DETAILED ACTION
Authorization for Internet Communication
To expedite prosecution, filing a written authorization for internet communication is recommended. Doing so permits USPTO to communicate using email to schedule interviews and/or discuss other aspects of the application. Without the written authorization in place, USPTO cannot respond to email communications. The preferred method of providing authorization is by filing form PTO/SB/439, available at https://www.uspto.gov/patent/forms/forms. See MPEP 502.03.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 06/16/2026 have been considered but are overall deemed unpersuasive.
The applicant's arguments assert that Shen (US 2021/0337510) fails to teach time information "for transmitting AI data". As an initial matter, claim 1 is silent as to any requirement that the recited "time information" be specifically "time information for transmitting AI data" as opposed to time information serving some other function, such as governing when configuration information is received or applied. The arguments imports this narrower, unclaimed characterization directly from the specification rather than from the claim language itself. Even so, the specification does not support the narrow reading Applicant urges: paragraph describes "time information related to data" as information that "indicates the feature and/or configuration … of traffic in different features of the traffic at different times" so that it "can help the second node to configure the transmission of traffic, or to perform data transmission according to the features at different times." This is a broad, functional description that reads on any time-segmented configuration/reception scheme and does not require that the time information itself trigger or specify a transmission event. Shen's time period which determines when the terminal receives and applies UL/DL configuration information, falls within this broad specification definition, and because the claim itself recites no narrower requirement, Shen's teaching reads on the claim as written.
The applicant's arguments assert that Shen386 (US 2023/0047386) fails to teach 'delivering configuration for transmitting AI-related data'. As stated above, claim 1 is silent on any requirement that 'identify information of data associated with AI' be timed to a data-delivery or transport mechanism, as opposed to identifying a type of AI associated data for any purpose, including internal processing. The arguments that Shen386 fails because it does not disclose 'how configuration information is delivered' imposed a delivery-specific limitation found nowhere in the claim, and instead drawn from Applicant's characterization of the invention's purpose. The specification itself does not require this either: paragraph defines "identify information of data" merely as information that "indicates a type of data, such as a traffic ID, a flow ID … or the like," without any requirement that the identifying information related to transport or delivery as opposed to processing. Shen386's "type of data information" used to determine which split mode or sub-model processes a given part of the AI-associated data, satisfies this broad, unclaimed-delivery definition. Because neither the claim nor the specification's own definition requires a delivery-specific identify feature, Shen386 reads on the "identify information of data associated with AI" limitation as actually claimed.
The applicant's arguments assert that Reial (US 2022/0240254) can't be combined with other prior art references. As stated above, claim 1 is silent as to any requirement that the second message or its "second indication information" be inherently AI-specific; the AI association in claim 1 attaches only to the data identified in the first message, not to the indication mechanism used in the second message. The applicant's assertion that Reial is irrelevant because it "has no relation whatsoever to configuration regarding how AI-related data is to be transmitted" rads a limitation into the second-message step that does not appear there. This is confirmed by the specification's own operation "b-2", which describes the second message generically as being "used for indicating a configuration required by the second node to perform data transmission" without confining this indication mechanism to an AI-specific signaling technique. Because Reial's configuration-indication mechanism - selecting one of several previously provided transmission parameters for use in subsequent signaling - matches this generic, non-AI-specific description of the second message, and because motivation to combine rests on the shared goal of efficiently signaling which of several pre-established configurations governs subsequent transmission, no unclaimed AI-specificity is required of Reial for the combination to render the claim obvious.
Therefore, the applicant's arguments are deemed overall unpersuasive.
The applicant also presented other arguments drawn to the various dependent claims. However, said other arguments are all dependency based, depending from the arguments drawn to the independent claims’ limitations discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 13 and 20-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 2021/0337510) in view of Shen (US 2023/0047386, “Shen386”) and Reial et al. (US 2022/0240254, “Reial”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Shen unless otherwise mentioned.
