DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 11/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are either directed to a method or apparatus, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
(Step 1: YES)
The examiner has identified Claim 1 as the claim which represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to Claims 12, 21, 23. Claim 1 recites the following limitations (additional elements emphasized in bold are considered to be parsed from the remaining abstract idea):
A first device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and the at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to: obtain environment information; determine, based on the environment information, a second passing mode for a target passing area, wherein the second passing mode is different from a first passing mode for the target passing area that is currently effective in a map , and wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and send, to a second device, a notification message of the second passing mode.
Under broadest reasonable interpretation, this claim covers performance of the limitations as a mental process (concepts performed in the human mind ) of determining a passing mode based on information about an environment and sending a related notification.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers performance of the limitation as concepts performed in the human mind, then it falls within the "mental process" grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
(Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The Claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words "apply it" ( or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally Linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The first device, memory, processor, and second device in Claim 1 are just generic computer components. The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
(Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an "inventive concept") to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components, cannot provide an inventive concept - rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 1 is not patent eligible.
(Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Claims 12, 21, 23 are not patent-eligible for similar reasons as stated above. The corresponding dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11-15, 17-18, 20-26, 28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US20200410851) in view of Mizoguchi (US20190300053).
Claim 1:
Saito explicitly teaches:
A first device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to:
(Saito) – “In this illustrative example, the DPS 100 may include communications bus 102, which may provide communications between a processor unit 104, a memory 106, persistent storage 108, a communications unit 110, an I/O unit 112, and a display 114.” (Para 0131)
“The processor unit 104 serves to execute instructions for software that may be loaded into the memory 106.” (Para 0132)
obtain environment information;
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other.” (Para 0007)
determine, based on the environment information, a second passing mode for a target passing area, wherein the second passing mode is different from a first passing mode for the target passing area that is currently effective in a map, and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the two passing modes may correspond to any type of mode related to any form of passing.
send, to a second device, a notification message of the second passing mode.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the second device may be any type of device, including but not limited to a display.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
(Mizoguchi) – “A vehicle driving assist apparatus includes a traveling environment recognizer, a target traveling path setting unit, a traveling controller, a lane changing path setting unit, a lane change controller, and a lane change urgency determining unit. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to set a lane changing path that allows an own vehicle to make a lane change when making of the lane change is determined, in an automatic driving mode, as being necessary. The lane change urgency determining unit is configured to change thresholds of a maximum steering speed to a second threshold greater than a first threshold when urgency of making the lane change is high. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to restrain or prohibit the making of the lane change when the maximum steering speed, upon the setting of the lane changing path, is equal to or greater than the second threshold.” (Abstract)
“The traveling ECU 22 may have driving modes. In an example implementation, the driving modes set in the traveling ECU 22 may include a manual driving mode, a first driving assist mode, a second driving assist mode, and an automatic refuge mode.” (Para 0034)
“To achieve the first driving assist mode and the second driving assist mode, the traveling ECU 22 may set the target traveling path in a case where a preceding vehicle is recognized ahead of a traveling road of the own vehicle.” (Para 0047)
“The locator calculator 12 may be coupled to a high-accuracy road map database 18. In one implementation, the high-accuracy road map database 18 may serve as a “storage”. The high-accuracy road map database 18 may be a large-capacity storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD), and hold highly-accurate road map information (e.g., a dynamic map). The high-accuracy road map information may contain lane data used for performing automatic driving. Non-limiting examples of the lane data may include data on a width of a lane, data on coordinates of a middle position in the lane, data on azimuth in a traveling direction of the lane, and data on a speed limit. The lane data may be set for each lane on the road map at an interval of several meters.” (Para 0023)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the driving assist apparatus of Mizoguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to provide a vehicle driving assist apparatus that makes it possible to perform an appropriate lane change without giving an occupant a sense of discomfort.” (Mizoguchi Para 0018)
Claim 2:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to send, to the second device when the environment information meets an effectiveness condition of the second passing mode, first indication information instructing the second device to make the first passing mode ineffective and make the second passing mode effective.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Effectiveness condition may be any form of condition which relates to effectiveness or effectivity.
