Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,8-9,11,13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene et al (“Greene”, US 9,563,704) in view of Van Os et al (“Van Os”, US 2020/0363934)
As per claim 1, Greene teaches hot event display method for application, comprising:
playing a first multimedia content in a target event, in a playing page of the first multimedia content (Figure 1 see below, Column 2 lines 44-62, Media Content item 102, herein interpreted as first multimedia content, in a user interface 100, interpreted as playing page, which includes the media content item playing in the media player 104); and
displaying a video collection of the target event in the playing page of the first multimedia content, wherein the video collection comprises a first card for triggering playing of a second multimedia content in the target event, a second card for triggering playing of a third multimedia content in the target event (see Figure 1 above, Column 3 lines 35-51, Set of media content suggestions 110 can indicate one or more suggestions of media content items determined to be related to media content item 102. In some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can include a title 112 and individual media content suggestions 120, 130, and 140. Set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented in any suitable manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented in a column next to media player window 104. In some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented concurrently with media content item 102. Alternatively, in some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented when it is determined that presentation of media content item 102 is finished.) and
wherein the displaying the video collection of the target event comprises:
displaying the video collection in the playing page, after the playing of the first multimedia content is finished and a first triggering operation on a control in the playing page is not received (See Figure 1 above, Column 3 lines 35-51, Set of media content suggestions 110 can indicate one or more suggestions of media content items determined to be related to media content item 102. In some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can include a title 112 and individual media content suggestions 120, 130, and 140. Set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented in any suitable manner. For example, as shown in FIG. 1, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented in a column next to media player window 104. In some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented concurrently with media content item 102. Alternatively, in some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented when it is determined that presentation of media content item 102 is finished.).
Green suggests that the video collection can be presented in any suitable manner (Column 11 lines 1-6, Process 400 can cause one or more suggestions of media content related to the media content item currently being viewed to be presented based on the rankings of the social network posts at 412. Any suitable number of suggestions (e.g., one, two, five, and/or any other number) can be presented, and the suggestions can be presented in any suitable manner.); however, Greene fails to explicitly teach:
a timeline recording a period of occurrence of the second multimedia content and a period of occurrence of the third multimedia content, the first card and the period of occurrence of the second multimedia content are displayed in correspondence with each other, and the second card and the period of occurrence of the third multimedia content are displayed in correspondence with each other.
However, Van Os teaches a timeline recording a period of occurrence of the second multimedia content and a period of occurrence of the third multimedia content, the first card and the period of occurrence of the second multimedia content are displayed in correspondence with each other, and the second card and the period of occurrence of the third multimedia content are displayed in correspondence with each other ([0190]-[0193] FIG. 8B illustrates an exemplary user interface including a navigation bar. Display 450 optionally displays a user interface that includes region 828 and navigation bar 830. Region 828 optionally displays a representation of a current position in a respective content item (e.g., a large version of content being played in the user interface). The respective content item is optionally a currently selected content item (e.g., a content item selected for presentation to the user on display 450) from a sequence of content items that includes a plurality of content items (e.g., movies, television shows, applications), such as sequence 802.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Van Os with the method of Greene. Motivation to do so would have been to affirmatively visualize the temporal sequence of the suggested content of Greene in order to convey to the user which content will play next.
As per claim 2, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, further comprising: switching from playing the first multimedia content to playing the second multimedia content, after receiving a triggering operation on the first card. (Column 4 lines 14-17, In some embodiments, any item included with an individual media content suggestion can include a link, which, when selected, can cause an associated media content item to begin being presented.)
As per claim 3, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 2, further comprising: displaying the video collection in a playing page of the second multimedia content. (See Figure 1, Column 3 lines 35-51, Set of media content suggestions 110 can indicate one or more suggestions of media content items determined to be related to media content item 102.)
As per claim 4, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 2, further comprising: hiding the video collection in a playing page of the second multimedia content. (Column 3 lines 35-51, As another example, in some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented in a pop-up window upon termination of a presentation of media content item 102. In some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented concurrently with media content item 102. Alternatively, in some embodiments, set of media content suggestions 110 can be presented when it is determined that presentation of media content item 102 is finished.)
As per claim 5, Van Os teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, wherein a region where the video collection is located is on a bottom of the playing page (Figure 8B).
As per claim 6, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, wherein:
the first card comprises at least one of a cover of the second multimedia content or a title of the second multimedia content, or the first card comprises at least one of a frame of the second multimedia content or the title of the second multimedia content; and the second card comprises at least one of a cover of the third multimedia content or a title of the third multimedia content, or the second card comprises at least one of a frame of the third multimedia content or the title of the third multimedia content. (See Figure 1 above, Column 3 lines 64-Column 4 lines 43, Thumbnails 122, 132, and 142 can each be an image associated with individual media content items 120, 130, and 140, respectively. For example, in some embodiments, thumbnails 122, 132, and/or 142 can be an image taken from a screen capture of the associated media content item. See also Titles 124, 134, and 144 can indicate titles associated with individual media content items 120, 130, and 140, respectively. In some embodiments, titles 124, 134, and/or 144 can include any suitable text, images, icons, graphics, and/or any other suitable content.)
