Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 12, filed 29 December 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Landis teaches transmitting a random access preamble on a physical random access channel or PRACH, receiving a random access response or RAR on a physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH with the RAR including a sounding reference signal or SRS request field. The SRS request field indicates to transmit SRS. However, Landis fails to explicitly teach a SRS transmit power control or TPC field included with the RAR. The SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS. In addition to refraining from explicitly disclosing a SRS TPC field, Landis fails to teach transmitting the SRS according to the SRS TPC field.
Sung teaches receiving one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing based on channel state information or CSI with measurements of SRS. However, Sung fails to explicitly teach a SRS transmit power control or TPC field included with the RAR. The SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS. In addition to refraining from explicitly disclosing a SRS TPC field, Sung fails to teach transmitting the SRS according to the SRS TPC field.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are made in view of Landis et al. (US 2022/0240306 A1) or Landis in further view of Ahn et al. (US 2014/0056251 A1) or Ahn in further view of Sung (US 2023/0217375 A1).
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection for claims 2, 7, 12, 17 are made in view of Landis et al. (US 2022/0240306 A1) or Landis in further view of Ahn et al. (US 2014/0056251 A1) or Ahn in further view of Sung (US 2023/0217375 A1) in further view of Papsakellariou et al. (US 20130077571 A1) or Papsakellariou.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis et al. (US 2022/0240306 A1) or Landis in view of Ahn et al. (US 2014/0056251 A1) or Ahn in further view of Sung (US 2023/0217375 A1).
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches,
A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting a random access preamble on a physical random access channel (PRACH);
(See Landis paragraph 0086, In a first step of the RACH procedure, for example, UE 504 may transmit a message (RACH Msg 1), which may be referred to as a random access request message, to the base station 502 via a physical channel, such as a physical random access channel (PRACH). For example, RACH Msg 1 may include one or more of a RACH preamble and a resource requirement.)
receiving, on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a random access response (RAR) associated with the random access preamble,
(See Landis paragraph 0089, For example, at 520, the base station 502 may respond to
the RACH Msg 1 by transmitting a random access response via RACH Msg 2. The
RACH Msg 2 can include a physical downlink control channel and/or physical
downlink shared channel.)
wherein the RAR includes at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) request field
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3, the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the RAR message. The RAR message may indicate at least one SRS trigger parameter.)
…wherein a value of the SRS request field indicates whether to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0090, …the RACH Msg 2 includes a trigger that prompts the UE 504 to transmit multiple SRSs to the base station 502.)
…in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates that the UE to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0091, In an aspect, to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3,
the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the
RAR message.)
Shows the base station triggering the transmission of SRS by the UE
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...the bit field of the PDCCH portion may have a
different interpretation when used for a RAR message. For example, the bit field may
be a single bit that indicates a trigger to transmit multiple SRSs in response to the
RACH Msg 2.)
Shows a bit field to trigger the transmission of SRS
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field, and…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,
transmitting the SRS using the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field, and…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;
(See Ahn paragraph 0059, The RAR may include a TAC, a UL grant, and a temporary C-RNTI.)
Shows the RAR includes a UL grant as shown in FIG. 3
(See Ahn paragraph 0061, The UL grant includes a UL resource assignment and a transmit power command (TPC) used to transmit a scheduling message described below. The TPC is used to determine transmit power for a scheduled PUSCH.)
Shows the UL grant includes a transmit power command or TPC to determine transmit power
(See Ahn paragraph 0096, The UE determines transmit power of a UL channel of the secondary cell on the basis of the TPC included in the RAR (step S530). The UL channel may include at least one of a PUCCH, a PUSCH, and an SRS.)
Shows the included TPC in the RAR indicates the transmit power for the SRS
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,
(See Ahn paragraph 0108, The TPC included in the RAR is used in f(0) and g(0) for determining transmit power of the PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS. Upon receiving the TPC included in the RAR, it can be said that the parameters are reset to f(0) and g(0) on the basis of the TPC.)
