DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 6 July 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the Species 2 embodiment in the reply filed on 22 January 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Accordingly, claim 8 is withdrawn from further consideration, as it is drawn to a nonelected species.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Objections
The objections to the claims are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of the claims under § 112(b) are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11, 12, 14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0093524 (filed Dec. 6, 2021) (hereinafter “Lin”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0343223 (filed Apr. 29, 2019) (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lin discloses: A semiconductor package (FIG. 44, chip package 309, [0763]) comprising:
a connection structure (FIG. 44, interposer 551, [0693]);
a via protection layer on the connection structure (FIG. 44, underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, [0695]);
a first semiconductor chip on the via protection layer (FIG. 44, e.g., centrally depicted semiconductor chip 100, [0695]) and including a first substrate having a first active face and a first inactive face opposite to each other (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 has a semiconductor substrate 2 including a first active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, and further including a first inactive face, e.g., a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]), and the first semiconductor chip including a first back end of line (BEOL) layer on the first active face (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 includes a first BEOL layer on the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, e.g., the layer below the bonding layer 52 but above the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2);
a through-silicon via (TSV) configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the connection structure by at least partially penetrating the via protection layer, the first substrate, and the first active face (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the semiconductor chip 100 to the interposer 551, by at least partially penetrating each of the underfill 564, the semiconductor substrate 2, and the face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]);
a second semiconductor chip on the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., logic IC chip 326, [0718]) and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 is electrically connected to the semiconductor chip 100), the second semiconductor chip including a second substrate having a second active face and a second inactive face opposite to each other (FIG. 44, disclosing wherein the logic IC chip 326 comprises a semiconductor substrate, and further depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326 below the top surface of semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, and further including a second inactive face, e.g., a top surface of the silicon substrate of the logic IC chip 326, [0276]), and the second semiconductor chip including a second BEOL layer on the second active face (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second BEOL layer on the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, e.g., the layer above the bonding layer 52 but below the top surface of the logic IC chip 326);
a conductive post configured to electrically connect the second semiconductor chip and the connection structure with each other (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551); and
a molding layer filling a space between an upper surface of the connection structure and the second semiconductor chip, and the molding layer enclosing the conductive post (FIG. 44, depicting a polymer layer 92/192, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92/192 filling a space between an upper surface of the interposer 551 and the logic IC chip 326, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92/192 encloses the TSV 157 electrically connecting the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551, [0676]).
Lin does not specifically disclose in the FIG. 44 embodiment wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a semiconductor package including a first semiconductor chip (FIG. 1E, semiconductor substrate 202, [0021]) and a via protection layer (FIG. 1E, second protection layer 212, [0022]), wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer (FIG. 1E, depicting wherein the side surfaces of the semiconductor substrate 202 and second protection layer 212 are coplanar). Regarding the configuration of the protection layer 212, in [0020], Chen states: “In some embodiments, the second protection layer 212 is formed on the second passivation layer 208, and covering the second conductive posts 210 so as to protect the second conductive posts 210.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor package of Lin by substituting the protection layer 212 configuration of Chen order to protect the underlying connects.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein a surface extending from a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is the same as a surface extending from a side surface of the via protection layer (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2;, depicting wherein a surface extending from a side surface of the semiconductor chip 100 would be the same as a surface extending from a side surface of the second protection layer 212).
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein an overlap shape of the first semiconductor chip with respect to the upper surface of the connection structure is same as an overlap shape of the via protection layer with respect to the connection structure (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; depicting wherein in the region where the semiconductor chip 100 would overlap the second protection layer 212, the overlap shapes of the semiconductor chip 100 and the portion of the second protection layer 212 overlapping the semiconductor chip 100 on the upper surface of the interposer 551 would be the same).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein the via protection layer includes an insulation material, and the via protection layer encloses a circumference of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face of the first semiconductor chip (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; depicting wherein the second protection layer 212 would enclose a circumference of the TSV 157 protruding from the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2; Lin [0767]: “The ninth type of chip package 309 may further include (1) an underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, between each of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100”; Chen [0022]: “In some embodiments, the protective material 112 includes polymers, dielectric materials, a molding compound, a resin material or the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and other suitable protective materials may be used. In one embodiment, the protective material 112 (used to form the first protective layer) is different from a material of the second protection layer 212. In another embodiment, the protective material 112 and the second protection layer 212 includes the same materials.”).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein the molding layer is in contact with all side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip and all side surfaces of the via protection layer (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the polymer layer 92 is in contact with all side surfaces of the semiconductor chip 100 and would be in contact with all side surfaces of the second protection layer 212).
