DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 23, and 54-55 are pending and examined in the instant Office action.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of application 16/813,136, filed 3/9/2020. Application ‘136 is a continuation of application 15/364,618, filed 11/30/2016. Application ‘618 is a continuation of application 14/404,858, filed 12/01/2014. Application ‘858 is a national stage entry of PCT/US13/41274, filed 5/16/2013. Application ‘858 is also a continuation-in-part of application 13/801,604, filed 3/13/2013.
Claim 55 recites administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug to a patient based on the level of TMAO in the biosample. Application ‘604 does not have possession of administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug to a patient based on the level of TMAO in the biosample. Consequently, the benefit date of claim 55 is 16 May 2013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) - Indefiniteness
Claims 5 and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the location of the TMAO peak" in each of line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim does not previously recite “a location of the TMAO peak.” For the purpose of examination, any location is interpreted to be “a location of the TMAO peak.”
Claim 55 recites the limitation "the patient" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While the claim previously recites the plural term “patients,” it is unclear as to which single “patient” is “the patient” of the plurality of “patients”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Written Description
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 55 recites administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug to treat a patient based on the level of TMAO. Claim 55 does not limit the type of disease. Claim 55 does not limit the types of prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatments. The original specification only has support for this limitation for kidney transplant rejections and fish odor syndrome. Since kidney transplant rejections and fish odor syndrome are not a representative group of species for all types of diseases, (and the specification also does not disclose a representative number of types of species of prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatments for abnormal TMAO levels), the original disclosure lacks support for both the types of prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatments and treating a patient (for any disease) based on the level of TMAO. The lack of possession of this limitation results in a lack of WRITTEN DESCRIPTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Scope of Enablement
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for kidney transplant rejections and fish odor syndrome, does not reasonably provide enablement for any other disease. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. For other diseases, it is not understood how using TMAO levels to determine prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment is accomplished.
1. The claim recites administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug to a patient with an abnormal TMAO level. The claim does not recite which chemical and for what disease for which the prebiotic, probiotic, or drug is administered.
2. The specification only teaches such a technique for kidney transplant rejections and fish odor syndrome and no other diseases.
3. The prior art of Beckonert et al. [Nature Protocols, volume 2, 2007, pages 2692-2703; on IDS] teaches purely measuring TMAO levels in NMR without relating TMAO levels to diseases.
4. While the claim recites using TMAO levels to discriminate treatment for any disease, the specification only teaches such a technique for kidney transplant rejections and fish odor syndrome. While the prior art teaching TMAO standardization, the prior art is silent on using TMAO levels to discriminate treatment. Consequently, using TMAO levels to discriminate treatment of other diseases in unpredictable and would require UNDUE EXPERIMENTATION.
In view of the above, it is the Examiner’s position that with the insufficient guidance and working examples and in view of unpredictability and the state of art, one of skill in the art could not make and/or use the invention with the claimed breadth without an undue amount of experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 23, and 54-55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon without significantly more. Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 55 are drawn to methods, claim 23 is drawn to a processor configured to generate NMR spectra, and claim 54 is drawn to a system comprising a processor and an NMR spectrometer.
In accordance with MPEP § 2106, claims found to recite statutory subject matter (Step 1 : YES) are then analyzed to determine if the claims recite any concepts that equate to an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1). In the instant application, the claims recite the following limitations that equate to an abstract idea:
Claims 1, 23, and 54-55 recite the mental step of determining a level of TMAO is a biological sample by analysis of NMR spectral data of a sample containing the TMAO.
Claim 2 recites the mental step of calculating a distance between the reference and calibration peak regions and determining a location of the TMAO peak for the defined TMAO peak region based on the calculated distance.
Claim 3 recites the mental step requiring determining the TMAO peak region location to be carried out using a defined relationship of location of the reference peak region to location of the calibration peak region.
Claim 4 recites the mental step of locating the TMAO peak in the NMR spectral data at about 3.30 ppm.
Claim 5 recites the mental steps of calibrating multiplets based on pH and/or distance to find a location of a TMAO peak.
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 recite the mental steps of calibrating based on citrate reference peaks and curve fitting to data points to determine probable TMAO level and location. Claim 7 recites the mental step and mathematical limitation of weighting the data with a function. Claims 9-10 recite further mental steps of curve fitting accommodating misalignments.