Shows the TCP used to determine the transmit power for the SRS
transmitting the SRS using the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and
(See Ahn paragraph 0097, The UE transmits a scheduled message through the PUSCH to the secondary cell according to a UL resource assignment included in the RAR (step S540). The transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled based on the TPC.)
Shows the UE transmitting a scheduled message according to the TPC
(See Ahn paragraph 0106, Transmit power P.sub.SRS(i) of a PUCCH transmitted at a subframe i of the secondary cell can be determined by the following equation.)
Shows the UE determining the transmit power of the SRS to be transmitted
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine transmitting multiple sounding reference signals or SRS indicated by a request field in the random access response or RAR as disclosed by Landis with including the transmit power control or TPC in the RAR for the RRC connection request as disclosed by Ahn to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of the base station receiving the RRC connection request transmitted by the UE).
However, Landis fails to teach,
…receiving one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing based on channel state information (CSI) associated with measurements of the SRS.
Nevertheless, Sung in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receiving one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing based on channel state information (CSI) associated with measurements of the SRS.
(See Sung paragraph 00042, ...the beam mode (e.g., the channel reciprocity mode) may cause the beam 205 (e.g., the service beam pattern shape) to take the form of an adaptive beam (e.g., a beam derived from or otherwise based on adaptive spatial signal processing) or any other suitable beam. The operation coverage may include channel state information (CSI) coverage. For example, the operation coverage may include UL SRS coverage (e.g., UL SRS transmission).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine transmitting multiple sounding reference signals or SRS indicated by a request field in the random access response or RAR as disclosed by Landis with receiving a downlink transmission with adaptive spatial signal processing on the channel state information with SRS measurements as disclosed by Sung to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the delay before the acquiring of full CSI Msg4 of the four step RACH method).
Claim 4 (Original)
Landis teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the SRS is transmitted on a portion of physical resource blocks (PRBs) scheduled by the RAR for PUSCH transmission.
(See Landis paragraph 0096, Typically, in the same slot as receiving the PDCCH, the UE 504 may also transmit the PUSCH of RACH Msg 3.)
Shows Msg 3 transmitted on PUSCH
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3, the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the RAR message.)
Shows Msg 3 as the response message from RAR
(See Landis paragraph 0091, The RAR message may indicate at least one SRS trigger parameter. The SRS parameter may include at least one of: presence of trigger condition, type of spatial filter for each SRS beam, number of SRS symbols, number of OFDM symbols per SRS beam,...)
Shows RAR message indicating SRS transmission with number of OFDM symbols, which consists of a portion of physical resource blocks or PRBs
The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein a SRS grant field in the RAR includes at least one of:
(See Landis paragraph 0091, …the PDCCH portion of the RAR message may include a bit field that indicates the at least one SRS trigger parameter. The PDCCH portion 422 may generally use a DCI format 1_0, which is a downlink grant format. Accordingly, the bit field of the PDCCH portion may have a different interpretation when used for a RAR message.)
…an indication of a signal sequence for the SRS.
(See Landis paragraph 0091, The SRS parameter may include at least one of: presence of trigger condition, type of spatial filter for each SRS beam, number of SRS symbols, number of OFDM symbols per SRS beam, frequency offset for frequency hopping,...)
Shows signal sequence with frequency offset for frequency hopping
The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Landis teaches,
A method performed by a base station (BS) in a communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble on a physical random access channel (PRACH);
(See Landis paragraph 0086, In a first step of the RACH procedure, for example, UE 504 may transmit a message (RACH Msg 1), which may be referred to as a random access request message, to the base station 502 via a physical channel, such as a physical random access channel (PRACH). For example, RACH Msg 1 may include one or more of a RACH preamble and a resource requirement.)
transmitting, to the UE, on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a random access response (RAR) associated with the random access preamble,
(See Landis paragraph 0089, For example, at 520, the base station 502 may respond to the RACH Msg 1 by transmitting a random access response via RACH Msg 2. The RACH Msg 2 can include a physical downlink control channel and/or physical downlink shared channel.)
wherein the RAR includes at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) request field…
…wherein a value of the SRS request field indicates whether to transmit the SRS;
(See Landis paragraph 0090, In some aspects, the RACH Msg 2 includes a trigger that prompts the UE 504 to transmit multiple SRSs to the base station 502.)
