DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 40-42, 44-46, 49-59 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 40 recites “a controller” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 44 recites “a controller” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 48 recites “a controller” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 49 recites “a controller” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 52 recites “a controller” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 53 recites “a controller” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 56 recites “a controller” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 57 recites “a controller” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this imitation in the claim. It should be “the controller”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46 and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 recites “an expected duty cycle”. It is unclear what “an expected” condition is refereeing to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 59 recites “an expected duty cycle”. It is unclear what “an expected” condition is refereeing to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser et al. (US 2024/0425279), hereinafter Corser, in view of WO 2022/064230, hereinafter 230’.
As to claim 33, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a system comprising:
a battery comprising [see figure 12A]:
a housing [housing (310)] , and
a robotic device [device 220] comprising: an end effector [element 226] configured to be selectively coupled to the housing to facilitate movement of the battery using the robotic device [see figure 9], and
a detector [sensors are disclosed; see ¶0138] coupled to the end effector, the detector configured to facilitate detection of the readable indicia when the end effector is not coupled to the housing.
Corser does not disclose explicitly, a readable indicia and the readable indicia when the end effector is not coupled to the housing.
230’ discloses in figures 1-5e, a battery comprising a readable indicia comprising at least one of a bar code or a QR code [see ¶0060 and ¶0066].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use battery identifier means in Corser’s apparatus as taught by 230’ in order to quickly and accurately identify the required battery during battery swap or exchange.
As to claim 34, 230’ discloses in figures 1-5e, wherein the readable indicia comprises at least one of a bar code or a QR code [see ¶0066].
As to claim 35, 230’ discloses in figures 1-5e, controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery [type of battery is scanned see; ¶0060 and ¶0066].
As to claim 36, 230’ discloses in figures1-5e, further comprising a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a position of the battery [position of the battery is determined; see ¶0017 and ¶0052].
As to claim 37, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the controller is further configured to, based on the signal, cause the robotic device to move to a target position to couple the end effector to the housing [see ¶0060 and ¶0122].
As to claim 38, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein: the end effector further comprises an aperture with a center axis; the battery further comprises a grasping point extending from a portion of the housing; and the end effector is configured to be coupled to the housing by insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis [¶106, ¶0122 and ¶0138].
As to claim 39, 230’ discloses in figures 1-5e, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery [type of battery is scanned see; ¶0060 and ¶0066]..
As to claim 40, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a position of the battery [see ¶00138-0139].
As to claim 41, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the controller is further configured to, based on the signal, cause the robotic device to move to a target position to couple the end effector to the housing [see ¶0106, ¶0122 and ¶0138].
As to claim 42, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein: the end effector further comprises an aperture with a center axis; the battery further comprises a grasping point extending from a portion of the housing; and the end effector is configured to be coupled to the housing by insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis [see ¶0041, ¶0043, and ¶0062].
As to claim 43, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a charging repository comprising a plurality of charging bays [charging bays, 344], each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and facilitate charging of the battery; and a controller configured to: determine a target charging bay of the charging bays based on a signal from the detector, the signal associated with readable indicia, and cause the robotic device to move the battery towards the target charging bay [¶0161].
Claim 47-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser in view of 230’, and further in view of Machine translation of WO 2022/007813A1, hereinafter 813’.
As to claim 47, Corser and 230’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, a second detector that is not coupled to the end effector; and a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the second detector, the signal associated with at least one of: a characteristic of the battery or a position of the battery.
813’ discloses in figure 1, a second detector [plurality of detectors are disclosed (243a-243c) and also see page 24] that is not coupled to the end effector; and a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the second detector, the signal associated with at least one of: a characteristic of the battery or a position of the battery.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of detectors in Corser’s apparatus as taught by 813’ in order to effectively and appropriately.
As to claim 48, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery [type of battery is scanned see; ¶0060 and ¶0066].
As to claim 49, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a position of the battery [position of the battery is determined; see ¶0017 and ¶0052].
As to claim 50, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the controller is further configured to, based on the signal, cause the robotic device to move to a target position to couple the end effector to the housing[see ¶0106, ¶0122 and ¶0138].
As to claim 51, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein: the end effector further comprises an aperture with a center axis; the battery further comprises a grasping point extending from a portion of the housing; and the end effector is configured to be coupled to the housing by insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis[¶106, ¶0122 and ¶0138].
As to claim 52, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a characteristic of the battery [type of battery is scanned see; ¶0060 and ¶0066].
As to claim 53, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a controller communicable with the robotic device, the controller configured to receive a signal from the detector, the signal associated with the readable indicia and a position of the battery [position of the battery is determined; see ¶0017 and ¶0052].
As to claim 54, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein the controller is further configured to, based on the signal, cause the robotic device to move to a target position to couple the end effector to the housing [position of the battery is determined; see ¶0017 and ¶0052].
As to claim 55, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, wherein: the end effector further comprises an aperture with a center axis; the battery further comprises a grasping point extending from a portion of the housing; and the end effector is configured to be coupled to the housing by insertion of the grasping point into the aperture along the center axis[¶106, ¶0122 and ¶0138].