Claim 3:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the first passing mode and the second passing mode are information in a first layer of the map.
(Saito) – “The term “narrow road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a single-lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit a vehicle traveling in only one direction at any point along the road. Such a road may be designated on a map as a single-lane road and have a width that is, e.g., at least twelve feet.” (Para 0095)
“The term “wide road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a double lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit vehicles traveling in opposite directions to pass each other at any given point. Such a road may be designated on a map as a multi-lane or multi-direction road, and may have a width that is, e.g., at least twenty-four feet, or as primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other.” (Para 0098)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any map has at least a first layer.
Claim 4:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to: generate, based on the environment information, the second passing mode; and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
“A vehicle 520 may reach an area for which it has area information 427. When the vehicle detects that the situation has changed in this area (e.g., road construction has been completed to allow vehicles to pass by each other), the vehicle 520 may generate a new area information item 427.n changing the existing area information item 427.n, and may store the new area information item 427.n by replacing the existing item with the new item.” (Para 0174)
send, to the second device, the second passing mode to the second device.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Claim 6:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: cause the first device to send, to the second device, ineffectiveness indication information when a first an ineffectiveness condition is met, and wherein the ineffectiveness indication information instructs the second device to:
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Ineffectiveness condition may be any form of condition which relates to effectiveness or effectivity. Per BRI, an ineffectiveness condition may be the same as an effectiveness condition because they both determine effectiveness.
stop passing in the target passing area in the second passing mode; pass in the target passing area in the first passing mode; or pass in the target passing area in a default passing mode.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other. In the first assisting mode, the controller compares a first distance from the information area to the focus vehicle and a second distance from the information area to the oncoming vehicle to select a focus vehicle action. The focus vehicle action may be to stop the focus vehicle. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Claim 7:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 6 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the ineffectiveness condition comprises the following: no new environment information is received within a preset duration; newly received environment information does not meet an effectiveness condition of the second passing mode; a third passing mode, based on the newly received environment information, is different from the second passing mode; or an effectiveness duration of the second passing mode exceeds a preset effectiveness duration.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other. In the first assisting mode, the controller compares a first distance from the information area to the focus vehicle and a second distance from the information area to the oncoming vehicle to select a focus vehicle action. The focus vehicle action may be to stop the focus vehicle. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“The term “narrow road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a single-lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit a vehicle traveling in only one direction at any point along the road. Such a road may be designated on a map as a single-lane road and have a width that is, e.g., at least twelve feet.” (Para 0095)
“The term “wide road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a double lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit vehicles traveling in opposite directions to pass each other at any given point. Such a road may be designated on a map as a multi-lane or multi-direction road, and may have a width that is, e.g., at least twenty-four feet, or as primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other.” (Para 0098)
Claim 8:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: cause the first device to send, to the second device, effectiveness duration indication information of the second passing mode, wherein the effectiveness duration indication information instructs the second device to stop passing in the target passing area in the second passing mode after a preset effectiveness duration has expired.
