DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19-25, and 27-31 remain pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 25 and 27-30 limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19-25, and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite the newly added limitations of “based on the integrity being verified, commit the essential image sections of the update firmware image to the flash memory, erase the essential image sections of the working firmware image from the flash memory, and receive, from the backup image on the host device, the data representing the non-essential image sections of the update firmware image” at lines 23-27. However, it is unclear as to what “commit the essential image sections of the update firmware image to the flash memory” specifically means here, as “the essential image sections of the update firmware image” have already been stored in the flash memory, as recited in previous line 17 of the claim. The limitation has been interpreted as “based on the integrity being verified, erase the essential image sections of the working firmware image from the flash memory, and receive, from the backup image on the host device, the data representing the non-essential image sections of the update firmware image” for the purpose of compact prosecution. However, appropriate correction is required. Claims 9, 17, and 25 have a similar issue.
Dependent claims 3-8, 11-16, 19-24, and 27-31 do not overcome the deficiency of the base claims and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons as the base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-17, 19-21, 23-25, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0055595 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Patent 7,143,405 B2), Yang (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0055969 A1, art already of record) and Allen (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0138377 A1).
As to claim 1, Frazer teaches a computing device (see e.g. Fig. 3, 28 and associated text), comprising: one or more memories (See e.g. Fig.3, 82 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- In subscriber station 28, memory unit 78 comprises of two principal components: (1) a volatile random access memory ("RAM") 82, which may be dynamic RAM (DRAM) or synchronous DRAM (SDRAM), used by microprocessor-assembly 72 for storing instructions and data required for operating subscriber station 28); a flash memory (see Fig.3, 86 and associated text, e.g. [0043]- a non-volatile rewritable storage unit, RSU 86, which in subscriber station 28 is flash memory, used to store data, including instructions, that is not lost when subscriber station 28 is without power); and a processing system coupled to the one or more memories and flash memory, and including one or more processors (See Fig.3, 72 and associated text, e.g. [0042]- Microprocessor-assembly 72 can include, for example, a StrongARM processor manufactured by Intel, and performs a variety of functions, including implementing A/D-D/A conversion, filters, encoders, decoders, data compressors, de-compressors and/or packet disassembly) configured to:
receive an update firmware image from a host device (e.g. update server, see Fig.36 and associated text, e.g. [0059]- When it is desired to update the core firmware in the core firmware partition 108, the update core firmware is transferred from an update server 36 over the communications link 32 to subscriber station 28);
determine essential image sections (e.g. core firmware) and non-essential image sections (e.g. auxiliary software) of a working firmware image stored in the flash memory (See e.g. [0048]- In subscriber station 28, the RSU 86 is initially divided into three partitions, namely a boot partition 104, a core firmware partition 108 and an auxiliary software partition 112 and [0051]- The core firmware needed to provide at least minimum functionality to subscriber station 28 is initially written into core firmware partition 108. The core firmware is responsible for providing the basic operations of subscriber station 28. These basic operations can include memory management, task handling, managing files, input/output, etc. and at least the minimum amount of functionality required to allow subscriber station 28 to communicate with the base station 24 (but not necessarily enough functionality to provide any end user services) and [0054]- The auxiliary software is not particularly limited and can include optional device drivers, user applications, system software applications, data files, software and end user applications such as telephone call processing software, voice and audio codecs, software filters, firewalls, utilities, help files, subscriber data files, digital media files, and other such applications and data files);
erase data in the non-essential image sections from the flash memory (See e.g. [0061]- Once a complete correct copy of the update/replacement core firmware, i.e.--the "new" core firmware, is received at subscriber station 28 and stored in the RAM 82, the update process continues by writing the new core firmware over all or part of the portion of the RSU 86 previously occupied by the auxiliary software partition 112. In order to perform this overwriting, any remaining processes which were executing on subscriber station 28 and which require read access to the auxiliary software in the auxiliary software partition 112 are terminated; As used herein, the terms "overwriting" and "overwritten" are intended to comprise the necessary operations for placing new data into a non-volatile memory to replace previous data and includes, in the case of flash memory, first erasing the memory before writing new data to it),
store essential image sections of the update firmware image to the flash memory (see e.g. [0061]- Once these processes, if any, are terminated, the new core firmware is copied from RAM 82 and written to the RSU 86. The new core firmware is indicated in FIG. 4b as a new core firmware partition 108') and
reboot the computing device from the essential image sections of the update firmware image stored in the flash memory (See e.g. [0066]- When the contents of the new core firmware partition 108' have been verified as having been written correctly, the new core firmware partition 108' is identified to subscriber station 28 as containing the most recent core firmware; Once this is done, the boot loader on the next reboot of subscriber station 28 will only locate the superblock of the new core firmware partition 108', which is the most recent valid core firmware partition, and subscriber station 28 will boot from partition 108').
