DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 11 May 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 September 2023, 09 November 2023, 18 March 2025, 24 October 2025, 21 May 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0291805 to Nicolaus et al. (“Nicolaus”) in view of US 2010/0304038 to La Forest et al. (“La Forest”).
With regard to Claims 1-5, Nicolaus teaches a method of forming a high temperature oxidation-resistant barrier coating on carbon composite substrate comprising applying a barrier coat formulation comprising monoaluminum phosphate, boron carbide, titanium, water, an ethoxylated acetylenic diol surfactant (Surfynol 440), and subsequently heat treating the applied formulation (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0008]-[0012], [0026], [0028], [0095]; Example 5). Nicolaus notably also teaches inclusion of refractory material in the coating (see ¶ [0027]).
Nicolaus does not expressly teach inclusion of tungsten as claimed. La Forest is similarly directed to protective coatings on carbon composite substrates, and teaches tungsten as an alternative to titanium in order to confer an oxidation-resistant barrier (see Abstract). It would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated tungsten into the barrier coating of Nicolaus, as taught by La Forest with a reasonable expectation of success.
Nicolaus in view of La Forest thus teaches the claimed process using the same constituents. The claimed properties of the coating are understood to necessarily derive therefrom.
With regard to Claims 6-7, Nicolaus does not expressly teach the claimed weight percentages. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed the claimed weight percentages throughout the course of routine experimentation and optimization in obtaining an oxidation-resistant barrier coating with desired properties on carbon-containing composite substrates.
With regard to Claims 8-9, Nicolaus teaches initially applying and heat treating a phosphate-based penetrant antioxidant underlayer (see ¶ [0088]; Example 5).
With regard to Claim 10, Nicolaus does not expressly teach addition of composition constituents in a non-reactive vessel while undergoing continuous mixing; however such a technique would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed in order to ensure a uniform mixture without contamination suitable for brush and/or spray application.
With regard to Claims 11-12, Nicolaus teaches heat treatment within the claimed temperature range and duration (see Example 5).
With regard to Claim 13, Nicolaus teaches brush and spray application (see ¶ [0097]).
With regard to Claim 14, Nicolaus teaches applying the coating formulation at thicknesses within the claimed range (see ¶ [0098]).
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712