DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that [0045] of the instant specification defines the term “macropores” to mean “pores having a diameter ranging from 2 nm to 50 nm.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zafiropoulos et al. (US 2024/0128455; hereinafter “Zafiropoulos”).
In regard to claims 1-5, Zafiropoulos discloses a silicon-carbon containing electrode material (composite carbon-silicon material; see at least [0112]), comprising a porous carbon structure (carbon-based scaffold material; see at least [0112]) including pores; and a silicon-containing coating (“silicon impregnation;” see at least [0112]) formed on the porous carbon structure, wherein a volume ratio of mesopores is 70% or more, a range from 75% to 98% as recited in claim 2, or a range from 80% to 95% as recited in claim 3 (“greater than 70% mesopores,” “greater than 80% mesopores,” “greater than 90% mesopores,” or “greater than 95% mesopores” which significantly encompass with the recited ranges; see [0194]-[0195]) based on a total pore volume of the porous carbon structure, and a weight ratio of silicon is 30 wt% or more, 30 wt% to 70 wt% as recited in claim 4, or 40 wt% to 60 wt % as recited in claim 5 based on a total weight of the electrode material (“30% to 60%,” “40% to 50%,” “30% to 40%,” “50% to 70%,” “60% to 70%,” “35% to 45%,” or “45% to 55%” which significantly overlap and encompass with the recited ranges; see [0189]).
In regard to claims 6-7, Zafiropoulos discloses wherein the total pore volume of the porous carbon structure is 0.8 cm3/g as recited in claim 6 or more or a range from 0.81 cm3/g to 1.2 cm3/g as recited in claim 7 as Zafiropoulos teaches that the carbon scaffold material can have a pore volume of “1 cc/g or more” or “in a range between any two of these values” which include “0.9 cc/g” and “1.2 cc/g” as disclosed in [0182] which significantly overlap with the recited ranges.
In regard to claims 8-9, Zafiropoulos discloses wherein the surface area of the composite can be “greater than 750 m2/g” which significant overlaps with the recited open-ended range of “650 m2/g or more” of claim 8 and the range of “670 m2/g to 2,000 m2/g” as recited in claim 9.
In regard to claim 10, Zafiropoulos discloses wherein a carbon coating is further formed on the silicon-containing coating as it is disclosed that a “terminal carbon coating” can be applied. See [0112] and [0118].
In regard to claims 11-12, Zafiropoulos discloses wherein an average diameter of the pores of the porous carbon structure is 2 nm or more as recited in claim 11 and in a range from 4 nm to 20 nm as recited in claim 12 as it is taught that that the carbon scaffold materials in the composition can have a strut width, which is recited to be equivalent to “average diameter,” of “about 10 nm or less, 9 nm or less, 8 nm or less, 7 nm or less, 6 nm or less, 5 nm or less, 4 nm or less, 3 nm or less, 2 nm or less, or in a range between any two of these values” as recited in [0050] which significantly overlaps with the recited ranges.
In regard to claim 13, Zafiropoulos discloses a secondary battery (lithium-ion battery; [0020]) comprising an anode comprising the silicon-carbon containing electrode material according to claim 1 (“this electrode may be the anode;” see [0020]); and a cathode facing the anode (necessarily present in order to form a battery). See [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zafiropoulos as applied to claim 1 above.
In regard to claims 6-9, this rejection is applied in case it is viewed that Zafiropoulos does not anticipate the recited total pore volume or specific surface area of the porous carbon structure. Thus, it is held that it would have been within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined an optimum or workable range of total pore volume or specific surface area of the porous carbon structure for producing the recited mesopore volume ratio and/or weight ratio of silicon in the pores without creating any new or unexpected results. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY C CLEVELAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774