Frazer does not specifically teach wherein the essential image sections comprise instructions for booting the computing device, establishing communication with the host device, and executing a device firmware update on the computing device, wherein the non-essential image sections are not required for performing the device firmware update, initiate a connection to the host device to verify an integrity of the essential image sections of the device firmware update, based on the integrity being verified, commit the essential image sections of the update firmware image to the flash memory, erase the essential image sections of the working firmware image from the flash memory, and receive from the host device, the data representing the non-essential image sections of the update firmware image and store the received data in the flash memory.
In an analogous art of updating software/firmware, however, Liu teaches wherein essential image sections (e.g. essential software) comprise instructions for booting the computing device, establishing communication with the host device (e.g. server device) and executing a device firmware update on the computing device, wherein non-essential image sections (e.g. non-essential software) are not required for performing the device firmware update (see e.g. col.1 lines 53-56: method includes identifying essential software within the device, the essential software including software necessary to operate the device and provide external communications, col.5 lines 9-14: the operating system of client device 106 is further configured to determine which existing code/data is essential to the device's operation during upgrade and which code/data is not essential to the device's operation during upgrade and lines 43-50: the operation software was divided into two groups. The first group consisted of all the software necessary to do an upgrade, i.e., essential software. This essential software included the full operating system, file system, drivers, full Internet Explorer (IE) browser, graphics and upgrade application. The second group contained code/data that is not required during the upgrade process, i.e., the non-essential software and e.g. Fig.4 and associated text, e.g. col.6 lines 39-42: In step 406, the essential software is used to connect to server device 106 and download new essential software, overwriting all or part of non-essential software, as needed), initiate a connection to the host device to verify an integrity of the essential image sections of device firmware update (See e.g. col.5 lines 23-26: Following the download, client device 106 will attempt to reboot and reconnect to server device 102 using the newly downloaded code/data, i.e., the upgraded operating system (i.e. to verify an integrity of the update), based on the integrity being verified (i.e. a successful reconnection), commit the essential image sections of the update firmware image to the flash memory, erase the essential image sections of the working firmware image from the flash memory and receive, from the host device, data representing the non-essential image sections of the update firmware image, and store the received data in the memory (See e.g. col. 5 lines 26-30: If the reboot and reconnection work correctly, then any non-essential code/data that was overwritten, is downloaded from server 102 and written to free memory including that previously used by the old version of the operating system and col.6 lines 16-28: During the upgrade process, essential software 310 remains intact, while all or part of non-essential software 312 is overwritten by new essential software 320, as depicted at time t.sub.1. At time t.sub.2, new essential software 320 is used to reboot client device 106 and if successful to then reconnect client device 106 to server device 102. Assuming that the reboot and reconnect are successful, then any new non-essential software 322 is downloaded, as needed, to replace overwritten portions of non-essential software 312 and/or provide upgrades to non-essential software 312. The upgrade process ends at time t.sub.3, wherein new non-essential software 322 has overwritten a portion of the old essential software 310; The subsequent illustration, at time t.sub.3+, shows the resulting new operating system 302', user applications 304a' b', and new free space 306').
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lui in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading software and other data in devices in a failsafe manner.