(Saito) – “A vehicle 520 having received area information 427 (or a vehicle having sensed an area to collect information from and generated the area information) may, in some embodiments, continue to hold that area information 427 without discarding it, provided certain conditions are met. These conditions may comprise regional conditions and temporal conditions, and may further comprise other elements. In one illustrative example, according to an embodiment, the vehicle is present in the holding area 504. A valid period from a timestamp of the area information item 427.n has not yet expired. Each area information item 427.n may be given a valid period which may be based on an attribute of the item. By way of example only, area information designated by a user may be valid for one year; vehicle information detected by a sensor may be valid for one day, whereas sensor detected dirt and fallen trees may be valid for two weeks; traffic system information on an accident may be valid for one day, whereas the traffic system information related to construction may be valid for two weeks; and data from actual vehicles having passed by each other may be valid for two weeks. The timestamp may thus be related to an expiration date/time at which time the area information item 427.n is considered to be no longer valid or at least be transitioned to some other state, such as no longer included in an update or the like.” (Para 0188)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other. In the first assisting mode, the controller compares a first distance from the information area to the focus vehicle and a second distance from the information area to the oncoming vehicle to select a focus vehicle action. The focus vehicle action may be to stop the focus vehicle. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Claim 11:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the environment information comprises location information of a road section on which a traffic incident has occurred, and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein, according to some embodiments, is a system and method that allow a determination to be made that fairly permit vehicles to take turns passing by each other. Here, a vehicle may receive a signal that indicates it is within a trafficable are permitting its passing through an obstruction area without interruption, based on the determination of whether the focus vehicle is within the trafficable area.” (Para 0014)
“Disclosed herein is a system and related method that assists vehicles in passing by each other. This is achieved by sharing information, via a V2V network, about places where vehicles can and cannot pass by each other. When such information is shared in advance of a vehicle approaching an obstacle location (e.g., on a wide road having two lanes of traffic that normally flow in opposite directions, but where an obstacle blocks a lane flowing in one direction, narrowing the road) or a passing location (e.g., on a narrow road having one lane of traffic, but having passing areas that permits vehicles to pass one another by widening the road to two lanes), a vehicle having this information may let other vehicles pass them in places where obstacles cannot be directly probed by sensors or the like.” (Para 0144)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, a traffic incident may be any form of traffic event.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to: determine, based on the location information, an impassable area in the target passing area based on the road section location information; and
(Saito) – “The second type of information, the wide road information, may include information for wide road segments 500 related to narrow areas 507 (obstacle areas) where vehicles cannot pass by each other (i.e., obstacle area information 427b).” (Para 0154)
“The third type of information, passing obstacle information, may include information for narrow road segments 500′ related to normally wide areas 508 (passing areas) that are temporarily blocked (i.e., passing-obstacle information 427c). The passing-obstacle information 427c is information related to map (or dynamically detected) designated passing areas 508 that normally permit vehicles 520, 530 to pass one another, but that are currently unavailable as passing areas 508 due to an obstacle.” (Para 0155)
“Disclosed herein, according to some embodiments, is a system and method that allow a determination to be made that fairly permit vehicles to take turns passing by each other. Here, a vehicle may receive a signal that indicates it is within a trafficable are permitting its passing through an obstruction area without interruption, based on the determination of whether the focus vehicle is within the trafficable area.” (Para 0014)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
include in the notification message an instruction determine that the second passing mode comprises prohibiting passing in the impassable area.
(Saito) – “The second type of information, the wide road information, may include information for wide road segments 500 related to narrow areas 507 (obstacle areas) where vehicles cannot pass by each other (i.e., obstacle area information 427b).” (Para 0154)
“The third type of information, passing obstacle information, may include information for narrow road segments 500′ related to normally wide areas 508 (passing areas) that are temporarily blocked (i.e., passing-obstacle information 427c). The passing-obstacle information 427c is information related to map (or dynamically detected) designated passing areas 508 that normally permit vehicles 520, 530 to pass one another, but that are currently unavailable as passing areas 508 due to an obstacle.” (Para 0155)
“Disclosed herein, according to some embodiments, is a system and method that allow a determination to be made that fairly permit vehicles to take turns passing by each other. Here, a vehicle may receive a signal that indicates it is within a trafficable are permitting its passing through an obstruction area without interruption, based on the determination of whether the focus vehicle is within the trafficable area.” (Para 0014)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Claim 12:
Saito explicitly teaches:
A second device comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the second device to:
(Saito) – “In this illustrative example, the DPS 100 may include communications bus 102, which may provide communications between a processor unit 104, a memory 106, persistent storage 108, a communications unit 110, an I/O unit 112, and a display 114.” (Para 0131)
“The processor unit 104 serves to execute instructions for software that may be loaded into the memory 106.” (Para 0132)
receive, from a first device, a notification message of a second passing mode
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
make effective, based on the notification message, the second passing mode for a target passing area in a map; and make ineffective, based on the notification message, a first passing mode for the target passing area in the map.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the two passing modes may correspond to any type of mode related to any form of passing.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
(Mizoguchi) – “A vehicle driving assist apparatus includes a traveling environment recognizer, a target traveling path setting unit, a traveling controller, a lane changing path setting unit, a lane change controller, and a lane change urgency determining unit. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to set a lane changing path that allows an own vehicle to make a lane change when making of the lane change is determined, in an automatic driving mode, as being necessary. The lane change urgency determining unit is configured to change thresholds of a maximum steering speed to a second threshold greater than a first threshold when urgency of making the lane change is high. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to restrain or prohibit the making of the lane change when the maximum steering speed, upon the setting of the lane changing path, is equal to or greater than the second threshold.” (Abstract)
“The traveling ECU 22 may have driving modes. In an example implementation, the driving modes set in the traveling ECU 22 may include a manual driving mode, a first driving assist mode, a second driving assist mode, and an automatic refuge mode.” (Para 0034)
“To achieve the first driving assist mode and the second driving assist mode, the traveling ECU 22 may set the target traveling path in a case where a preceding vehicle is recognized ahead of a traveling road of the own vehicle.” (Para 0047)
“The locator calculator 12 may be coupled to a high-accuracy road map database 18. In one implementation, the high-accuracy road map database 18 may serve as a “storage”. The high-accuracy road map database 18 may be a large-capacity storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD), and hold highly-accurate road map information (e.g., a dynamic map). The high-accuracy road map information may contain lane data used for performing automatic driving. Non-limiting examples of the lane data may include data on a width of a lane, data on coordinates of a middle position in the lane, data on azimuth in a traveling direction of the lane, and data on a speed limit. The lane data may be set for each lane on the road map at an interval of several meters.” (Para 0023)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the driving assist apparatus of Mizoguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to provide a vehicle driving assist apparatus that makes it possible to perform an appropriate lane change without giving an occupant a sense of discomfort.” (Mizoguchi Para 0018)
Claim 13:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2
Claim 14:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3
Claim 15:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the notification message of the second passing mode comprises content of the second passing mode.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, content may refer to any variety of information related to the second passing mode.
Claim 17:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 6
Claim 18:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 17 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the ineffectiveness condition comprises the following: the second device receives, from the first device, ineffectiveness indication information instructing the second device to stop passing in the target passing area in the second passing mode; the second device has left the target passing area; the second device does not obtain a new notification message of the second passing mode within a preset duration; or a time in which the second device passes in the second passing mode exceeds a preset effectiveness duration.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other. In the first assisting mode, the controller compares a first distance from the information area to the focus vehicle and a second distance from the information area to the oncoming vehicle to select a focus vehicle action. The focus vehicle action may be to stop the focus vehicle. …The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“The term “narrow road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a single-lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit a vehicle traveling in only one direction at any point along the road. Such a road may be designated on a map as a single-lane road and have a width that is, e.g., at least twelve feet.” (Para 0095)
“The term “wide road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a double lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit vehicles traveling in opposite directions to pass each other at any given point. Such a road may be designated on a map as a multi-lane or multi-direction road, and may have a width that is, e.g., at least twenty-four feet, or as primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other.” (Para 0098)
Claim 20:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 11
Claim 21:
Saito explicitly teaches:
A method implemented by a first device, wherein the method comprises: obtaining environment information;
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other.” (Para 0007)
determining, based on the environment information, a second passing mode for a target passing area, wherein the second passing mode is different from a first passing mode for the target passing area that is currently effective in a map; and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the two passing modes may correspond to any type of mode related to any form of passing.
