DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 3/2/2026.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1,16 and 20 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
4. In Applicant’s response dated 3/2/2026, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1-20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (hereinafter “Kumar”), U.S. Published Application No. 20200302656 A1 in view of Oberheu; Kent (hereinafter “Oberheu”), U.S. Published Application No. 20170061635 A1, in further view of Grossman et al. (hereinafter “Grossman”), U.S. Published Application No. 20060267966 A1.
Claim 1:
Kumar teaches A system for vision assistance, the system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor executing the instructions to perform operations in real-time, the operations comprising: (see Figure 2; image editing system with memory 224 and processor 222, selections of parameters in real time as shown in Figures 1 and 6 )
obtaining, from a camera system, at least one image of a visual environment or situation, (e.g., image of visual environment par. 120; Image 608 includes a man, woman, and child in a grass field against a sky, with trees in the background.) wherein a first image of the at least one image includes a first set of pixels; (e.g., obtaining digital images from cameras and adjusting the pixels of the digital images based on selected parameters par. 4; For instance, the user interface may include a hue adjuster having a range of hue adjustment selected to include the ranges of hues for the plurality of pixels of the digital image. par. 35; Hence, an asset (e.g., digital image, video, text, drawing, document, file, and the like) generated, processed, edited, or stored on one device of computing device 202 (e.g., a camera) can be communicated to, and displayed on and processed by another device of computing device 202 (e.g., a tablet). Par. 36; Computing device 202 includes image editing system 204 to adjust color parameters of digital images. Par. 52; images captured by a computing device, such as with a camera integrated into one of computing device 202, and the like)
implementing, in accordance with an adjustment layer, one or more image adjustments to the first set of pixels to obtain an augmented set of pixels configured to enhance viewability of the visual environment or situation, (e.g., adjustments to pixels by altering the hue color may result in enhancing viewability par. 4; The image editing system also includes a user interface that exposes adjusters for color parameters that have ranges of adjustment based on the ranges of the color parameters. For instance, the user interface may include a hue adjuster having a range of hue adjustment selected to include the ranges of hues for the plurality of pixels of the digital image. When a user input is received via the user interface to select a value of a color parameter, such as by moving a slider of hue adjustment, the image editing system selectively adjusts the color parameter for objects of the digital image based on whether the range of the color parameter for the object includes the value of the color parameter.)
wherein the adjustment layer is determined through a user interface by user interactions from a user, (e.g., adjustment layer is determined through User Interface as shown in Figure 6 par. 119; FIG. 6 illustrates an example user interface 600 in accordance with one or more aspects of the disclosure. User interface 600 is an example of a user interface generated and maintained by user interface module 244 in FIG. 2, and can be used to adjust color parameters for a digital image based on objects in the digital image. User interface 600 includes controls 602, suitable to control user interface 600 and its content. Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like.)
the one or more image adjustments include , a contrast image augmentation, , and a color overlay image augmentation, (e.g., adjust contrast and color par. 119; User interface 600 is an example of a user interface generated and maintained by user interface module 244 in FIG. 2, and can be used to adjust color parameters for a digital image based on objects in the digital image. User interface 600 includes controls 602, suitable to control user interface 600 and its content. Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay,)
the user interface includes a plurality of widgets to adjust parameters associated with , the contrast image augmentation, , and the color overlay image augmentation, (e.g., user interface includes data panels (i.e., widgets) associated with sliders to adjust parameters as shown in Figure 6 par. 119; Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. Data panels may expose any suitable data. User interface 600 includes color selection panel 604 and image panel 606.)
the plurality of widgets comprise both persistent widget type and widget type widgets; (e.g., selecting a control to display a data panel (i.e., persistent widget type) par. 119; In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600.)
and presenting, on at least one display, the augmented set of pixels to the user, (e.g., displaying color-adjusted version of image par. 121; User interface 600 also exposes color-adjusted image 610, which is a color-adjusted version of image 608. For instance, image 608 has been color adjusted based on user-selections illustrated in color selection panel 604, and ranges of color parameters for objects in image 608.)
wherein any widgets that are the persistent widget type are displayed overlayed on the augmented set of pixels, (e.g., data panel overlayed on the augmented set of pixels as shown in Figure 1; par. 21; Image 104 is an example of an output image of the image editing application and corresponds to a color-adjusted version of image 102. For instance, image 104 is overlaid with adjusters 108 that indicate the hue of image 104 has been adjusted, since the hue adjuster is moved to the right in adjusters 108. par. 119; In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600.)
Kumar fails to expressly teach the one or more image adjustments include an inversion image augmentation and an exposure image augmentation.
