DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 8/13/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are pending. Claim 8 has been canceled. Claim 21 is new. Claims 15-16 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 10-11, 13-14, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ju et al. US 2014/0145137 A1 (Ju).
In re claim 1, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3 & 12) a semiconductor device, comprising:
a gate stack structure 20 including a plurality of gate electrodes 160 and a plurality of insulating layers 110 alternately stacked on a substrate 100 in a first direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 100; and
a channel structure 140,150,151 (see FIG. 3B above showing modified drawing with layer 151 being provided between 152 and 150 as disclosed in ¶ 79, and repeated to show two levels) including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure 20 and extending in the first direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 140 (¶ 64), a resistance change layer 150 (¶ 64), and a plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to portions of 151 in the alcoves) sequentially stacked, each of the plurality of metal-containing layers (portions of 151 in alcoves) including a metal or a metal compound (comprising transition metal element, ¶ 79), wherein:
the plurality of metal-containing layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (portions of 151 in alcoves are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first (vertical) direction (see FIG. 3B annotated above).
In re claim 2, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein
the resistance change layer 150 comprises a metal oxide containing a first metal and oxygen (¶ 71), and
a Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction of a second metal included in the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) is equal to or less than a Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction of the first metal (151 having an oxide layer containing same transition metal element as 150, and thus the same metal would have equal Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction).
In re claim 3, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) (¶ 71,79) includes at least one of hafnium (Hf), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), lanthanum (La), tantalum (Ta), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), copper (Cu), gold (Au), ruthenium (Ru), platinum (Pt), titanium nitride (TiN), or tantalum nitride (TaN).
In re claim 4, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) includes at least one of titanium, tungsten, titanium nitride, or tantalum nitride (including same transition metal element as in layer 150, ¶ 71,79).
In re claim 5, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) does not include oxygen or has a lower oxygen content than the resistance change layer 150 (before the oxygen atoms are exhausted from 150 and move into 151, the oxygen content would be higher in layer 150 than in 151).
In re claim 7, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein
the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) includes oxygen at least in a portion of the first metal-containing layer adjacent to the resistance change layer 150 (¶ 79), and
the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) is configured such that oxygen content of the first metal-containing layer decreases with increasing distance from the resistance change layer 150 (as oxygen atoms move from layer 150 into layer 151, the oxygen content is higher closer to layer 150 at least at some point due to diffusion property).
In re claim 10, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3) wherein
a plurality of recess portions 80 corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 160,163, respectively, are in a side surface of the gate stack structure 20 adjacent to the channel structure 140,150,151,
the channel layer 140 and the resistance change layer 150 are continuously positioned along the side surface of the gate stack structure 20 including the plurality of recess portions 80, and
the plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to plurality of segments of 151 in the recesses 80 adjacent to each gate electrode 160,163) individually formed to respectively correspond to the plurality of recess portions.
In re claim 11, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 3B see annotated above) wherein
the first metal-containing layer (portions of 151 in alcoves) is on a side surface of the resistance change layer 150 in a second direction (horizontal direction) to at least partially fill a space between portions of the resistance change layer 150 in the first direction, and
a side surface of the first metal-containing layer (left side of 151 in alcove in FIG. 3B) opposite to the side surface of the gate stack structure 20 (right side in FIG. 3B) adjacent to the channel structure 150 and the side surface of the resistance change layer 150 (right side of 150 in FIG. 3B) are aligned with one another in the first direction (vertical direction). The left side of 151 and the right side of 150 are vertically aligned.
In re claim 13, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3) wherein
a plurality of recess portions 80 corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 160,163, respectively, are provided in a side surface of the gate stack structure 20 adjacent to the channel structure 140,150,151, and
the channel layer 140, the resistance change layer 150, and a respective metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers (portions of 151 in respective alcoves 80) are in each of the plurality of recess portions 80 (see FIG. 3B annotated above).
In re claim 14, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3) wherein
a plurality of recess portions 80 corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 160,163, respectively, are in a side surface of the gate stack structure 20 adjacent to the channel structure 140,150,151, and
the channel layer 140 and the resistance change layer 150 are in each of the recess portions.