Shen comprises the following features:
Regarding claim 1, a method performed by a second node in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first node, a first message ([0153] “In block 101, a terminal receives first configuration information and/or second configuration information sent by a network device”) including identity information of data associated with artificial intelligence (AI) (This will be discussed in view of Shen386.), at least one time information, and at least one configuration information corresponding to the at least one time information ([0153] “the first configuration information being configured to indicate a first time period corresponding to a first search space”); and
receiving, from the first node or a third node, a second message including second indication information (See aforesaid [0153] for “second configuration information”) indicating one configuration information among the at least one configuration information (This will be discussed in view of Reial.);
transmitting the data based on the one configuration in a time window corresponding to the one configuration ([0164] “the terminal determines the second configuration information as the target configuration information.”, [0287] “a memory 1004 configured to store data and a transmission device 1006 configured for a communication function”, and [0160] “receives the first UL/DL configuration information based on a time period corresponding to the target configuration information.”).
It is noted that while disclosing a method for scheduling, Shen does not specifically teach about identify information of data associated with AI and configuration information among configuration information. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shen386 and Reial, respectively as follows;
identify information of data associated with artificial intelligence (AI) ([Shen386, 0050] “At S510, first configuration information is acquired.”, [Shen386, 0084] “the jth part is determined by at least one piece of the following information: a time domain period of the split mode, a time domain offset of the split mode, and a type of data information.”, and [Shen386, 0053] “The data processing model mentioned in the embodiments of the present disclosure may be any type of AI/ML model, such as an AI/ML model for image recognition, an AI/ML model for natural language recognition”).
indicating configuration information among the at least one configuration information ([Reial, 0079] “The one or more second transmission parameters, which are each different from the first transmission parameter, each define different second time and/or frequency resources for monitoring downlink control channel scheduling for the downlink control information included in one or more second signals. The configuration indication indicates a selection, by the network node, of the first transmission parameter or the one or more second transmission parameters for each of the one or more second signals.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Shen by using the features of Shen386 in order to effectively utilize resources such that “a method for data processing and a communication device, which improve the balance of resource occupation in a data processing” [Shen386, 0004], and by using the features of Reial in order to improve search space and CORESET configurations such that “selects either the first transmission parameter or one or more different second transmission parameters for monitoring downlink control channel scheduling for downlink control information” [Reial, 0005].
Regarding claim 10, it is a method claim at a first node corresponding to the method claim 1 in a reciprocal way, except the limitations, “acquiring time information related to data” ([0200] “In block 401, a network device sends first configuration information and/or second configuration information to a terminal to enable the terminal to select one piece of configuration information from the first configuration information and/or the second configuration information … the first configuration information being configured to indicate a first time period”), and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, it is a first node claim corresponding to the method claim 10, except the limitations, “at least one transceiver” (See Fig. 10 for “Transmission device 1006”), “at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver” (See Fig. 10 for “Processor 1002”), and “at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions” (See Fig. 10 for “Memory 1004”, and [0132] “a computer-executable instruction may be stored, the computer-executable instruction being executed by a processor”) , and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 22, it is a second node claim corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitations, “at least one transceiver” (See Fig. 10 for “Transmission device 1006”), “at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one transceiver” (See Fig. 10 for “Processor 1002”), and “at least one memory, communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, storing instructions” (See Fig. 10 for “Memory 1004”, and [0132] “a computer-executable instruction may be stored, the computer-executable instruction being executed by a processor”) , and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the method of claim 1 and the method of claim 10, respectively, wherein the second indication information is received based on a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) ([Shen386, 0120] “When the second communication device is a network device, the first communication device may acquire the first configuration information from the following information: control channel information, Media Access Control Control Element (MAC CE) information, high-layer configuration signaling, and application layer control information.”) or a general packet radio service (GPRS) tunnelling protocol user plane (GTP-U) header of a data packet (This alternative is not examined.).