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein the via protection layer includes curable polymer (FIG. 44, [0767]: “The ninth type of chip package 309 may further include (1) an underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, between each of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100”; [0765]: “Referring to FIG. 44, the ninth type of chip package 309 for the first alternative may include a polymer layer 92, such as molding compound, epoxy-based material or polyimide, filled into multiple gaps each between neighboring two of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100 and second type of vertical-through-via (VTV) connectors 467.”; Chen [0022]: “In some embodiments, the protective material 112 includes polymers, dielectric materials, a molding compound, a resin material or the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and other suitable protective materials may be used. In one embodiment, the protective material 112 (used to form the first protective layer) is different from a material of the second protection layer 212. In another embodiment, the protective material 112 and the second protection layer 212 includes the same materials.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein the first inactive face of the first semiconductor chip faces the via protection layer (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2 would face the second protection layer 212).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein a thickness of the via protection layer is greater than or equal to a thickness of the first semiconductor chip in a vertical direction (FIG. 44, depicting wherein a thickness of the second protection layer 212 in, e.g., a first direction would be greater than a thickness of the semiconductor chip 100 in, e.g., a second direction perpendicular to the first direction).
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Chen further discloses a first bonding pad on a surface of the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., copper layer 24 on a surface of the semiconductor chip 100, [0652]); and a second bonding pad on a surface of the second semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., copper layer 24 on a surface of the logic IC chip 326), wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are diffusion bonded to each other to define an integrated bonding pad (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the copper layers are bonded and thus form an “integrated bonding pad”, [0764]).
Moreover, to the extent claim 12 claims process limitations, the Examiner respectfully notes that claim 12 is directed to a product. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. MPEP § 2113(I) (quoting In re Thorpe 777 F.2d 695, 698 (Fed. Cir. 1985)). Moreover, “because validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes.” MPEP § 2113(I) (quoting Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n. 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
In the instant case, Lin anticipates the product of claim 12. Moreover, the claimed process step wherein “wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are diffusion bonded” does not appear to impart or imply any distinctive structural characteristics to the final semiconductor package device, and the claimed semiconductor package device product is capable of definition other than by the process steps by which it is made. See MPEP § 2113(I) (citing In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276 (C.C.P.A. 1979) and In re Nordt Dev. Co., 881 F.3d 1371, 1375-76 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). Accordingly, the claimed process step wherein “wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are diffusion bonded” has not been given any patentable weight, insofar as claim 12 claims a process, technique, or steps of diffusion bonding the bonding pads.
Regarding claim 14, Lin in view of Chen further discloses the connection structure includes a redistribution structure (FIGS. 37/44, e.g., dielectric layer 585 and interconnection metal layers 27, [0693]), the connection structure includes a redistribution line pattern (FIGS. 37/44, e.g., the part of the interconnection metal layers 27 further from the dielectric layer 585) and a redistribution via (FIGS. 37/44, e.g., the part of the interconnection metal layers 27 closest to the dielectric layer 585), and the redistribution via has a tapered shape which narrows in a direction towards the via protection layer (FIGS. 37/44, depicting wherein the part of the interconnection metal layers 27 closest to the dielectric layer 585 has a tapered shape which narrows in a direction toward the second protection layer 212).
