DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment and RCE filed, 10 August 2026, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 21 September 2023 in which claims 1, 10 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are amended to add ‘after the difference between the one or more planned attributes is resolved, executing zero-touch or low-touch operations associated with configuration of the O-RAN’, however, the resolving is for an owner to be notified and ‘resolve the difference’ ie. with a touch. The validating step of claim 1 also identifies ‘the difference’ to actually be ‘one or more…attributes…are different’. Thus one or more differences according to antecedent basis. Thus, it is indefinite how a zero-touch configuration is executed that involves at least one touch, particularly as the specification correctly identifies a difference between zero touch and low touch provisioning (par. 5, 15 as published, whereby LTP involves human intervention, ZTP may include LTP, but LTP does not include ZTP). It remains unclear how a step involving a touch can possibly be zero-touch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madan et al (hereinafter “Madan”, 2024/0224122), in view of Krishnan et al (hereinafter “Krishnan”, 2023/0083011).
As per Claim 1, Madan discloses a method implemented by a computer system to collect data for an open radio access network (O-RAN) to facilitate operations of the O-RAN, wherein the method comprises:
collecting cell site data for individual cell sites during installation of the cell sites (at least paragraph 35, 37; site controller 101 captures a plurality of parameters associated with the cell site and sends the plurality of parameters to the inventory 102, where the inventory 102 stores the plurality of parameters), wherein the cell site data, captured during an installation or set up of the cell sites, or a core infrastructure, indicates attributes that indicate position data about at least one or more of antennas, cells, or cell sites (at least paragraph 35, 37; cell site information include cell site to datacenters connectivity details and cell site location information (e.g. latitude, longitude, etc.), a height of the cell site(s));
storing the cell site data in an inventory system (at least paragraph 37; the site controller 101 captures a plurality of parameters associated with the cell site and sends the plurality of parameters to the inventory 102, where the inventory 102 stores the plurality of parameters);
collecting operator data from at least one operator of the O-RAN (at least paragraph 11, 35, 40-41; auto-commissioning server 103 receives inputs (e.g., cell site planning data, IP address, unique hostnames, TLS credentials, etc.) from the network entity 104 (i.e. the RF planning tool 104a, the IP address controller 104b, the name controller 104c, and the security engine 104d) in order to begin automatic deployment of one or more V-RAN applications or one or more network functions (e.g. a Centralized Unit Control plane (CUCP), Centralized Unit User Plane (CUUP), and virtual Distributed Unit (vDU); RF planning data, RU mapping information etc; “receiving, by the auto-commissioning server, a Radio Access Network (RAN) planning data and a Radio Unit (RU) mapping information with the network function(s) from the RAN planning tool. The network function includes a Centralized Unit Control plane (CUCP), Centralized Unit User Plane (CUUP), and virtual Distributed Unit (vDU)”);
storing the operator data in the inventory system (at least paragraph 29-30; day zero configuration may comprise a configuration required to deploy one or more network functions of vRANs over a cloud server. The network function(s) of vRANs may be at least one of cloud native, virtual, or containerized. In some embodiments, the day zero configuration comprises configuration of connection points (e.g., external interfaces and IPs of an associated network function), endpoint details of northbound systems, and images of the network function. Further, the method may include deploying, by the auto-commissioning server, the network function(s) of vRANs into the cloud server based on the automatically generated day zero configuration);
collecting device data provided by at least one vendor of devices in the O-RAN (at least paragraph 35, 37; information including MAC address of elements eg. radio devices; plurality of parameters includes cell site information and datacenter information. The cell site information and the datacenter information include physical information associated with each network entity of the cell site and the datacenters);
storing the device data in the inventory system at a planning stage or a preparation stage for the O-RAN (at least paragraph 35-41, 31; cell site planning data inventory 102; Element Management System (EMS));
retrieving data that includes the cell site data, the operator data, and the device data from the inventory system by a workflow management system (at least paragraph 35-41, 45-47; auto-commissioning server 103 sends a request to the inventory 102 for the cell site information and the datacenter information upon receiving the connectivity information from the site controller 101);
validating the retrieved cell site data against specification data determined from the device data, the specification data indicating planned attributes for a planned installation of the cell site (at least paragraph 45-47; auto-commissioning server 103 monitors a status of the deployment of the network function(s). Specifically, the auto-commissioning server 103 receives the status message from the cloud server 107. The status message includes indication of a successful deployment of the network function(s) and/or a deployment failure of the network function(s));