In re claim 17, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3) wherein the channel layer 140 includes at least one of a single-element semiconductor material (¶ 70), an oxide semiconductor material, or a two-dimensional semiconductor material.
In re claim 18, Ju discloses (e.g. FIG. 12E) further comprising a gate insulating layer 130 including portions (portions above and below 160) extending in a second direction (horizontal direction) between upper and lower portions of each of the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and the plurality of insulating layers 110, and an extension portion (portion along vertical sidewall of 160) extending in the first direction (vertical direction) between a side surface of the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and the channel layer 140.
In re claim 19, Ju discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3 & 12) a semiconductor device including a resistive random access memory cell, the semiconductor device comprising:
a gate stack structure 20 including a plurality of gate electrodes 160 and a plurality of insulating layers 110 alternately stacked on a substrate 100 in a first direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 100; and
a channel structure 140,150,151 (see FIG. 3B above showing modified drawing with layer 151 being provided between 152 and 150 as disclosed in ¶ 79, and repeated to show two levels) including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure 20 and extending in the first direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 140 (¶ 64), a resistance change layer 150 (¶ 64), and a plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers (corresponding to portions of 151 in the alcoves) sequentially stacked, the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers being configured to receive oxygen from the resistance change layer 150 and to provide oxygen vacancies to the resistance change layer 150 to control the oxygen vacancies in the resistance change layer 150 (¶ 79), wherein:
the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (portions of 151 in alcoves are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first oxygen-vacancy donor layer of the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first (vertical) direction (see FIG. 3B annotated above).
In re claim 20, Ju discloses an electronic system (FIGs. 14A-14B), comprising:
a main board (no specific “main board” claimed that would distinguish over any support on which memory 1210,1311 is mounted);
a semiconductor device 1210,1311 on the main board; and
a controller 1220,1312 electrically connected to the semiconductor device 1210,1311 on the main board,
wherein the semiconductor device 1210,1311 (¶ 162-163) includes (e.g. FIGs. 1-3 & 12):
a gate stack structure 20 including a plurality of gate electrodes 160 and a plurality of insulating layers 110 alternately stacked on a substrate 100 in a first direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 100; and
a channel structure 140,150,151 (see FIG. 3B above showing modified drawing with layer 151 being provided between 152 and 150 as disclosed in ¶ 79, and repeated to show two levels) including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure 20 and extending in the first direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 140 (¶ 64), a resistance change layer 150 (¶ 64), and a plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to portions of 151 in the alcoves) sequentially stacked, the plurality of metal-containing layers (portions of 151 in alcoves) including a metal or a metal nitride (comprising transition metal element, ¶ 79), wherein:
the plurality of metal-containing layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction (portions of 151 in alcoves are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first (vertical) direction (see FIG. 3B annotated above).
In re claim 21, Ju discloses (see FIG. 3B above) wherein:
the first metal-containing layer (portion of 151 in alcove) has a first side surface (right side) in a first plane extending in the first (vertical) direction,
the resistance change layer 150 has a second side surface (left side) in the first plane,
the channel layer 140 has a third side surface (right side) in a second plan extending in the first direction, the second plane (of right side of 140) being removed from the first plane (of the left side of 150 or right side of 151) in a second (horizontal) direction perpendicular to the first (vertical) direction, and
the first side surface (right side of 151), the second side surface (left side of 150), and the third side surface (right side of 140) are distal, in the second (horizontal) direction, from a side surface of the gate stack structure 20 (including 162,163) extending in the first direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 13-14, 17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 2022/0077235 A1 (Kim) in view of Shin et al. US 2013/0328005 A1 (Shin).
In re claim 1, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 7) a semiconductor device, comprising:
a gate stack structure including a plurality of gate electrodes 560 and a plurality of insulating layers 570 alternately stacked on a substrate 520 in a first (Z) direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 520; and
a channel structure 540,530 including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure and extending in the first (Z) direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 540 and a resistance change layer 530 (¶ 119) sequentially stacked (¶ 131,153).
Kim discloses the variable resistance material layer 530 (¶ 122,154) conformally deposited on an inner surface of the channel layer 540 (see FIG. 13A, ¶ 131,153).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a plurality of metal-containing layers further sequentially stacked, each of the plurality of metal-containing layers including a metal or a metal compound, wherein
the plurality of metal-containing layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction.
However, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 1-4) a 3D memory device comprising a gate stack structure comprising gate electrodes WL and insulating layers 11-17 alternately stacked in a vertical direction on a substrate 1, and a channel structure penetrating through gate stack structure, wherein the channel structure include a channel layer 32, a resistance change layer 34a, and a metal-containing layer 34b sequentially stacked, the metal-containing layer 34b including a metal or a metal compound (including transition metal, ¶ 166). Shin discloses instead of a single resistance change layer 34 as shown in FIG. 4A, the additional oxygen exchange layer 34b (FIG. 4B) facilitates exchange of oxygen atom with the resistance change layer 34a to provide better control over the change of resistance in the resistance change layer 34a (¶ 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Kim’s variable resistance layer 530 as two layer structure including a variable resistive layer 34a and an oxygen exchange layer 34b such that oxygen atoms can be exchanged with the variable resistive layer more easily to control the resistive state of the variable resistive layer as taught by Shin.
The combination of Kim and Shin teaches a structure represented by the modified FIG. 7 of Kim as shown below.
As such, the combination of Kim and Shin teaches the channel structure including a channel layer 540, a resistance change layer 34a, a plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to portions of 34b in respective recesses) sequentially stacked, each of the plurality of metal-containing layers including a metal or a metal compound (¶ 166 of Shin), wherein:
the plurality of metal-containing layers (portions of 34b in recesses) respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 and are spaced apart from each other in the first (vertical) direction (portions of 34b in recesses are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction (see annotated drawing above).
In re claim 2, Shin discloses (FIG. 4B) wherein
the resistance change layer 34a comprises a metal oxide containing a first metal and oxygen (¶ 165-166), and
a Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction of a second metal included in the first metal-containing layer 34b is equal to or less than a Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction of the first metal 34a (34b being same transition metal oxide as 34a but with lower oxygen content than layer, the Gibbs free energy of oxidation reaction of the transition metal is the same, ¶ 166).
In re claim 3, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 4B) wherein the first metal-containing layer 34b (¶ 165-166) includes at least one of hafnium (Hf), titanium (Ti), zirconium (Zr), lanthanum (La), tantalum (Ta), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), tungsten (W), copper (Cu), gold (Au), ruthenium (Ru), platinum (Pt), titanium nitride (TiN), or tantalum nitride (TaN).
In re claim 4, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 4B) wherein the first metal-containing layer 34b (¶ 165-166) includes at least one of titanium, tungsten, titanium nitride, or tantalum nitride.
In re claim 5, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 4B) wherein the first metal-containing layer 34b does not include oxygen or has a lower oxygen content than the resistance change layer (¶ 166).
In re claim 9, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
a plurality of recess portions corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 (see FIG. 12A), respectively, are provided in a side surface of the gate stack structure adjacent to the channel structure, and
the portion (portion in the gate recess) in which the first portion of the channel layer (portion of 540 in bottom part of the recess), the first portion of the resistance change layer (portion of 34a in bottom part of the recess), the first metal-containing layer (portion of 34b in recess), the second portion of the resistance change layer (portion of 34a in upper part of the recess), and the second portion of the channel layer (portion of 540 in upper part of the recess) are sequentially positioned in the first (Z) direction is arranged where a first recess portion of the plurality of the recess portions is positioned.
In re claim 10, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
a plurality of recess portions corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 (see FIG. 12A), respectively, are in a side surface of the gate stack structure adjacent to the channel structure,
the channel layer 540 and the resistance change layer (portion of 530 closer to 540) are continuously positioned along the side surface of the gate stack structure including the plurality of recess portions, and
the plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to the portions of 34b within the recesses) are individually formed to respectively correspond to the plurality of recess portions.
In re claim 11, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
the first metal-containing layer 34b is on a side surface of the resistance change layer 34a in a second (X) direction to at least partially fill a space between portions of the resistance change layer (34b fills in the recess between horizontal portions of 34a) in the first (Z) direction, and
a side surface of the first metal-containing layer (side surface of 34b contacting 34a) opposite to the side surface of the gate stack structure adjacent to the channel structure 540 and the side surface of the resistance change layer (side surface of 34a contacting 34b) are aligned with one another in the first (Z) direction.