These recitations are similar to the concepts of collecting information, analyzing it and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis in Electric Power Group, LLC, v. Alstom (830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)), organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations in Digitech Image Techs., LLC v Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (758 F.3d 1344, 111 U.S.P.Q.2d 1717 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and comparing information regarding a sample or test to a control or target data in Univ. of Utah Research Found. v. Ambry Genetics Corp. (774 F.3d 755, 113 U.S.P.Q.2d 1241 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) and Association for Molecular Pathology v. USPTO (689 F.3d 1303, 103 U.S.P.Q.2d 1681 (Fed. Cir. 2012)) that the courts have identified as concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind or mathematical relationships. Therefore, these limitations fall under the “Mental process” and “Mathematical concepts” groupings of abstract ideas. Merely reciting that a mental process is being performed in a generic computer environment does not preclude the steps from being performed practically in the human mind or with pen and paper as claimed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then if falls within the “Mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 23, and 54-55 recite(s) an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 1 : YES).
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite an additional element that reflects an improvement to technology or applies or uses the recited judicial exception to affect a particular treatment for a condition. Rather, the instant claims recite additional elements that amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea in a generic computing environment or mere instructions to apply the recited judicial exception via a generic treatment.
While claim 55 recites administering a treatment, claim 55 does not recite a particular treatment for a particular disease.
As such, these limitations equate to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer that the courts have stated does not render an abstract idea eligible in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. As such, claims 1-7, 9-10, 23, and 54-55 is/are directed to an abstract idea/law of nature/natural phenomenon (Step 2A, Prong 2 : NO).
Claims found to be directed to a judicial exception are then further evaluated to determine if the claims recite an inventive concept that provides significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims recite additional elements that equate to mere instructions to apply the recited exception in a generic way or in a generic computing environment.
The prior art of Beckonert et al. [Nature Protocols, volume 2, 2007, pages 2692-2703] teaches conducting NMR on TMAO and other internal standards is routine and conventional.
The prior art of Baryshnikova et al. [Journal of Biomolecular NMR, volume 41, 2008, pages 5-7] teaches that conducting pH calibrations using NMR is routine and conventional.
As discussed above, there are no additional limitations to indicate that the claimed analysis engine requires anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. MPEP 2106.05(f) discloses that mere instructions to apply the judicial exception cannot provide an inventive concept to the claims. The additional elements do not comprise an inventive concept when considered individually or as an ordered combination that transforms the claimed judicial exception into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B : No). As such, claims 1-7, 9-10, 23, and 54-55 is/are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 23, and 54 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Beckonert et al. [Nature Protocols, volume 2, 2007, pages 2692-2703].
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of determining a measure of TMAO in in vitro biosamples. The method comprises generating a proton NMR spectrum for an in vitro biosample. The method comprises determining a level of TMAO in the in vitro biosample using a defined TMAO peak region having a single TMAO peak residing between 3.2 and 3.4 ppm of the proton NMR spectrum.
Claim 4 is further limiting wherein the biosample is a blood plasma or serum wherein the defined TMAO peak is at about 3.30 ppm.
Claim 23 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 23 is drawn to a processor and not a method.
Claim 54 is drawn to similar subject matter as claim 1, except claim 54 is drawn to a system comprising a processor and an NMR spectrometer and not a method.
The document of Beckonert et al. studies metabolic profiling, metabolomic, and metabonomic procedures for NMR spectroscopy of urine, plasma, serum and tissue extracts [title]. Figure 1 on page 2693 of Beckonert et al. illustrates the electronically obtained NMR spectra of an in vitro sample containing TMAO between about 3.2 ppm and 3.4 ppm (i.e. at about 3.30 ppm). Figure 2 of Beckonert et al. illustrates the NMR spectrum for a blood serum sample. The "Equipment Setup” section on pages 2696-2697 of Beckonert et al. teaches the computerized NMR equipment setup for the NMR instrumentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #1:
Claims 1-5, 23, and 54 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beckonert et al. [Nature Protocols, volume 2, 2007, pages 2692-2703] in view of Baryshnikova et al. [Journal of Biomolecular NMR, volume 41, 2008, pages 5-7].