notifying an owner of the cell site data to update the inventory system to the cell site data collected during the installation to resolve, within a specified timeframe, the difference between the one or more planned attributes and the field attributes of the cell site data (at least paragraph 12-13, 45-50; the auto-commissioning server 103 sends a request to the inventory 102 to store updated information for the successful deployment of the network function(s), where the updated information includes the status message along with a logical identifier (e.g., FQDN, the unique hostname, etc.) related to the network function(s); auto-commissioning server 103 monitors a status of the deployment of the network function(s). Specifically, the auto-commissioning server 103 receives the status message from the cloud server 107. The status message includes indication of a successful deployment of the network function(s) and/or a deployment failure of the network function(s); auto-commissioning server 103 sends a request to the configuration management device 105 to generate a day-one configuration of the network function based on receiving the status message (i.e., successfully deployment/successfully running). The day-one configuration comprises a configuration that is required to render the virtualized/containerized network function fully operational);
verifying, by the workflow management system at the end of the specified timeframe, that the difference is resolved (at least paragraph 28; the auto-commissioning provides a “Plug and Play” approach that significantly reduces the commissioning process (e.g., in terms of minutes, etc.), which significantly reduces or eliminates operational costs of a mobile operator's balance sheet while requiring a limited number of network resource(s) and a limited amount of human labor to complete the commissioning on time); and
executing zero-touch or low-touch operations associated with configuration of the O-RAN (at least paragraph 35; exemplary call flow of FIGS. 1A-2, in combination, represents an end-to-end auto-commissioning process (e.g., 5G macro vRAN auto-commissioning process). In some embodiments, the call flow represents a zero-touch provisioning of a 5G macro vRAN services in an automated way).
Madan fails to explicitly disclose wherein validating the data includes comparing at least a portion of field attributes of the cell site data with the planned attributes of the specification data to determine that one or more of the planned attributes of the specification data are different from the field attributes of the cell site data collected during the installation, with zero-touch operations after the difference between the one or more planned attributes is resolved.
However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Krishnan. Krishnan discloses, in an analogous art, an automated testing of a cell site being done in a timely manner, eg. in an hour timeframe, so that installation of the cell site deployments are validated upon installation by, for example, ensuring inventory of the cell site matches serial numbers obtained of the RU or network function and comparing to expected values, and/or validating a direction of transmission of antenna being in conformance with the direction planned for the radio (at least paragraph 35-40, 45-46). Krishnan also discloses in par. 49-55 that the steps after validating and testing and correcting any differences on connectivity, the configuration of the radios starts in step 6, for example. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Krishnan’s validation with Madan as Krishnan teaches this allows a technician on site to quickly validate their install work as well as antenna validation without time on top of the tower.
As per Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the operator data comprises information indicating an error of the O-RAN detected by the at least one operator (at least paragraph 47; auto-commissioning server 103 monitors a status of the deployment of the network function(s). Specifically, the auto-commissioning server 103 receives the status message from the cloud server 107. The status message includes indication of a successful deployment of the network function(s) and/or a deployment failure of the network function(s)).
As per Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell site data comprises at least one of : antenna information indicating one or more aspects of an antenna located in a particular cell site of the O-RAN, site information indicating one or more aspects about the particular cell site, or radio unit (RU) information indicating one or more aspects about a radio unit associated with the particular cell site (at least paragraph 37; cell site information include cell site to datacenters connectivity details and cell site location information (e.g. latitude, longitude, etc.), a height of the cell site(s) and/or datacenters, a number of physical sectors present on a cell site, a type of antenna model installed on the cell site(s)).
As per Claim 5. The method of claim 4, wherein the antenna information indicating at least one of: an installed height, a model number, a mechanical tilt, and/or an electric tilt of a particular antenna installed at the particular cell site (at least paragraph 37; cell site information include cell site to datacenters connectivity details and cell site location information (e.g. latitude, longitude, etc.), a height of the cell site(s) and/or datacenters, a number of physical sectors present on a cell site, a type of antenna model installed on the cell site(s)).