As to claim 56, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a charging repository comprising a plurality of charging bays [charging bays, 344], each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and facilitate charging of the battery; and a controller configured to: determine a target charging bay of the charging bays based on a signal from the detector, the signal associated with readable indicia, and cause the robotic device to move the battery towards the target charging bay [¶0061].
Claim 44 -45 and 60-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser in view of 230, and further in view of Machine Translation of WO2020089935, hereinafter 935’.
As to claim 44, Corser and 230’ discloses all of the claim limitation except, a first vehicle comprising a first communication device; a second vehicle comprising a second communication device; and a controller configured to: receive a first signal from the first communication device, receive a second signal from the second communication device, determine a fleet battery replacement need based on the first signal and the second signal, and determine a charging threshold for the battery based on the fleet battery replacement need.
935’ discloses in figures 1-15, a first vehicle [first EV (116)] comprising a first communication device [EV (116) communicates with the server]; a second vehicle [second EV (116)] comprising a second communication device [second vehicle communications]; and a controller configured to: receive a first signal from the first communication device, receive a second signal from the second communication device, determine a fleet battery replacement need based on the first signal and the second signal, and determine a charging threshold for the battery based on the fleet battery replacement need [each EV battery communicates with the server and the battery of the vehicle is swapped, charged or exchanged; see ¶0081-0085].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of vehicles and communications devices in Corser’s apparatus as taught by 935’ in order to communicate with multiple electrical vehicles or battery swap stations in order to avoid vehicle battery depletion.
As to claim 45, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a charging repository comprising a plurality of charging bays [charging bays [344)] , each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and facilitate charging of the battery; wherein the controller is further configured to cause one of the charging bays to charge the battery to the charging threshold [¶061].
As to claim 60, Corser discloses in figures 1-13, a second battery comprising: a second housing [noted that plurality of power sources (202) are disclosed and each power source have individual housing] ,a second readable indicia [noted that 230’ discloses readable media for battery], and a second communication device [each battery has communication devices]; and a controller [controller is implicitly discloses]; wherein the battery further comprises a first communication device; and wherein the controller is communicable with the first communication device and the second communication device [935’ discloses plurality of battery as a power supply for each EVs and communicate with server independently and simultaneously].
It is also noted that all the claimed elements of applicant’s inventions were known in the prior art (e.g. one or more EVs, communications, battery code, storage, battery swap, controller, and etc.) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, proper motivation/rationale to combine is as given in the office action. See KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
As to claim 61, 935’ discloses in figure 1, wherein: the first communication device is configured to communicate with the controller via near- field communication; and the second communication device is configured to communicate with the controller via near-field communication [¶0080 short or near field communication such as Bluetooth is disclosed].
As to claim 62, 935’ discloses in figure 1, wherein the controller is further configured to communicate with the first communication device and the second communication device simultaneously [vehicles are communicate with the server].
As to claim 63, 935’ discloses in figure 1, a charging repository comprising a plurality of charging bays [charging bays (344)], each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and facilitate charging of the battery; and a controller configured to: determine a target charging bay of the charging bays based on a signal from the detector, the signal associated with readable indicia, and cause the robotic device to move the battery towards the target charging bay [¶0061]..
Claim 57-58 and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser in view of 230’, and further in view of 813’. and further in view of Machine Translation of WO2020089935, hereinafter 935’,
As to claim 57, Corser in combination with 230 and 813 discloses all of the claim limitations except, a first vehicle comprising a first communication device; a second vehicle comprising a second communication device; and a controller configured to :receive a first signal from the first communication device, receive a second signal from the second communication device, determine a fleet battery replacement need based on the first signal and the second signal, and determine a charging threshold for the battery based on the fleet battery replacement need.
935’ discloses in figures 1-15, a first vehicle [first EV (116)] comprising a first communication device [EV (116) communicates with the server]; a second vehicle [second EV (116)] comprising a second communication device [second vehicle communications]; and a controller configured to: receive a first signal from the first communication device, receive a second signal from the second communication device, determine a fleet battery replacement need based on the first signal and the second signal, and determine a charging threshold for the battery based on the fleet battery replacement need [each EV battery communicates with the server and the battery of the vehicle is swapped, charged or exchanged; see ¶0081-0085].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use plurality of vehicles and communications devices in Corser’s apparatus as taught by 935’ in order to communicate with multiple electrical vehicles or battery swap stations in order to avoid vehicle battery depletion
As to claim 58, 935’ discloses in figure 1, a charging repository comprising a plurality of charging bays [charging bays (344)] ] , each of the charging bays configured to receive the battery and facilitate charging of the battery; wherein the controller is further configured to cause one of the charging bays to charge the battery to the charging threshold [¶061].
Claim 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corser in view of 230’, in view of 935’, in view of Voor et al. (US 7,449,862), hereinafter Voor.
As to claim 64, Corser discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a battery status associated with the battery from the first communication device; determine a charging threshold based on the battery status; and cause the target charging bay to charge the battery to the charging threshold.
Voor discloses in figure 3, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive a battery status associated with the battery from the first communication device [the controller ; determine a charging threshold based on the battery status; and cause the target charging bay to charge the battery to the charging threshold.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859