DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 1-5-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-2, 5, 17 and 22 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al. (JP 4552319 B2, machine translation) remains because Furukawa et al. does teach a metal ion on the surface of the cathode because Furukawa et al. teaches in [0011], an active material comprising a core layer containing nickel hydroxide and a surface layer containing Co [teaches a metal ion on the surface] and a rare earth element hydroxide. The rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 19 and 22 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schimek et al. (US 2018/0233743) remains because since Schimek et al. teaches a battery comprising the same cathode active material comprising MnO2 and an additive comprising the same BaSO4; a zinc anode and an alkaline electrolyte comprising NaOH or KOH, then inherently when the battery is charged, a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte must also be obtained.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 19 and 22 remin rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bonakdarpour et al. (WO 2019/090422) because since Bonakdarpour et al. teaches a battery comprising a cathode comprising MnO2 and an additive comprising BaSO4, then inherently when the battery is charged, a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte must also be obtained. In addition, in regard to the issue of primary versus secondary battery, Bonakdarpour et al. does teach that the battery relates to a rechargeable battery instead of a primary battery, as amended in claim 1, but teaches the exact same electrochemical cell comprising the exact same cathode comprising MnO2 with a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte, then inherently a secondary cell can become a primary cell when only having a single use can also be obtained. Primary cells are single-use, and cannot be recharged, while secondary cells are rechargeable and can be used multiple times. Primary and secondary cells are two types of electrochemical cells that are used to generate electrical energy. The main difference between them lies in their reusability.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of an electrochemical cell comprising: a container comprising steel and an electrode assembly comprising a cathode comprising manganese dioxide (i) comprising a Ba metal ion adsorbed on the surface and an alkaline electrolyte solution comprising (ii) a metal additive comprising BaSO4 metal salt in the reply filed on 11-12-2024 was acknowledged.
Claims 12-15 are now withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11-12-2024.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn because the claims are drawn to a metal additive comprising a metal ‘oxide’. Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 is objected to because the claim should cite “metal additive is the metal salt additive”. Claim 10 is objected to because of the use of “or” two times in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 17-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is rejected because of the phrases “a metal additive selected from the group consisting of a metal salt additive and a metal oxide” and “wherein the metal additive comprises a metal ion” because it is unclear what the metal additive comprises because the first phrase cites two choices and the second phrase adds a possible 3rd choice. This makes the claim vague and indefinite. Claim 1 is also rejected because what is stated above with the phrases “metal additive selected …and a metal oxide”; wherein the metal additive comprises a metal ion”;wherein the cathode comprises the metal ion absorbed on its surface”. This makes the claim vague and indefinite. Claim 1 is rejected because of the phrase “metal additive selected …and a metal oxide; wherein the metal additive comprises a metal ion” because a metal oxide does not contain a metal ion”. This makes the claim vague and indefinite. Claim 1 is rejected because the claim should therefore claim “wherein the metal is selected from the group consisting of ….”. Claims 5-6 are rejected because “the metal additive selected from the group consisting of a metal salt additive and a metal oxide” and not “a metal ion”. This makes the claim vague and indefinite. Claim 6 is rejected because the claim should therefore claim “wherein the metal is Ba”. Claims 5 and 22 are rejected because the claim should therefore claim “wherein the metal is selected from the group consisting of ….”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa et al. (JP 4552319 B2, machine translation). Furukawa et al. teaches in [0011], an active material comprising a core layer containing nickel hydroxide and a surface layer containing Co and a rare earth element hydroxide [teaches a metal ion on the surface] and a battery comprising a high-concentration alkaline aqueous solution in an amount of 8 M or more [teaching claims 2 and 17]. Furukawa et al. teaches that it is desirable that the ratio of M/Co of the elements of M and Co in the mixed hydroxide is 0.01-10. Furukawa et al. teaches in [0052-0053], a battery comprising a surface layer made of a mixed hydroxide containing Co [teaching claims 5 and 22].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schimek et al. (US 2018/0233743). Schimek et al. teaches in {figure 1 and [0010, 0048, and 0071-0075, 0077-0078, 0084 and 0090- 0091]}, a primary alkaline electrochemical cell comprising a container (10) with a first electrode (18) [anode] comprising zinc [teaching claim 19]; a liquid alkaline electrolyte such as NaOH or KOH [teaching claim 2] and the second electrode (12) [cathode] comprising magnesium dioxide [teaching claim 3] and additive such as barium sulfate [teaching claims 5-11]. Schimek et al. teaches in [0091], that the additive BaSO4 [teaching claims 5-11] is present in an amount of 1-2 wt% based on the total weight of the cathode material. Other additives can include barium acetate.
