DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 12 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 November 2025.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities.
The phrase “metal or compound” should be written “metal or metal compound.” See, for example, Claims 1,3,5, 6, 10, and 15-17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the substrate comprises a carbon.” The limitation is indefinite, because it is not clear whether the phrase “a carbon” omits a word, since “a carbon” seems to use the word “carbon” as an adjective. Examiner considers the limitation to include the interpretation “the substrate comprises carbon.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nicolaus et al. (US 2015/0291805) (SURFYNOL 440 Safety Data Sheet. Evonik, Date of first report version: 03/13/2019 is cited as evidence of chemical name ethoxylated acetylenic diol).
Regarding Claims 1,3, and 4 Nicolaus et al. (US’805) teach a method for forming a high temperature coating, the method comprising: applying a barrier coat formulation on a substrate, wherein the barrier coat formulation comprises: mono-aluminum phosphate (also “MALP”); titanium (group four metal); boron carbide (B4C); water; and surfactant (preferred SURFYNOL 440)(Fig. 1, step 22; Claim 3; [0091-0095]); and heat treating the barrier coat formulation to form an oxidation-resistant coating layer (Fig. 1, step 24). Additionally, US’805 provides evidence that the melting point is higher than 800 ℃, since the coating withstands oxidation when it is exposed to temperatures of 850 to 1200 C [0117-0125]. In addition, a Safety Data Sheet for the composition under the trademark SURFYNOL 440 is provided as evidence that it comprises ethoxylated acetylenic diol, a fact that Applicant’s specification also acknowledges at [0030].
Regarding Claim 2, US’805 teaches that the substrate comprises carbon, including C/C composite (Abstract; [0086,0100]).
Regarding Claims 5-6, US’805 teaches that the mono-aluminum phosphate comprises from about 67% weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, the group four metal or metal compound comprises about 11 weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, the boron carbide comprises about 16 weight percent of the barrier coat formulation, water comprises about 4 weight percent (4.7%) of the barrier coat formulation, and the surfactant comprises 1 weight percent of the barrier coat formulation [0105-0109].
Regarding Claim 7, US’805 teaches that at least some of the group four metal or metal compound has a grain size of about 20 micron [0107]; in other words at least some of the group four metal or metal compound, includes a powder with that a maximum size of 20 micron.
Regarding Claim 8, US’805 teaches applying a phosphate-based penetrant antioxidant underlayer (Fig. 1, Step 16; [0088]).
Regarding Claim 9, US’805 teaches heat treating the penetrant antioxidant underlayer prior to applying the barrier coat formulation (Fig. 1, step 18; [0089]).
Regarding Claim 11, US’805 teaches that the heat treatment is at a temperature of 650 C [0212].
Regarding Claim 12, US’805 teaches that the heat treatment extends for a duration of 10 hours [0110,0144,0187].
Regarding Claim 13, US’805 teaches applying the barrier coat formulation comprises brushing or spraying [0097,0104].
Regarding Claim 14, US’805 teaches applying the barrier coat formulation at a thickness of from about 20 micron to 150 micron (0.02 mm to 0.15 mm) [0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicolaus et al. (US 2015/0291805) (SURFYNOL 440 Safety Data Sheet. Evonik, Date of first report version: 03/13/2019 is cited as evidence of chemical name ethoxylated acetylenic diol).
Regarding Claim 10, US’805 teaches a single coating composition comprising all the components in a single composition; in other words, the components are clearly mixed together. US’805 fails to expressly teach such procedures as adding components specifically to an acid-resistant vessel or continuous mixing. However, these details are conventional (e.g. continuous mixing with magnetic stirrers or other automated mixers and mixing/ stirring in conventional glass, such as borosilicate glass). Regarding the recited order of adding components, an order of adding and mixing components is not considered patentable, absent evidence of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04.IV.C. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the process of US’805 by adding and mixing the components of the known mixture of components in any order, including the recited order, or simultaneously by routine and conventional steps of continuous mixing in conventional acid-resistant processing vessels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mazany et al. (US 2004/0213906) (oxidation inhibiting coating of carbon-carbon composite with a barrier coating, including titanium compound, and boron carbide and another composition including water, monoaluminum phosphate, and ethoxylated acetylenic diol (SURFYNOL 44)).
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712