…in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0091, In an aspect, to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3, the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the RAR message.)
Shows the base station triggering the transmission of SRS by the UE
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...the bit field of the PDCCH portion may have a different interpretation when used for a RAR message. For example, the bit field may be a single bit that indicates a trigger to transmit multiple SRSs in response to the RACH Msg 2.)
Shows a bit field to trigger the transmission of SRS
receiving the SRS; and…
(See Landis paragraph 0095, At 528, the base station 502 receives the multiple SRS transmissions and measures each of the SRS transmissions to determine the best SRS beam.)
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field,…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;…
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,…
…transmitted by the UE with the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field,…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;…
(See Ahn paragraph 0059, The RAR may include a TAC, a UL grant, and a temporary C-RNTI.)
Shows the RAR includes a UL grant as shown in FIG. 3
(See Ahn paragraph 0061, The UL grant includes a UL resource assignment and a transmit power command (TPC) used to transmit a scheduling message described below. The TPC is used to determine transmit power for a scheduled PUSCH.)
Shows the UL grant includes a transmit power command or TPC to determine transmit power
(See Ahn paragraph 0096, The UE determines transmit power of a UL channel of the secondary cell on the basis of the TPC included in the RAR (step S530). The UL channel may include at least one of a PUCCH, a PUSCH, and an SRS.)
Shows the included TPC in the RAR indicates the transmit power for the SRS
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,…
(See Ahn paragraph 0108, The TPC included in the RAR is used in f(0) and g(0) for determining transmit power of the PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS. Upon receiving the TPC included in the RAR, it can be said that the parameters are reset to f(0) and g(0) on the basis of the TPC.)
Shows the TCP used to determine the transmit power for the SRS
…transmitted by the UE with the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
(See Ahn paragraph 0097, The UE transmits a scheduled message through the PUSCH to the secondary cell according to a UL resource assignment included in the RAR (step S540). The transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled based on the TPC.)
Shows the UE transmitting a scheduled message according to the TPC
(See Ahn paragraph 0106, Transmit power P.sub.SRS(i) of a PUCCH transmitted at a subframe i of the secondary cell can be determined by the following equation.)
Shows the UE determining the transmit power of the SRS to be transmitted
The motivation to combine Landis and Ahn in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Landis also fails to explicitly teach,
…performing one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing performed based on a channel state information (CSI) obtained based on measurements of the received SRS.
Nevertheless, Sung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…performing one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing performed based on a channel state information (CSI) obtained based on measurements of the received SRS.
(See Sung paragraph 00042, ...the beam mode (e.g., the channel reciprocity mode) may cause the beam 205 (e.g., the service beam pattern shape) to take the form of an adaptive beam (e.g., a beam derived from or otherwise based on adaptive spatial signal processing) or any other suitable beam. The operation coverage may include channel state information (CSI) coverage. For example, the operation coverage may include UL SRS coverage (e.g., UL SRS transmission).)
