DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action addresses claims 1-5 and 7-9. Claims 1-5 amended overcome the rejections under U.S.C 35 112 (b) but remain rejected under U.S.C. 35 103. Claim 7 remains rejected under U.S.C 35 112 (b) and U.S.C. 35 103. Claims 8 and 9 are newly rejected. Accordingly, this action is made final.
Specification
The title and the specifications have been amended. The respective rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1-5 and 7 have been amended. Claim 6 was canceled. The rejections of claim 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn. The rejection of claim 7 is maintained.
Claim 8 recites “and the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly or the second electrode assembly is arranged at an outer side more than a tab position of any one of a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab in a direction orthogonal to the thickness direction (X).” This is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
can be found in a prior Office action.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan et al. (US20220285737; “Shangguan” hereinafter) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210320388 A1; “Chen” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Shangguan teaches a battery (a battery cell, [0005]), comprising: a first electrode assembly (a winding type electrode assembly [0005]) and a second electrode assembly (Shangguan discloses or more battery cells [0111]), each being a flat shaped wound electrode (flat [95]) assembly in which a positive electrode (positive electrode plate, element 231 figure 1) and a negative electrode ( negative electrode plate, element 232 figure 1) are wound via a separator (see dotted lines figure 1 or [0100]); and a battery case ( see figure 2) configured to accommodate the first and the second electrode assembly (Shangguan discloses one or more battery cells [0111] and shows 2 in figure 2).
Figure 1: Shangguan modified 26
Figure 2: Shangguan figure 3
Shangguan discloses a pair of bent portions, each having an outer surface being bent; and a flat part configured to couple the pair of bent portions (see figure 1), a positive electrode inner end comprises a first area elongating along the flat part (see element 23121, figure 1), a negative electrode inner end comprises: a second area elongating along the flat part (element 23221, figure 1); a folding part being folded from an end part of the second area (see curved portion of 231 following 23221); and a third area elongating from an end part of the folding part along the flat part (see second flat portion of 231 in figure 1), a stacked portion at the positive electrode inner end and the negative electrode inner end is provided where the first area, the second area, and the third area are overlapped in a thickness direction X reaching from one flat surface of the wound electrode assembly to the other flat surface (see stacked portion inside markings figure 1). Shangguan discloses one electrode assembly and discloses that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly or the stacked portion of the second electrode assembly is overlapped with a tab position of any one of a positive electrode tab or a negative electrode tab (see tabs in marked area in figure 3 below).
Figure 3: Shangguan modified 26
Shangguan fails to disclose that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly and the stacked portion of the second electrode assembly are mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly. The mere duplication of parts itself is considered obvious. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Chen however, in the same field of endeavor namely secondary batteries discloses two jelly roll batteries arranged to pass through a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly, and mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along the wound axis of the first electrode assembly and the wound axis of the second electrode assembly (see inner ends of jelly-rolls arranged on opposing each other figure 4).
Shangguan and Chen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly-roll batteries. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in seeking a battery housing that contains two jelly rolls it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the battery as taught by Shangguan and add an additional jelly rolls as disclosed by Chen and the motivation to do so would have been applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results (see MPEP(I)(D) 2143).
Figure 4: Chen figure 6
Regarding claim 4, Shangguan discloses the battery according to claim 1, wherein the battery case comprises: an outer package having an opening (see element 23, figure 2), and a sealing plate (see element 22, figure 2), wherein the sealing plate has a liquid injection hole, the battery case comprises a first surface on which a liquid injection hole is formed, and the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are arranged in the battery case so as to make a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly be respectively arranged in directions perpendicular to the first surface sealing plate (see arrangement of bend portions in figure 2). Cheng similarly discloses a battery case.
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan et al. (US20220285737; “Shangguan” hereinafter) in view of and Chen et al. (US20210320388 A1; “Chen” hereinafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ogawa et al. (WO2021131881 A1; “Ogawa” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, modified Shangguan discloses the battery according to claim 1 but fails to disclose any winding-end tapes configured to fix outer end of the separators disposed on the outer periphery surfaces of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly are arranged on the bent portions (winding-end tape is disposed on one of the two curved surface sections (Ogawa: abstract and figure 5).