Regarding independent claim 16, Lin discloses: A semiconductor package (FIG. 44, chip package 309, [0763]) comprising:
a connection structure (FIG. 44, interposer 551, [0693]);
a via protection layer on the connection structure (FIG. 44, underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, [0695]);
a first semiconductor chip on the via protection layer (FIG. 44, e.g., centrally depicted semiconductor chip 100, [0695]) and including a first substrate having a first active face and a first inactive face opposite to each other (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 has a semiconductor substrate 2 including a first active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, and further including a first inactive face, e.g., a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]), and the first semiconductor chip including a first back end of line (BEOL) layer on the first active face (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 includes a first BEOL layer on the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, e.g., the layer below the bonding layer 52 but above the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2);
a through-silicon via (TSV) configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the connection structure by at least partially penetrating the via protection layer, the first substrate, and the first active face (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the semiconductor chip 100 to the interposer 551, by at least partially penetrating each of the underfill 564, the semiconductor substrate 2, and the face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]);
a second semiconductor chip on the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., logic IC chip 326, [0718]) and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 is electrically connected to the semiconductor chip 100), the second semiconductor chip including a second substrate having a second active face and a second inactive face opposite to each other (FIG. 44, disclosing wherein the logic IC chip 326 comprises a semiconductor substrate, and further depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326 below the top surface of semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, and further including a second inactive face, e.g., a top surface of the silicon substrate of the logic IC chip 326, [0276]), and the second semiconductor chip including a second BEOL layer on the second active face (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second BEOL layer on the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, e.g., the layer above the bonding layer 52 but below the top surface of the logic IC chip 326);
a conductive post configured to electrically connect the second semiconductor chip and the connection structure with each other (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551);
a molding layer filling a space between an upper surface of the connection structure and the second semiconductor chip, and the molding layer enclosing the conductive post (FIG. 44, depicting a polymer layer 92/192, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92/192 filling a space between an upper surface of the interposer 551 and the logic IC chip 326, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92/192 encloses the TSV 157 electrically connecting the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551, [0676]); and
a structure protection layer between the first semiconductor chip and the connection structure, and the structure protection layer covering a surface of the connection structure adjacent the molding layer (FIG. 44, e.g., dielectric layer 112 between the interposer 551 and the semiconductor chip 100, the dielectric layer 112 covering the surface of the interposer 551, [0693]),
wherein an overlap shape of the first semiconductor chip with respect to the upper surface of the connection structure is same as an overlap shape of the via protection layer with respect to the upper surface of the connection structure (FIG. 44, depicting wherein in the region where the semiconductor chip 100 overlaps the upper surface of the interposer 551, the overlap shapes of the semiconductor chip 100 and the portion of the underfill 564 overlapping the semiconductor chip 100 on the upper surface of the interposer 551 are the same).
Lin does not specifically disclose in the FIG. 44 embodiment wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a semiconductor package including a first semiconductor chip (FIG. 1E, semiconductor substrate 202, [0021]) and a via protection layer (FIG. 1E, second protection layer 212, [0022]), wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer (FIG. 1E, depicting wherein the side surfaces of the semiconductor substrate 202 and second protection layer 212 are coplanar). Regarding the configuration of the protection layer 212, in [0020], Chen states: “In some embodiments, the second protection layer 212 is formed on the second passivation layer 208, and covering the second conductive posts 210 so as to protect the second conductive posts 210.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor package of Lin by substituting the protection layer 212 configuration of Chen order to protect the underlying connects.
Regarding claim 17, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein at least a portion of an upper surface of the structure protection layer, excluding an overlap area overlapping with the via protection layer, is in direct contact with the molding layer (FIG. 44, depicting wherein at least a portion, e.g., the bottom portion of the polymer layer 192, directly contacts the dielectric layer 112, excluding an overlap area of the).
Regarding claim 18, Lin in view of Chen further discloses wherein the via protection layer includes an insulation material, and the via protection layer encloses a circumference of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face of the first semiconductor chip (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; depicting wherein the second protection layer 212 would enclose a circumference of the TSV 157 protruding from the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2; Lin [0767]: “The ninth type of chip package 309 may further include (1) an underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, between each of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100”; Chen [0022]: “In some embodiments, the protective material 112 includes polymers, dielectric materials, a molding compound, a resin material or the like. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and other suitable protective materials may be used. In one embodiment, the protective material 112 (used to form the first protective layer) is different from a material of the second protection layer 212. In another embodiment, the protective material 112 and the second protection layer 212 includes the same materials.”).
