated to do so since a conventional TB sensing measurement exchange includes a polling phase for AP to poll STA, a NDPA sounding phase to enable STA to perform sounding measurements, a trigger frame sounding phase to trigger STA to perform sounding measurements, and a reporting phase for STA to report sounding measurements.
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230123619 to Das et al (Das et al ‘619).
Referring to claim 8, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein at least one of: the query frame comprises a sensing measurement query frame; or the response frame comprises a sensing measurement request frame, sensing measurement response frame, or a sensing measurement termination frame. Das et al only disclose wherein Figure 11, Sections 0151-0157, is a sensing measurement exchange sequence since sensing measurement messages, such as sensing poll TF 1002 and sensing sounding TF 1006, are exchanged between AP and STA during a sensing measurement instance.
Das et al ‘619 disclose in Figures 1-12 a sensing measurement setup may comprise an exchange of sensing measurement request and response frames to establish sensing measurement parameters associated with a sensing measurement instance. Sections 0166, 0178, 0180, and 0184: a non-AP STA can transmit a sensing measurement query frame to AP requesting sensing measurements (claimed “query frame comprises a sensing measurement query frame”). Sections 0022, 0117, 0174, 0180, and 0202 wherein in response to a sensing measurement request frame, an AP can respond with an sensing measurement response frame with sensing measurements (claimed “sensing measurement response frame”). Refer to Sections 0021-0206. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one of: the query frame comprises a sensing measurement query frame; or the response frame comprises a sensing measurement request frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), sensing measurement response frame, or a sensing measurement termination frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so since a sensing measurement query frame is used to request sensing measurements, and a sensing measurement response frame is used in response to the sensing measurement query frame to report sensing measurements.
Referring to claim 22, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Claims 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230123619 to Das et al (Das et al ‘619), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250031080 to Dong et al.
Referring to claim 9, Lu et al, Das et al, and Das et al ‘619 do not disclose wherein the sensing measurement termination frame includes at least one bit to indicate the sensing measurement termination frame carries at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change.
Dong et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0057, 0069, 0071, 0115, 0127, 0129, 0133, and 0135 wherein UE receives a sensing measurement termination frame. Based on changes in the content (“changes in the content” reads on the claimed “update”) indicated by an identification bit in the sensing measurement termination frame (claimed “sensing measurement termination frame includes at least one bit to indicate the sensing measurement termination frame carries the update”), UE identifies that the sensing measurement termination frame is used to terminate the established WLAN sensing measurement, and terminates the established WLAN sensing measurement. Refer to Sections 0034-0211. Dong et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”. However, Dong et al disclose that the sensing measurement termination frame carries update information, which can include the updated preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the sensing measurement termination frame includes at least one bit to indicate the sensing measurement termination frame carries at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change. One would have been motivated to do so since a sensing measurement termination frame includes a bit to indicate an update, thereby updating the UE with current sensing information.
Referring to claim 23, refer to the rejection of claim 9.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20240284229 to Yao et al.
Referring to claim 10, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change via at least one of a sensing measurement report frame or a separate frame that is aggregated with the sensing measurement report frame.
Yao et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0287-0289 where BS sends sensing indication information to UE to instruct UE to determine a sensing measurement results that need updated. In response, UE sends sensing measurement reports (claimed “sensing measurement report frame”) to BS to indicate the updated sensing measurement results. Refer to Sections 0048-0538. Yao et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change via at least one of a sensing measurement report frame”. However, Yao et al disclose that the sensing measurement report frame carries update information, which can include the updated preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change via at least one of a sensing measurement report frame or a separate frame that is aggregated with the sensing measurement report frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so since a sensing measurement report is used by UE to report updated values to BS.
Referring to claim 24, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the frame comprises a sensing measurement report frame.
Yao et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0287-0289 where BS sends sensing indication information to UE to instruct UE to determine a sensing measurement results that need updated. In response, UE sends sensing measurement reports (claimed “sensing measurement report frame”) to BS to indicate the updated sensing measurement results. Refer to Sections 0048-0538. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the frame comprises a sensing measurement report frame. One would have been motivated to do so so since a sensing measurement report is used by UE to report updated values to BS.
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250031080 to Dong et al.
Referring to claim 11, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver and after
obtaining or receiving the at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the
spatial stream change: a sensing measurement termination frame that triggers termination of the sensing measurement exchange.
Dong et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0057, 0069, 0071, 0115, 0127, 0129, 0133, and 0135 wherein UE receives a sensing measurement termination frame. Based on changes in the content (“changes in the content” reads on the claimed “update”) indicated by an identification bit in the sensing measurement termination frame, UE identifies that the sensing measurement termination frame is used to terminate the established WLAN sensing measurement, and terminates the established WLAN sensing measurement. Refer to Sections 0034-0211. Dong et al do not disclose the claimed “obtaining or receiving the at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the
spatial stream change”. However, Dong et al disclose that the sensing measurement report frame carries update information, which can include the updated preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver and after obtaining or receiving the at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change: a sensing measurement termination frame that triggers termination of the sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so to update parameters and then terminate the sensing measurement exchange, thereby ensuring parameters are updated.
