DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination filed 4/9/26 (claims filed 4/6/26) which has been entered. Claims 48-49, 51-52, 67, 69-70, and 72 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 74-77 have been added. Claims 48-52, 55-62, and 67-77 are still pending in this application, with Claims 48, 67, and 69 being independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 71 recites limitations which are already contained fully within independent claim 69, from which claim 71 depends. Examiner suggest deleting claim 71. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 77 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim refers to a “Holmholtz resonance”. This appears to be a typo and Examiner suggests changing to “Helmholtz resonance”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 51, 55, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 51 and 75 recite the limitation “a first plurality of flexible or stretchable cords configured to suspend the frame structure from the interior of the sound generating device”. However, cords disclosed in the original disclosure refer to cords 302, which suspend a frame structure from C-mount 220 as in Fig. 4, which is not part of the sound-generating device. Further, looking at Fig. 7, those same cords (not labeled) are shown to suspend to elements that are completely separate from the sound-generating device. Therefore, cords 302 cannot be the cords that suspend the frame structure from the interior of the sound generating device. Other cords referred to in the original disclosure are cords 704 as shown in Fig. 7, which suspend the transducer assembly 702 from connectors 610. Therefore, cords 704 also cannot be the cords that suspend the frame structure from the interior of the sound generating device. Para 0096 also refers to cords that are used to keep a diffusor in place, but those cords also are not cords that suspend the frame structure from the interior of the sound generating device. Therefore, the first plurality of cords referred to in claims 51 and 75 are new matter. Claim 55 depends from claim 51, therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 51, 55, 71-73, 75, and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Referring to claims 51, 55, and 75, claims 51 and 75 recite the limitation "the interior of the sound generating device.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets as an interior of the sound-generating device. Claim 55 depends from claim 51, therefore, it is rejected for the same reason.
Referring to claims 71-73, claims 71-73 recite the limitation "the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer.” It is unclear if these are the same first and second transducers introduced in claim 69 or if they are supposed to be different transducers. Examiner interprets as if this part of the claims is deleted.
Referring to claim 77, claim 77 recites the limitation "the first transducer and the second transducer.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets claim 72 as the system of claim 70, wherein the first transducer and the second transducer are each implemented as a humbucking microphone capsule having a moving diaphragm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48-49, 56-57, 67, and 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick US Publication No. 20110259175 in view of Ludwig US Patent No. 7309829.
Referring to claim 48, Mollick teaches a system, comprising:
a frame structure configured for placement within a sound-generating device (Figs. 1-2: vertical straps 11 placed within drum cavity 17);
wherein the frame structure is suspended within the sound-generating device and acoustically decoupled from the sound-generating device (Fig. 1: vertical straps 11 suspended within drum cavity 17; para 0030: “The microphone is adequately isolated from the drum shell vibrations… The elastomeric material chosen for the straps may be any material type that provides a vibration damping or attenuation property, such as rubber.”); and
a transducer assembly including a plurality of transducers (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted. Additionally, a plurality of planes may be adapted to secure to the vertical straps, allowing several simultaneously mounted planes for supporting several microphones.”), wherein the transducer assembly is coupled, via a plurality of connectors, to an interior of the frame structure, wherein each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the interior of the frame structure at a coupling point (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 coupled to interior of straps 11 via coupling points of top ends of horizontal straps 12), and wherein each connector is rotatably coupled to the interior of the frame structure such that the transducer assembly is rotatable around an axis of rotation defined by each coupling point within the frame structure (para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality ”– Examiner notes that when the plane is tilted/angled, the plane, the connected top ends of straps 12, and the connected microphones are rotatable around an axis formed between the two coupling points of the top ends of straps 12),
wherein the plurality of transducers are suspended from the plurality of connectors (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 suspended from horizontal straps 12, plane 15, wires 19, and/or plane 18).
However, Mollick does not teach the microphones producing concurrent signals per se, but Ludwig teaches the plurality of transducers are configured to generate a plurality of audio signals concurrently (Column 65, Lines 24-28: “the invention provides for signal outputs from the multi-channel transducer(s) to be fed in parallel to a control signal extractor 5010 so as to simultaneously issue control signals 5011 to any one or more of music synthesizers, signal processors, lighting, special effects, etc.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate audio signals concurrently, as taught in Ludwig, in the system of Mollick because it allows processing to be conducted on all signals from the microphones at all times.
