DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (FIG. 4), including claims 1-6, 8-15, 17, and 19-21 in the reply filed on 02/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gwon et al. 20210287986.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 1 of Gwon discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising:
a cell substrate 101/102/104;
a mold structure (structure above 101) including a plurality of gate electrodes 130 stacked on the cell substrate;
a channel structure CH penetrating the mold structure;
a string select line (bottom 130 - see bottom of par [0032] -the gate electrode 130 constituting the string select transistor and/or below a lower portion of the gate electrode 130 constituting the ground select transistor) on the mold structure;
a string select channel structure (layer of multiple CH in fig. 1) penetrating the string select line and contacting the channel structure;
an anti-arcing contact (286/165/172/174/and pad(above174) (inherently anti-arcing as charges are transfer through 165/172/174/and pad to 286 then to 276 then 272 and then to 201 which is substrate is ground – see GI in 201) penetrating the mold structure;
an insulating pattern 192/120 between the anti-arcing contact and the plurality of gate electrodes; and
an anti-arcing insulating pattern 118 penetrating the string select line and contacting the anti-arcing contact.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising:
a cell substrate 101/012/104 including a cell array region CELL and an extension region PERI;
a mold structure (structure above 101) including a plurality of gate electrodes stacked on the cell array region, the plurality of gate electrodes being stacked in a stepwise manner on the extension region and each including a connection region having a top surface exposed (see top surface of fig. 1A);
a channel structure CH penetrating the mold structure, the channel structure on the cell array region;
a string select line on the mold structure;
a string select channel structure penetrating the string select line and contacting the channel structure;
an anti-arcing contact (286/165/172/174/and pad(above174) (inherently anti-arcing as charges are transfer through 165/172/174/and pad to 286 then to 276 then 272 and then to 201 which is substrate is ground – see GI in 201) on the cell array region, the anti-arcing contact penetrating the mold structure, and
a structure of the anti-arcing contact being different from a structure of the channel structure; and
an insulating pattern 192/120 between the anti-arcing contact and the plurality of gate electrodes.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the anti-arcing contact is at an end (top and bottom ends) of the string select line.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses further comprising: a stud 174; and a bit line 184 (a type of bit line) on the stud, wherein the stud is on the string select channel structure without being on the anti- arcing insulating pattern.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the insulating pattern extends along a sidewall of the anti-arcing contact.
Regarding claim 5, par [0030] of Gwon discloses wherein the cell substrate comprises a source layer, and a sidewall of a channel pattern of the channel structure is in contact with the source layer.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the cell substrate comprises a source layer, and a bottom surface of a channel pattern of the channel structure is in contact with the source layer.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses further comprising: a peripheral circuit board (elements above 192 is a type of board); a peripheral circuit element 184 on the peripheral circuit board; and a peripheral circuit structure 176 on the peripheral circuit board, wherein the peripheral circuit structure includes a wiring structure 176 electrically connected to the peripheral circuit element 184, and the mold structure is between the cell substrate and the peripheral circuit structure.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the anti-arcing contact comprises a first (pad portion) portion and a second portion 174 on the first portion, and a width of a top surface of the first portion is greater than a width of a top surface of the second portion.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the string select channel structure overlaps a part of the channel structure (the channel of the string select channel structure is part of CH and therefore overlaps CH).
Regarding claim 11, fig. 1B of Gwon discloses wherein the string select channel structure comprises a filling pattern 150, a channel pattern 140 on the filling pattern, and a channel insulating pattern 145 between the filling pattern and the string select line, and the channel pattern is in contact with the channel structure.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the anti-arcing contact 286 (which is part of) overlaps the string select line in a direction from the cell substrate toward the mold structure.
Regarding claim 14, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses further comprising: an anti-arcing insulating pattern 118 on the cell array region, wherein the anti-arcing insulating pattern penetrates the string select line and contacts the anti-arcing contact.
Regarding claim 15, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses further comprising: a cell contact 162 electrically connected to the connection region (region where 162 contact 130) of a corresponding one of the plurality of gate electrodes on the extension region, wherein the cell contact penetrates the mold structure.
Regarding claim 17, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses further comprising: a plurality of string isolation structures 120, wherein the string select line is among a plurality of string selecting lines in the semiconductor memory device, the plurality of string isolation structures isolate the plurality of string select lines, and the anti-arcing contact is between two of the string isolation structures adjacent to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gwon in view of Choi et al. 20220285302.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses an electronic system comprising:
a main substrate 201;
a semiconductor memory device on the main substrate; and
wherein
the semiconductor memory device includes a cell substrate 201, a mold structure, a channel structure, a string select line, a string select channel structure, an anti-arcing contact, an insulating pattern, an anti-arcing insulating pattern, (see rejection of claims 1 and 12 above) and a plurality of cell contacts (gate contacts 162 – fig. 1A),
the cell substrate includes a cell array region (top surface region for CELL) and an extension region (bottom surface region for PERI) , the mold structure includes a plurality of gate electrodes stacked on the cell array region,
the plurality of gate electrodes are stacked in a stepwise manner on the extension region and each include a connection region having a top surface exposed such that the plurality of gate electrodes respectively include connection regions (see fig. 1A – regions where 162s contact 130s),
the channel structure CH penetrates the mold structure on the cell array region,
the string select line is on the mold structure,
the string select channel structure (portion of CH for that layer of 130 for the select transistor) penetrates the string select line 130 (for the string select 130) and contacts the channel structure (portion of CH for that layer of 130 for the select transistor contact the whole CH),
the anti-arcing contact 165 penetrates the mold structure on the cell array region,
the insulating pattern 192/120 is between the anti-arcing contact and the plurality of gate electrodes,
the anti-arcing insulating pattern 118 penetrates the string select line and contacts the anti-arcing contact, and
the plurality of cell contacts 162 electrically connected to the connection regions of the plurality of gate electrodes on the extension region.
Gwon does not disclose of a controller electrically connected to the semiconductor memory device.
However, fig. 16 of Choi discloses a controller 1200 may include a processor 1210, a NAND controller 1220, and a host interface 1230. In example embodiments, the data storage system 1000 may include a plurality of semiconductor devices 1100, and in this case, the controller 1200 may control the plurality of semiconductor devices 1100.
In view of such teaching, it would have been obvious to form an electronic system of Gwon further comprising of a controller electrically connected to the semiconductor memory device such as taught by Choi in order to be able to controller the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the anti-arcing insulating pattern has a single layer structure (see 118 is each a single layer).
Regarding claim 21, fig. 1A of Gwon discloses wherein the anti-arcing contact has a single layer structure.
Conclusion
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893