DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to amend the limitation “the vertical and/or lateral positioning” to read as “a vertical and/or lateral positioning”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“drive mechanism…structured to impart a reciprocating motion” in claim 11 [no corresponding structure is provided; see paragraph 0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 11, the claim limitation “drive mechanism…structured to impart a reciprocating motion” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. While the specification designates the drive mechanism as numeral 114 in the figures, it fails to detail the structure that is encompassed within the drive mechanism and the figures shown a box labeled as the drive mechanism. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pora et al (US 4,702,098).
In reference to claim 1, Pora et al discloses a redraw assembly for use with a can bodymaker, the redraw assembly comprising
a hold down body (36) structured to be slidably coupled to a frame (16) of the bodymaker [see figure 1, col. 4 lines 39-43],
a redraw sleeve assembly having a redraw sleeve (62) adjustably coupled to the hold down body and structured to apply a force to a cup engaged with a toolpack of the bodymaker [see col. 5 lines 9-21], and
a means is provided to dynamically adjust an aspect (radially adjusting) of the redraw sleeve with respect to the hold down body while the bodymaker is in operation forming a can body [see col. 5 lines 18-20].
Pora et al discloses that a means is provided for radially adjusting the redraw sleeve (62) but fails to disclose the specifics of the means. Pora et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the means is a controller (i.e. automatic).
However, it would have been within the realm of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller that automates the radial adjustment of the redraw sleeve, since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art [see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the means of Pora et al to be a controller, in order to efficiently adjust the redraw sleeve during a redraw operation of the can bodymaker.
In reference to claim 2, the aspect comprises one or more of a vertical and/or lateral positioning [Pora et al discloses a radial adjustment which encompasses both vertical and lateral positioning adjustments; see col. 5 lines 18-19] of the redraw sleeve (62) relative to the hold down body (36).
In reference to claim 11, Pora et al discloses a bodymaker comprising
a frame,
a ram (punch) slidably coupled to the frame,
a toolpack coupled to the frame,
a drive mechanism (crank) coupled to the ram and structured to impart a reciprocating motion to the ram to reciprocate between a first retracted portion, wherein the ram is spaced from the toolpack, and a second extended position, wherein the ram extends through the toolpack [see col. 1 lines 51-58 & col. 3 lines 37-44], and
a redraw assembly comprising
a hold down body (36) structured to be slidably coupled to a frame (16) of the bodymaker [see figure 1, col. 4 lines 39-43],
a redraw sleeve assembly having a redraw sleeve (62) adjustably coupled to the hold down body and structured to apply a force to a cup engaged with a toolpack of the bodymaker [see col. 5 lines 9-21], and
a means is provided to dynamically adjust an aspect (radially adjusting) of the redraw sleeve with respect to the hold down body while the bodymaker is in operation forming a can body [see col. 5 lines 18-20].
Pora et al discloses that a means is provided for radially adjusting the redraw sleeve (62) but fails to disclose the specifics of the means. Pora et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the means is a controller (i.e. automatic).
However, it would have been within the realm of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller that automates the radial adjustment of the redraw sleeve, since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art [see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the means of Pora et al to be a controller, in order to efficiently adjust the redraw sleeve during a redraw operation of the can bodymaker.
In reference to claim 12, the aspect comprises one or more of a vertical and/or lateral positioning [Pora et al discloses a radial adjustment which encompasses both vertical and lateral positioning adjustments; see col. 5 lines 18-19] of the redraw sleeve (62) relative to the hold down body (36).
2. Claim(s) 1, 7, 11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pora et al (US 4,702,098).
In reference to claim 1, Pora et al discloses a redraw assembly for use with a can bodymaker, the redraw assembly comprising
a hold down body (36) structured to be slidably coupled to a frame (16) of the bodymaker [see figure 1, col. 4 lines 39-43],
a redraw sleeve assembly having a redraw sleeve (62) adjustably coupled to the hold down body and structured to apply a force to a cup engaged with a toolpack of the bodymaker [see col. 5 lines 9-21], and
a manual pressure adjustment control (142) is provided to dynamically adjust an aspect (clamping force) of the redraw sleeve with respect to the hold down body while the bodymaker is in operation forming a can body [see col. 6 lines 52-58].
Pora et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a controller (i.e. automatic) is provided to dynamically adjust the aspect (clamping force).
However, it would have been within the realm of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller that adjusts the clamping force provided by the redraw sleeve, since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art [see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the manual pressure adjustment control of Pora et al to be a controller, in order to efficiently adjust the clamping force provided by the redraw sleeve during a redraw operation of the can bodymaker.
In reference to claim 7, the aspect comprises the force that the redraw sleeve (62) is structured to apply [see col. 6 lines 52-58].
In reference to claim 11, Pora et al discloses a bodymaker comprising
a frame,
a ram (punch) slidably coupled to the frame,
a toolpack coupled to the frame,
a drive mechanism (crank) coupled to the ram and structured to impart a reciprocating motion to the ram to reciprocate between a first retracted portion, wherein the ram is spaced from the toolpack, and a second extended position, wherein the ram extends through the toolpack [see col. 1 lines 51-58 & col. 3 lines 37-44], and
a redraw assembly comprising
a hold down body (36) structured to be slidably coupled to a frame (16) of the bodymaker [see figure 1, col. 4 lines 39-43],
a redraw sleeve assembly having a redraw sleeve (62) adjustably coupled to the hold down body and structured to apply a force to a cup engaged with a toolpack of the bodymaker [see col. 5 lines 9-21], and
a manual pressure adjustment control (142) is provided to dynamically adjust an aspect (clamping force) of the redraw sleeve with respect to the hold down body while the bodymaker is in operation forming a can body [see col. 6 lines 52-58].
Pora et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a controller (i.e. automatic) is provided to dynamically adjust the aspect (clamping force).
However, it would have been within the realm of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a controller that adjusts the clamping force provided by the redraw sleeve, since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art [see In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the manual pressure adjustment control of Pora et al to be a controller, in order to efficiently adjust the clamping force provided by the redraw sleeve during a redraw operation of the can bodymaker.
In reference to claim 17, the aspect comprises the force that the redraw sleeve is structured to apply [see col. 6 lines 52-58].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-16 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725