The motivation to combine Landis and Sung in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9 (Original)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 9 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 10 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches,
A user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
(See Landis paragraph 0133, The processing system 914 may be coupled to a transceiver 930.)
transmit a random access preamble on a physical random access channel(PRACH),
(See Landis paragraph 0086, In a first step of the RACH procedure, for example, UE 504 may transmit a message (RACH Msg 1), which may be referred to as a random access request message, to the base station 502 via a physical channel, such as a physical random access channel (PRACH). For example, RACH Msg 1 may include one or more of a RACH preamble and a resource requirement.)
receive, on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a random access response (RAR) associated with the random access preamble,
(See Landis paragraph 0089, For example, at 520, the base station 502 may respond to the RACH Msg 1 by transmitting a random access response via RACH Msg 2. The RACH Msg 2 can include a physical downlink control channel and/or physical downlink shared channel.)
wherein the RAR includes a sounding reference signal (SRS) request field
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3, the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the RAR message. The RAR message may indicate at least one SRS trigger parameter.)
…wherein a value of the SRS request field indicates whether to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0090, …the RACH Msg 2 includes a trigger that prompts the UE 504 to transmit multiple SRSs to the base station 502.)
…in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates that the UE to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0091, In an aspect, to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3,
the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the
RAR message.)
Shows the base station triggering the transmission of SRS by the UE
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...the bit field of the PDCCH portion may have a
different interpretation when used for a RAR message. For example, the bit field may
be a single bit that indicates a trigger to transmit multiple SRSs in response to the
RACH Msg 2.)
Shows a bit field to trigger the transmission of SRS
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field, and…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,
transmit the SRS using the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field, and…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;
(See Ahn paragraph 0059, The RAR may include a TAC, a UL grant, and a temporary C-RNTI.)
Shows the RAR includes a UL grant as shown in FIG. 3
(See Ahn paragraph 0061, The UL grant includes a UL resource assignment and a transmit power command (TPC) used to transmit a scheduling message described below. The TPC is used to determine transmit power for a scheduled PUSCH.)
Shows the UL grant includes a transmit power command or TPC to determine transmit power
(See Ahn paragraph 0096, The UE determines transmit power of a UL channel of the secondary cell on the basis of the TPC included in the RAR (step S530). The UL channel may include at least one of a PUCCH, a PUSCH, and an SRS.)
Shows the included TPC in the RAR indicates the transmit power for the SRS
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,
(See Ahn paragraph 0108, The TPC included in the RAR is used in f(0) and g(0) for determining transmit power of the PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS. Upon receiving the TPC included in the RAR, it can be said that the parameters are reset to f(0) and g(0) on the basis of the TPC.)
Shows the TCP used to determine the transmit power for the SRS
transmit the SRS using the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
(See Ahn paragraph 0097, The UE transmits a scheduled message through the PUSCH to the secondary cell according to a UL resource assignment included in the RAR (step S540). The transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled based on the TPC.)
Shows the UE transmitting a scheduled message according to the TPC
(See Ahn paragraph 0106, Transmit power P.sub.SRS(i) of a PUCCH transmitted at a subframe i of the secondary cell can be determined by the following equation.)
Shows the UE determining the transmit power of the SRS to be transmitted
The motivation to combine Landis and Ahn in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
…receive one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing based on channel state information (CSI) associated with measurements of the SRS.
Nevertheless, Sung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…receive one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing based on channel state information (CSI) associated with measurements of the SRS.
(See Sung paragraph 00042, ...the beam mode (e.g., the channel reciprocity mode) may cause the beam 205 (e.g., the service beam pattern shape) to take the form of an adaptive beam (e.g., a beam derived from or otherwise based on adaptive spatial signal processing) or any other suitable beam. The operation coverage may include channel state information (CSI) coverage. For example, the operation coverage may include UL SRS coverage (e.g., UL SRS transmission).)
The motivation to combine Landis and Sung in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14 (Original)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 15 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 16
Landis teaches,
A base station (BS) in a communication system, the BS comprising:
a transceiver; and
a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
(See Landis paragraph 0145, The processing system 1114 may be coupled to a transceiver 1130.)