sending, to a second device, a notification message of the second passing mode.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the second device may be any type of device, including but not limited to a display.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
(Mizoguchi) – “A vehicle driving assist apparatus includes a traveling environment recognizer, a target traveling path setting unit, a traveling controller, a lane changing path setting unit, a lane change controller, and a lane change urgency determining unit. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to set a lane changing path that allows an own vehicle to make a lane change when making of the lane change is determined, in an automatic driving mode, as being necessary. The lane change urgency determining unit is configured to change thresholds of a maximum steering speed to a second threshold greater than a first threshold when urgency of making the lane change is high. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to restrain or prohibit the making of the lane change when the maximum steering speed, upon the setting of the lane changing path, is equal to or greater than the second threshold.” (Abstract)
“The traveling ECU 22 may have driving modes. In an example implementation, the driving modes set in the traveling ECU 22 may include a manual driving mode, a first driving assist mode, a second driving assist mode, and an automatic refuge mode.” (Para 0034)
“To achieve the first driving assist mode and the second driving assist mode, the traveling ECU 22 may set the target traveling path in a case where a preceding vehicle is recognized ahead of a traveling road of the own vehicle.” (Para 0047)
“The locator calculator 12 may be coupled to a high-accuracy road map database 18. In one implementation, the high-accuracy road map database 18 may serve as a “storage”. The high-accuracy road map database 18 may be a large-capacity storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD), and hold highly-accurate road map information (e.g., a dynamic map). The high-accuracy road map information may contain lane data used for performing automatic driving. Non-limiting examples of the lane data may include data on a width of a lane, data on coordinates of a middle position in the lane, data on azimuth in a traveling direction of the lane, and data on a speed limit. The lane data may be set for each lane on the road map at an interval of several meters.” (Para 0023)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the driving assist apparatus of Mizoguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to provide a vehicle driving assist apparatus that makes it possible to perform an appropriate lane change without giving an occupant a sense of discomfort.” (Mizoguchi Para 0018)
Claim 22:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2
Claim 23:
Saito explicitly teaches:
A method implemented by a second device, wherein the method comprises: receiving, from a first device, a notification message of a second passing mode
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
making, based on the notification message, a second passing mode for a target passing area in a map effective and making, based on the notification message, a first passing mode for the target passing area in the map ineffective.
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
“An overview of the disclosure herein discusses, among other things, use of a V2VN and/or a V2VN protocol in order to detect and store area information associated with a road, sharing/propagating the area information with other vehicles, processing the area information into an assistance assessment, and displaying results of the assistance assessment to a vehicle user.” (Para 0145)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, the two passing modes may correspond to any type of mode related to any form of passing.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
Mizoguchi, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle control, teaches:
wherein the second passing mode comprises a speed limit value for the target passing area, a lane line attribute of the target passing area and a steering attribute of each lane; and
(Mizoguchi) – “A vehicle driving assist apparatus includes a traveling environment recognizer, a target traveling path setting unit, a traveling controller, a lane changing path setting unit, a lane change controller, and a lane change urgency determining unit. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to set a lane changing path that allows an own vehicle to make a lane change when making of the lane change is determined, in an automatic driving mode, as being necessary. The lane change urgency determining unit is configured to change thresholds of a maximum steering speed to a second threshold greater than a first threshold when urgency of making the lane change is high. The lane changing path setting unit is configured to restrain or prohibit the making of the lane change when the maximum steering speed, upon the setting of the lane changing path, is equal to or greater than the second threshold.” (Abstract)
“The traveling ECU 22 may have driving modes. In an example implementation, the driving modes set in the traveling ECU 22 may include a manual driving mode, a first driving assist mode, a second driving assist mode, and an automatic refuge mode.” (Para 0034)
“To achieve the first driving assist mode and the second driving assist mode, the traveling ECU 22 may set the target traveling path in a case where a preceding vehicle is recognized ahead of a traveling road of the own vehicle.” (Para 0047)
“The locator calculator 12 may be coupled to a high-accuracy road map database 18. In one implementation, the high-accuracy road map database 18 may serve as a “storage”. The high-accuracy road map database 18 may be a large-capacity storage medium such as a hard disk drive (HDD), and hold highly-accurate road map information (e.g., a dynamic map). The high-accuracy road map information may contain lane data used for performing automatic driving. Non-limiting examples of the lane data may include data on a width of a lane, data on coordinates of a middle position in the lane, data on azimuth in a traveling direction of the lane, and data on a speed limit. The lane data may be set for each lane on the road map at an interval of several meters.” (Para 0023)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the driving assist apparatus of Mizoguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “It is desirable to provide a vehicle driving assist apparatus that makes it possible to perform an appropriate lane change without giving an occupant a sense of discomfort.” (Mizoguchi Para 0018)
Claim 24:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 2
Claim 25:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3
Claim 26:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 15
Claim 28:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 6
Claim 30:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 11
Claim(s) 5, 9-10, 16, 19, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US20200410851) in view of Mizoguchi (US20190300053) further in view of Lee (US20210325205).