Claims 2-3 and 5 are further limiting comprising calibrating NMR measurements for TMAO by identifying a location of the reference peak and using a defined linear relationship between the location of the reference peak and a calibration peak. The method comprises generating a proton NMR spectrum for an in vitro biosample. The method comprises electronically determining a level of TMAO of an in vitro biosample using a defined TMAO peak region having a single TMAO peak residing between about 3.2 and 3.4 ppm of a proton NMR spectrum. The method requires that the calibration peak is electronically identified in a defined calibration peak region in the NMR spectrum of the biosample.
The document of Beckonert et al. studies metabolic profiling, metabolomic, and metabonomic procedures for NMR spectroscopy of urine, plasma, serum and tissue extracts [title]. Figure 1 on page 2693 of Beckonert et al. illustrates the electronically obtained NMR spectra of an in vitro sample containing TMAO in a multiplet between about 3.2 ppm and 3.4 ppm. The "Equipment Setup” section on pages 2696-2697 of Beckonert et al. teaches the computerized NMR equipment setup for the NMR instrumentation.
Beckonert et al. does not teach the calibration limitations.
The document of Baryshnikova et al. studies internal pH indicators for biomolecular NMR [title]. Figure 1 of Baryshnikova et al. illustrates a linear calibration between a reference peak and a calibration peak based on the pH of the buffer solution. Figure 1 of Baryshnikova et al. is interpreted to be the calibration region of the NMR spectrum.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of Beckonert et al. by use of the pH calibration technique of Baryshnikova et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the additional tools used for calibration in Baryshnikova et al. facilitate accuracy in understanding NMR spectra [Figure 1 of Baryshnikova et al.].
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #2:
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beckonert et al. in view of Baryshnikov et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 23, and 54 above, in further view of Janssens et al. [Analytical Chemistry, volume 63, 1991, pages 320-331].
The claims recite statistically analyzing the TMAO peaks. The probable actual TMAO peak location is identified by weighting a region around the expected TMAO peak location with a defining function. The identifying also comprises identifying a highest weighted data point of the weighted region. The identifying also comprises identifying a probable actual TMAO peak location corresponding to location of the highest weighted data point.
Beckonert et al. and Baryshnikov et al. make obvious measuring and calibrating TMAO peaks in NMR, as discussed above.
Beckonert et al. and Baryshnikov et al. do not teach the curve fitting and weighting.
The document of Janssens et al. studies evaluation of three zero-area digital filters for peak recognition and interference detection in automated spectral data analysis [title]. The equations of Janssens et al. perform convolutions of the spectral data with the defined functions illustrated in Figure 1 on page 322 of Janssens et al. It is noted that the Gaussian and triangular filters each identify a maximum point by which the spectral data are weighted. Figure 9 on page 328 of Janssens et al. compares the original spectral data with the convolution of the spectral data to determine the probability of finding a peak in the convolved spectrum. The fitting and curve fitting of Janssens et al. accounts for small misalignments.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of Beckonert et al. and the pH calibration of Baryshnikov et al. by use of the data filtering of Janssens et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the peak transformation of Janssens et al. facilitates display of the peaks [Introduction on page 320 of Janssens et al.]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Janssens et al. because all three studies are analogously applicable to processing biological spectral data.
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #3:
Claim 6 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beckonert et al. in view of Baryshnikov et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 23, and 54 above, in further view of Wishart et al. [US PGPUB 2004/0058386 A1] in view of Delaglio et al. [Journal of Magnetic Resonance, volume 149, 2001, pages 276-281].
Claim 6 is further limiting comprising calculating a location of the defined TMAO peak region using a fitting region having a size between about 50-100 data points based on a location of a citrate reference peak, then reducing the fitting region to about 30 data points centered about the calculated location of the defined TMAO peak region. The method comprises curve fitting the defined TMAO peak region with a defined curve fitting function.
Beckonert et al. and Baryshnikov et al. make obvious determining a measure of TMAO and citric acid in biosamples, as discussed above.
Beckonert et al. and Baryshnikov et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique or citric acid as a standard.
The document of Wishart et al. studies automatic identification of compounds in a sample mixture by means of NMR spectroscopy [title]. Paragraph 43 of Wishart et al. teaches TMAO as an internal standard. Paragraph 84 and Figure 3 of Wishart et al. teaches citric acid as a standard.
Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Wishart et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique.
