DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of group II (claims 7-20) in the reply filed on 08/25/2025 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Landwehr (US 20180107253; “Landwehr” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Landwehr discloses: a tablet computer case system comprising:
a tablet computer case (100) comprising:
a first portion (100(a) fig. 1);
a second portion (100(b) fig. 1) comprising a keyboard (120, figs. 1-2, ¶[0026]), the second portion configured to move relative to the first portion;
a hinge (200, fig. 2) for rotationally adjusting a position of the first and second portions relative to one another between an open position and a closed position (figs. 2-3, ¶[0029]);
a first plurality of docking magnets (222, 224) arranged on the first portion (fig. 3); and
a first pivot magnet (210, fig. 3) arranged along a perimeter of the first portion opposite the hinge (fig. 3 discloses this limitation), wherein after the first plurality of docking magnets have been disengaged from magnetically coupling with a tablet computer, the first pivot magnet remains engaged with the tablet computer to cause the tablet computer to rotate with respect to the first portion (due to the polarity arrangement disclosed in fig 3, of the magnets, disengagement of magnets 222 and 224 from tablet computer 110 by an user, will lead to the tablet computer 110 rotating with respect to the first portion 110A via firs pivot magnet 210).
Regarding claim 8, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 7, and further discloses:
further comprising the tablet computer (110, figs. 1-3) that can be removably docked from the first portion of the tablet computer case (¶[0028]), the tablet computer comprising:
a second plurality of docking magnets (212, 216) arranged to magnetically couple to the first plurality of docking magnets (fig. 3); and
a second pivot magnet (210) arranged to magnetically couple to the first pivot magnet (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 7, and further discloses: further comprising: a latching magnet (230) arranged on the second portion (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 8, and further discloses: wherein the first pivot magnet is arranged to magnetically couple to the second pivot magnet on the tablet computer (figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 11, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 9, and further discloses: wherein the second pivot magnet (210) is stacked between the first pivot magnet (220) and the latching magnet (230) when the tablet computer (110) is docked to the tablet computer case and the tablet computer case is in the closed position (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 7, and further discloses: wherein the first pivot magnet enables a two-part docking and undocking of the tablet computer from the tablet computer case (the layout arrangement of magnet 210 relative magnets 212 and 216, clearly discloses this limitation, figs. 2-4, by allowing docking and undocking first to the pivot magnets, followed by docking and undocking to the plurality of docking magnets).
Regarding claim 15, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 7, and further discloses: wherein the tablet computer case comprises at least two first pivot magnets and the tablet computer comprises at least two second pivot magnets (as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1-2, and plurality disclosure of magnets 210 and 220 in ¶[0028]).
Regarding claim 16, Landwehr discloses: a tablet computer case comprising:
a first portion (100(a) fig. 1) that is removably dockable with a tablet computer (110, figs. 2-4);
a second portion (100(b) fig. 1) comprising a keyboard (120, figs. 1-2, ¶[0026]), the second portion configured to move relative to the first portion (figs. 2-3);
a hinge (200, figs. 2-3,) for rotationally adjusting a position of the first and second portions relative to one another between an open position and a closed position (figs. 2-4, ¶[0029]);
a first plurality of docking magnets (222, 224) arranged on the first portion (fig.3) to magnetically couple to a second plurality of docking magnets (212, 216) on the tablet computer (fig. 3, ¶[0027]-[0028]); and
a first pivot magnet (220) arranged along a perimeter of the first portion opposite the hinge (fig. 3 clearly discloses this limitation) to magnetically couple with a second pivot magnet (210) on the tablet computer (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 16, and further discloses: further comprising: a latching magnet (230) arranged on the second portion (figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 18, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 16, and further discloses: wherein the first pivot magnet is arranged to magnetically couple to a second pivot magnet on the tablet computer (fig.3, ¶[0028]).
Regarding claim 19, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 17, and further discloses:
wherein the second pivot magnet (210) is stacked between the first pivot magnet (220) and the latching magnet (230) when the tablet computer (110) is docked to the tablet computer case and the tablet computer case is in the closed position (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 16, and further discloses: wherein the first pivot magnet enables a two-part docking and undocking of the tablet computer from the tablet computer case (the layout arrangement of magnet 210 relative magnets 212 and 216, clearly discloses this limitation, figs. 2-4, by allowing docking and undocking first to the pivot magnets, followed by docking and undocking to the plurality of docking magnets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landwehr, in view of Atom et al (US 20230119798; “Atom” hereinafter), and further in view of Lim et al (US 20240103569; “Lim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Landwehr discloses the limitation of claim 7, but does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising an outer covering surrounding the hinge and the first and second portions, the outer covering forming a support feature while in the open position.
However, Atom discloses:
an outer covering (118c) surrounding a hinge (figs. 1, and 8) and a first (102b, fig. 1) and second portions (102a, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include Atom’s outer cover into Landwehr’s case, in order to provide a structurally rigid layer and aesthetic exterior finish as well (¶0040).
Landwehr in view of Atom does not explicitly disclose:
the outer covering forming a support feature while in the open position.
However, Lim discloses:
an outer covering (360) surrounding a hinge (380, fig. 5, ¶[0038]) and a first (340) and second portions (320), the outer covering forming a support feature (bulge made by layers 362 and 364, ¶[0040]-[0041]) while in the open position (figs. 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Atom’s outer covering with Lim’s teaching, such that the outer covering forming a support feature while in the open position, in order to provide support to the tablet case in the open position (¶[0040]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landwehr, in view of Atom et al (US 20230119798; “Atom” hereinafter), Lim et al (US 20240103569; “Lim hereinafter), and further in view of Cheng et al (US 20240061477; “Cheng” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 14, Landwehr in view of Atom and Lim teaches the limitations of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose:
further comprising an access feature on each side of the first portion, wherein a gap to facilitate undocking is formed between the support feature and the access feature when the tablet computer case is in the open position.
However, Cheng teaches:
an outer covering (1 and 3) surrounding a hinge (figs. 1-2, 5-6) further comprising an access feature (space between 1 and 3) on each side of a first portion (5, as disclosed upon examination of figs. 1 and 5), wherein a gap (space between 1 and 3, and 02, fig 1) to facilitate undocking is formed between the support feature and the access feature when the tablet computer case is in the open position (this limitation is clearly taught upon examination of figure 1, where an user can easily disengage the table from the first portion 5, through the access feature, ¶[0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the tablet case of Landwehr in view of Atom and Lim, such that an access feature on each side of the first portion, wherein a gap to facilitate undocking is formed between the support feature and the access feature when the tablet computer case is in the open position, in order for the user to easily disengage the table from the first portion in the open position. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have conceived the idea of creating such configuration. Moreover, the claimed subject matter would have been no more than a predictable combination of known techniques according to their respective purposes within routine skill and creativity (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 20140043743 A1 Cover for an Electronic Device. This invention relates generally to a cover is described that is magnetically attached to a tablet device.
US 10321583 B2 Keyboard Cover for a Tablet Computer. This invention generally relates to a keyboard cover including a back support, a brace, a base portion, and a hand rest. The brace shares a first flexible strip with the back support, the base portion shares a second flexible strip with the brace, and the hand rest shares a third flexible strip with the base portion.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841