However, Oberheu teaches the one or more image adjustments include an inversion image augmentation and an exposure image augmentation;
the user interface includes a plurality of widgets to adjust parameters associated with the inversion image augmentation and the exposure image augmentation. (e.g., widgets to adjust parameters associated with the inversion image augmentation and the exposure image augmentation Oberheu; par. 103; For example, an invert box 830 may be used to swap colors of the mask 810 so that light areas become dark and dark areas become light. Thus, where the mask 810 currently has the effect applied with increasing strength toward the background of the image 710, selecting the invert box 830 may cause the opposite to occur, i.e., the effect to be applied with increasing strength toward the foreground of the image 710. Par. 123; As shown, selecting the “exposure” effect may cause the display of an exposure effect toolbox 1220, which may have a slider 1230 that can be used to adjust the exposure level of the image 1210. The slider 1230 may, for example, be dragged to the left to reduce the exposure level of the image 1210 (or the unmasked portions of the image 1210) or to the right to increase the exposure level of the image 1210. If desired, adjustment of the slider 1230 may cause the appearance of the image 1210 to update in real-time, thus facilitating user adjustment to the proper exposure level. Other changes to images and/or masks may similarly be shown in real-time, if desired.)
In the analogous art of modifying images, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data panels for displaying controls to adjust parameters of an image as taught by Kumar to include adjusting parameters associated with an inversion image augmentation and an exposure image augmentation as taught by Oberheu, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit quickly and easily applying effects as desired by a user (see Oberheu; par. 13; Further, it would be an advancement in the art to provide systems and methods for implementing effects that are less time-consuming and labor-intensive than those applicable to conventional images.)
Kumar/ Oberheu fail to expressly teach a gesture widget type and any widgets that are the gesture widget type are not displayed overlayed on the augmented set of pixels except in response to a display widget interaction
.
However, Grossman teaches a gesture widget type and any widgets that are the gesture widget type are not displayed overlayed on the augmented set of pixels except in response to a display widget interaction. (e.g., invoking widgets with predetermined finger gestures par. 9; The tracking menu is an interactive interface widget that relies on hover state actions. Par. 11; According to an embodiment a Hover Widget is invisible to the user during typical pen use, but appears when the user begins to move the pen along a particular path in the tracking state, and then activates when the user reaches the end of the path and brings the pen in contact with the screen. Par. 13; According to another embodiment is a mechanism to quickly bring up other localized user interface elements, without the use of a physical button. Par. 46; Gestures can include a single-level stroke, a two-level stroke, a three-level stroke, and a spiral stroke. Par. 49; Exemplary gestures that can be utilized to invoke commands, menus, or other actions (hereinafter referred to as a "Hover Widget") in the tracking state are illustrated in FIG. 3. Par. 90; The object can be anything that can point or that can be detected. Examples of objects include a pen, a finger, a marker, a pointing device, a ruler, etc.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the data panels for displaying controls to adjust parameters of an image as taught by Kumar/Oberheu to include widgets invoked by gestures as taught by Grossman, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of quickly displaying desired user interfaces in effort to accomplish tasks more quickly (see Grossman; par. 3 par. 13)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Kumar teaches wherein the user interface is configured to be customized by user selections of settings.(e.g., configuration settings of the user interface are made available to image editing application par. 45; user interface configurations (e.g., different layouts, language options, etc.), controls and adjusters (e.g., sliders, lists of user gestures to control a user interface, etc.), par. 61; A user interface generated by user interface module 244, along with any suitable information, such as configurations settings of the user interface, user gestures (e.g., user inputs), thumbnail images, user preferences, images exposed in a user interface, user inputs, values of color parameters, combinations thereof, and the like, used by or calculated by user interface module 244 are stored in user interface data 226 of storage 224 and made available to modules of image editing application 242.)
Claim 3 depends on claim 2:
Kumar teaches wherein the user selections of the settings sets a widget as the persistent widget type or the gesture widget type. (e.g., setting to display data panel (i.e., persistent widget type) par. 119; In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. )
Claim 4 depends on claim 2:
Kumar/Oberheu teaches wherein the user selections of the settings sets a widget to control specific parameters associated with one or combinations of the inversion image augmentation, the contrast image augmentation, the exposure image augmentation, and the color overlay image augmentation. (e.g., user interface includes data panels (i.e., widgets) associated with sliders to adjust parameters as shown in Figure 6 Kumar; par. 119; Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. Data panels may expose any suitable data. User interface 600 includes color selection panel 604 and image panel 606.)