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a random access preamble on a physical random access channel (PRACH),
(See Landis paragraph 0086, In a first step of the RACH procedure, for example, UE 504 may transmit a message (RACH Msg 1), which may be referred to as a random access request message, to the base station 502 via a physical channel, such as a physical random access channel (PRACH). For example, RACH Msg 1 may include one or more of a RACH preamble and a resource requirement.)
transmit, to the UE, on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a random access response (RAR) associated with the random access preamble,
(See Landis paragraph 0089, For example, at 520, the base station 502 may respond to the RACH Msg 1 by transmitting a random access response via RACH Msg 2. The RACH Msg 2 can include a physical downlink control channel and/or physical downlink shared channel.)
wherein the RAR includes at least one of a sounding reference signal (SRS) request field…
…wherein a value of the SRS request field indicates whether to transmit the SRS;
(See Landis paragraph 0090, In some aspects, the RACH Msg 2 includes a trigger that prompts the UE 504 to transmit multiple SRSs to the base station 502.)
…in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates to transmit the SRS…
(See Landis paragraph 0091, In an aspect, to improve coverage of the RACH Msg 3, the base station 502 may trigger transmission of multiple SRSs by the UE 504 in the RAR message.)
Shows the base station triggering the transmission of SRS by the UE
(See Landis paragraph 0091, ...the bit field of the PDCCH portion may have a different interpretation when used for a RAR message. For example, the bit field may be a single bit that indicates a trigger to transmit multiple SRSs in response to the RACH Msg 2.)
Shows a bit field to trigger the transmission of SRS
receiving the SRS; and…
(See Landis paragraph 0095, At 528, the base station 502 receives the multiple SRS transmissions and measures each of the SRS transmissions to determine the best SRS beam.)
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field,…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;…
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,…
…transmitted by the UE with the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…or an SRS transmit power control (TPC) field,…
…and a value of the SRS TPC field indicates a transmit power for the SRS;…
(See Ahn paragraph 0059, The RAR may include a TAC, a UL grant, and a temporary C-RNTI.)
Shows the RAR includes a UL grant as shown in FIG. 3
(See Ahn paragraph 0061, The UL grant includes a UL resource assignment and a transmit power command (TPC) used to transmit a scheduling message described below. The TPC is used to determine transmit power for a scheduled PUSCH.)
Shows the UL grant includes a transmit power command or TPC to determine transmit power
(See Ahn paragraph 0096, The UE determines transmit power of a UL channel of the secondary cell on the basis of the TPC included in the RAR (step S530). The UL channel may include at least one of a PUCCH, a PUSCH, and an SRS.)
Shows the included TPC in the RAR indicates the transmit power for the SRS
…and the SRS TPC field is included in the RAR,…
(See Ahn paragraph 0108, The TPC included in the RAR is used in f(0) and g(0) for determining transmit power of the PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS. Upon receiving the TPC included in the RAR, it can be said that the parameters are reset to f(0) and g(0) on the basis of the TPC.)
Shows the TCP used to determine the transmit power for the SRS
…transmitted by the UE with the transmit power indicated by the SRS TPC field; and…
(See Ahn paragraph 0097, The UE transmits a scheduled message through the PUSCH to the secondary cell according to a UL resource assignment included in the RAR (step S540). The transmit power of the PUSCH may be controlled based on the TPC.)
Shows the UE transmitting a scheduled message according to the TPC
(See Ahn paragraph 0106, Transmit power P.sub.SRS(i) of a PUCCH transmitted at a subframe i of the secondary cell can be determined by the following equation.)
Shows the UE determining the transmit power of the SRS to be transmitted
The motivation to combine Landis and Ahn in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Landis also fails to explicitly teach,
…perform one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing performed based on a channel state information (CSI) obtained based on measurements of the received SRS.
Nevertheless, Sung, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…perform one or multiple subsequent downlink transmissions with adaptive spatial signal processing performed based on a channel state information (CSI) obtained based on measurements of the received SRS.
