DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined below
Response to Arguments
The remarks of 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art doesn't explicitly teach or disclose all of the elements of amended claim 1. In particular applicant argues the following claim language:
“an axial length ratio of the divergent portion to the adduction portion of 2:1
“an axial length ratio of the second portion to the first portion is 1:3
Regarding the first bullet point - Figulla discloses below shows a divergent portion that has twice the axial length of the adduction portion as shown in annotated Figure 1.
Regarding the second bullet point - Figulla discloses a first portion (i.e. the section proximal of the waist) that is three times as long in the axial direction as the second portion (i.e. the section distal the waist) as indicated in annotated Fig. 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114271992 (Chen) in view of US 2007/0142906 (Figulla)
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a recoverable and self-expanding short-frame valve suitable for aortic valve regurgitation (Fig. 1), comprising:
a tubular frame (Fig. 1, see also ¶0012 of the attached translation) and valve leaflets (¶0031, “three leaflets”) sutured to an inner periphery of the tubular frame (¶0031, “sewing three leaflets of the inner circumference of the tubular frame”), the tubular frame having a plurality of hollow grids (¶0031, “the tubular frame is provided with a plurality of follow grids) thereon to cause the tubular frame to contract to a delivery configuration or expand to a use configuration in a radial direction (¶0031, “shrink to the conveying shape or expand to the use shape in the radial direction”), the tubular frame comprising a first portion (Fig. 1, 1) and a second portion (Fig. 1, 2) integrally formed and coaxially arranged (¶0032), a waist portion (Fig. 1, 3) being formed at the junction of the first portion and the second portion when the tubular frame is in the use configuration (see Fig. 1, wherein 3 is at junction of 2 and 1), and the second portion being divergently arranged in a direction away from the waist portion, wherein (see Fig. 1, wherein 2 is divergently arranged in a direction away from 3):
the first portion in the direction away from the waist portion comprises a divergent portion and an adduction portion (see annotated Fig. 1 provided below)
an end of the adduction portion away from the waist portion is formed with a plurality of endpoints (see Fig. 1),
Chen discloses a divergent portion and an addiction portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose an axial length ratio of the divergent portion to the adduction portion of 2: 1, an axial length ratio of the second portion to the first portion is 1: 3; and connection sections being arranged on at least five of the endpoints and configured to be detachably connected to steel wires of a valve delivery system
Figulla discloses a stent (Fig. 1) comprising a divergent portion and an adduction portion (see annotated Fig. 1 below), with an axial length ratio of the divergent portion to the adduction portion of 2::1 (see annotated Fig. 1 below); an axial length ratio of the second portion to the first portion is 1: 3 (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and connection sections being arranged on at least five of the endpoints (see Fig. 1 below, wherein 4 is arranged on a least 5 endpoints) and configured to be detachably connected to steel wires of a valve delivery system (¶0052, wherein “engagement with a catheter system” corresponds to configured to be detachably connected to steel wires of a valve delivery system)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the axial length ratios of the divergent portion to the adduction portion and the second portion to the first portion to be 2:1 and 1:3 respectively as well as connection sections on five endpoints configured to be detachably connected to steel wires of a valve delivery system , as taught by Figulla, in order to anchor the stent in the patient’s heart as precisely as possible (Figulla, abstract) while still allowing for recover and/or replacement.
Regarding claim 2, Chen further discloses a stud integrally formed on the endpoints (Fig. 1, 121, see also ¶0033 of translation wherein 121 corresponds to a stud because it prevents aortic perforation)
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses a plurality of endpoints (see rejection of claim 1) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose wherein the number of the endpoints is 5-10.
Figulla discloses wherein the number of the endpoints is 5-10 (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein five to ten endpoints are shown)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the frame of Chen with five to ten endpoints, as taught by Figulla, in order to sufficient attachment points for repositioning and/or reconfiguration of the frame.
Regarding claim 4, Chen further discloses a cross section where the junction of the adduction portion and the divergent portion is located is a first cross section (see annotated Fig. 1, “first cross section”), and a cross section where an end of the second portion away from the waist portion is located is a second cross section (annotated Fig. 1, “second cross section”); and diameter of the first cross section is greater than that of the section cross section when the tubular frame is in the use configuration (See annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein the diameter of the annotated first cross section is larger than the diameter of the annotated second cross section)
Regarding claim 5, Chen further discloses an outer tectorial membrane (Fig. 1, 4) covered on the peripheries of the second portion and a portion of the divergent portion near the waist portion
Regarding claim 6, Chen further discloses a divergence angle of the second portion in the direction away from the waist portion is 5°-10° (¶0014, see also claim 2)
Regarding claim 7, Chen further discloses that the tubular frame is made of a nickel-titanium alloy (¶0035, “the tubular frame of the embodiment is made of nickel-titanium alloy material”)
Regarding claim 8, Chen further discloses a plurality of positioning mark points are uniformly distributed in a circumferential direction of the waist portion (¶0016, “waist circumference is uniformly distributed with a plurality of locating mark points”)
Regarding claim 9, Chen further discloses a positioning mark point is made of gold (¶0017, “Preferably, the locating mark point is made of gold material”)
Regarding claim 10, Chen further discloses an outer tectorial membrane is made of PET (¶0018, “Preferably, the material of the outer coating is PET material”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAXIMILIAN TOBIAS SPENCER/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774