DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goforth et al, CN1400957 in view of Chu et al, CN1421061.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Goforth et al disclose a phosphorus silicate fibers suitable for extended band amplification comprising: an erbium doped fiber comprises a fiber core, and the fiber core may comprise, by weight percentage: 65-92% of SiO2 and 0.2-0.4% of Er2O3 (which is 0.17-0.35wt% if being converted into erbium ions), P2O5 > 8% (see claim 7, which may be greater than 20%, and is greater than 8.2wt % if being converted into phosphorus ions), 0.0%sAhO3 < 0.3%, in addition, the erbium doped fiber may further comprise 0.5-20% of La serving as an Er ion de-clustering agent and 0.5-20% of Sb serving as a gain flattening agent discloses (claims 1-20, description, page 3, line 12 to page 7, line 5, and figures 1 to 4).
Goforth et al fail to disclose a range of 3wt% to 6wt% of aluminum ions, 1wt% to 5wt% of antimony ions, and greater than 60wt% of silicon ions. However, Goforth et al disclose that SiO2 serves as the main component of the fiber core and the content of antimony ion is 0.5-20wt%, a person skilled in the art would have been able to select a suitable base material from existing fiber core materials, for example, a silicon material having a silicon ion content of greater than 60wt%, and select, in a specified range, an erbium doped fiber having an antimony ion content of, for example, 1-5 wt%, so as to obtain the desired gain performance.
Chu et al disclose (description, page 5, line 24 to page 6, line 23) that an optical gain fiber comprises a fiber core, and the fiber core may comprise erbium (e.g. erbium oxide), aluminum oxide, silicon oxide and antimony oxide; as an example, the oxides of aluminum are in an amount of from about 6 weight percent to about 20 weight percent of the total weight of the oxides of aluminum, erbium, antimony, and silicon, and all aluminum is present in the form of Al 203 (which is 3.2-10.6wt% if being converted into aluminum ions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary artisan to arrive at the technical solution of the invention by combining the teaching of Goforth et al and Chu et al due to the fact they represent conventional means in the art. With respect to the specific percentage of the second mass of the Aluminum ions, such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. The percentage is selected in order to meet specific chemical composition, including quality control, environment impact, and health and safety. The second mass is critical for ensuring compliance and guiding affective material for various application. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by Goforth et al as modified by Chu et al.
Regarding claims 2-3, 10-11, the mass percentage of the elements can be selected by an ordinary person skilled in the art from the combined teachings of Goforth et al and Chu et al and conventional configurations in the art, and is a conventional design in the art.
Regarding claims 21-22 and 12-13, Goforth et al discloses Er2O3, AhO3, P2O5, and the fiber core can further comprise Ga, Ge, F, Gd. In addition, lanthanum oxide and antimony trioxide are common forms of La and Sb, and boron and cerium are common co-doped materials of an active fiber core, which therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 6-8, 14-16, are respectively conventional designs for erbium doped fibers for meeting specific customer requirements, which therefore obvious.
Regarding claims 17-20, since the structural limitations are as recited, the method steps are obtained, and therefore, obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See examiner remarks.
Remarks:
In response to the applicant’s argument regarding the specific percentage of the second mass of the Aluminum ions, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Such limitation is a matter of choice for meeting specific customer requirements. The percentage is selected in order to meet specific chemical composition, including quality control, environment impact, and health and safety. The second mass is critical for ensuring compliance and guiding affective material for various application. Therefore, it would have been an obvious extension as taught by Goforth et al as modified by Chu et al. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DANIEL ST CYR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2876
/DANIEL ST CYR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876