(See Sung paragraph 00042, ...the beam mode (e.g., the channel reciprocity mode) may cause the beam 205 (e.g., the service beam pattern shape) to take the form of an adaptive beam (e.g., a beam derived from or otherwise based on adaptive spatial signal processing) or any other suitable beam. The operation coverage may include channel state information (CSI) coverage. For example, the operation coverage may include UL SRS coverage (e.g., UL SRS transmission).)
The motivation to combine Landis and Sung in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19 (Original)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 20 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches,
The method according to claim 1,
wherein in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates not to transmit the SRS,
(See Landis paragraph 0090, In an example, if the base station 502 measures a high received power (e.g., measured received power exceeds a threshold) in the RACH Msg 1, then the base station 502 may not need to trigger SRS,...
the SRS is not transmitted and a radio resource control (RRC) connection setup request is transmitted,…
(See Landis paragraph 0100, the UE 504 transmits to the base station 502 a third message (RACH Msg 3), which may be an RRC connection request or a scheduling request, via a physical uplink channel such as PUSCH based on the RAR UL grant provided in the RACH Msg 2 of the base station 502.)
However, Landis fails to explicitly teach,
the RAR further includes a field for the RRC connection setup request,
a value of the TPC field indicates a transmit power for the RRC connection setup request,
and the value of the SRS TPC field is different from the value of the TPC field of the RRC connection setup request.
Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
the RAR further includes a TPC field for the RRC connection setup request,
(See Ahn paragraph 0108, The TPC included in the RAR is used in f(0) and g(0) for determining transmit power of the PUSCH/PUCCH/SRS. Upon receiving the TPC included in the RAR, it can be said that the parameters are reset to f(0) and g(0) on the basis of the TPC.)
Shows the RAR includes a TPC field for transmit power of PUSCH or PUCCH or SRS
(See Ahn paragraph 0109, If the message M3 is always transmitted only through the primary cell irrespective of a cell to which the message M1 is transmitted, it can be said that a TPC included in the message M2 is applied to the primary cell if the message M1 is transmitted to the primary cell,…)
Shows the TPC included with the RAR or M2 applies to M3 or the RRC connection setup request
a value of the TPC field indicates a transmit power for the RRC connection setup request,
(See Ahn paragraph 0061, The TPC is used to determine transmit power for a scheduled PUSCH.)
Shows the TPC determines transmit power for scheduled PUSCH
(See Ahn paragraph 0062, Referring back to FIG. 2, the UE transmits a scheduled message to the BS according to a UL grant included in the RAR (step S130).)
Shows the scheduled message as MSG3 or RRC connection setup
and the value of the SRS TPC field is different from the value of the TPC field of the RRC connection setup request.
(See Ahn paragraph 0065, Transmit power P.sub.PUSCH(i) for PUSCH transmission at a subframe i is defined as follows. P.sub.PUSCH(i)=min{P.sub.CMAX,10 log.sub.10(M.sub.PUSCH(i))+P.sub.O.sub.--.sub.PUSCH(j) +.alpha.(j)PL+.DELTA..sub.TF(i)+f(i)} [Equation 1])
Shows the value for TPC field for scheduled PUSCH or RRC connection setup or MSG3
(See Ahn paragraph 0069, Transmit power P.sub.SRS(i) for SRS transmission at a subframe i is defined as follows. P.sub.SRS(i)=min{P.sub.CMAX,P.sub.SRS.sub.--.sub.OFFSET+10 log.sub.10(M.sub.SRS) +P.sub.O.sub.--.sub.PUSCH(j)+.alpha.(j)PL+f(i)} [Equation 3])
Shows the value for SRS TPC field
Shows Equation 1 ≠ Equation 3
The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, and Sung in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 8 as stated in claim 3. However, Landis fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 8 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Landis, Sung, and Ahn in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. However, Landis fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Landis, Sung, and Ahn in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. However, Landis fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. Nevertheless, Ahn, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Landis, Sung, and Ahn in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 7, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landis et al. (US 2022/0240306 A1) or Landis in view of Sung (US 2023/0217375 A1) in further view of Papsakellariou et al. (US 20130077571 A1) or Papsakellariou.