The document of Delaglio et al. studies measurement of homonuclear proton couplings from regular 2D COSY spectra [title]. Figures 2 and 3 of Delaglio et al. teach fitting curves to COSY peaks, narrow the windows, and then refit the peaks in Figures 3C-3E of Delaglio et al.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids of Beckonert et al. and the NMR calibration of Baryshinikov et al. by use of citrate as a standard as in Wishart et al. because it is obvious to substitute known elements in the prior art to yield a predictable result. In this instance, citrate is an alternative to TMAO. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Wishart et al. because all three studies analogously pertain to calibrating NMR samples.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids using curve fitting of Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Wishart et al. by use of additional curve fitting of Delaglio et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the more sophisticated curve fitting of Delaglio et al. yield accurate results with not only chemical shifts, but also coupling constants [Figure 3 of Delaglio et al.].
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #4:
Claims 9-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beckonert et al. in view of Baryshnikov et al. in view of Janssens et al. as applied to claims 1-5, 7, 23, and 54 above, in further view of Wishart et al. [US PGPUB 2004/0058386 A1] in view of Delaglio et al. [Journal of Magnetic Resonance, volume 149, 2001, pages 276-281].
Claims 9-10 are further limiting comprising calculating a location of the defined TMAO peak region using a fitting region having a size between about 50-100 data points based on a location of a citrate reference peak, then reducing the fitting region to about 30 data points centered about the calculated location of the defined TMAO peak region. The method comprises curve fitting the defined TMAO peak region with a defined curve fitting function.
Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Janssens et al. make obvious determining a measure of TMAO and citric acid in biosamples, as discussed above.
Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., and Janssens et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique or citric acid as a standard.
The document of Wishart et al. studies automatic identification of compounds in a sample mixture by means of NMR spectroscopy [title]. Paragraph 43 of Wishart et al. teaches TMAO as an internal standard. Paragraph 84 and Figure 3 of Wishart et al. teaches citric acid as a standard.
Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., Janssens et al., and Wishart et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique.
The document of Delaglio et al. studies measurement of homonuclear proton couplings from regular 2D COSY spectra [title]. Figures 2 and 3 of Delaglio et al. teach fitting curves to COSY peaks, narrow the windows, and then refit the peaks in Figures 3C-3E of Delaglio et al.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids of Beckonert et al., the NMR calibration of Baryshinikov et al., and the curve analysis of Janssens et al. by use of citrate as a standard as in Wishart et al. because it is obvious to substitute known elements in the prior art to yield a predictable result. In this instance, citrate is an alternative to TMAO. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., Janssens et al., and Wishart et al. because all four studies analogously pertain to analysis of spectral data.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids using curve fitting of Beckonert et al., Baryshnikov et al., Janssens et al., and Wishart et al. by use of additional curve fitting of Delaglio et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the more sophisticated curve fitting of Delaglio et al. yield accurate results with not only chemical shifts, but also coupling constants [Figure 3 of Delaglio et al.].
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection #5:
Claims 1-5, 23, and 54-55 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Beckonert et al. [Nature Protocols, volume 2, 2007, pages 2692-2703] in view of Hazen et al. [WO 2013/188417 A2].
The applied reference of Hazen et al. has an overlapping inventive entity with the instant application. Based upon the pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) date of the reference, it constitutes prior art. This rejection under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.132 that any invention disclosed but not claimed in the reference was derived from the inventor of this application and is thus not an invention “by another”; (2) a showing of a date of invention for the claimed subject matter of the application which corresponds to subject matter disclosed but not claimed in the reference, prior to the pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) date of the reference under 37 CFR 1.131(a); or (3) an oath or declaration under 37 CFR 1.131(c) stating that the application and reference are currently owned by the same party and that the inventor or joint inventors (i.e., the inventive entity) named in the application is the prior inventor under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 104 as in effect on March 15, 2013, together with a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321(c). This rejection might also be overcome by showing that the reference is disqualified under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(c) as prior art in a rejection under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a). See MPEP §§ 2146 et seq.
Note: Even though claim 55 is rejected under scope of enablement, the same scope of enablement rationale is applicable to Hazen et al. due to this overlapping inventive entity.
Claim 55 is drawn to a method of monitoring patients for therapeutic treatment. The method comprises electronically determining a level of TMAO in an in vitro biosample from the subject using a defined TMAO peak region having a single TMAO peak residing between about 3.2 and 3.4 ppm of a proton NMR spectrum. The method comprises administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug to the patient based on the level of TMAO in the biosample.