In re claim 13, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
a plurality of recess portions corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 (see FIG. 12A), respectively, are provided in a side surface of the gate stack structure adjacent to the channel structure, and
the channel layer 540, the resistance change layer 34a, and a respective metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers (respective portions of 54b in recesses) are in each of the plurality of recess portions.
In re claim 14, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
a plurality of recess portions corresponding to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 (see FIG. 12A), respectively, are in a side surface of the gate stack structure adjacent to the channel structure, and
the channel layer 540 and the resistance change layer 34a are in each of the plurality of recess portions.
In re claim 17, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 7) wherein the channel layer 540 (¶ 123) includes at least one of a single-element semiconductor material, an oxide semiconductor material, or a two-dimensional semiconductor material.
In re claim 19, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 7) a semiconductor device including a resistive random access memory cell, the semiconductor device comprising:
a gate stack structure including a plurality of gate electrodes 560 and a plurality of insulating layers 570 alternately stacked on a substrate 520 in a first (Z) direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 520; and
a channel structure 540,530 including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure and extending in the first (Z) direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 540 and a resistance change layer 530 (¶ 119) sequentially stacked (¶ 131,153).
Kim discloses the variable resistance material layer 530 (¶ 122,154) conformally deposited on an inner surface of the channel layer 540 (see FIG. 13A, ¶ 131,153).
Kim does not explicitly disclose a plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers further sequentially stacked, the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers being configured to receive oxygen from the resistance change layer and to provide oxygen vacancies to the resistance change layer to control the oxygen vacancies in the resistance change layer, wherein
the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first oxygen-vacancy donor layer of the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction.
However, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 1-4) a 3D memory device comprising a gate stack structure comprising gate electrodes WL and insulating layers 11-17 alternately stacked in a vertical direction on a substrate 1, and a channel structure penetrating through gate stack structure, wherein the channel structure include a channel layer 32, a resistance change layer 34a, and an oxygen-vacancy donor layer 34b sequentially stacked, the oxygen-vacancy donor layer 34b configured to receive oxygen from the resistance change layer 34a and to provide oxygen vacancies to the resistance change layer 34a to control the oxygen vacancies in the resistance change layer 34a (¶ 166)
Shin discloses instead of a single resistance change layer 34 as shown in FIG. 4A, the additional oxygen exchange layer 34b (FIG. 4B) facilitates exchange of oxygen atom with the resistance change layer 34a to provide better control over the change of resistance in the resistance change layer 34a (¶ 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Kim’s variable resistance layer 530 as two layer structure including a variable resistive layer 34a and an oxygen exchange layer 34b such that oxygen atoms can be exchanged with the variable resistive layer more easily to control the resistive state of the variable resistive layer as taught by Shin.
The combination of Kim and Shin teaches a structure represented by the modified FIG. 7 of Kim as shown below.
As such, the combination of Kim and Shin teaches the channel structure including a channel layer 540, a resistance change layer 34a, a plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers (corresponding to portions of 34b in respective recesses) sequentially stacked, the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers being configured to receive oxygen from the resistance change layer 34a and to provide oxygen vacancies to the resistance change layer 34a to control the oxygen vacancies in the resistance change layer (¶ 166), wherein
the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers (portions of 34b in recesses) respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 and are spaced apart from each other in the first (vertical) direction (portions of 34b in recesses are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first oxygen-vacancy donor layer of the plurality of oxygen-vacancy donor layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction (see annotated drawing above).
In re claim 20, Kim discloses an electronic system (e.g. FIGs. 20-21), comprising:
a main board (no specific “main board” claimed that would distinguish over any support on which memory 1602,1720 is mounted);
a semiconductor device 1602,1720 on the main board; and
a controller 1601,1710 electrically connected to the semiconductor device 1602,1720 on the main board,
wherein the semiconductor device 1602,1720 (¶ 165, 169) includes (FIG. 7):
a gate stack structure including a plurality of gate electrodes 560 and a plurality of insulating layers 570 alternately stacked on a substrate 520 in a first (Z) direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate 520; and
a channel structure 540,530 including a portion penetrating through the gate stack structure and extending in the first (Z) direction, the channel structure including a channel layer 540 and a resistance change layer 530 (¶ 119) sequentially stacked (¶ 131,153).