Referring to claim 49, Mollick teaches the coupling point of each connector is located closer to a midpoint of the connector than to an end of the connector (Fig. 1: coupling point of top ends of straps (which corresponds to interior sides of holes around strap 11) is located closer to a midpoint of the top ends of strap 12 than to top or bottom end of the top ends of straps 12).
Referring to claim 56, Mollick teaches each transducer of the plurality of transducers is, as suspended, acoustically isolated from the frame structure (para 0027: “The wire 19 acts as a suspension device in which the microphone 21 is isolated from the movement of the drum shell and straps 11”).
Referring to claim 57, Mollick teaches a first transducer of the plurality of transducers and a second transducer of the plurality of transducers are separated by a distance that is greater than or equal to a diameter of a diaphragm of one of the plurality of transducers (para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality.”; para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted. Additionally, a plurality of planes may be adapted to secure to the vertical straps, allowing several simultaneously mounted planes for supporting several microphones.”). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of positioning two microphones relative to one another on a single plane and/or positioning two planes with microphones relative to one another, therefore it would have been obvious to try placing the microphones at a distance greater than or equal to a diameter of a diaphragm of one of the transducer because the microphones are able to be mounted anywhere along the plane and the planes are able to move along the lengths of the vertical straps, as discussed in Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig.
Referring to claim 67, Mollick teaches a method, comprising:
providing a frame structure configured for placement within a sound-generating device (Figs. 1-2: vertical straps 11 placed within drum cavity 17);
wherein the frame structure is suspended within the sound-generating device and acoustically decoupled from the sound-generating device (Fig. 1: vertical straps 11 suspended within drum cavity 17; para 0030: “The microphone is adequately isolated from the drum shell vibrations… The elastomeric material chosen for the straps may be any material type that provides a vibration damping or attenuation property, such as rubber.”); and
providing a transducer assembly including a plurality of transducers (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted. Additionally, a plurality of planes may be adapted to secure to the vertical straps, allowing several simultaneously mounted planes for supporting several microphones.”), wherein the transducer assembly is coupled, via a plurality of connectors, to an interior of the frame structure, wherein each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the interior of the frame structure at a coupling point (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 coupled to interior of straps 11 via coupling points of top ends of horizontal straps 12), and wherein each connector is rotatably coupled to the interior of the frame structure such that the transducer assembly is rotatable around an axis of rotation defined by each coupling point within the frame structure (para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality ”– Examiner notes that when the plane is tilted/angled, the plane, the connected top ends of straps 12, and the connected microphones are rotatable around an axis formed between the two coupling points of the top ends of straps 12),
wherein the plurality of transducers are suspended from the plurality of connectors (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 suspended from horizontal straps 12, plane 15, wires 19, and/or plane 18).
However, Mollick does not teach the microphones producing concurrent signals per se, but Ludwig teaches the plurality of transducers are configured to generate a plurality of audio signals concurrently (Column 65, Lines 24-28: “the invention provides for signal outputs from the multi-channel transducer(s) to be fed in parallel to a control signal extractor 5010 so as to simultaneously issue control signals 5011 to any one or more of music synthesizers, signal processors, lighting, special effects, etc.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate audio signals concurrently, as taught in Ludwig, in the method of Mollick because it allows processing to be conducted on all signals from the microphones at all times.
Referring to claim 76, Mollick teaches each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the interior of the frame structure by a single coupling point (Fig. 1: each of top ends of straps 12 coupled to interior of rear straps 11 by a single point).
Claim(s) 50, 62, and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick and Ludwig, as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Cleland US Publication No. 20020029680.
Referring to claim 50, Mollick teaches the sound-generating device is a percussion instrument (Fig. 1: drum). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach a stretched membrane per se, but Cleland teaches a percussion instrument comprising a stretched membrane (para 0003). Both Mollick and Cleland teach drums, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in stretched membrane of Cleland for the drum surface of Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because a stretched membrane is a conventional drum surface and will allow for sound to be made when played.