The document of Beckonert et al. studies metabolic profiling, metabolomic, and metabonomic procedures for NMR spectroscopy of urine, plasma, serum and tissue extracts [title]. Figure 1 on page 2693 of Beckonert et al. illustrates the electronically obtained NMR spectra of an in vitro sample containing TMAO in a multiplet between about 3.2 ppm and 3.4 ppm. The "Equipment Setup” section on pages 2696-2697 of Beckonert et al. teaches the computerized NMR equipment setup for the NMR instrumentation.
Beckonert et al. does not teach administering prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment to the patient based on TMAO level.
The document of Hazen et al. studies treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and thrombosis [title]. Page 3, lines 5-21 of Hazen et al. teach administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug based on the TMAO level of the subject.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of Beckonert et al. by use of the treatment of Hazen et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Hazen et al. gives a biomedical application to the analysis of TMAO peaks [page 3, lines 5-22 of Hazen et al.].
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Double Patenting Rejection #1:
Claims [1, 3, 4, or 5], 2, 7, 9, 10, 23, and 54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 14, and 16, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 9,541,620 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting. While the claims of ‘620 recite more limitations than the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘620 anticipate the instantly rejected claims.
Double Patenting Rejection #2:
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,541,620 B2 in view of Wishart et al. in view of Delaglio et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claims of ‘620 do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique or citric acid as a standard.
The document of Wishart et al. studies automatic identification of compounds in a sample mixture by means of NMR spectroscopy [title]. Paragraph 43 of Wishart et al. teaches TMAO as an internal standard. Paragraph 84 and Figure 3 of Wishart et al. teaches citric acid as a standard.
The claims of ‘620 and Wishart et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique.
The document of Delaglio et al. studies measurement of homonuclear proton couplings from regular 2D COSY spectra [title]. Figures 2 and 3 of Delaglio et al. teach fitting curves to COSY peaks, narrow the windows, and then refit the peaks in Figures 3C-3E of Delaglio et al.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claims of ‘620 by use of citrate as a standard as in Wishart et al. because it is obvious to substitute known elements in the prior art to yield a predictable result. In this instance, citrate is an alternative to TMAO. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining the claims of ‘620 and Wishart et al. because both studies analogously pertain to calibrating NMR samples.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids using curve fitting of the claims of ‘620 and Wishart et al. by use of additional curve fitting of Delaglio et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the more sophisticated curve fitting of Delaglio et al. yield accurate results with not only chemical shifts, but also coupling constants [Figure 3 of Delaglio et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #3:
Claim 55 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,541,620 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claim of ‘620 does not teach administering prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment to the patient based on TMAO level.
The document of Hazen et al. studies treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and thrombosis [title]. Page 3, lines 5-21 of Hazen et al. teach administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug based on the TMAO level of the subject.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claim of ‘620 by use of the treatment of Hazen et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Hazen et al. gives a biomedical application to the analysis of TMAO peaks [page 3, lines 5-22 of Hazen et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #4:
Claims [1, 3, 4, or 5], 2, 7, 9, 10, 23, and 54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 14, and 16, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 9,535,144 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting. While the claims of ‘144 recite more limitations than the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘144 anticipate the instantly rejected claims.
Double Patenting Rejection #5:
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,535,144 B2 in view of Janssens et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claim of ‘144 does not teach the curve fitting and weighting.
The document of Janssens et al. studies evaluation of three zero-area digital filters for peak recognition and interference detection in automated spectral data analysis [title]. The equations of Janssens et al. perform convolutions of the spectral data with the defined functions illustrated in Figure 1 on page 322 of Janssens et al. It is noted that the Gaussian and triangular filters each identify a maximum point by which the spectral data are weighted. Figure 9 on page 328 of Janssens et al. compares the original spectral data with the convolution of the spectral data to determine the probability of finding a peak in the convolved spectrum. The fitting and curve fitting of Janssens et al. accounts for small misalignments.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claim of ‘144 by use of the data filtering of Janssens et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the peak transformation of Janssens et al. facilitates display of the peaks [Introduction on page 320 of Janssens et al.]. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining the claim of ‘144 and Janssens et al. because both studies are analogously applicable to processing biological spectral data.