Kim discloses the variable resistance material layer 530 (¶ 122,154) conformally deposited on an inner surface of the channel layer 540 (see FIG. 13A, ¶ 131,153).
Kim does not explicitly disclose such a metal-containing layer further sequentially stacked, the metal-containing layer including a metal or a metal nitride, wherein:
the plurality of metal-containing layers respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes and are spaced apart from each other in the first direction, and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction.
However, Shin discloses (e.g. FIG. 1-4) a 3D memory device comprising a gate stack structure comprising gate electrodes WL and insulating layers 11-17 alternately stacked in a vertical direction on a substrate 1, and a channel structure penetrating through gate stack structure, wherein the channel structure include a channel layer 32, a resistance change layer 34a, and a metal-containing layer 34b sequentially stacked, the metal-containing layer 34b including a metal or a metal nitride (including transition metal, ¶ 166). Shin discloses instead of a single resistance change layer 34 as shown in FIG. 4A, the additional oxygen exchange layer 34b (FIG. 4B) facilitates exchange of oxygen atom with the resistance change layer 34a to provide better control over the change of resistance in the resistance change layer 34a (¶ 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Kim’s variable resistance layer 530 as two layer structure including a variable resistive layer 34a and an oxygen exchange layer 34b such that oxygen atoms can be exchanged with the variable resistive layer more easily to control the resistive state of the variable resistive layer as taught by Shin.
The combination of Kim and Shin teaches a structure represented by the modified FIG. 7 of Kim as shown below.
As such, the combination of Kim and Shin teaches the channel structure including a channel layer 540, a resistance change layer 34a, a plurality of metal-containing layers (corresponding to portions of 34b in respective recesses) sequentially stacked, each of the plurality of metal-containing layers including a metal or a metal nitride (¶ 166 of Shin), wherein:
the plurality of metal-containing layers (portions of 34b in recesses) respectively correspond to the plurality of gate electrodes 560 and are spaced apart from each other in the first (vertical) direction (portions of 34b in recesses are spaced apart in the vertical direction), and
the channel structure includes a portion in which a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first direction (see annotated drawing above).
In re claim 21, the combination of Kim and Shin discloses (see annotated version of FIG. 7 above) wherein
the first metal-containing layer (portion of 34b in recess) has a first side surface (left side) in a first plane extending in the first (vertical) direction,
the resistance change layer 34a has a second side surface (right side) in the first plane,
the channel layer 540 has a third side surface (right side) in a second plan extending in the first direction, the second plane (of right side of 540) being removed from the first plane (of the left side of 34b or right side of 34a) in a second (horizontal) direction perpendicular to the first (vertical) direction, and
the first side surface (left side of 34b), the second side surface (right side of 34a), and the third side surface (right side of 540) are distal, in the second (horizontal) direction, from a side surface of the gate stack structure 560 extending in the first direction.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Shin as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US 2010/0038791 A1 (Lee’791).
In re claim 6, Kim discloses the claimed invention including a variable resistance material layer 530 (¶ 122,154) conformally deposited on an inner surface of the channel layer 540 (see FIG. 13A, ¶ 131,153). Shin discloses a first metal containing layer 34b on a variable resistance layer 34a.
Kim and Shin do not explicitly disclose a ratio of oxygen content of the first metal-containing layer to oxygen content of the resistance change layer is 10% or less.
However, Lee’791 discloses a resistive memory structure (e.g. FIGs. 4-5) comprising a variable resistance metal oxide layer 106 (¶ 25) and a metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 formed on the metal oxide layer 106, wherein the metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 does not include oxygen (layer 108 is e.g. Mg, Al, An, Ti, Hf, …, ¶ 26), and wherein a ratio of oxygen content of the metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 to oxygen content of the resistance change layer 106 is 10% or less. The metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 is formed of metals and has 0% oxygen (¶ 26). Furthermore, even after oxygen atoms from layer 106 move into layer 108, Lee’791 teaches in FIG. 5, a portion 107 of the metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 is free of oxygen, ¶ 31). Lee’791 teaches providing the metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer 108 enhances the amount of oxygen vacancies in the resistance change layer 106 to improve the stability of binary resistance switching of the resistive memory (¶ 28-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a metal-containing oxygen atom gettering layer on Kim’s variable resistance layer 530 to enhance oxygen vacancies for improving the stability of resistive switching as taught by Lee’791.
