DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Notes
Regarding Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9: With regard to the intended use of the apparatus, e.g. the term “welding” in “welding parameters” and “weld” in “weld joint” can be interpreted that the “parameters” and “joint” can be used in a " welding " and" weld " setting. Furthermore, the term “welding " and" weld” does not add any structural limitation to the term “parameters” and “joint”, respectively, thus it does not provide enough patentable weight to the term “parameters” and “joint”, respectively, ”. It is understood with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. as discussed in MPEP 2103.1.C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwards (US 8607465 B1, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Edwards disclose(s): A gauge(Fig. 1) for measuring one or more parameters of a joint (col. 1, lines 6-15), the gauge comprising:
a gauge body having a first surface (Fig. 4: 70);
an arcuate plate (Fig. 4: 14) rotatably coupled to the gauge body (Fig. 4) and arranged facing the first surface of the gauge body (Fig. 4), wherein the arcuate plate facilitates a measurement of the one or more parameters of the joint (col. 2, lines 5-13);
a sensing unit (Fig. 2: 100) configured to determine a relative position of the arcuate plate and the gauge body (col. 4, lines 37-41); and
a controller (col. 3, lines 25-28) arranged in communication with the sensing unit and configured to determine a value of the one or more parameters based upon an input received from the sensing unit (col. 3, lines 20-31).
Regarding Claim 2, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 1.
Edwards further disclose(s): further including a display device (Fig. 4: 22) communicatively coupled with the controller and adapted to display the determined value of the one or more parameters (col. 3, lines 20-31).
Regarding Claim 4, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 1.
Edwards further disclose(s): further comprising a mode selector (Fig. 1: 26c) to enable a user to select a mode out of a plurality of modes associated with the one or more parameters to measure a desired first parameter out of the one or more parameters (col. 5, lines 52-54).
With respect to independent Claim 6, Edwards disclose(s): A gauge(Fig. 1) for measuring one or more parameters of a joint (col. 1, lines 6-15), the gauge comprising:
a gauge body having a first surface (Fig. 4: 70);
an arcuate plate (Fig. 4: 14) rotatably coupled to the gauge body (Fig. 4) and arranged facing the first surface of the gauge body (Fig. 4), wherein the arcuate plate facilitates a measurement of one or more parameters of the joint (col. 2, lines 5-13);
a sensing unit (Fig. 2: 100) configured to determine a relative position of the arcuate plate and the gauge body (col. 4, lines 37-41);
a controller (col. 3, lines 25-28) arranged in communication with the sensing unit and configured to determine a value of the one or more parameters based upon an input received from the sensing unit (col. 3, lines 20-31); and
a display device (Fig. 4: 22) communicatively coupled with the controller and adapted to display the determined value of the one or more parameters (col. 3, lines 20-31).
Regarding Claim 8, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 6.
Edwards further disclose(s): further comprising a mode selector (Fig. 1: 26c) to enable a user to select a mode out of a plurality of modes associated with the one or more parameters to measure a desired first parameter out of the one or more parameters (col. 5, lines 52-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Boutan (US 7574813 B1, see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim 3, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 6.
Edwards further teaches: wherein the sensing unit includes a plurality of first sensors (Fig. 2: 28) coupled to one of the gauge body and the arcuate plate (Fig. 2).
Edwards does not specifically disclose: at least one second sensor coupled to other of the arcuate plate and the gauge body and configured to interact with the plurality of the first sensors to determine the relative position of the arcuate plate.
However, Boutan teach(es) a gauge (Fig. 3A) including: at least one second sensor coupled to other of the arcuate plate and the gauge body (Fig. 3A and col. 6 line 61) and configured to interact with the plurality of the first sensors to determine the relative position of the arcuate plate (col. 5, lines 50-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Edwards, with the teachings of Boutan, for the purpose of providing ease of measuring angles (col. 1, lines 17-21).
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Poole et al. (US 6497051 B1, see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim 5, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Edwards disclose(s) the gauge of Claim 6.
Edwards does not specifically disclose: comprising a measurement unit selector to enable a user to select a desired measurement unit system out of a plurality of measurement unit system to display the value of the determined parameter in the desired measurement unit system.
However, Poole teach(es) a gauge (Fig. 1) including: comprising a measurement unit selector (Fig. 4: 36) to enable a user to select a desired measurement unit system out of a plurality of measurement unit system to display the value of the determined parameter in the desired measurement unit system (col. 4, lines 63-66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Edwards, with the teachings of Poole, for the purpose of providing capability of toggling the input (col. 2, line 51).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to gauges: Fujiwara (US 5611149); Murphy (US 7076879 B2); Palynchuk et al. (US 9250052 B2).
The following reference(s) relate to electronic angle measuring gauges: Matzo et al. (US 6104480); Wixey (US 7726034 B2); Weber (US 5040298).
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
13 December 2025
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855