DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 November 2025.
Newly submitted claim 21 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Claim 21 is directed to a product (article), and product claims were non-elected and withdrawn without traverse in the response to restriction requirement, filed 12 November 2025. See, also, the Restriction, submitted 12 September 2025 for the reasons for finding groups of inventions distinct. To avoid a letter of noncompliance, future claim sets should identify Claim 21 with the correct status identifier, “Withdrawn.”
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 21 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicolaus et al. (US 2015/0291805) (SURFYNOL 440 Safety Data Sheet. Evonik, Date of first report version: 03/13/2019 is cited as evidence of chemical name ethoxylated acetylenic diol).
Regarding Claims 1,3, and 4, Nicolaus et al. (US’805) teach a method for forming a high temperature coating, the method comprising: applying a barrier coat formulation on a substrate, wherein the barrier coat formulation comprises: mono-aluminum phosphate (also “MALP”); titanium (group four metal), including at least two group four metal compounds, since US’805 teaches “a mixture thereof,” where all preceding compounds are titanium compounds, including titanium metal, titanium diboride, titanium carbide, and titanium dioxide [0026]; boron carbide (B4C); water; and surfactant (preferred SURFYNOL 440)(Fig. 1, step 22; Claim 3; [0091-0095]); and heat treating the barrier coat formulation to form an oxidation-resistant coating layer (Fig. 1, step 24). Additionally, US’805 provides evidence that the melting point is higher than 800 ℃, since the coating withstands oxidation when it is exposed to temperatures of 850 to 1200 C [0117-0125]. In addition, a Safety Data Sheet for the composition under the trademark SURFYNOL 440 is provided as evidence that it comprises ethoxylated acetylenic diol, a fact that Applicant’s specification also acknowledges at [0030].
Regarding Claim 2, US’805 teaches that the substrate comprises carbon, including C/C composite (Abstract; [0086,0100]).
Regarding Claims 5-6, US’805 teaches that the mono-aluminum phosphate comprises from about 67% weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, the group four metal or metal compound comprises about 8-18% weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, the boron carbide comprises about 16 weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, water comprises about 4 weight percent (4.7%) of the barrier coat formulation, and the surfactant comprises 1 weight percent of the barrier coat formulation [0029-0033, 0105-0109].
Regarding Claim 7, US’805 teaches that at least some of the group four metal or metal compound has a grain size of about 20 micron [0107]; in other words at least some of the group four metal or metal compound, includes a powder with a maximum size of 20 micron.
Regarding Claim 8, US’805 teaches applying a phosphate-based penetrant antioxidant underlayer (Fig. 1, Step 16; [0088]).
Regarding Claim 9, US’805 teaches heat treating the penetrant antioxidant underlayer prior to applying the barrier coat formulation (Fig. 1, step 18; [0089]).
Regarding Claim 11, US’805 teaches that the heat treatment is at a temperature of 650 C [0212].
Regarding Claim 12, US’805 teaches that the heat treatment extends for a duration of 10 hours [0110,0144,0187].
Regarding Claim 13, US’805 teaches applying the barrier coat formulation comprises brushing or spraying [0097,0104].
Regarding Claim 14, US’805 teaches applying the barrier coat formulation at a thickness of from about 20 micron to 150 micron (0.02 mm to 0.15 mm) [0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaus et al. (US 2015/0291805) (SURFYNOL 440 Safety Data Sheet. Evonik, Date of first report version: 03/13/2019 is cited as evidence of chemical name ethoxylated acetylenic diol).
Regarding Claim 10, US’805 teaches a single coating composition comprising all the components in a single composition; in other words, the components are clearly mixed together. US’805 fails to expressly teach such procedures as adding components specifically to an acid-resistant vessel or continuous mixing. However, these details are conventional (e.g. continuous mixing with magnetic stirrers or other automated mixers and mixing/ stirring in conventional glass, such as borosilicate glass). Regarding the recited order of adding components, an order of adding and mixing components is not considered patentable, absent evidence of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04.IV.C. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the process of US’805 by adding and mixing the components of the known mixture of components in any order, including the recited order, or simultaneously by routine and conventional steps of continuous mixing in conventional acid-resistant processing vessels.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 8 June 2026, with respect to the objection to Claims 7 and 19 has been fully considered and overcomes the previous objections. The objection to Claims 7 and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 8 June 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 2 under 35 USC 112(b) has been fully considered and overcomes the previous rejection under this paragraph. The rejection of Claim 2 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 8 June 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-9 and 11-14 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and of Claim 10 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that US’805 fails to disclose all elements of the amended Claims (Remarks, p. 7, last paragraph), Applicant does not point out what claimed feature is allegedly not taught in US’805. Applicant amended Claim 1 to require at least two metals or metal compounds of groups 4-6 metals. Because this is the only amendment, to the claims, it may be that Applicant thinks that this feature is not taught. However, US’805 teaches at least two group four metals or metal compounds, since it teaches that “the titanium-comprising compound is selected from: titanium metal (Ti), titanium diboride (TiB.sub.2), titanium carbide (TiC), titanium dioxide (TiO.sub.2), and mixtures thereof” (emphasis added)[0026]. The teaching “mixtures thereof” necessarily implies at least two of the immediately preceding metals and/ or metal compounds, all of which comprise titanium, a group 4 metal.
In response to Applicant’s argument that US’805 is silent as to how performance of the high temperature coating may be modified by inclusion of different or additional metals, and instead focuses only on addition of “a powder of a compound comprising titanium” (Remarks, p. 8), the argument is outside of the scope of the claimed invention. The issue is whether US’805 teaches every feature recited in Claims 1-9 and 11-14, whether expressly or inherently, and whether Claim 10 is obvious under 35 USC 103. Applicant has not provided any specific arguments that US’805 does not teach any specific recited feature, instead arguing that US’805 does not provide Applicant’s reasons for performing the claimed method. Differences in reasons for or benefits in performing a claimed method, anticipated by the prior art, are not relevant to the issue of anticipation.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712