DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, in the reply filed on December 8, 2025, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious search burden. This is not found persuasive because the processing limitations of Invention II and III each require a different search for specific additional processing circuitry
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn as non-elected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2022/0170388 (“O’Donnell”).
Claim 1
O’Donnell discloses an electrical energy absorption and heat storage system to absorb electrical energy transferred during a calibration process of an electric vehicle charging station, comprising: a resistive load, which, in operation, receives the electrical energy and converts the electrical energy into heat (paragraph [0181], evaporator 508); and a boiling reservoir (boiler 506), which, in operation, contains a phase-change heat storage medium (paragraph [0181], water), wherein, in operation, heat generated by the resistive load is transferred to the phase-change heat storage medium (paragraph [0181], Fig. 6).
Claim 2
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 1, comprising: a storage reservoir coupled to the boiling reservoir (O’Donnell, heat storage 503).
Claim 3
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 2, wherein the phase-change heat storage medium, in a first state, comprises water (O’Donnell, paragraph [0181], water).
Claim 4
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 3, wherein the resistive load is positioned in the boiling reservoir (Fig. 6).
Claim 5
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 4, comprising: a vent, which, in operation, vents steam generated in the boiling reservoir when the water changes state (O’Donnell, paragraph [0181], evaporator line 507).
Claim 6
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 5, comprising: an inlet coupled to the storage reservoir, which, in operation, receives the water (O’Donnell, paragraph [0182], water inlet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2022/0170388 (“O’Donnell”).
Claim 7
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 1.
O’Donnell does not appear to explicitly disclose comprising: a solid heat storage medium, wherein the resistive load is embedded in the solid heat storage medium, and in operation, heat generated by the resistive load is transferred to the solid heat storage medium, and selectively transferred from the solid heat storage medium to the phase-change heat storage medium.
O’Donnell discloses using multiple types of materials for storage of energy including solid heat storage mediums and water (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a solid heat storage medium, such as to combine two storage mediums, wherein the resistive load is embedded in the solid heat storage medium, and in operation, heat generated by the resistive load is transferred to the solid heat storage medium, and selectively transferred from the solid heat storage medium to the phase-change heat storage medium, as the solid and liquid mediums have been identified in the art as equivalents for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.
Claim 8
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 7, comprising: a storage reservoir, which, in operation, stores the phase-change heat storage medium; and a valve coupled between the storage reservoir and the boiling reservoir (paragraph [0185], valve).
Claim 9
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 8, wherein the phase-change heat storage medium, in a first state, comprises water (paragraph [0181], water).
Claim 11
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 8, wherein the solid heat storage medium has one or more surfaces having an oblique angle with respect to a surface of the boiling reservoir (Fig. 6).
Claim 12
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 8, wherein the solid heat storage medium comprises a ceramic material (O’Donnell, paragraph [0008], refractory materials).
Claim 13
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 12, wherein the solid heat storage medium comprises alumina (O’Donnell, paragraph [0521], alumina solid storage medium).
Claim 14
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 1.
O’Donnell discloses a system volume (Fig. 6) but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein, the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system has a volume between 750 milliliters and forty liters, the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system has a weight between 10 and twenty pounds, or the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system has a volume between 750 milliliters and forty liters and a weight between 10 and twenty pounds.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized a range of the volume, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235. One would have been motivated to optimize a system volume in order to accommodate a desired heat absorption amount (O’Donnell, paragraph [0789]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2022/0170388 (“O’Donnell”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2008/0060374 (“Gammons”).
Claim 10
O’Donnell discloses the electrical energy absorption and heat storage system of claim 8.
O’Donnell does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein: the storage reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir; the boiling reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir; or the storage reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir and the boiling reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the boiling reservoir.
Gammons discloses a cooling system including a translucent reservoir window (paragraph [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a translucent reservoir window, as disclosed by Gammons, into the device of O’Donnell, such that the storage reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir; the boiling reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir; or the storage reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the storage reservoir and the boiling reservoir has a translucent portion to provide a visible indication of a level of phase-change material in the boiling reservoir, for the purpose of indicating fluid level (Gammons, paragraph [0010]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853