In re claim 7, Lee’791 discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5-6) wherein
the first metal-containing layer 108 includes oxygen 116 at least in a portion 109 of the first metal-containing layer 108 adjacent to the resistance change layer 106, and
the first metal-containing layer 108 is configured such that oxygen content of the first metal-containing layer 108 decreases with increasing distance from the resistance change layer 106 (¶ 31,32).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US 2021/0074914 A1 (Lee’914).
In re claim 12, Kim and Shin teaches the first metal-containing layer 34b.
Lee’914 teaches a resistive memory device (FIG. 2-5) comprising a channel structure including a channel layer 38, a resistance change layer 48, and a metal-containing layer 50 (¶ 60), wherein metal-containing layer 50 has a higher concentration of oxygen vacancies than layer 48, and wherein the metal-containing layer 50 has a cross-sectional thickness equal to or greater than a cross-sectional thickness of the resistance change layer 48 to improve oxygen vacancies distribution property (FIG. 5B, ¶ 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a thicker metal-containing layer on a thinner resistance change layer to as taught by Lee’914 for improving distribution of oxygen vacancies.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. US 2021/0384258 A1 (Hwang).
In re claim 18, Kim discloses (e.g. FIG. 7) further comprising a gate insulating layer 550 having an extension portion extending in the first (Z) direction between a side surface of the plurality of gate electrodes 160 and the channel layer 540.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the gate insulating layer including portions extending in a second direction between upper and lower portions of each of the plurality of gate electrodes and the plurality of insulating layers.
However, Hwang discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-3) a resistive memory device comprising alternating gate electrodes 50 and insulating layers 30, a channel layer 23 and a resistance change layer 22 formed penetrating through the gate stack structure, and further comprising a gate insulating layer 40A (FIG. 3A) including portions extending in a second (X or Y) direction between upper and lower portions of each of the plurality of gate electrodes 50 and the plurality of insulating layers 30, and an extension portion extending in the first (Z) direction between a side surface of the plurality of gate electrodes 50 and the channel layer 23.
Hwang discloses the gate insulating layer 40A can be formed individually around each gate electrode 50 as shown in FIG. 3A or disposed inside the penetrating hole surrounding the semiconductor channel 23 as shown in FIG. 3B (¶ 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Kim’s gate insulating layer 550 in the replacement gate space around each gate electrode instead of inside the penetrating hole as taught by Hwang. Such modification allows reduce the number of layers deposited inside the penetrating hole and thus ensure coating continuity of the channel layer 23 and the resistance change layer 22 deposited in the penetrating hole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Ju, Applicant argues Ju does not teach “a plurality of metal-containing layers … spaced apart from each other in the first direction” (Remark, page 9).
This is not persuasive. Ju teaches the metal-containing layer 151 may be provided between 152 and 150 (¶ 79). As such, the metal-containing layer 151 is formed in the recesses/alcoves adjacent to the gate electrodes. The portions of 151 in alcoves are spaced apart in the vertical direction and teaches the plurality of metal-containing layers as claimed. Each metal-containing layer correspond only to the protruding portion of 151 in each of the alcoves.
Applicant further argues Ju does not teach the sequential positioning of a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer (Remark, page 10, first paragraph).
This is not persuasive. As shown in the annotated FIG. 3B above, a first portion of the channel layer, a first portion of the resistance change layer, a first metal-containing layer of the plurality of metal-containing layers, a second portion of the resistance change layer, and a second portion of the channel layer are sequentially positioned in the first/vertical direction.
Regarding Kim and Shin, Applicant argues the combination does not teach “a plurality of metal-containing layers … spaced apart from each other in the first direction” (Remark, page 10, last paragraph).
This is not persuasive. The combination of Kim and Shin teaches a structure as exemplified below including metal-containing layers 34b provided in the recesses adjacent the gate electrodes. The portions of 34b in the recessed are spaced apart in the vertical direction and teaches the plurality of metal-containing layers as claimed. Each metal-containing layer correspond only to the protruding portion of 34b in each of the recesses.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896