This is a Final office action for serial number 18471440.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Kolodin, Juzak, Size, Jr. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the preset location, outer side of opening should include reference numbers within the figures must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fastener must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Kolodin 2,835,464.
Kolodin discloses claims:
1. A suspension bracket comprising: a first bracket 112 having an opening and comprising a first connecting structure 124; a support pole 16 pierced through the opening and configured to be disposed on a preset location, wherein one end of the support pole abuts against an outer side of the opening; a positioning member 20 disposed on the support pole, wherein the positioning member abuts against another outer side of the opening to retain the first bracket, and the first bracket 112 can be rotated relative to the positioning member and the support pole; and a second bracket 114 comprising a second connecting structure 128, wherein the second connecting structure 128 is detachably connected to the first connecting structure 124 of the first bracket to form an accommodating space for containing an article; wherein the support pole comprises: a threaded section (see figure area below) for fastening the positioning member; an extended section connected to one end of the threaded section; and a knob section 22 connected to another end of the threaded section, wherein the knob section abuts against the outer side of the opening.
2. The suspension bracket according to claim 1, wherein, the first connecting structure comprises at least two first coupling sections 124 respectively positioned at at least two sides of the first bracket; and the second connecting structure comprises at least two second coupling sections 128 respectively positioned at at least two sides of the second bracket and detachably connected to the at least two first coupling sections 124.
3. The suspension bracket according to claim 2, wherein one of the at least two first coupling sections and the at least two second coupling sections that are respectively connected is a protrusion 124, and another one of the at least two first coupling sections and the at least two second coupling sections that are respectively connected is a recess 128.
4. The suspension bracket according to claim 3, wherein each protrusion 124 is a circular column, a rectangular column, or a triangular column, and each recess 128 is a circular recess, a rectangular recess, or a triangular recess.
5. The suspension bracket according to claim 2, wherein the first bracket further comprises: a support section 112a, wherein the opening 116 is positioned at the support section; and two connecting sections 112b/112c respectively connected to two ends of the support section, wherein the at least two first coupling sections 124 are respectively disposed on the two connecting sections.
7. The suspension bracket according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first bracket and the second bracket have a U-shape (see figure 9).
[AltContent: textbox (Support section 112a
Two connecting sections 112c)][AltContent: textbox (First bracket 112
Opening 116
First connecting structure, two first coupling sections being a column protrusion124
Support pole (16/22, well known for end of 16 to have 22 at the end)
One end of pole 22
Positioning member 20
Threaded section (outer threads of 16/22 that engages 20)
Extend section (the other extended section of 16 that does not engage 20)
Second bracket 114
Second connecting structure, two second coupling section being a rectangular recess 128)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 12, 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolodin 2,835,464 in view of Size, Jr. 11236778.
Kolodin discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for
the support pole comprises a through hole, wherein the through hole penetrates the threaded section, the extended section, and the knob section and is configured to be pierced through by a fastener, and the fastener is configured to be disposed on the preset location; and the knob section comprises a round notch, wherein the fastener abuts against the round notch to place the support pole at the preset location.
Size, Jr. teaches that it is known to have claims:
9. The suspension bracket according to claim 1, wherein, the support pole (element including 214, 216) comprises a through hole (218), wherein the through hole penetrates the threaded section (216), the extended section (the area at the end), and the knob section (214) and is configured to be pierced through by a fastener (222), and the fastener (222) is configured to be disposed on the preset location; and the knob section comprises a round notch (226), wherein the fastener abuts against the round notch to place the support pole at the preset location (210).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Kolodin to have included the support pole comprises a through hole, and the knob section and the fastener; and the knob section comprises a round notch as taught by Size, Jr. for the purpose of providing a means to attach the holder to various types of surface with quick, firm, and stable attachment preventing accidental removal or failure.
Modified Kolodin in view of Size, Jr. as disclosed above teach claims:
12. A method of installing a suspension bracket, the method comprising: passing a support pole through an opening of a first bracket such that one end of the support pole abuts against an outer side of the opening, wherein the first bracket comprises a first connecting structure; disposing a positioning member on the support pole, wherein the positioning member abuts against another outer side of the opening to retain the first bracket; installing the support pole at a preset location; placing an article in a second bracket, wherein the second bracket comprises a second connecting structure; and detachably connecting the second connecting structure and the first connecting structure to form an accommodating space for containing the article; wherein in a step of installing the support pole at the preset location, a fastener is pierced through a through hole of the support pole, one end of the fastener is mounted to the preset location, and the other end of the fastener is fitted in the support pole, so that the fastener supports the support pole and in turn the support pole supports the first bracket.
13. The method according to claim 12, further comprising: rotating the positioning member relative to the support pole to move the positioning member away from the first bracket so as to loosen the first bracket; rotating the first bracket; and rotating the positioning member relative to the support pole to move the positioning member toward the first bracket so as to fasten the first bracket.
17. A suspension bracket comprising: a first bracket having an opening and comprising a first connecting structure; a support pole pierced through the opening and configured to be disposed on a preset location, wherein one end of the support pole abuts against an outer side of the opening; a positioning member disposed on the support pole, wherein the positioning member abuts against another outer side of the opening to retain the first bracket, and the first bracket can be rotated relative to the positioning member and the support pole; and a second bracket comprising a second connecting structure, wherein the second connecting structure is detachably connected to the first connecting structure of the first bracket to form an accommodating space for containing an article; wherein the support pole comprises a through hole, the through hole is configured to be pierced through by a fastener, and the fastener is configured to be disposed on the preset location.
Claim(s) 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolodin 2,835,464 in view of Juzak et al. (Juzak) 20190017630
Kolodin discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein the first bracket further comprises a first fastening hole, the second bracket further comprises a second fastening hole, and the suspension bracket further comprises a fastening screw fastened through the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole.
Juzak teaches it is known to have claim:
11. The suspension bracket according to claim 1, wherein the first bracket 2 further comprises a first fastening hole 11, the second bracket 3 further comprises a second fastening hole 22, and the suspension bracket further comprises a fastening screw 25 fastened through the first fastening hole 11 and the second fastening hole 22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success to have modified Kolodin to have included wherein the first bracket further comprises a first fastening hole, the second bracket further comprises a second fastening hole, and the suspension bracket further comprises a fastening screw fastened through the first fastening hole and the second fastening hole as taught by Juzak for the purpose of providing a locking means to prevent accidental separation between the first and second brackets.
Modified Kolodin in view of Juzak teach claim:
16. The method according to claim 12, wherein a step of detachably connecting the second connecting structure and the first connecting structure further comprises fastening a fastening screw through a first fastening hole of the first bracket and a second fastening hole of the second bracket.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above rejected claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art discloses conventional suspension bracket.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY T WOOD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631