Claim 5:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the first passing mode is first information in a first layer of the map, wherein the second passing mode is second information [in a second layer of the map], and
(Saito) – “The term “narrow road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a single-lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit a vehicle traveling in only one direction at any point along the road. Such a road may be designated on a map as a single-lane road and have a width that is, e.g., at least twelve feet.” (Para 0095)
“The term “wide road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a double lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit vehicles traveling in opposite directions to pass each other at any given point. Such a road may be designated on a map as a multi-lane or multi-direction road, and may have a width that is, e.g., at least twenty-four feet, or as primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other.” (Para 0098)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any map has at least a first layer. Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: cause the first device to send, to the second device, [the second layer comprising] the second passing mode.
(Saito) – “The term “narrow road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a single-lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit a vehicle traveling in only one direction at any point along the road. Such a road may be designated on a map as a single-lane road and have a width that is, e.g., at least twelve feet.” (Para 0095)
“The term “wide road” may, in some embodiments, refer to a road that, for most of its length, is a double lane road that under normal usage is intended to permit vehicles traveling in opposite directions to pass each other at any given point. Such a road may be designated on a map as a multi-lane or multi-direction road, and may have a width that is, e.g., at least twenty-four feet, or as primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other.” (Para 0098)
“Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any map has at least a first layer. Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
in a second layer of the map… the second layer comprising
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
in a second layer of the map… the second layer comprising
(Lee) – “The horizon map data may include at least one of topology data, ADAS data, HD map data, or dynamic data. According to an embodiment, the horizon map data may include a plurality of layers. For example, the horizon map data may include a first layer that matches the topology data, a second layer that matches the ADAS data, a third layer that matches the HD map data, and a fourth layer that matches the dynamic data. The horizon map data may further include static object data.” (Para 0052)
“The ADAS data may be data related to road information. The ADAS data may include at least one of road slope data, road curvature data, or road speed-limit data. The ADAS data may further include no-passing-zone data.” (Para 0054)
“The HD map data may include topology information in units of detailed lanes of roads, information on connections between respective lanes, and feature information for vehicle localization (e.g. traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.).” (Para 0055)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the vehicular electronic device of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is an effect of securing the latest information at the time of traveling of a vehicle” (Lee Para 0018)
Claim 9:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the environment information comprises visibility information of at least one location, and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, visibility information may be any visual information including sensor data.
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: cause the first device to determine, based on the visibility information, a target speed limit road section in the target passing area and [a target speed limit of the target speed limit road section].
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, a target speed limit road section may correspond to any section of road. Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
a target speed limit of the target speed limit road section
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
a target speed limit of the target speed limit road section
(Lee) – “The horizon map data may include at least one of topology data, ADAS data, HD map data, or dynamic data. According to an embodiment, the horizon map data may include a plurality of layers. For example, the horizon map data may include a first layer that matches the topology data, a second layer that matches the ADAS data, a third layer that matches the HD map data, and a fourth layer that matches the dynamic data. The horizon map data may further include static object data.” (Para 0052)
“The ADAS data may be data related to road information. The ADAS data may include at least one of road slope data, road curvature data, or road speed-limit data. The ADAS data may further include no-passing-zone data.” (Para 0054)
“The HD map data may include topology information in units of detailed lanes of roads, information on connections between respective lanes, and feature information for vehicle localization (e.g. traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.).” (Para 0055)
“The dynamic data may include various types of dynamic information that can be generated on roads. For example, the dynamic data may include construction information, variable-speed road information, road condition information, traffic information, moving object information, etc. The dynamic data may be based on data received by the infrastructure 20. The dynamic data may be based on data generated by the object detection device 210.” (Para 0056)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the vehicular electronic device of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is an effect of securing the latest information at the time of traveling of a vehicle” (Lee Para 0018)
Claim 10:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
include in the notification message an instruction to pass through the part of the road sections [at a speed not exceeding the changed speed limit].