As per Claim 6. The method claim 4, wherein the site information comprises at least one of: a name of the particular cell site, a latitude of the particular cell site, a longitude of the particular cell site, an address of the particular cell site, a country where the particular cell site is located, or a city where the particular cell site is located (at least paragraph 37; examples of the cell site information include cell site to datacenters connectivity details and cell site location information (e.g. latitude, longitude, etc.)).
As per Claim 7. The method of claim 4, wherein the RU information comprises at least one of: a name of the radio unit, or an identification of the radio unit (at least paragraph 41, 69; (RU) mapping information).
As per Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the device data comprises at least information indicating a computer server in the O-RAN (at least paragraph 36).
As per Claim 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: updating the specification data after validating the data (at least paragraph 49; auto-commissioning server 103 sends a request to the inventory 102 to store updated information for the successful deployment of the network function(s), where the updated information includes the status message along with a logical identifier (e.g., FQDN, the unique hostname, etc.) related to the network function(s)).
Claims 10-11, 13-18 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1-2, 4-9 and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madan in view of Krishnan, further in view of Taylor (hereinafter “Taylor”, 8,411,578).
Madan and Krishnan fail to disclose wherein the operator data comprises daily auto report of errors generated by the at least one operator. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of Taylor. Taylor discloses, in an analogous communication network management art, a network operator receiving automatic daily report of device exceptions (at least col. 7:15-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of Taylor’s reports with Madan/ Krishnan as Taylor discloses (col. 4:26-34) proactive maintenance allows network operators to anticipate problems where they may occur in the future and be more severe and such reporting being well known in the art as evidenced by Taylor to be at a periodic interval that suits the network operator depending on the amount of networks being monitored, for example.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Expanding on the 112 Rejection, the claims continue to recite zero touch when they could not be zero touch with the at least one touch of human operator input, see above revised rejection.
Applicant argues that Madan and Krishnan do not disclose such claim 1 amendment of verification within a specified timeframe.
However, Madan discloses verifying, by the workflow management system at the end of the specified timeframe, that the difference is resolved in at least paragraph 28:
[t]he auto-commissioning provides a “Plug and Play” approach that significantly reduces the commissioning process (e.g., in terms of minutes, etc.), which significantly reduces or eliminates operational costs of a mobile operator's balance sheet while requiring a limited number of network resource(s) and a limited amount of human labor to complete the commissioning on time
See also par. 31
Madan teaches a commissioning process that the commissioning needs to be done on time and requiring a limited amount of human labor (low touch) in order to complete the commissioning.
Further, Krishnan teaches in par. 35:
testing can be completed in a timely manner, e.g., less than 1 hour, whereby the installation work of a technician or a general contractor can be validated. All sectors at a site and all radios within a sector can be validated in parallel by enabling simultaneous transmissions, i.e., testing can be done in parallel for all sectors and bands at the site, and there is no need for a person to be physically present at the site during the testing
Thus, both Madan and Krishnan teach that the commissioning and validation of the installation of the components of the cell site be completed within a given specified timeframe. The entire point of both Madan and Krishnan is to save time for the technician to not have to physically go to and be at the remote cell site to correct something after it is deployed, and to deploy the cell site as quickly as possible. They both disclose commissioning ‘on time’ or a deadline with a limited amount of human labor (owner touch or updates or verification).
See also prior PTO-892 Thyni et al Background for a method of solving ORAN planned cell data with actual physical installation data:
[0010] The work effort in the planning phase of a mobile network rollout may be large and may drive Operational Expenditures (OPEX). With the introduction of 5G with a tighter grid (for example, reduced Inter Site Distances (ISDs), e.g., using small cells), there may be even more planning work. At the installation time, the planned antenna placement is used, but often the planned placement must be adjusted to the real physical environment, and these adjustments may not be documented. There may also be situations when changes/adjustments are made after installation due to changes in the surrounding environment, connectivity network, and/or by adding additional resources (e.g., Radio and/or Baseband resources), resulting in additional planning, re-configuration, and/or documentation effort. There may also be an increased probability for mistakes/errors in planning, physical installation of connections and/or configuration parameters for Radio, BB, and/or Transport equipment/node ports, and this may increase costs for troubleshooting and expensive extra site visits and reconfigurations due to Network Roll Out (NRO) Cost of Sales (CoS) and/or time spent on site for installation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443