Since Schimek et al. teaches a battery comprising a cathode comprising MnO2 and an additive comprising BaSO4; a zinc anode and an alkaline electrolyte comprising NaOH or KOH, then inherently when the battery is charged, a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte must also be obtained.
In addition, the presently claimed property a Ba metal ion adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte would obviously have been present once the Schimek et al. product is provided and charged. In re Best, 195 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1977). Applicants have shown no evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bonakdarpour et al. (WO 2019/090422). Bonakdarpour et al. teaches in [00118-00120], a battery comprising a cathode comprising EMD [teaching claim 3]; an anode and a separator where the anode can comprise zinc/zinc oxide powder [teaching claim 19], etc. Bonakdarpour et al. teaches in [0091], that additives such as, but not limited to sulfates [teaching claims 7-9], hydroxides [teaching claim 8], alkali salts, alkaline-earth salts, transition metal salts, oxides and hydrates can also be added during the formation of the cathode electrode comprising EMD. Examples of alkaline earth metal salts and sulfate species include but are not limited to BaSO4 [teaching claims 5-11] and examples of oxides include but not limited to Bi2O3, etc. Bonakdarpour et al. teaches that the additives improve the cyclability of a battery. Since Bonakdarpour et al. teaches a battery comprising a cathode comprising MnO2 and an additive comprising BaSO4, then inherently when the battery is charged,a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte must also be obtained.
In addition, the presently claimed property a Ba metal ion adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte would obviously have been present once the Bonakdarpour et al. product is provided and charged. In re Best, 195 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1977). Applicants have shown no evidence to the contrary. Even though Bonakdarpour et al. teaches that the battery relates to a rechargeable battery instead of a primary battery, as amended in claim 1, Bonakdarpour et al. teaches the exact same electrochemical cell comprising the exact same cathode comprising MnO2 with a Ba metal ion would be adsorbed on the surface of the cathode and a Ba metal ion would be present in the alkaline electrolyte, then inherently a secondary cell can become a primary cell when only having a single use can also be obtained. Primary cells are single-use, and cannot be recharged, while secondary cells are rechargeable and can be used multiple times. Primary and secondary cells are two types of electrochemical cells that are used to generate electrical energy. The main difference between them lies in their reusability.
In addition, the presently claimed property of the electrochemical cell being a primary cell obviously would have been present once the Bonakdarpour et al. product is provided and used once. In re Best, 195 USPQ 433 (CCPA 1977). Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takamura et al. (US 2007/0117023) teaches in claim 1, an alkaline battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode comprising zinc and an electrolyte comprising a KOH aqueous solution. Takamura et al. teaches on pages 5-6, Example 1, and Table 2, an alkaline battery comprising an alkaline electrolyte comprising 0.05 wt% cuprous sulfate (Cu2SO4); a negative electrode comprising zinc and a positive electrode comprising magnesium dioxide and teaches in Example 2, an electrolyte comprising 0.05 wt% (Cu2SO4). Li et al. (US2018/0013144) teaches in [0048] and claim 1, an electrochemical cell containing a cathode comprising magnesium oxide [teaching claim 3]; an anode comprising zinc [teaching claim 19] and an aqueous electrolyte solution comprising at least one monovalent salt and at least one divalent salt. Li et al. teaches in claims 3-4, that the magnesium oxide cathode can be modified with the metal selected from the group consisting of magnesium, barium, etc. Li et al. teaches in claims 8-9, with the electrolyte solution comprises both monovalent salt and divalent salt. Li et al. teaches in [0047-0048], by using mixed monovalent and divalent salt electrolyte containing MgSO4 [teaching claims 1, 7-11], Li2SO4, ZnSO4 and MnSO4, both MnO2 and Mg-doped MnO2 demonstrated stable specific capacity as high as 300 mAh/g. Teaching that it appears that mixed ion intercalation into the structure of MnO2 stabilizes the material structure during cycling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA S. WEINER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Laura Weiner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723