Regarding claim 21, the method of claim 1,
wherein the at least one configuration information includes a plurality of transmission configurations respectively associated with corresponding time windows indicated by the at least one time information ([Shen386, 0024 and Fig. 9] “FIG. 9 illustrates a second schematic diagram of switching a split mode provided by an embodiment of the present disclosure.”), and
Wherein a first transmission configuration of the plurality of transmission configuration is applied to the data during a first time window and a second transmission configuration, different from the first transmission configuration, of the plurality of transmission configurations is applied to the data during a second time window ([Shen386, 0069] “the N split modes include two split modes including a first split mode and a second split mode. The part of data corresponding to the first split mode is odd frames of data, and the part of data corresponding to the second split mode is even frames of data.”).
Claim(s) 3-4, 12 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 2021/0337510) in view of Shen (US 2023/0047386, “Shen386”) and Reial et al. (US 2022/0240254, “Reial”) and further in view of Xu (US 2021/0243772).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Shen unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, it is noted that while disclosing a method for scheduling, Shen does not specifically teach about information indicating a QoS parameter. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Xu as follows;
the method of claim 1, wherein the first message further includes at least one of:
first indication information indicating one configuration information among the at least one configuration information; information indicating other data associated with the data indicated by the identify information of data, information indicating a mapping relationship of the data, the mapping relationship indicating a mapping from input data to output data (These alternatives are not examined.);
information indicating a quality of service (QoS) parameter ([Xu, 0073] “the first information includes at least one of the following: a service cycle, a service type, a service arrival window, an average packet size, a service transmission reserved time window length, a time window cycle, a service arrival time point and/or allowable error, a successful transmission duration of service, a service priority an allowable service identification and/or QoS parameter, a recommended service identification and/or QoS parameter” and [Xu, 0076] “a resource reservation and/or resource scheduling for a QoS flow bearing the first service in the first network device”); and
information indicating an applicable time range for the mapping relationship or the QoS parameter (This alternative is not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Shen by using the features of Xu in order to improve resource scheduling such that “determining a resource reservation and/or resource scheduling of the first network device based on the first information” [Xu, 0005].
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the method of claim 3 and the method of claim 12, respectively, wherein the first indication information or the second indication information includes at least one of:
configuration identity information (This alternative is not examined.);
information indicating a time window (aforesaid [Xu, 0073] “a service arrival window”, “a service transmission reserved time window length”, “a time window cycle”, or “a service arrival time point”);
information indicating a quality of service (QoS) parameter to be applied; information indicating a transmission configuration to be applied; information indicating a configuration of data to be applied; information indicating a configuration to be activated; and information indicating a configuration to be deactivated or suspended (These alternatives are not examined.).
Claim(s) 6 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 2021/0337510) in view of Shen (US 2023/0047386, “Shen386”) and Reial et al. (US 2022/0240254, “Reial”) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0413372, “Wu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Shen unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that while disclosing a method for scheduling, Xu does not specifically teach about a QoS parameter applicable to data within a time window. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Wu as follows;
the method of claim 1,
wherein the at least one time information is used for indicating at least one time window and information related to the at least one time window (See aforesaid [0073]),
wherein the at least one configuration information includes information indicating a setting of a quality of service (QoS) parameter applicable to the data within a time window indicated by the at least one time information ([Wu, 0156] “the UE at a first point in time, has data available for transmission while operating in an inactive state. At block 1308, if PUR radio resources configured in the PUR configuration are available at a second point in time and a time gap between the first and second points in time is within a threshold time period, the flow proceeds to block 1210A where the UE transmits data on the PUR radio resources configured in the PUR configuration”, and [Wu, 0157] “the UE can determine the threshold time period in accordance with one or more QoS parameters associated with the data.”), or information indicating a configuration related to the data (This alternative is not examined.), and
wherein the configuration related to the data including at least one of:
a transmission configuration including a transport layer address or a tunnel endpoint identity (This alternative is not examined.), or
a configuration of the data including at least one of a bearer identify (This alternative is not examined.), a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration ([Wu, 0020] “FIG. 3A is a messaging diagram of an example procedure for obtaining a PUR configuration for transmitting a data packet from a UE to a DU in a base station”, and [Wu, 0047] “the data is an uplink (UL) service data unit (SDU) of the packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) or SDAP. The UE 102 applies the security function to the SDU and includes the secured SDU in a first UL PDU (e.g., a UL PDCP PDU).”), a radio link control (RLC) configuration, a logical channel configuration, a cell group configuration, or an RLC bearer configuration (These alternatives are not examined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xu by using the features of Wu in order to effectively communicate between network entities for configurations such that “The UE may transmit a PUR configuration request message to the DU to indicate to the CU that the UE is interested in being configured with a PUR configuration.” [Wu, 0007].