Frazer in view of Liu teaches data representing the non-essential image sections stored in the flash memory (see e.g. Frazer: [0043], [0051] and [0054]), but does not specifically teach transmit, to the host device, data stored in the flash memory for storage as a backup image in memory of the host device or receive from the backup image on the host device, the data.
In an analogous art of updating firmware, however, Yang teaches transmit, to a host device, image sections (e.g. original code 124) stored in a flash memory (e.g. first memory 120) for storage as a backup image in memory of the host device (e.g. storage device 200, see Figs.1,2 and associated text, e.g. [0015]- the storage device 200 is a storage server located at a remote site, hence the I/O interface 114 is a communication adaptor for communicating with the server via the communication link 300, including wired links, such as cable, optical fiber, telephone wire, Ethernet cable, etc., and wireless links, such as IEEE 802.11 series, WiFi, Bluetooth, GPRS, 3G, etc., [0017]- The storage device 200 has an update code 220 and a backup region 240 for storing a backup code 242 and [0018]- when the updating process is performed to the original code 124, the processor 110 copies the original code 124 through the second memory 140 to the backup region 240 as indicated by the backup code 242; the original section in the first temporary 146 is copied to the backup region 240 of the storage device 200, as indicated as Arrow B in FIG. 2. After the original section is backed up, the update section in the second temporary region 148 is copied to the first memory 120 to replace the corresponding original section, as indicated as Arrow C in FIG. 2) and receive from the backup image on the host device, the data (See e.g. [0023]- The processor 244 further accesses the additional information 244 in the storage device 200, i.e., the updated section number (M in this example) and address location of the backup code 242. Based on the additional information, the processor 110 copies the first section of the backup code 242 to the temporary region 150 in the second memory 140, indicated as Arrow E. The backup section in the temporary region 150 is then copied to the first memory 120 to replace the corresponding section of corrupted original code 124, indicated as Arrow F. The processor 110 continues the restoration section by section until the M.sup.th section of backup code 242 is successfully restored to the first memory 120).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer in view of Liu to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Yang in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading firmware in devices in a failsafe manner.
Frazer in view of Liu and Yang teaches the essential image sections of the update firmware image (see Frazer: [0048] and [0051]), but does not specifically teach wherein verifying the integrity comprises performing a validation of the update firmware image.
In an analogous art of updating firmware, Allen teaches wherein verifying the integrity comprises performing a validation of the update firmware image (e.g. firmware received from server, See Fig.8 and associated text, e.g. [0058]- If the firmware is encrypted, then it is decrypted 802 and then loaded into RAM 804. The CRC checksum is validated 805. If the checksum is valid, the firmware is copied into non-volatile memory 806, in this embodiment flash memory. The renewable energy monitoring device 100, rebooted automatically 807. If the checksum is not valid the firmware is not loaded and the routine ends 808).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer in view of Liu and Yang to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Allen in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading firmware in devices in a timely manner.
As to claim 3, Lui further teaches wherein one or more processors (see e.g. col.3 lines 58-64: Computing system 200 is, in this example, in the form of a PC, however, in other examples computing system may take the form of a dedicated server(s), a special-purpose device, an appliance, a handheld computing device, a mobile telephone device, a pager device, etc. As shown, computing system 200 includes a processing unit 221) are further configured to send a request to establish a connection to a host device (e.g. server 102) in response to rebooting a computing device (e.g. client device 106) from the essential image sections of the update firmware image stored in the memory (see e.g. Fig.4: 408, 410 and associated text, e.g. col.6 lines 20-22: new essential software 320 is used to reboot client device 106 and if successful to then reconnect client device 106 to server device 102 and lines 43-47: in step 408, client device 106 attempts to reboot and reconnect to server device 102, using the new essential software. If the attempts in step 408 are successful, then method 400 continues to step 410, wherein new non-essential software is downloaded, as needed and overwriting any old software too).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lui in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading software and other data in devices in a failsafe manner.
