DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 is objected to for referring to “pressure of the fluid” when it is unclear how, if at all, this relates back to the previously claimed “pressure of the fluid”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lang (US 20040186591 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Lang discloses a prosthetic knee joint comprising:
a valve comprising an inlet connected to an outlet via a fluid connection, and a valve body (claim 28 hydraulic valve comprising a valve member positioned within a valve cavity with an inlet port and outlet port ) moveable into a first position in which the fluid connection is blocked (claim 28 closed position) and a second position in which the fluid connection is open (claim 28 open position),
a lower leg and an upper leg arranged on the lower leg such that the upper leg is moveable relative to the lower leg (claim 28 first and second joint parts rotatable relative to each other in joint flexion and extension) when the fluid connection is open (Abstract),
wherein the valve body is configured so that a switch force is required to be applied to the valve body to move it from the first (closed) position to the second (open) position (Abstract: the valve member is moveable from the closed (first) position to the open (second) position in response to weight actuation),
but is silent with regard to the valve body being maintained in the second position when fluid pressure flowing in the fluid connection is greater than a predetermined threshold even if the switch is no longer present.
and the valve body is maintained in the second (open) position when a fluid is flowing in the fluid connection and a pressure of the fluid is greater than a predetermined threshold even if the switch force is no longer present (this is considered to be inherent at some level of fluid pressure. See for example [0006] and [0024] where it is discussed that the valve body is biased closed, meaning a fluid pressure, if present, would overcome the bias to keep it closed).
Regarding claim 2 Lang discloses the knee joint of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Lang further discloses the switch force is configured to occur when the knee joint is subjected to an external load (Abstract weight activation).
Regarding claim 3 Lang discloses the knee joint of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Lang further discloses the valve body is only moveable from the first position to second position when the knee joint is extended (Abstract: the valve member opens in response to fluid pressure caused by flexion torque to the knee joint (if the knee joint is flexing, it is considered extended relative to at least some level of flexion).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang as is applied above in view of Bisinger et al. (US 20070208431 A1) hereinafter known as Bisinger.
Regarding claim 4 Lang discloses the knee joint of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the valve body being immovable from the first position to the second position when the pressure of the fluid is greater than a predetermined limit.
However, regarding claim 4 Bisinger teaches a prosthetic knee joint wherein fluid pressure which increases as a result of moving to/from extension/flexion and it reaches/exceeds a predetermined limit, the movement is throttled (Abstract). Lang and Bisinger are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic knee joints. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the knee joint of Lang so that the transition of the valve from the first position to the second position is throttled if the fluid pressure is greater than a predetermined limit as is taught by Bisinger in order to ensure wing control during use of the joint (Bisinger [0006]).
Regarding claim 5 Lang discloses the knee joint of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to whether or not an increase in the pressure of the fluid at the inlet counteracts a displacement of the valve body from the first position to the second position or not.
However, regarding claim 5 Bisinger teaches that an increase in fluid pressure counteracts movement of the knee (Abstract). Lang and Bisinger are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic knee joints. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the knee joint of Lang so that an increase in the pressure of the fluid at the inlet of the valve counteracts or throttles movement of the knee’s movement (i.e. counteracts a displacement of the valve body of Lang from the first position to the second position) as is taught by Bisinger in order to ensure wing control during use of the joint (Bisinger [0006]).
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 07/15/26