DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, recites “a natural recovery method” and “biological-farming comprehensive recovery method” without steps defining the methods. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “a soil quality index” and “a comprehensive vegetation quality index”. It is unclear what the terms are and how they are obtained. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “sampling a gentle slope farmland”. It is unclear if this refers to the “gentle slope farmland” in the preamble of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “evaluating an erosion degree of a gentle slope cultivated land”. It is unclear if this refers to the “gentle slope farmland” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “a detection result of a sample”. It is unclear if this “sample” came from the “sampling” step before. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 3, the claim should depend on claim 2 instead of claim 1 since the claim refers to limitations present in claim 2 but not present in claim 1. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claim 3 depends on claim 2. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are also rejected for depending on a rejected independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0141121).
As to Claim 1, Zhang discloses an ecological governance method based on erosion prevention (Paragraph 0025: “The present invention provides a method for three-dimensional restoration of slope soil in an abandoned ion-absorbed rare earth mining area. The method provided by the present invention has high success rate of vegetation restoration, excellent effect, exquisite technical process design and simple construction and can obviously reduce the rate of soil erosion”) and control for a gentle slope farmland, comprising the following steps:
Sampling a gentle slope (Figures 1 and 2) farmland to investigate erosion thereof (Paragraph 0060: “In the present invention, a certain amount of surface fresh water is preferably scattered after the last plowing to ensure that the water content of soil reaches 50%-60% of the field water holding capacity; then the slope surface and the platform surface are covered with a layer of dark nylon net for soil shading to prevent evaporation of a large amount of water; the obtained improved soil layer is sampled for analysis of relevant soil indexes; and according to the actual situation of the soil, it is determined whether a certain amount of organic fertilizer (such as Huajing organic fertilizer) should be applied to the soil or a further modifier should be applied to make the soil gradually restore its original function”); and
Evaluating an erosion degree of a gentle slope cultivated land and formulating a corresponding recovery strategy based on a detection result of a sample, a soil quality index (SQI) (Paragraph 0060: “the obtained improved soil layer is sampled for analysis of relevant soil indexes”), and a comprehensive vegetation quality index (VQI) (Paragraph 0062: “In the present invention, plants are planted in the ecological water-harvesting pond, the ecological intercepting ditches and the improved soil layer to form a combined plant synusia”),
Wherein the recovery strategy comprises a natural recovery method and a biological-farming comprehensive recovery method (Paragraph 0060: “according to the actual situation of the soil, it is determined whether a certain amount of organic fertilizer (such as Huajing organic fertilizer) should be applied to the soil or a further modifier should be applied to make the soil gradually restore its original function”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0141121) alone.
As to Claim 2, Zhang discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Zhang also discloses wherein the sampling (Paragraph 0060: “the obtained improved soil layer is sampled for analysis of relevant soil indexes”) a gentle slope farmland to investigate erosion thereof comprises determining a detection quadrat (Figure 4), and investigating and sampling a quadrat vegetation (16); sampling quadrat soil (10), wherein the detection quadrat is determined as follows determining a gentle slope (Figure 4) and selecting quadrats (Figure 3) along an S-shaped curve (Figure 4) on the gentle slope. However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose determining a gentle slope between 6 and 25 degrees; and selecting 5 quadrats along an S-shaped curve on the gentle slope, wherein an area of each quadrat is not less than 1 m2; and a spacing between the quadrats is at least not less than 20 m. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine a gentle slope between 6 and 25 degrees; and select 5 quadrats along an S-shaped curve on the gentle slope, wherein an area of each quadrat is not less than 1 m2; and a spacing between the quadrats is at least not less than 20 m since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
As to Claim 3, Zhang discloses the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). Zhang also discloses investigating and sampling a quadrat vegetation (16) and taking soil samples (10) in each quadrat (Figure 3). Although Zhang does not explicitly disclose acquiring four indexes comprising above-ground vegetation biomass, vegetation coverage, average vegetation height, and vegetation richness; and taking soil samples from five layers in each quadrat, mixing soil obtained by triple drilling into a soil sample for measurement of the indexes; and acquiring seven indexes: soil organic matter, microbial carbon, soil total nitrogen, soil total phosphorus, soil total potassium, soil available nitrogen, and soil available phosphorus, and evaluating soil erosion of the farmland; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that above-ground vegetation biomass, vegetation coverage, average vegetation height, vegetation richness, soil organic matter, microbial carbon, soil total nitrogen, soil total phosphorus, soil total potassium, soil available nitrogen, and soil available phosphorus are inherent qualities of vegetation and soil and therefore quantifying them only involves routine skill in the art. Therefore, examiner takes official notice that before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to acquire four indexes comprising above-ground vegetation biomass, vegetation coverage, average vegetation height, and vegetation richness; and take soil samples from five layers in each quadrat, mixing soil obtained by triple drilling into a soil sample for measurement of the indexes; and acquiring seven indexes: soil organic matter, microbial carbon, soil total nitrogen, soil total phosphorus, soil total potassium, soil available nitrogen, and soil available phosphorus, and evaluating soil erosion of the farmland with the motivation of quantifying inherent characteristics of vegetation and soil for better understanding of their properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected.
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, without deleting limitations, in addition of incorporating the limitations from claims 2, 3 and 4 into claim 1. This would make clear how the SQI and VQI values are obtained which would address the pertinent 112 rejection and overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678