(e.g., widgets to adjust parameters associated with the inversion image augmentation and the exposure image augmentation Oberheu; par. 103; For example, an invert box 830 may be used to swap colors of the mask 810 so that light areas become dark and dark areas become light. Thus, where the mask 810 currently has the effect applied with increasing strength toward the background of the image 710, selecting the invert box 830 may cause the opposite to occur, i.e., the effect to be applied with increasing strength toward the foreground of the image 710. Par. 123; As shown, selecting the “exposure” effect may cause the display of an exposure effect toolbox 1220, which may have a slider 1230 that can be used to adjust the exposure level of the image 1210. The slider 1230 may, for example, be dragged to the left to reduce the exposure level of the image 1210 (or the unmasked portions of the image 1210) or to the right to increase the exposure level of the image 1210. If desired, adjustment of the slider 1230 may cause the appearance of the image 1210 to update in real-time, thus facilitating user adjustment to the proper exposure level. Other changes to images and/or masks may similarly be shown in real-time, if desired.)
Claim 5 depends on claim 2:
Kumar teaches wherein the user selections of the settings sets, for a widget, text size, position, origin property, color overlay property of the widget. (e.g., setting to display data panel (i.e., widget) as any suitable position and shape par. 119; User interface 600 includes controls 602, suitable to control user interface 600 and its content. Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. )
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Kumar teaches wherein a first widget configured as the persistent widget type is configured to enable the user to adjust associated first parameters using control operations on control elements, and a second widget configured as the gesture widget type is configured to enable the user to adjust associated second parameters by gesture operations without interaction on the control elements, or activate a defined function. (e.g., setting to display data panel (i.e., widget) as any suitable position and shape and gesture on a slider control to activate a defined function par. 119; User interface 600 includes controls 602, suitable to control user interface 600 and its content. Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. )
Claim 7 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein the second widget is associated with a widget control area of the at least one display, and operations further include: determining whether a user interaction is started in or performed entirely within the widget control area; if so, determining whether the user interaction corresponds to a gesture operation of the gesture operations; and if so, performing an action corresponding to the gesture operation. (e.g., determining slider gesture within data panel to control a parameter par. 57; In one example, a user adjusts a slider control exposed in a user interface of user interface module 244 to select a threshold level, such as a probability threshold used to select probabilities in a vector and determine a range of a color parameter (e.g., a hue range).,)
Claim 8 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein the gesture operations include one or combinations of: tap, tap and hold, 1 finger swipe, multi-finger swipe, pinch, separate, and/or rotate 2 or more fingers.(e.g., swiping on a slider control par. 58; A user interface of user interface module 244 can receive any suitable user input. In one example, a user interface of user interface module 244 receives user-input indicating a selection of a value of a color parameter, such as by adjusting a slider control to set a value of hue. Additionally or alternatively, user interface module 244 can receive a user selection of an object that has been segmented in a digital image.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein each gesture operation of the gesture operations is mapped to a parameter or defined function. (e.g., gesture on a slider control to activate a defined function par. 58; A user interface of user interface module 244 can receive any suitable user input. In one example, a user interface of user interface module 244 receives user-input indicating a selection of a value of a color parameter, such as by adjusting a slider control to set a value of hue. Additionally or alternatively, user interface module 244 can receive a user selection of an object that has been segmented in a digital image.)
Claim 10 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein, in a case that a gesture operation corresponds to the display widget interaction, the operations further include: displaying the second widget. (e.g., tap on control option to display another display panel par. 119; In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. )
Claim 11 depends on claim 10:
Kumar teaches wherein the second widget is displayed for a period of time then removed at an end of the period of time, or is displayed until a subsequent gesture operation corresponds to the display widget interaction. (e.g., tap on control option to display another display panel until a slide control operation is performed par. 119; In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. Par. 122; Color selection panel 604 exposes options for adjusting color parameters of a digital image based on objects in the digital image. Color selection panel 604 can expose any suitable option for adjusting a color parameter of a digital image. )
Claim 12 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein, in a case that a gesture operation corresponds to parameter adjustment interaction, the operations further include: determining an amount of parameter adjustment based on the gesture operation; and updating an associated parameter in accordance with the amount of parameter adjustment. (e.g., gesture on a slider control updates an associated parameter in accordance with the amount of parameter adjustment par. 58; A user interface of user interface module 244 can receive any suitable user input. In one example, a user interface of user interface module 244 receives user-input indicating a selection of a value of a color parameter, such as by adjusting a slider control to set a value of hue. Additionally or alternatively, user interface module 244 can receive a user selection of an object that has been segmented in a digital image.)