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the environment information comprises a displayed speed limit of at least one sign, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to: determine, based on the displayed speed limit, that a speed limit of an effective area of the at least one sign has changed to a changed speed limit and a part of road sections of the effective area is located in the target passing area; and… at a speed not exceeding the changed speed limit.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
wherein the environment information comprises a displayed speed limit of at least one sign, and
(Lee) – “The horizon map data may include at least one of topology data, ADAS data, HD map data, or dynamic data. According to an embodiment, the horizon map data may include a plurality of layers. For example, the horizon map data may include a first layer that matches the topology data, a second layer that matches the ADAS data, a third layer that matches the HD map data, and a fourth layer that matches the dynamic data. The horizon map data may further include static object data.” (Para 0052)
“The ADAS data may be data related to road information. The ADAS data may include at least one of road slope data, road curvature data, or road speed-limit data. The ADAS data may further include no-passing-zone data.” (Para 0054)
“The HD map data may include topology information in units of detailed lanes of roads, information on connections between respective lanes, and feature information for vehicle localization (e.g. traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.).” (Para 0055)
“The dynamic data may include various types of dynamic information that can be generated on roads. For example, the dynamic data may include construction information, variable-speed road information, road condition information, traffic information, moving object information, etc. The dynamic data may be based on data received by the infrastructure 20. The dynamic data may be based on data generated by the object detection device 210.” (Para 0056)
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to: determine, based on the displayed speed limit, that a speed limit of an effective area of the at least one sign has changed to a changed speed limit and a part of road sections of the effective area is located in the target passing area; and… at a speed not exceeding the changed speed limit.
(Lee) – “The horizon map data may include at least one of topology data, ADAS data, HD map data, or dynamic data. According to an embodiment, the horizon map data may include a plurality of layers. For example, the horizon map data may include a first layer that matches the topology data, a second layer that matches the ADAS data, a third layer that matches the HD map data, and a fourth layer that matches the dynamic data. The horizon map data may further include static object data.” (Para 0052)
“The ADAS data may be data related to road information. The ADAS data may include at least one of road slope data, road curvature data, or road speed-limit data. The ADAS data may further include no-passing-zone data.” (Para 0054)
“The HD map data may include topology information in units of detailed lanes of roads, information on connections between respective lanes, and feature information for vehicle localization (e.g. traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.).” (Para 0055)
“The dynamic data may include various types of dynamic information that can be generated on roads. For example, the dynamic data may include construction information, variable-speed road information, road condition information, traffic information, moving object information, etc. The dynamic data may be based on data received by the infrastructure 20. The dynamic data may be based on data generated by the object detection device 210.” (Para 0056)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the vehicular electronic device of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is an effect of securing the latest information at the time of traveling of a vehicle” (Lee Para 0018)
Claim 16:
Rejected for the similar reasons as Claim 5
Claim 19:
Saito in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Saito further teaches:
wherein the first passing mode comprises passing in the target passing area [at a first vehicle speed not exceeding a first speed limit], and
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the second passing mode comprises passing in the target passing area [at a second vehicle speed not exceeding a second speed limit].