Shangguan and Ogawa are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly roll batteries.
Figure 5: Ogawa adapted figure 8
In seeking a battery with an increased formability and reduced rewinding of the electrode body before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the winding-end tape as disclosed by Ogawa on the battery disclosed by Shangguan
as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, Shangguan discloses the battery according to claim 2 but fails to disclose winding-end tape disposed on the first electrode assembly and winding-end tape disposed on the second electrode assembly are arranged on the bent parts positioned at the same side. Ogawa discloses that the winding-end tape fixed a jellyroll on either one of the curved surfaces (page 4, line 11). The mere duplication of parts itself is considered obvious. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 5, Shangguan discloses the battery according to claim 2 but is silent with regard to an adhesion layer. Ogawa teaches an adhesion layer (a positive electrode protective tape (Ogawa: element 35 figure 5) is formed between the separator (Ogawa: element 30 figure 5) and at least one of the positive electrode (Ogawa: element 14 figure 5) and the negative electrode, and on each of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly, a laminate number of the separator in the thickness direction is equal to or more than 20 layers (the electrode body 13 is wound with 10 or more turns, for example, 30 to 40 turns (Ogawa: [0044])).
Shangguan and Ogawa are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly roll batteries.
In seeking a method to protect the separator and positive or negative electrode plate before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the adhesive tape as disclosed by Ogawa on the battery disclosed by Shangguan
as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan et al. (US20220285737; “Shangguan” hereinafter) in view of Chen et al. (US 20210320388 A1; Chen hereinafter) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Hoen et al. (KR101254884B1; “Hoen” hereinafter; a machine translation is used for citations).
Regarding claim 7, Shangguan discloses the battery according to claim 1, but fails to disclose that the electrode stacked portion at the inner end of the electrode is arranged at an outer side more than a tab position of any one of a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab in a direction orthogonal to the thickness direction. Hoen discloses such a configuration in figure 6. See stacked area marked with dotted line being at an outer position relative to tab 116.
Shangguan and Hoen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly roll batteries.
In seeking to secure the inner curvature of a jelly role during winding and thus minimize the risk of breaking the electrode plate during winding before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the inner electrode plates disclosed by Shangguan similarly to Hoen as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Figure 6: Hoen figure 4
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan et al. (US20220285737; “Shangguan” hereinafter) in view Chen et al. (US20210320388A1; Chen hereinafter) and in view of Hoen et al. (KR101254884B1; “Hoen” hereinafter; a machine translation is used for citations).
Regarding claim 8, Shangguan teaches a battery (a battery cell, [0005]), comprising: a first electrode assembly (a winding type electrode assembly [0005]) and a second electrode assembly (Shangguan discloses or more battery cells [0111]), each being a flat shaped wound electrode (flat [95]) assembly in which a positive electrode (positive electrode plate, element 231 figure 1) and a negative electrode ( negative electrode plate, element 232 figure 1) are wound via a separator (see dotted lines figure 1 or [0100]); and a battery case ( see figure 2) configured to accommodate the first and the second electrode assembly (Shangguan discloses one or more battery cells [0111] and shows 2 in figure 2), wherein each of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly comprises: a pair of bent portions, each having an outer surface being bent; and a flat part configured to couple the pair of bent portions (see figure 1), a positive electrode inner end comprises a first area elongating along the flat part (see element 23121, figure 1), a negative electrode inner end comprises: a second area elongating along the flat part (element 23221, figure 1); a folding part being folded from an end part of the second area (see curved portion of 231 following 23221); and a third area elongating from an end part of the folding part along the flat part (see second flat portion of 231 in figure 1), a stacked portion at the positive electrode inner end and the negative electrode inner end is provided where the first area, the second area, and the third area are overlapped in a thickness direction X reaching from one flat surface of the wound electrode assembly to the other flat surface (see stacked portion inside markings figure 1).
Shangguan fails to disclose that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly and the stacked portion of the second electrode assembly are mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly. The mere duplication of parts itself is considered obvious. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Chen in the same field of endeavor namely secondary batteries discloses two jelly roll batteries arranged to pass through a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly, and mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along the wound axis of the first electrode assembly and the wound axis of the second electrode assembly (see inner ends of jelly-rolls arranged on opposing each other figure 4).