Regarding independent claim 19, Lin discloses: A semiconductor package (FIG. 44, chip package 309, [0763]) comprising:
a connection structure (FIG. 44, interposer 551, [0693]);
a via protection layer on the connection structure (FIG. 44, underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, [0695]);
a first semiconductor chip on the via protection layer (FIG. 44, e.g., centrally depicted semiconductor chip 100, [0695]) and including a first substrate having a first active face and a first inactive face opposite to each other (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 has a semiconductor substrate 2 including a first active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, and further including a first inactive face, e.g., a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]), and the first semiconductor chip including a first back end of line (BEOL) layer on the first active face (FIGS. 34D/44, depicting wherein the semiconductor chip 100 includes a first BEOL layer on the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, e.g., the layer below the bonding layer 52 but above the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2);
a through-silicon via (TSV) configured to electrically connect the first semiconductor chip to the connection structure by at least partially penetrating the via protection layer, the first substrate, and the first active face (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the semiconductor chip 100 to the interposer 551, by at least partially penetrating each of the underfill 564, the semiconductor substrate 2, and the face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2, [0665]);
a second semiconductor chip on the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., logic IC chip 326, [0718]) and electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip (FIGS. 3C/4D, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 is electrically connected to the semiconductor chip 100), the second semiconductor chip including a second substrate having a second active face and a second inactive face opposite to each other (FIG. 44, disclosing wherein the logic IC chip 326 comprises a semiconductor substrate, and further depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326 below the top surface of semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, and further including a second inactive face, e.g., a top surface of the silicon substrate of the logic IC chip 326, [0276]), and the second semiconductor chip including a second BEOL layer on the second active face (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the logic IC chip 326 includes a second BEOL layer on the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate of the logic IC chip 326, e.g., the layer above the bonding layer 52 but below the top surface of the logic IC chip 326);
a conductive post configured to electrically connect the second semiconductor chip and the connection structure with each other (FIG. 44, depicting a TSV 157 configured to electrically connect the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551); and
a molding layer filling a space between an upper surface of the connection structure and the second semiconductor chip, and the molding layer enclosing the conductive post (FIG. 44, depicting a polymer layer 92, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92 filling a space between an upper surface of the interposer 551 and the logic IC chip 326, further depicting wherein the polymer layer 92 encloses the TSV 157 electrically connecting the logic IC chip 326 and the interposer 551, [0676]),
wherein an overlap shape of the first semiconductor chip with respect to the upper surface of the connection structure is same as an overlap shape of the via protection layer with respect to the connection structure (FIG. 44, depicting wherein in the region where the semiconductor chip 100 overlaps the upper surface of the interposer 551, the overlap shapes of the semiconductor chip 100 and the portion of the underfill 564 overlapping the semiconductor chip 100 on the upper surface of the interposer 551 are the same),
the molding layer is in contact with all side surfaces of the first semiconductor chip and all side surfaces of the via protection layer (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the polymer layer 92 is in contact with all side surfaces of the semiconductor chip 100 and all side surfaces of the underfill 564), and
wherein the via protection layer includes an insulation material, and the via protection layer encloses a circumference of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face of the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the underfill 564 encloses a circumference of the TSV 157 protruding from the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2; [0767]: “The ninth type of chip package 309 may further include (1) an underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, between each of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100”).
Lin does not specifically disclose in the FIG. 44 embodiment wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a semiconductor package including a first semiconductor chip (FIG. 1E, semiconductor substrate 202, [0021]) and a via protection layer (FIG. 1E, second protection layer 212, [0022]), wherein a side surface of the first semiconductor chip is coplanar with a side surface of the via protection layer (FIG. 1E, depicting wherein the side surfaces of the semiconductor substrate 202 and second protection layer 212 are coplanar). Regarding the configuration of the protection layer 212, in [0020], Chen states: “In some embodiments, the second protection layer 212 is formed on the second passivation layer 208, and covering the second conductive posts 210 so as to protect the second conductive posts 210.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor package of Lin by substituting the protection layer 212 configuration of Chen order to protect the underlying connects.