Referring to claim 62, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer aligned along an axis forming an angle with a plane of a top of the sound-generating device that is greater than 0 degrees and less than 180 degrees (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted”; Figs. 1-2: multiple microphones placement along plane 15/18 (along with the fact that plane 15/18 is adjustable at the 4 corners) form an axis having an angle with membrane of drum between 0 and 180 degrees – Examiner notes that when there are two microphones along the plane, the axis will be the line that connects the two microphones). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach a stretched membrane per se, but Cleland teaches a stretched membrane of the sound-generating device (para 0003). Both Mollick and Cleland teach drums, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in stretched membrane of Cleland for the drum surface of Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because a stretched membrane is a conventional drum surface and will allow for sound to be made when played.
Referring to claim 68, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers of the transducer assembly are aligned on an axis having an adjustable angle with respect to a membrane of the sound-generating device (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted”; para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality”; Figs. 1-2: multiple microphones placement along plane 15/18 form an axis having an angle with membrane of drum – Examiner notes that when there are two microphones along the plane, the axis will be the line that connects the two microphones). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach a stretched membrane per se, but Cleland teaches a stretched membrane of the sound-generating device (para 0003). Both Mollick and Cleland teach drums, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in stretched membrane of Cleland for the drum surface of Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because a stretched membrane is a conventional drum surface and will allow for sound to be made when played.
Claim(s) 51 and 74-75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick and Ludwig, as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Kelly US Publication No. 20070295189.
Referring to claim 51, Mollick teaches a second plurality of flexible or stretchable cords configured to suspend the plurality of transducers from the plurality of connectors within the frame structure (para 0032). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach cords suspending a frame from the sound device, but Kelly teaches a first plurality of flexible or stretchable cords configured to suspend the frame structure from the interior of the sound-generating device (Fig. 1: elastomer cords 35 suspend mounting unit 1 from drum shell 50). Both Mollick and Kelly teach connection elements, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in elastomer cords of Kelly for the mounts of Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because both elements connect allow for suspension of a frame in order to place a transducer within the drum.
Referring to claim 74, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach a rigid frame, but Kelly teaches the frame structure is formed of a rigid material (Fig. 1: rigid central main mounting unit 1). Both Mollick and Kelly teach connection elements and a mounting frame, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in elastomer cords and a rigid frame of Kelly for the materials of frame of Mollick in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because both frame and connection setups allow for decoupling of the frame from the drum shell.
Referring to claim 75, Kelly teaches a first plurality of flexible or stretchable cords suspending the frame structure from the interior of the sound-generating device (Fig. 1: elastomer cords 35 suspend mounting unit 1 from drum shell 50) and Mollick teaches a second plurality of flexible or stretchable cords suspending the plurality of transducers from the plurality of connectors within the frame structure (para 0032). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 74.
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick and Ludwig, as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Sugiyama et al. US Patent No. 4151777 and Tikander et al. US Patent No. 10469939.
Referring to claim 52, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach a diffusor, but Sugiyama et al. teaches a diffusor positioned below the frame structure and within the sound- generating device (Fig. 7: sound-absorbing plate 112 within case 1 and will be below microphone depending on how the enclosure is oriented), wherein the diffusor comprises a cylindrical body suspended within the sound generating device preventing the cylindrical body from contacting an inner surface of the sound-generating device (Fig. 5: body of sound absorbing plate 112 suspended within case 1 and does not contact inner surface of case 1; Figs. 4-5: sound absorbing plates 12/112 have cylindrical body). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diffusor, as taught in Sugiyama et al., in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because it provides a way “so that there are no reflected waves which interfere with each other and there are no standing waves around the microphone.”
However, Mollick, Ludwig, and Sugiyama et al. do not teach the diffusor containing a hollow body, but Tikander et al. teaches the diffusor comprises: a hollow body (Column 7, Lines 56-59). Both Sugiyama et al. and Tikander et al. teach elements to dampen sound, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in a hollow diffusor, as taught in Tikander et al., for the plate of Sugiyama et al., in the system of Mollick, Ludwig, and Sugiyama et al. because both elements will help to dampen standing waves.
Claim(s) 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick, Ludwig, and Kelly, as applied to claims 48 and 51 above, and further in view of Sano US Publication No. 20190014399.