As to claim 4, Liu further teaches wherein the one or more processors of the processing system are further configured to detect a failure to establish a connection to the host device and reboot from the essential image sections of the working firmware image (e.g. old essential software) in response to detecting a failure to establish a connection to the host device (see e.g. Fig.4: 408, 411 and associated text, e.g. col. 6 lines 42-50: in step 408, client device 106 attempts to reboot and reconnect to server device 102, using the new essential software; If the attempts in step 408 fail, then method 400 proceeds to step 411, wherein client device 102 is booted and subsequently connected to server device 106 using the old essential software).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lui in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading software and other data in devices in a failsafe manner.
As to claim 5, Frazer also teaches wherein the one or more processors of the processing system are further configured to request and receive the data in the non-essential image sections from the host device after rebooting from the essential image sections of the working firmware image; and store the received data in the flash memory (see e.g. [0067]- the subscriber system 28 can be rebooted to execute the new core firmware and the auxiliary software can then be downloaded from the update server and stored in the new auxiliary software partition 112' and [0068]- a transfer of valid auxiliary software can be requested from the update server 36 and stored in the RSU 86 as a restored auxiliary software partition 112 ).
As to claim 7, Frazer also teaches wherein the host device is a remote application (e.g. radio sector manager) operating on a server computing device that is connected to the computing device over wire or wireless communication channels (see e.g. [0038]- a software update server 36 that contains software loads for subscriber stations 28 and [0059]- the update core firmware is transferred from an update server 36, as described in more detail below, over the communications link 32 to subscriber station 28; and [0076]- Radio sector managers 204 are preferably located in each base station 24 of the network 20 and can be co-located with or implemented within the update server 36).
As to claim 8, Frazer also teaches wherein the host device is a memory controller component (e.g. update client) of the computing device (see e.g. [0076]- each subscriber station 28, as part of its core firmware, includes an update client 208, which executes on subscriber station 28).
As to claim 9, the limitations of method claim 9 are substantially similar to the
limitations of device claim 1, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 11, the limitations of method claim 11 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claims 3 and 4, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 12, the limitations of method claim 12 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 4, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 13, the limitations of method claim 13 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 5, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 15, the limitations of method claim 15 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 7, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 16, the limitations of method claim 16 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 8, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above
As to claim 17, the limitations of medium claim 17 are substantially similar to the
limitations of device claim 1, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 19, the limitations of medium claim 19 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 3, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 20, the limitations of medium claim 20 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 4, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 21, the limitations of medium claim 21 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 5, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 23, the limitations of medium claim 23 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 7, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 24, the limitations of medium claim 24 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 8, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 25, the limitations of device claim 9 are substantially similar to the
limitations of device claim 1, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 27, the limitations of device claim 27 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 3 , and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 28, the limitations of device claim 28 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 4, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 29, the limitations of device claim 29 are substantially similar to the limitations of device claim 5, and therefore, it is rejected for the reasons stated above.
10. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0055595 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Patent 7,143,405 B2), Yang (US Patent Application Publication 2007/0055969 A1, art already of record) and Allen (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0138377 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi-Grogan et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0124325 A1).
As to claim 31, Frazer in view of Liu, Yang and Allen teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not specifically teach subsequent to transmitting the non-essential image sections, entering the computing device into a firmware upgrade (DFU) only mode.
In an analogous art of upgrading software/firmware, however, Choi-Grogan teaches subsequent to transmitting the non-essential image sections (e.g. user settings), entering the computing device into a firmware upgrade (DFU) only mode (e.g. receiving/executing the upgrade, see Fig.4 and associated text, e.g. [0046]- At step 420, having received advance notice of a pending OTA wireless network access software upgrade, the method 400 begins storing/caching user settings in preparation for the impending wireless network access software upgrade download and installation and [0047]- In step 430, the method 400 receives an OTA wireless network access software upgrade. For example, the method may receive the OTA software upgrade from a wireless network 205 via base station 250 and [0048]- At step 440, the method 400 executes/installs the wireless network access software upgrade).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Frazer in view of Lui, Yang, and Allen to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Choi-Grogan in order to provide a more efficient method/system of upgrading software and other data in devices in a failsafe manner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, 22, and 30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192