Claims 9, 10, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0183464 (filed Jan. 26, 2011) (hereinafter “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Chen does not specifically disclose wherein a first end surface of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face is at a same level as a second surface of the via protection layer, and the second surface is opposite to a first surface of the via protection layer that is in contact with the first inactive face.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses a semiconductor package device including a through-silicon via (TSV) (FIGS. 3G/3H, TSVs 203, [0026]) configured to electrically connect a first semiconductor chip to a connection structure (FIGS. 3G/3H, depicting wherein the TSVs 203 electrically connect IC die 2 218 to substrate 301, [0033]). Regarding the TSV configuration, in [0009], Takahashi states: “Since the TSV wafer is supported by the second carrier wafer during bonding of the singulated IC die or wafer, warpage/bow is significantly reduced which reduces the contact resistance of the joints, and as a result improves circuit performance and reliability of singulated stacked IC die generated by singulation (e.g. sawing) of the stacked TSV wafer comprising electronic article.” Takahashi further states in [0031]: “Metallic joints are not formed at this step. As described below, the CDF enables heat pressing to form an underfill layer and provides bonding in a single assembly step.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed chip package of Lin by substituting the TSV configuration of Takahashi in order to improve circuit reliability and performance, as well as minimize process steps required to connect various chips.
Moreover, substitution would result in a configuration wherein a first end surface of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face is at a same level as a second surface of the via protection layer, and the second surface is opposite to a first surface of the via protection layer that is in contact with the first inactive face (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; Takahashi FIGS. 3G/3H; depicting wherein the TSVs 203 of Takahashi, substituted for the TSVs 157, uppermost dielectric 112, metal contacts 563, and metal pads 6b/micropillars 34 of Lin, would result in a configuration wherein an end surface of the TSVs 203 are at a same level as a second surface of the second protection layer 212, wherein the second surface of the second protection layer 212 is opposite a first surface of the second protection layer 212 that is in contact with the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Chen and Takahashi further discloses wherein a surface of the molding layer is at a same level as the first end surface and the second surface (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; Takahashi FIGS. 3G/3H; depicting wherein the polymer layer 92/192 includes a surface, e.g., the bottom surface of the polymer layer 192, that would be at a same level as an end surface of the TSVs 203, which are at a same level as a second surface of the second protection layer 212, wherein the second surface of the second protection layer 212 is opposite a first surface of the second protection layer 212 that is in contact with the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2).
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Chen does not specifically disclose wherein a cross- sectional area of the TSV on the first active face is larger than a cross-sectional area of the TSV on the first inactive face.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses a semiconductor package device including a through-silicon via (TSV) (FIGS. 3G/3H, TSVs 203, [0026]) configured to electrically connect a first semiconductor chip to a connection structure (FIGS. 3G/3H, depicting wherein the TSVs 203 electrically connect IC die 2 218 to substrate 301, [0033]). Regarding the TSV configuration, in [0009], Takahashi states: “Since the TSV wafer is supported by the second carrier wafer during bonding of the singulated IC die or wafer, warpage/bow is significantly reduced which reduces the contact resistance of the joints, and as a result improves circuit performance and reliability of singulated stacked IC die generated by singulation (e.g. sawing) of the stacked TSV wafer comprising electronic article.” Takahashi further states in [0031]: “Metallic joints are not formed at this step. As described below, the CDF enables heat pressing to form an underfill layer and provides bonding in a single assembly step.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed chip package of Lin by substituting the TSV configuration of Takahashi in order to improve circuit reliability and performance, as well as minimize process steps required to connect various chips.