As per claim 8, Greene fails to teach but Van Os teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, further comprising: highlighting the card and the period of occurrence corresponding to the first multimedia content (Figure 8B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Van Os with the method of Greene. Motivation to do so would have been to alert the user which selection is intended in order to promote ease of use.
As per claim 9, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, wherein the displaying the video collection of the target event comprises: displaying the video collection in the playing page, after a first triggering operation on a control is received in the playing page in a process of playing the first multimedia content (Column 7 lines 4-18, Process 400 can begin by receiving a request to present suggestions of media content related to an item of media content which is currently being presented at 402. The request can be generated by any suitable source and can be based on any suitable information. For example, in some embodiments, a request can be generated by a hardware processor 302 of a user device 210 determining that a media content item is being presented and that suggestions of media content related to the media content item are needed. As another example, a request can be generated by a hardware processor 302 of a media content server 206 when it is determined that a selection mechanism (e.g., a play button) associated with a media content item has been selected and that suggestions of media content related to the media content item are needed.)
As per claim 11, Greene fails to teach but Van Os teaches The hot event display method for application according to claim 1, further comprising: in the video collection, displaying a third card for triggering playing of a fourth multimedia content and a period of occurrence of the fourth multimedia content in the target event recorded in the timeline, after receiving a swipe operation on a region where the video collection is located, wherein the third card and the period of occurrence of the fourth multimedia content are displayed in correspondence with each other ([0205] Eventually, scrolling through navigation bar 830 optionally results in reaching the end of the respective content item, and thus current position indicator 826 optionally reaches the end of the portion of the navigation bar that includes images 814, 816, 818, 820, and 822, from the respective content item. If further scrolling input is detected on touch-sensitive surface 451, current position indicator 826 optionally crosses over into the portion of navigation bar 830 that includes the representation of the adjacent content item 824. In response, scrolling optionally continues through the content item corresponding to the representation of the adjacent content item 824, as described below. Thus, the navigation bar of this disclosure allows a user to scroll through a current content item, and also scroll into one or more content items that are adjacent to the current content item (e.g., previous/next television episodes).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Van Os with the method of Greene. Motivation to do so would have been to save screen space and maintain enlarged displayed items by enabling a scroll feature for more content.
As per claim 13, Greene teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, wherein the video collection of the target event is the same in clients. (Column 5 lines 6-15, Media content transcript server 202 can be any suitable server for accessing, generating, storing, and/or transmitting transcripts of media content items in some embodiments. For example, in some embodiments, media content transcript server 202 can be a server that receives a request for a transcript of a particular media content item, and media content transcript server 202 can generate and deliver the transcript in response to the request. In some embodiments, media content transcript server 202 can be omitted.)
Claim 14 is similar in scope to that of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to that of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to that of claim 2 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to that of claim 3 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to that of claim 4 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to that of claim 5 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to that of claim 6 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene et al (“Greene”, US 9,563,704) in view of Van Os et al (“Van Os”, US 2020/0363934) in view of Long et al (“Long”, US11,463,780)
As per claim 10, Greene-Van Os fails to teach but Long teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 9, further comprising: hiding the video collection in the playing page, after receiving a second triggering operation on the control, or after receiving a triggering operation on a blank region except for a region where the video collection is located in the playing page (Figure 6A, Column 12 lines 37-42, Additionally, the system can optionally provide the capability that with a swipe down on the program area 604, or other user interface action on a virtual or physical user interface element, the user can request that a channel changer 606a be displayed, or, with an opposite action, that it be hidden.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Long with the method of Greene-Van Os. Motivation to do so would have been to allow the user to toggle the UI to avoid screen overlap or content not being maximized on the screen.
As per claim 12, Greene-Van Os fails to teach but Long teaches the hot event display method for application according to claim 1, further comprising: playing one multimedia content in other event different from the target event, after receiving a first swipe operation on a blank region except for a region where the video collection is located in the playing page; or switching from the playing page to display a user account page corresponding to the first multimedia content, after receiving a second swipe operation on the blank region except for the region where the video collection is located in the playing page (Column 12 lines 23-37, By swiping left or right or selecting left or right on the main program viewing area 604, the user will change the viewing to the next channels either lower (swipe right) or higher (swipe left). Additionally, just below the viewing window 604 is window 606a which shows channel and program information 608a, 610a for one or more channels so the user can see what is on and zoom in to see any more detailed program information without changing the channel that is being viewed. Similarly, the user can see what program is on a neighboring channel either lower (swipe right) or higher (swipe left) and then select ‘watch’ to view that channel.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Long with the method of Greene-Van Os. Motivation to do so would have been to allow for easy and fast browsing and discovery of different programs and fast channel changing in a way that is new to IP-based TV applications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188