Claim 13 depends on claim 6:
Kumar teaches wherein, in a case that a gesture operation corresponds to activating a defined function, the operations further include: performing the defined function, and the defined function is: a toggle function to toggle between a camera feed to a freeze frame, an image upload function to access a stored image for image augmentation, a save settings function to save current parameter settings as a first preset file, a save image function to save the augmented set of pixels to the user as a stored image, an apply function to apply a second preset file, a recommendation function to request a machine learning recommendation for a set of parameter settings, a random generator function to generate a random set of parameter settings, or a settings change function to display a settings menu for the second widget or for the user interface. (e.g., selection gesture on a control option to display an image panel that access stored images or selection to display controls (i.e., a settings menu) par. 119; User interface 600 includes controls 602, suitable to control user interface 600 and its content. Controls 602 can include any suitable control, such as adjusters for brightness, contrast, color, selection of filters, shading, crop, overlay, import, export, font type, size and color, language, zoom, image search, types of adjusters presented (e.g., sliders, tabs with numbers, etc.), and the like. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. In one example, controls 602 include options to control display of panels of user interface 600. Par. 120; User interface 600 can include any suitable data panels in any suitable position and shape. Data panels may expose any suitable data. User interface 600 includes color selection panel 604 and image panel 606. Image panel 606 exposes representations of images, such as thumbnail images. )
Claim 16:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 16.
Claim 17 depends on claim 16:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 17.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 7, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 7 to reject claim 18.
Claim 19 depends on claim 17:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claims 9 and 13, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claims 9 and 13 to reject claim 19.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 20.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar/Oberheu/Grossman as cited above, in further view of Freihold et al. (hereinafter “Freihold”), US 20130326583 A1.
Claim 14 depends on claim 7:
Kumar/Oberheu/Grossman fail to expressly teach wherein the plurality of widgets are positioned on a grid of the user interface.
However, Freihold teaches wherein the plurality of widgets are positioned on a grid of the user interface. (e.g., using a grid to organize widgets par. 96; FIG. 8A shows a mode of operation where the background area 800 contains three widgets. The background area 800 can also display application icons as shown in FIG. 8B. FIG. 8B shows a mode of operation in which application icons 830 are displayed in a grid formation with four rows and ten columns. Other grid sizes and icon display formats are possible. A number of navigation tabs 840 are displayed at the top of the background area 800. The navigation tabs 840 allow the user to switch between different "pages" of icons and/or widgets. Par. 116; FIG. 13C is provided for example, in other arrangements application icons 1310 and/or widgets 1320 may be provided in one or more grids of UI components or may be re-arranged to reflect one of the structured arrangements of FIGS. 9A to 9H.) par. 118; If a basic grid structure with one or more columns and one or more rows is used for the second UI mode, the ordering of the rows and/or columns may be based on the metadata. For example, the most frequently utilized widgets could be displayed in the top right grid cell with the ordering of the widgets in columns then rows being dependent on usage time.)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the displayed data panels as taught by Kumar/Oberheu/Grossman to be arranged on a grid as taught by Freihold , with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the benefit of organizing multiple widgets in effort to improve visual appeal with structure and enhance readability.
Claim 15 depends on claim 14:
Kumar/Oberheu/Grossman/Freihold teaches wherein the widget control area is associated with a portion of the grid and no other widget control area overlaps the widget control area. (e.g., placing widgets in non overlapping locations in a grid as shown in Figure 9B Freihold; par. 119; In a grid arrangement, widget 1320B may be placed in a central cell of the grid or in the top left corner of the grid.)
Response to Arguments
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the previously cited prior art failing to disclose the new limitations has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly applied “Grossman” reference.
Applicant argues that Kumar differs from claims 1, 16, and 20, as amended, in several significant respects. First, Kumar is designed for professional photographic editing of stored images obtained from directories, galleries, or stock image databases rather than real- time capture of a user's visual environment for vision assistance. See, e.g. paragraph [0040]. (see Response; page 11)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the instant application also teaches editing stored images (see par. 40; In some cases, the processor 110 may obtain an image, set of images, or video from a memory of the user device 103 (e.g., from a camera roll or image storage system of the user device 103). Examiner further notes that in light of the instant specification “real time” operations includes selection based on preferences (see par. 41; the user may make a selection based on their preferences (e.g., in real-time)). Kumar teaches selection of parameters based on user preferences (see Figure 6). Therefore, the recited “real time” operations fail to distinguish over the selection of parameters based on user preferences as taught by Kumar.
Applicant argues that Kumar does not teach the specific combination of inversion, contrast, exposure, and color overlay image augmentations recited in the claims but instead focuses on object-based color parameter adjustment. (see Response; page 11)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. In other words, it is unclear why Applicant believes a color overlay image augmentation distinguishes over object based color parameter adjustment.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the claims are not in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY ORR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172