Moreover, substitution would result in a configuration wherein a cross-sectional area of the TSV on the first active face is larger than a cross-sectional area of the TSV on the first inactive face (Lin FIG. 44; Takahashi FIGS. 3G/3H; depicting wherein the TSVs 203 are shaped such that the cross-sectional area of the TSVs 203 on the first active face, e.g., a face of the semiconductor substrate 2 below the top surface of the semiconductor substrate 2 would be larger than the cross-sectional area of the TSVs 203 on the first inactive face, e.g., a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Chen does not specifically disclose wherein a thickness of the via protection layer in a vertical direction is in a range of 3 μm to 20 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses a semiconductor package device including a through-silicon via (TSV) (FIGS. 3G/3H, TSVs 203, [0026]) configured to electrically connect a first semiconductor chip to a connection structure (FIGS. 3G/3H, depicting wherein the TSVs 203 electrically connect IC die 2 218 to substrate 301, [0033]), and further discloses a via protection layer (FIGS. 3G/3H, e.g., CDF film 321, [0031]). Regarding the thickness of the CDF film 321, in [0031], Takahashi states: “The thickness of the CDF 213 is generally calculated to fill nominal underfill gap area with an additional thickness amount to reflect a manufacturability margin. For example, if the underfill gap is 10 μm, the thickness of the CDF can be from 15 to 20 μm.” Thus, noted in Takahashi, the thickness of an underfill is a result-effective variable for optimizing underfill gap size and manufacturability.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thicknesses of the second protection layer 212, identified by Takahashi as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a second protection layer 212 thickness ranging from 3 μm to 20 μm in order to achieve a desired balance between underfill gap and manufacturability as disclosed in Takahashi in [0031]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Furthermore, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed range is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Regarding claim 20, Lin in view of Chen further discloses a first bonding pad on a surface of the first semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., copper layer 24 on a surface of the semiconductor chip 100, [0652]); and a second bonding pad on a surface of the second semiconductor chip (FIG. 44, e.g., copper layer 24 on a surface of the logic IC chip 326), wherein the first bonding pad and the second bonding pad are diffusion bonded to each other to define an integrated bonding pad (FIG. 44, depicting wherein the copper layers are bonded and thus form an “integrated bonding pad”, [0764]), and the via protection layer includes a curable polymer (FIG. 44, [0767]: “The ninth type of chip package 309 may further include (1) an underfill 564, i.e., polymer layer, between each of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100”; [0765]: “Referring to FIG. 44, the ninth type of chip package 309 for the first alternative may include a polymer layer 92, such as molding compound, epoxy-based material or polyimide, filled into multiple gaps each between neighboring two of its fourth type of semiconductor chips 100 and second type of vertical-through-via (VTV) connectors 467.”).
Lin in view of Chen does not specifically disclose wherein a first end surface of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face is at a same level as a second surface of the via protection layer, the second surface is opposite to a first surface of the via protection layer that is in contact with the first inactive face.
In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses a semiconductor package device including a through-silicon via (TSV) (FIGS. 3G/3H, TSVs 203, [0026]) configured to electrically connect a first semiconductor chip to a connection structure (FIGS. 3G/3H, depicting wherein the TSVs 203 electrically connect IC die 2 218 to substrate 301, [0033]). Regarding the TSV configuration, in [0009], Takahashi states: “Since the TSV wafer is supported by the second carrier wafer during bonding of the singulated IC die or wafer, warpage/bow is significantly reduced which reduces the contact resistance of the joints, and as a result improves circuit performance and reliability of singulated stacked IC die generated by singulation (e.g. sawing) of the stacked TSV wafer comprising electronic article.” Takahashi further states in [0031]: “Metallic joints are not formed at this step. As described below, the CDF enables heat pressing to form an underfill layer and provides bonding in a single assembly step.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed chip package of Lin by substituting the TSV configuration of Takahashi in order to improve circuit reliability and performance, as well as minimize process steps required to connect various chips.
Moreover, substitution would result in a configuration wherein a first end surface of the TSV protruding from the first inactive face is at a same level as a second surface of the via protection layer, and the second surface is opposite to a first surface of the via protection layer that is in contact with the first inactive face (Lin FIG. 44; Chen FIG. 2; Takahashi FIGS. 3G/3H; depicting wherein the TSVs 203 of Takahashi, substituted for the TSVs 157, uppermost dielectric 112, metal contacts 563, and metal pads 6b/micropillars 34 of Lin, would result in a configuration wherein an end surface of the TSVs 203 are at a same level as a second surface of the second protection layer 212, wherein the second surface of the second protection layer 212 is opposite a first surface of the second protection layer 212 that is in contact with the bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Publication No.: 2024/0056082 (disclosing a semiconductor package that is substantially identical to that claimed by Applicant in FIGS. 5-17).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813