Referring to claim 25, Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, via the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement termination frame that triggers termination of the sensing measurement exchange.
Dong et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0057, 0069, 0071, 0115, 0127, 0129, 0133, and 0135 wherein UE receives a sensing measurement termination frame. Based on changes in the content indicated by an identification bit in the sensing measurement termination frame, UE identifies that the sensing measurement termination frame is used to terminate the established WLAN sensing measurement, and terminates the established WLAN sensing measurement. Refer to Sections 0034-0211. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to receive, via the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement termination frame that triggers termination of the sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so to update parameters and then terminate the sensing measurement exchange, thereby ensuring parameters are updated.
Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250031080 to Dong et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250176019 to Beg et al.
Referring to claim 12, Lu et al, Das et al, and Dong et al do not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange.
Beg et al disclose in Figures 1-35 and Sections 0191, 0192, 0210, 0236, and 0247 wherein a sensing link and sensing link parameters between non-AP STA and AP is reestablished periodically for sensing measurements to reestablish the link after the sensing measurements have been made. Refer to Sections 0069-0293. Beg et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”. However, Beg et al disclose that the network can update parameters during reestablishment of the session, which can include the preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to transmit, via the at least one transceiver, at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so to update parameters during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange, thereby ensuring parameters are updated for the sensing measurement exchange.
Referring to claim 26, Lu et al, Das et al, and Dong et al do not disclose wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is received during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange.
Beg et al disclose in Figures 1-35 and Sections 0191, 0192, 0210, 0236, and 0247 wherein a sensing link and sensing link parameters between non-AP STA and AP is reestablished periodically for sensing measurements to reestablish the link after the sensing measurements have been made. Refer to Sections 0069-0293. Beg et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”. However, Beg et al disclose that the network can update parameters during reestablishment of the session, which can include the preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is received during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so to update parameters during reestablishment of the sensing measurement exchange, thereby ensuring parameters are updated for the sensing measurement exchange.
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250031080 to Dong et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250176019 to Beg et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250274798 to Chitrakar et al.
Referring to claim 13, Lu et al, Das et al, Dong et al, and Beg et al do not disclose wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is transmitted, during the reestablishment, via at least one or a sensing measurement request frame or a sensing measurement response frame.
Chitrakar et al disclose in Figures 1-36 and Sections 0187 wherein if a sensing initiator needs to make changes to the attributes/parameters of an existing sensing measurement setup, it transmits a sensing measurement request frame (claimed “sensing measurement request frame”) to indicate a request for change of sensing measurement setup parameters, wherein the change of parameters reads on the claimed “update”. Refer to Sections 0058-0220. Chitrakar et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”. However, Chitrakar et al disclose that the network can update parameters during reestablishment of the session, which can include the preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is transmitted, during the reestablishment, via at least one or a sensing measurement request frame or a sensing measurement response frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so to since a sensing measurement request frame can include parameter updates in order to inform the receiver of updates for when request a sensing measurement setup.
Referring to claim 27, Lu et al, Das et al, Dong et al, and Beg et al do not disclose wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is received, during the reestablishment, via at least one or a sensing measurement request frame or a sensing measurement response frame.
Chitrakar et al disclose in Figures 1-36 and Sections 0187 wherein if a sensing initiator needs to make changes to the attributes/parameters of an existing sensing measurement setup, it transmits a sensing measurement request frame (claimed “sensing measurement request frame”) to indicate a request for change of sensing measurement setup parameters, wherein the change of parameters reads on the claimed “update”. Refer to Sections 0058-0220. Chitrakar et al do not disclose the claimed “at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change”. However, Chitrakar et al disclose that the network can update parameters during reestablishment of the session, which can include the preamble puncturing pattern of Lu et al in Sections 0034, 0035, 0037, 0038, 0055, 0067-0069, 0073, 0076, 0090, 0091, 0099, and 0102. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein at least one of the TPE update, the puncturing pattern update, or the spatial stream change is received, during the reestablishment, via at least one or a sensing measurement request frame or a sensing measurement response frame (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so to since a sensing measurement request frame can include parameter updates in order to inform the receiver of updates for when request a sensing measurement setup.
Claim 28 is under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20210345404 to Lu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230269774 to Das et al, and in further view of U.S. Patent No. 8588787 to Murakami et al.
Lu et al and Das et al do not disclose wherein the frame is received at a beginning of the sensing measurement exchange.
Murakami et al disclose in Figures 11, 43, 69, and 122 wherein at the measurement start, BS indicates to UE to update information. Refer to Column 61 lines 28-62, Column 99 lines 12-57, Column 125 line 29 to Column 126 line 67, and Column 183 line 63 to Column 184 line 40. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the frame is received at a beginning of the sensing measurement exchange. One would have been motivated to do so to to perform updates at the beginning of a measurement sequence so that measurements can be done with the updated parameters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20200008141 to Li et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Section 0032 wherein unassociated STA’s receive updates from AP’s via beacons. Refer to Sections 0015-0051.
U.S. Publication No. 20250184306 to Sevin et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0071-0079 wherein an unassociated STA sends a probe request to an AP to maintain an updated list of WLAN’s . Refer to Sections 0015-0051.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
August 31, 2026