Part III DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. This application has been examined. Claims 1-30 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kundu et
al. (WO-2023/163799-A1), hereafter referred as Kundu.
With regard claim 1, Kundu teaches an apparatus for processing data, the apparatus comprising: an image signal processor (ISP) ( see fig. 1, item 154) configured to: receive image data and an indication of a region of interest (ROI) from an image sensor (reads on fig. 6b and 9 and description thereof, item detect the region of interest depicted in item 616); determine image-processing settings for processing the image data based on the ROI (reads on abstract, p[0008,0034,0037,0040,0045 or 0074], clearly the image processing settings can be changed such as changing the resolution or zoom size); and process the image data based on the image-processing setting (reads on abstract, p[0008,0034,0037,0040,0045 or 0074], clearly the image processing is done based on the settings of the resolution or zoom size).
With regard claim 2, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP comprises one or more ISP engines, wherein each of the one or more ISP engines is configured to: determine respective image-processing settings based on the ROI (see abstract or p[0040 or 0043-0044]); and process the image data based on the respective image-processing settings (reads on abstract, p[0008,0034,0037,0040,0045 or 0074], clearly the image processing settings can be changed such as changing the resolution or zoom size).
With regard claim 3, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP comprises one or more ISP engines, wherein each of the one or more ISP engines is configured to: receive the image data and the indication of the ROI from the image sensor or from a prior ISP engine of the one or more ISP engines (reads on p[0043-51], different ISPs can be implemented before or after); and provide the image data and the indication of the ROI to a subsequent ISP engine of the one or more ISP engines or at an output of the ISP (reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented before or after).
With regard claim 4, Kundu further teaches wherein the one or more ISP engines comprise a camera. serial interface (CSI) decoder (reads on p[0044, the ISP contains CSI -2 physical layer port to receive image thru a camera or sensor) configured to: receive a packet comprising the image data and the indication of the ROI from the image sensor (see p[0044 and fig. 1) ; parse the packet (reads on p[0043-0051], clearly the ISP process the data or packet data received); and provide the image data and the indication of the ROI to a subsequent ISP engine of the one or more ISP engines (reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented before or after).
.
With regard claim 5, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP is configured to perform operations associated with at least one of: lens-shading correction; Bad Pixel Correction (BPC); phase-detection pixel correction; demosaicing; lateral chromatic aberration correction; Bayer filtering; adaptive Bayer filtering; tone mapping; or noise reduction (see p[0040,0042 or 0098]).
With regard claim 6, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP comprises at least one of: a first ISP engine configured to: determine, based on the ROI, first image-processing settings related to a first ISP operation; and perform the first ISP operation based on the first image-processing settings; and a second ISP engine configured to: determine, based on the ROI, second image-processing settings related to a second ISP operation; and perform the second ISP operation based on the second image-processing (reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented to perform image processing having different settings).
With regard claim 7, Kundu further teaches wherein each of the first ISP operation and the second ISP operation is associated with at least a respective one of: lens-shading correction; Bad Pixel Correction (BPC); phase-detection pixel correction; demosaicing; lateral chromatic aberration correction; Bayer filtering; adaptive Bayer filtering; tone mapping; or noise reduction (see p[0040,0042]).
With regard claim 8, Kundu further teaches wherein, to process the image data, the ISP is
configured to process the image data as it is received from the image sensor (reads on fig. 1 and
p[0043-0051]).
With regard claim 9, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP is configured to receive the image data
and the indication of the ROI in a packet and the ISP is configured to parse the indication of the ROI
from a header of the packet (reads on p[0043-0051], clearly the ISP process the data or packet
data received).
With regard claim 10, Kundu further teaches wherein the packet comprises a Mobile Industry
Processor Interface (MIPI) packet (see p[0044]).
With regard claim 11, Kundu further teaches wherein the ISP is configured to receive the
indication of the ROI in a footer of a first packet, wherein the ISP is configured to parse the indication
of the ROI from the footer of the first packet, and wherein the ISP is configured to receive the image
data in a payload of a second packet (reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented
to perform image processing having different settings by using the packet data or
command data).
With regard claim 12, Kundu further teaches wherein the indication of the ROI is a first indicate
on of the ROI and wherein the apparatus further comprises: the image sensor, wherein the image
sensor is configured to: receive a second indication of the ROI; generate the image data based on the
ROI; and provide the image data and the first indication of the ROI to an image signal processor
(ISP) (reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented to perform image processing
having different settings by using the packet data, communication information or
command data).
.
With regard claim 13, Kundu further teaches wherein, to generate the image data, the image
sensor is configured to: generate a first portion of an image corresponding to the ROI at a first
resolution (reads on figs. 9-10); and generate a second portion of the image outside of the ROI at a
second resolution, wherein the first resolution is greater than the second resolution (reads on figs.
9-10).
With regard claim 14, Kundu further teaches determine the ROI based on data from a gaze-
tracking sensor (reads on figs. 4 and 5).
With regard claim 15, Kundu further teaches wherein, to provide the image data and the second
indication of the ROI to the ISP, the image sensor is configured to generate a packet including the
second indication of the ROI in a header of the packet and the image data in a payload of the packet
(reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented to perform image processing
having different settings by using the packet data as packets of data having header,
communication information or command data).
With regard claim 16, Kundu further teaches wherein the packet comprises a Mobile Industry
Processor Interface (MIPI) packet (see p[0044])..
With regard claim 17, Kundu further teaches wherein; to provide the second indication of the ROI
to the ISP, the image sensor is configured to generate a first packet including the second indication of
the ROI in a footer of the first packet; and to provide the image data to the ISP, the image sensor is
configured to generate a second packet including the image data in a payload of the second packet
(reads on p[0043-0051], different ISPs can be implemented to perform image processing
having different settings by using the packet data as packets of data having header,
communication information or command data).
With regard to claims 18-30, the limitations of claims 18-30 are covered by the limitations of claims
1-17 above.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe (2017/0041605) teaches a video encoding device having a ROI setting unit.
Matsuo et al. (20060004538) teaches an image processing apparatus that enable a user to recognize in real time image qualities of a plurality of regions in an image
examiner should be directed to Gabriel I. Garcia whose telephone number is (571)
272-7434. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday from 8:000 AM-6:00 PM.. The
fax phone number for this group is (571) 273-8600.
supervisor, Benny Tieu can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you
have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call
800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be
directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Gabriel I Garcia/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682
January 22, 2026