Claim 2 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches,
The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method is performed during at least one of an initial access procedure,
(See Landis paragraph 0076, the UE 404 may execute an implementation of an NR RACH procedure, according to a 4-step NR RACH message flow, due to the occurrence of one or more RACH trigger events. Suitable examples of RACH trigger events may include, but are not limited to: (i) the UE 404 performing an initial access to transition from an RRC_IDLE state to RRC_CONNECTED ACTIVE state;)
Shows the 4-step RACH procedure, the network communication procedure, occurring during an initial access procedure
a handover procedure,…
(See Landis paragraph 0076, ...(iv) the UE 404 performing a handover from another station to the base station 402 during the connected mode of operation;...)
…a beam failure detection and recovery procedure, and
(See Landis paragraph 0076, ...and (v) the UE performing a connection re-establishment procedure such as a beam failure recovery procedure.)
wherein in case that the value of the SRS request field indicates to transmit the SRS and
the SRS TPC field is not included in the RAR,…
(See Landis paragraph 0090, if the base station 502 measures a high received power (e.g., measured received power exceeds a threshold) in the RACH Msg 1, then the base station 502 may not need to trigger SRS, or if the base station 502 measures a low received power (e.g., measured received power does not exceed a threshold), then the base station 502 may trigger the UE 504 to transmit 4 or 8 SRS symbols to obtain a better refinement of receive beams at both the base station 502 and UE 504.)
Shows the base station measuring the received power of RACH Msg 1 to determine to trigger the UE to transmit multiple SRSs
(See Landis paragraph 0095, At 528, the base station 502 receives the multiple SRS transmissions and measures each of the SRS transmissions to determine the best SRS beam. In this regard, the base station 502 may utilize the selected SRS beam to determine its own refined receive beam prior to transmission of a RACH Msg 3 from the UE 504.)
Shows the base station determines the power of the received RACH Msg 3 without including TPC field in the RAR
However, Landis fails to teach,
…the SRS is transmitted using a power indicated for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
Nevertheless, Papskellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the SRS is transmitted using a power indicated for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
(See Papaskellariou paragraph 0016, A UE can derive a PUSCH transmission power P.sub.PUSCH,c(i), in deciBels per milliwatt (dBm), in a serving cell c during subframe i, such as in Equation (1),...)
Shows a UE calculating PUSCH transmission power
(See Papaskellariou paragraph 0024, For SRS transmission in a serving cell c during subframe i, an SRS transmission power P.sub.SRS,c follows a PUSCH transmission power, such as in Equation (2)...)
Shows the calculation SRS transmission power
(See Papaskellariou paragraph 0029, Finally, a transmission power (P.sub.PUSCH,c for a DMRS or P.sub.SRS,c for a SRS) is applied by PA 380 and the resulting RS transmission signal 390 is transmitted.)
Shows the transmission of SRS according to calculated P.sub.SRS,c by the UE
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine transmitting multiple sounding reference signals or SRS indicated by a request field in the random access response or RAR as disclosed by Landis with receiving a downlink transmission with transmitting SRS with a power indication for physical uplink shared channel or PUSCH transmission as disclosed by Papaskellariou to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of calculations required on the base station side of UE to base station transmission).
Claim 7 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 7 as stated in claim 2. However, Landis fails to teach limitations of claim 7 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Papaskellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 7 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Landis, Sung, and Papaskellariou in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 12 (Currently Amended)
Landis teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. However, Landis fails to teach limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Papaskellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, Sung, and Papaskellariou in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Landis teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 2. However, Landis fails to teach limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 2. Nevertheless, Papaskellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Landis, Ahn, Sung, and Papaskellariou in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liou et al. (US 20220029764 A1) or Liou teaches a user equipment or UE receiving a medium access control or MAC control element or CE indicating a sounding reference signal or SRS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414