Shangguan and Chen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly-roll batteries. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in seeking a battery housing that contains two jelly rolls it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the battery as taught by Shangguan and add an additional jelly rolls as disclosed by Chen and the motivation to do so would have been applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results (see MPEP(I)(D) 2143).
Shangguan further fails to disclose that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly or the second electrode assembly is an outer side more than a tab position of any one of a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab in a direction orthogonal to the thickness direction (X). Hoen discloses such a configuration in figure 6. (See stacked area marked with dotted line being at an outer position relative to tab 116.)
Shangguan and Hoen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly roll batteries.
In seeking to secure the inner curvature of a jelly role during winding and thus minimize the risk of breaking the electrode plate during winding before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to arrange the inner electrode plates disclosed by Shangguan similarly to Hoen as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known method for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan et al. (US20220285737; “Shangguan” hereinafter) in view Chen et al. (US20210320388A1; Chen hereinafter) and in view of Hoen et al. (KR101254884B1; “Hoen” hereinafter; a machine translation is used for citations).
Regarding claim 9, Shangguan teaches a battery (a battery cell, [0005]), comprising: a first electrode assembly (a winding type electrode assembly [0005]) and a second electrode assembly (Shangguan discloses or more battery cells [0111]), each being a flat shaped wound electrode (flat [95]) assembly in which a positive electrode (positive electrode plate, element 231 figure 1) and a negative electrode ( negative electrode plate, element 232 figure 1) are wound via a separator (see dotted lines figure 1 or [0100]); and a battery case ( see figure 2) configured to accommodate more than 3 electrode assemblies comprising (Shangguan discloses one or more battery cells [0111]), the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly, wherein each of the first electrode assembly and the second electrode assembly comprises:
a pair of bent portions, each having an outer surface being bent; and a flat part configured to couple the pair of bent portions (see figure 1), a positive electrode inner end comprises a first area elongating along the flat part (see element 23121, figure 1), a negative electrode inner end comprises: a second area elongating along the flat part (element 23221, figure 1); a folding part being folded from an end part of the second area (see curved portion of 231 following 23221); and a third area elongating from an end part of the folding part along the flat part (see second flat portion of 231 in figure 1), a stacked portion at the positive electrode inner end and the negative electrode inner end is provided where the first area, the second area, and the third area are overlapped in a thickness direction X reaching from one flat surface of the wound electrode assembly to the other flat surface (see stacked portion inside markings figure 1).
Shangguan fails to disclose that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly and the stacked portion of the second electrode assembly are mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly. The mere duplication of parts itself is considered obvious. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Chen in the same field of endeavor namely secondary batteries discloses two jelly roll batteries arranged to pass through a wound axis of the first electrode assembly and a wound axis of the second electrode assembly, and mutually arranged at different sides with respect to a surface being along the wound axis of the first electrode assembly and the wound axis of the second electrode assembly (see inner ends of jelly-rolls arranged on opposing each other figure 4).
Shangguan and Chen are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely jelly-roll batteries. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in seeking a battery housing that contains two jelly rolls it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the battery as taught by Shangguan and add an additional jelly rolls as disclosed by Chen and the motivation to do so would have been applying a known technique to a known device to yield predictable results (see MPEP(I)(D) 2143).
Shangguan discloses that the stacked portion of the first electrode assembly or the stacked portion of the second electrode assembly is overlapped with a tab position of any one of a positive electrode tab or a negative electrode tab (see tabs in marked area in figure 3 below).
Shangguan further discloses that the multiple battery assemblies can be connected in series, parallelly or hybrid but is silent regarding the positions of the stacked portion at the electrode inner end of the electrode assemblies are configured to be alternately different from each other with respect to the surface. Chen however discloses that the positions of the stacked portion at the electrode inner end are alternately different from each other with regard to the surface (See Chen figure 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/26 have been fully considered but they are moot. Claim 1 was amended and new grounds of rejection are presented accordingly.
Conclusion
US9991498B discloses an electrode assembly and discloses multiple jelly rolls.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725