Referring to claim 55, Mollick, Ludwig, and Kelly do not describe how separate transducers are suspended per se, but Sano teaches the second plurality of flexible or stretchable cords comprises: a first subset of flexible or stretchable cords that suspends a first transducer of the plurality of transducers; and a second subset of flexible or stretchable cords, distinct from the first subset, that suspends a second transducer of the plurality of transducers; wherein the first transducer and the second transducer are independently suspended from the plurality of connectors (Fig. 1: microphones of microphone array 11 are independently suspended via respective sets of elastic body O-rings 13). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of suspending multiple microphone within the plane of Mollick, therefore it would have been obvious to try independently suspending each microphone, as taught in Sano, as opposed to using one or more common cords to suspend each microphone, in the system of Mollick, Ludwig, and Kelly because all options allow for suspension of multiple microphones within the plane of Mollick.
Claim(s) 58, 69-71, and 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick and Ludwig, as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Shaw et al. US Publication No. 20180102121.
Referring to claim 58, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer (para 0031). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach radio frequency noise canceling transducers, but Shaw et al. teaches each transducer implemented as a radio-frequency noise- canceling transducer (para 0007). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use radio frequency noise canceling transducers, as taught in Shaw et al., in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because it helps to “cancel out external interferences.”
Referring to claim 69, Mollick teaches a system, comprising:
a frame structure configured for placement within a sound-generating device, wherein the sound-generating device comprises a drum (Figs. 1-2: vertical straps 11 placed within drum cavity 17);
wherein the frame structure is suspended within the sound-generating device and acoustically decoupled from the sound-generating device (Fig. 1: vertical straps 11 suspended within drum cavity 17; para 0030: “The microphone is adequately isolated from the drum shell vibrations… The elastomeric material chosen for the straps may be any material type that provides a vibration damping or attenuation property, such as rubber.”); and
a transducer assembly including a plurality of transducers (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted. Additionally, a plurality of planes may be adapted to secure to the vertical straps, allowing several simultaneously mounted planes for supporting several microphones.”), wherein the transducer assembly is coupled, via a plurality of connectors, to an interior of the frame structure (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 coupled to interior of straps 11 via coupling points of top ends of horizontal straps 12) and wherein the plurality of connectors are rotatably coupled to the interior of the frame structure (para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality” – Examiner notes that when the plane is tilted/angled, the plane, the connected top ends of straps 12, and the connected microphones are rotatably coupled to the interior of straps 11),
wherein the plurality of transducers are suspended from the plurality of connectors (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 suspended from horizontal straps 12) and are aligned on an axis (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted – Examiner notes that when there are two microphones along the plane, the axis will be the line that connects the two microphones) having an angle with respect to a membrane of the sound-generating device (Figs. 1-2: multiple microphones placement along plane 15/18 form an axis having an angle with membrane of drum) that is adjustable via the plurality of connectors (Figs. 1-2: horizontal straps 12 are adjustable; para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality”),
wherein the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted. Additionally, a plurality of planes may be adapted to secure to the vertical straps, allowing several simultaneously mounted planes for supporting several microphones.”);
wherein each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the interior of the frame structure at a coupling point (Figs. 1-2: microphones 16/21 coupled to interior of straps 11 via coupling points of top ends of horizontal straps 12), and wherein each connector is rotatably coupled to the interior of the frame structure such that the transducer assembly is rotatable around an axis of rotation defined by each coupling point within the frame structure (para 0026: “The flat plane 15 may be moved up and down the lengths of each vertical strap 11, and angled or tiled as desired to achieve a microphone 16 position that yields the optimal sound quality ”– Examiner notes that when the plane is tilted/angled, the plane, the connected top ends of straps 12, and the connected microphones are rotatable around an axis formed between the two coupling points of the top ends of straps 12).
However, Mollick does not teach the microphones producing concurrent signals per se, but Ludwig teaches the plurality of transducers are configured to generate a plurality of audio signals concurrently (Column 65, Lines 24-28: “the invention provides for signal outputs from the multi-channel transducer(s) to be fed in parallel to a control signal extractor 5010 so as to simultaneously issue control signals 5011 to any one or more of music synthesizers, signal processors, lighting, special effects, etc.”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate audio signals concurrently, as taught in Ludwig, in the system of Mollick because it allows processing to be conducted on all signals from the microphones at all times.