Regarding claim 16, the method of claim 10, wherein the time information related to data includes at least one of:
information indicating at least one time window (This alternative is not examined.),
information indicating a setting of the QoS parameter applicable to the data within a time window ([Wu, 0156] “the UE at a first point in time, has data available for transmission while operating in an inactive state. At block 1308, if PUR radio resources configured in the PUR configuration are available at a second point in time and a time gap between the first and second points in time is within a threshold time period, the flow proceeds to block 1210A where the UE transmits data on the PUR radio resources configured in the PUR configuration”, and [Wu, 0157] “the UE can determine the threshold time period in accordance with one or more QoS parameters associated with the data.”), or
information for indicating the configuration related to the data (This alternative is not examined.).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Wu are the same as for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the method of claim 16,
wherein the information for indicating at least one time window includes at least one of:
identity information of a time window; information for indicating a start position of the time window (These alternatives are not examined.);
information indicating a length of the time window (aforesaid [0064] “the service transmission reserved time window length);
information indicating an end position of the time window; information for indicating an amount of data that needs to be transmitted within the time window; information indicating an offset required to start the time window, information indicating a cycle of the time window; information indicating a number of time windows; information indicating whether the second node is able to continue to use the configuration information corresponding to the time window after the time window ends; information indicating time allowed for the second node to continue data transmission according to a corresponding configuration after the time window ends; information indicating the amount of data allowed for the second node to continue data transmission according to the corresponding configuration after the time window ends; or information indicating a length of a timer related to the time window (These alternatives are not examined.),
wherein the information indicating the setting of the QoS parameter applicable to the data within a time window comprises at least one of:
information indicating the setting of the QoS parameter applicable to the data indicated by the identity information of data; information for indicating an optional QoS parameter applicable to the data indicated by the identity information of the data (These alternatives are not examined.); or
identity information of the QoS parameter ([Wu, 0157] “the QoS parameter(s) include a latency parameter. The UE can set the threshold time period to a value derived from the latency parameter.”), and
wherein the information indicating the configuration related to the data comprises at least one of:
configuration identity information (This alternative is not examined.),
information indicating a configuration required when transmitting data ([Wu, 0156] “At block 1308, if PUR radio resources configured in the PUR configuration are available at a second point in time and a time gap between the first and second points in time is within a threshold time period, the flow proceeds to block 1210A where the UE transmits data”); or
information indicating a configuration required when configuring data transmission (This alternative is not examined.).
Claim(s) 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 2021/0337510) in view of Shen (US 2023/0047386, “Shen386”) and Reial et al. (US 2022/0240254, “Reial”) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0276451, “Liu”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Shen unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 15, it is noted that while disclosing a method for scheduling, Xu does not specifically teach about a third node for time and configuration. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Liu as follows;
the method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting a third message to a third node ([Liu, 0051] “the base station may send the message to the core network for multiple times, for example, in the event that an eDRX configuration of the UE is changed, a new message covering the updated configuration will be sent.”), the third message including time information and at least one configuration information ([Liu, 0046] “The message may further include at least one of following information: [0047] eDRX configuration information which may include: an eDRX cycle, a Paging Time Window (PTW) configuration.”); and receiving a fourth message from the third node ([Liu, 0061] “Based on the decision made in step 3, the core network may proceed to send UE data to the base station.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Xu by using the features of Liu in order to support low latency such that “The method may include: receiving, from a second network element, a configuration information of a wireless device, the wireless device being in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state” [Liu, 0004].
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411