(Saito) – “Disclosed herein is also a device associated with a focus vehicle, the device comprising a sensor that senses area information about an information area usable to assist the focus vehicle and an oncoming vehicle to pass each other, a transmitter that broadcasts the area information via a vehicle-to-vehicle network (V2VN) protocol, and a controller. The controller, in a basic assessment, produces an assisting result from the area information and vehicle information related to the focus vehicle and the oncoming vehicle. The vehicle information includes first distance information of the focus vehicle from the information area, and second distance information of the oncoming vehicle from the information area. The controller produces the assisting result in: a first assisting mode for wide roads primarily having a plurality of lanes that permit vehicles to pass by each other but that contain narrowing sections that obstruct all but one lane, and a second assisting mode on narrow roads primarily having narrow sections of one lane that do not permit vehicles to pass by each other, but that contain widening sections where vehicles can pass by each other…The focus vehicle action may be to negotiate with the oncoming vehicle in other cases. The device may further comprise a display that displays virtual traffic information in accordance with the result of the selection that differentiates the stop, proceed, and negotiation vehicle action.” (Para 0007)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
Saito does not explicitly teach:
at a first vehicle speed not exceeding a first speed limit… at a second vehicle speed not exceeding a second speed limit
Lee, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
at a first vehicle speed not exceeding a first speed limit… at a second vehicle speed not exceeding a second speed limit
(Lee) – “The horizon map data may include at least one of topology data, ADAS data, HD map data, or dynamic data. According to an embodiment, the horizon map data may include a plurality of layers. For example, the horizon map data may include a first layer that matches the topology data, a second layer that matches the ADAS data, a third layer that matches the HD map data, and a fourth layer that matches the dynamic data. The horizon map data may further include static object data.” (Para 0052)
“The ADAS data may be data related to road information. The ADAS data may include at least one of road slope data, road curvature data, or road speed-limit data. The ADAS data may further include no-passing-zone data.” (Para 0054)
“The HD map data may include topology information in units of detailed lanes of roads, information on connections between respective lanes, and feature information for vehicle localization (e.g. traffic signs, lane marking/attributes, road furniture, etc.).” (Para 0055)
“The dynamic data may include various types of dynamic information that can be generated on roads. For example, the dynamic data may include construction information, variable-speed road information, road condition information, traffic information, moving object information, etc. The dynamic data may be based on data received by the infrastructure 20. The dynamic data may be based on data generated by the object detection device 210.” (Para 0056)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Saito with the vehicular electronic device of Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because “there is an effect of securing the latest information at the time of traveling of a vehicle” (Lee Para 0018)
Claim 27:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 5
Claim 29:
Rejected for the same reasons as Claim 19
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection mailed 08/28/2025 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues:
“These features are directed to improving the specific technological environment of intelligent vehicle navigation and are not concepts that can be performed as mental processes. The claims are not directed to controlling a vehicle with a human mind. Courts have recognized that claims directed to specific improvements in a technological field are not abstract. See Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (improved database structure patent-eligible); DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, 773 F.3d 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (webpage modification improving technology patent-eligible). Similar to such cases, the present claims address solving technical problems in navigation technology. Conventional maps, and human minds, sometimes update too slowly to reflect dynamic environmental changes, leading to unsafe or inefficient passing modes. The claimed solutions, requiring layered maps, remote sensing, dynamic determination of passing mode effectiveness, and efficient signaling of changes, improve the functioning of the intelligent vehicle navigation technology.
With regard to Step 2A, Prong 2, the claims are integrated into a practical application. (See MPEP §2106.04(a). The claimed invention uses environmental sensors and vehicle infrastructure to obtain real-time environmental information. The intelligent vehicle's passing mode is automatically controlled in response to that information, and communication efficiency is improved by transmitting notification information. These features demonstrate that the claims do not monopolize an abstract idea in isolation, but instead integrate the concept into a concrete, technical application directed to intelligent vehicle navigation that improves navigation safety and efficiency. Accordingly, the §101 rejections must be withdrawn.”
However this is not convincing. Specifically, the assertion that “These features …are not concepts that can be performed as mental processes” is unsupported and incorrect. Humans frequently operate vehicles and adjust passing behavior of the vehicle in response to obtaining environment information. It remains true that the abstract idea is capable of being performed in the human mind and the identified additional elements do nothing but implement the abstract idea as evidenced in the rejection rationale. Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking) (MPEP2106.05(d)).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 rejections mailed 08/28/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, all claims are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 at least over Saito in view of Mizoguchi. Examiner maintains that Mizoguchi resolves any alleged deficiencies of the prior art.
Therefore, all outstanding claims remain rejected over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 3667
January 27, 2026