However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach radio frequency noise canceling transducers, but Shaw et al. teaches each transducer implemented as a radio-frequency noise-canceling transducer (para 0007). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use radio frequency noise canceling transducers, as taught in Shaw et al., in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because it helps to “cancel out external interferences.”
Referring to claim 70, Mollick teaches the transducer assembly is configured to rotate about the axis within the frame structure while maintaining a constant spacing between the plurality of transducers (para 0026; Fig. 1: when multiple microphones are positioned on plane 15, the tilting of plane 15 with respect to a horizontal axis at an upper distal edge of plane 15 will maintain constant spacing between such microphones).
Referring to claim 71, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer (para 0031) and Shaw et al. teaches each transducer implemented as a radio-frequency noise- canceling transducer (para 0007). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 69.
Referring to claim 73, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer aligned along an axis (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted - Examiner notes that the axis will be the line that connects the two microphones) forming an angle with a plane of the membrane of the sound-generating device that is greater than 0° and less than 180° (Figs. 1-2: multiple microphones placement along plane 15/18 (along with the fact that plane 15/18 is adjustable at the 4 corners) form an axis having an angle with membrane of drum between 0 and 180 degrees).
Claim(s) 59-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick and Ludwig, as applied to claim 48 above, and further in view of Kennedy US Patent No. 5027691.
Referring to claim 59, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer (para 0031). However, Mollick and Ludwig do not teach humbucking microphones, but Kennedy teaches each implemented as a humbucking microphone capsule having a moving diaphragm (Column 1, Lines 37-41: “Typically, contact or acoustic pickups are used. These pickups function much the same as a dynamic microphone, which has a magnet attached to a vibrating diaphragm and a separate stationary coil for sensing the changing magnetic field.”; Column 2, Line 64: “A second humbucking coil can be provided”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use humbucking microphones, as taught in Kennedy, in the system of Mollick and Ludwig because it helps to “inhibit electrical noise”.
Referring to claim 60, Kennedy teaches each humbucking microphone capsule includes a primary coil and a secondary coil, wherein the moving diaphragm is attached to the primary coil (Column 1, Lines 37-41: “Typically, contact or acoustic pickups are used. These pickups function much the same as a dynamic microphone, which has a magnet attached to a vibrating diaphragm and a separate stationary coil for sensing the changing magnetic field.”; Column 2, Line 64: “A second humbucking coil can be provided”). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 59.
Claim(s) 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick, Ludwig, and Kennedy, as applied to claims 48 and 59 above, and further in view of Cleland.
Referring to claim 61, Mollick teaches the first transducer and the second transducer are aligned along an axis forming an angle with a plane of a membrane of the sound-generating device that is greater than 0 degrees and less than 180 degrees (para 0031: “Along the plane…a plurality of microphones may be mounted”; Figs. 1-2: multiple microphones placement along plane 15/18 (along with the fact that plane 15/18 is adjustable at the 4 corners) form an axis having an angle with membrane of drum between 0 and 180 degrees – Examiner notes that the axis will be the line that connects the two microphones). However, Mollick, Ludwig, and Kennedy do not teach a stretched membrane per se, but Cleland teaches a stretched membrane of the sound-generating devic (para 0003). Both Mollick and Cleland teach drums, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute in stretched membrane of Cleland for the drum surface of Mollick in the system of Mollick, Ludwig, and Kennedy because a stretched membrane is a conventional drum surface and will allow for sound to be made when played.
Claim(s) 72 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick, Ludwig, and Shaw, as applied to claims 69-70 above, and further in view of Kennedy.
Referring to claim 72, Mollick teaches the plurality of transducers includes a first transducer and a second transducer (para 0031). However, Mollick, Ludwig, and Shaw do not teach humbucking microphones, but Kennedy teaches each implemented as a humbucking microphone capsule having a moving diaphragm (Column 1, Lines 37-41: “Typically, contact or acoustic pickups are used. These pickups function much the same as a dynamic microphone, which has a magnet attached to a vibrating diaphragm and a separate stationary coil for sensing the changing magnetic field.”; Column 2, Line 64: “A second humbucking coil can be provided”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use humbucking microphones, as taught in Kennedy, in the system of Mollick, Ludwig, and Shaw because it helps to “inhibit electrical noise”.
