DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by either Bicker et al. (US 2010/0075077) or Walther et al. (US 6,599,594).
Bicker, examples, para [0011], [0014], [0024], [0025], [0050]-[0060], claims
18,23,41, discloses a pharmaceutical glass container (examples: vial made of
borosilicate glass: Schott Fiolax) that has been coated in the inner surface with
a silicon-containing layer, by a plasma impulse CVD method, using short pulses
(such as less than 50 μs), and high temperature (such as 200°C or more), and HMDSO as the precursor and a water contact angle of at least 105, wherein the container is a syringe, a cartridge, an ampoule or a glass vial, wherein the coating comprises the elemental species Si, C, O and H, wherein the coating comprises at least one layer having a carbon content of at least 55%.
Walther, example 2, claims, discloses a coated glass container for storing and
preserving pharmaceutical or diagnostic solutions, provided with a 30 nm
coating which has been applied by the PICVD method using a HMDSO
precursor and a water contact angle of at least 105, wherein the container is a syringe, a cartridge, an ampoule or a glass vial, wherein the coating comprises the elemental species Si, C, O and H, wherein the coating comprises at least one layer having a carbon content of at least 55%.
Neither reference discloses the properties of wherein on the coated inner surface the container, based on negative mode Time-of-Flight-Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (ToF-SIMS) data, has a relative lipid nanoparticle (LNP)-incubated Multivariate Curve Resolution (MCR) score ratio of lipid factor1 of less than 0.67 or a lipid nanoparticle (LNP)-incubated haze value of less than 50% measured according to the ASTM D 1003-13 standard using illuminant D65 and 2° observer, wherein the LNP-incubation includes freezing to -80 °C, and incubating for 4 weeks at -80 °C. However, said properties are inherent in Bicker and Walther since both references disclose the coating is made via PICVD with HDMSO as the precursor (see above) which is the same method used by applicant (see instant application, [00155-00159]). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (MPEP 2112). This same reasoning also applies to the properties recited in claims 2-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Bicker et al. (US 2010/0075077) or Walther et al. (US 6,599,594) in view of Grimm et al. (US 2019/0382303).
Neither Bicker nor Walther discloses applicant’s glass container compositions recited in claims 12-17.
Grimm discloses applicant’s glass container compositions recited in claims 12-17 (paragraphs [0001], [0064-0076] and Tables 1-2) for the purpose of providing improved chemical resistance.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided applicant’s glass container compositions recited in claims 12-17 in either Bicker or Walther in order to provide improved chemical resistance as taught or suggested by Grimm.
Neither Bicker nor Walther disclose a wall thickness between 0.50 and 10.0 mm; or a volume capacity of the container of 0.1 ml to 1000 ml. However, a change in size or shape is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(IV)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided applicant’s recited wall thickness and/or volume in order to provide improved strength and/or lower costs via the use of less materials and/or improved carrying capacity.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Bicker et al. (US 2010/0075077) or Walther et al. (US 6,599,594) in view of WO2017/075531 (provided herein).
Bicker, examples, para [0011], [0014], [0024], [0025], [0050]-[0060], claims 18,23,41, discloses a pharmaceutical glass container (examples: vial made of
borosilicate glass: Schott Fiolax) that has been coated in the inner surface with
a silicon-containing layer, by a plasma impulse CVD method, using short pulses
(such as less than 50 μs), and high temperature (such as 200°C or more), and HMDSO as the precursor and a water contact angle of at least 105, wherein the container is a syringe, a cartridge, an ampoule or a glass vial, wherein the coating comprises the elemental species Si, C, O and H, wherein the coating comprises at least one layer having a carbon content of at least 55%.
Walther, example 2, claims, discloses a coated glass container for storing and
preserving pharmaceutical or diagnostic solutions, provided with a 30 nm
coating which has been applied by the PICVD method using a HMDSO
precursor and a water contact angle of at least 105, wherein the container is a syringe, a cartridge, an ampoule or a glass vial, wherein the coating comprises the elemental species Si, C, O and H, wherein the coating comprises at least one layer having a carbon content of at least 55%.
Neither reference discloses the properties of wherein on the coated inner surface the container, based on negative mode Time-of-Flight-Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (ToF-SIMS) data, has a relative lipid nanoparticle (LNP)-incubated Multivariate Curve Resolution (MCR) score ratio of lipid factor1 of less than 0.67 or a lipid nanoparticle (LNP)-incubated haze value of less than 50% measured according to the ASTM D 1003-13 standard using illuminant D65 and 2° observer, wherein the LNP-incubation includes freezing to -80 °C, and incubating for 4 weeks at -80 °C. However, said properties are necessarily present in Bicker and Walther since both references disclose the coating is made via PICVD with HDMSO as the precursor (see above) which is the same method used by applicant (see instant application, [00155-00159]). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (MPEP 2112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided applicant’s recited properties in order to provide a container with hydrophobic and/or a non-stick surface.
Neither modified Bicker nor Walther disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising lipid-based carrier systems disposed in the pharmaceutical container.
WO2017/075531 discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising lipid-based carrier systems disposed in a pharmaceutical container for the purpose of facilitating the intracellular delivery of therapeutic acids (page 1, lines 5-10 and page 39, line 15 through page 41, line 30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a pharmaceutical composition comprising lipid-based carrier systems disposed in the pharmaceutical container in either Bicker or Walther in order to facilitate the intracellular delivery of therapeutic acids as taught or suggested by WO2017/075531.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
March 4, 2026