Double Patenting Rejection #6:
Claim 9-10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,535,144 B2 in view of Janssens et al., as applied to Double Patenting Rejection #5 above, in further view of Wishart et al. in view of Delaglio et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claims of ‘144 and Janssens et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique or citric acid as a standard.
The document of Wishart et al. studies automatic identification of compounds in a sample mixture by means of NMR spectroscopy [title]. Paragraph 43 of Wishart et al. teaches TMAO as an internal standard. Paragraph 84 and Figure 3 of Wishart et al. teaches citric acid as a standard.
The claims of ‘144, Janssens et al., and Wishart et al. do not entirely teach the recited curve fitting technique.
The document of Delaglio et al. studies measurement of homonuclear proton couplings from regular 2D COSY spectra [title]. Figures 2 and 3 of Delaglio et al. teach fitting curves to COSY peaks, narrow the windows, and then refit the peaks in Figures 3C-3E of Delaglio et al.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claims of ‘144 and Janssens et al. by use of citrate as a standard as in Wishart et al. because it is obvious to substitute known elements in the prior art to yield a predictable result. In this instance, citrate is an alternative to TMAO. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in combining the claims of ‘144 and Wishart et al. because both studies analogously pertain to calibrating NMR samples.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO and citrate as an NMR standard in biofluids using curve fitting of the claims of ‘144, Janssens et al., and Wishart et al. by use of additional curve fitting of Delaglio et al. wherein the motivation would have been that the more sophisticated curve fitting of Delaglio et al. yield accurate results with not only chemical shifts, but also coupling constants [Figure 3 of Delaglio et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #7:
Claim 55 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,535,144 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claim of ‘144 does not teach administering prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment to the patient based on TMAO level.
The document of Hazen et al. studies treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and thrombosis [title]. Page 3, lines 5-21 of Hazen et al. teach administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug based on the TMAO level of the subject.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claim of ‘144 by use of the treatment of Hazen et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Hazen et al. gives a biomedical application to the analysis of TMAO peaks [page 3, lines 5-22 of Hazen et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #8:
Claims [1 or 3], 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 23, and 54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10,613,044 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting. While the claims of ‘044 recite more limitations than the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘044 anticipate the instantly rejected claims.
Double Patenting Rejection #9:
Claim 55 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,613,044 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claim of ‘044 does not teach administering prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment to the patient based on TMAO level.
The document of Hazen et al. studies treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and thrombosis [title]. Page 3, lines 5-21 of Hazen et al. teach administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug based on the TMAO level of the subject.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claim of ‘044 by use of the treatment of Hazen et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Hazen et al. gives a biomedical application to the analysis of TMAO peaks [page 3, lines 5-22 of Hazen et al.].
Double Patenting Rejection #10:
Claims [1 or 3], 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 23, and 54 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,782,002 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting. While the claims of ‘002 recite more limitations than the instantly rejected claims, the claims of ‘002 anticipate the instantly rejected claims.
Double Patenting Rejection #11:
Claim 55 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,782,002 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are analogously drawn to determining a level of TMAO in a proton NMR spectrum and adjusting to a reference peak by varying pH. Both sets of claims recite calibrating and curve fitting.
The claim of ‘002 does not teach administering prebiotic, probiotic, or drug treatment to the patient based on TMAO level.
The document of Hazen et al. studies treatment and prevention of cardiovascular disease and thrombosis [title]. Page 3, lines 5-21 of Hazen et al. teach administering a prebiotic, probiotic, or drug based on the TMAO level of the subject.
It would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to modify the measurement of TMAO as an NMR standard in biofluids of the claim of ‘002 by use of the treatment of Hazen et al. wherein the motivation would have been that Hazen et al. gives a biomedical application to the analysis of TMAO peaks [page 3, lines 5-22 of Hazen et al.].
Related Prior Art
The document of Wishart et al. [US PGPUB 2004/0058386 A1] studies automatic identification of compounds in a sample mixture by means of NMR spectroscopy [title]. Paragraph 43 of Wishart et al. teaches TMAO as an internal standard. Figure 11 of Wishart et al. teaches using pH titrations to find the distances between reference peaks and standard peaks. Label 314 of Figure 11 of Wishart et al. teaches curve fitting the peaks using Lorentzian functions.
E-mail Communications Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Larry Riggs, Supervisory Patent Examiner, can be reached at (571) 270-3062.
/RUSSELL S NEGIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1686 27 September 2026