Claim(s) 77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollick, Ludwig, Shaw, and Kennedy, as applied to claims 69-70 and 72 above, and further in view of Gearspace Document “Can Helmholtz resonators fix a boomy guitar recording?”.
Referring to claim 77, Mollick teaches the first transducer and the second transducer are positioned within the frame structure of the drum (para 0031). However, Mollick, Ludwig, Shaw, and Kennedy do not teach reducing resonance, but Gearspace teaches the first transducer and the second transducer are positioned such that a Holmholtz resonance of the instrument is reduced (Page 3: “Knowing where these patterns occur can be very useful when placing one or more mics to emphasize or reduce the higher resonances in the total sound… I can move my mic around and in some instances it reduces the resonance”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the resonance, as taught in Kennedy, in the system of Mollick, Ludwig, Shaw, and Kennedy because it reduces an unwanted boomy noise in an instrument recording.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 51 and 74 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in para 2 of page 9 of the remarks:
“At pages 2 and 3, the Office Action appears to infer that the vertical straps 11 of Mollick are analogous to the frame structure recited in claim 48. Applicant respectfully traverses this assertion in that the vertical straps 11 are more akin to a suspension mechanism rather than the frame structure of claim 48 that is itself suspended. In this regard, the vertical straps 11 of Mollick are not analogous to the frame structure of claim 48.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. “Frame structure” is a broad term and Examiner must use the broadest reasonable interpretation when examining claims. Without further clarification as to what is meant by a “fame structure” in the claims, the straps 11 of Mollick serve as a frame within the drum by providing structural support for the microphone(s). Therefore, Mollick teaches the “frame structure” of the claims.
Applicant states in para 5 of page 9 of the remarks:
“Dependent claim 49 is amended to recite, in part, "wherein the coupling point of each connector is located closer to a midpoint of the connector than an end of the connector while maintaining a constant spacing between the plurality of transducers." Support for this amendment may be found at least in FIG. 6 in reference to elements 610 and 616. Amended claim 49 clarifies that the coupling point of each connector, and as such the axis of rotation defined by the coupling points about which the connectors are able to rotate, is "closer to a midpoint of the connector than an end of the connector. Mollick does not disclose or suggest this feature. While it is unclear which elements of Mollick are considered the connectors recited in claim 49, the flat plane 15 of Mollick couples to vertical straps 11 at the endpoints. In this regard, the axis of rotation of flat plane 15 would be at one edge or the other (e.g., the front or the back) of flat plane 15 and not at or about any midpoint.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Once again, “connectors” is a broad term and could read on many different parts of Mollick. As seen in the mapping above, Examiner currently cites the top ends of straps 12 toward the rear of the drum as the connectors. This would be the little rectangular area that surrounds the holes that holds straps 11. The coupling points are the areas where straps 12 abut the interior of straps 11. This area is near the middle of the little rectangular area at the tops of straps 12. Therefore, Mollick reads on the noted limitation of claim 49.
Applicant states in para 2 of page 11 of the remarks:
“Claim 52 is amended to clarify that the diffusor "comprises a hollow cylindrical body" that is suspended within the sound generating device. Applicant respectfully submits that neither Sugiyama nor Tikander discloses or suggests this feature.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The sound absorbing plates 12/112 of Fig. 4-5 of Sugiyama have cylindrical body and Tikander teaches a hollow body. Therefore, the combination of Sugiyama and Tikander teach the noted limitations of claim 52.
Applicant states in para 7 of page 12 of the remarks:
“New claim 76 depends from claim 49 as part of a chain from independent claim 48. Claim 76 recites, in part, "wherein each connector of the plurality of connectors is coupled to the interior of the frame structure by a single coupling point.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in the rejection above, Mollick shows each of top ends of straps 12 coupled to interior of rear straps 11 by a single point in Fig. 1. Therefore, Mollick teaches the noted limitation of claim 76.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693