DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, 23 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Islam et al. teach a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (Figs. 1 and 12-13, [0197-0198], device 1305 may be an example of or include the components of UE 115 as described above. Device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including UE communications manager 1315, processor 1320, memory 1325, software 1330, transceiver 1335, antenna 1340, and I/O controller 1345. The Processor 1320 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions),
Islam et al. teach monitor for a first set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a first subset of synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 8, [0012, 0165], the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals comprising reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. Beam monitoring configuration component 840 may configure the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof),
Islam et al. teach transmit one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 8, [0064, 0115], each of the base stations 105 and UEs 115 may use a plurality of antenna ports associated with rays to emit one or more transmit beams (e.g., BRSs for beamformed (e.g., beam sweep) data transmission and reception. For example, a base station 105 may use beamforming techniques for downlink (DL) reference signal, wakeup signal, PDCCH, and physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission to one or more configured UEs 115. Similarly, the UEs 115 may implement beamforming techniques for receive beam training, DL transmit beam selection, and UL transmission including beam recovery signal transmission. Beamformed (e.g., beam swept) data transmission and reception between the UE and base station, in accordance with a DRX configuration at the UE, may include procedures to establish beam selection during wakeup signal procedure, and beam refinement prior to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission. The wakeup signal may initiate a DRX-On cycle at the UE without including resource allocation or grant information. As a result, the wakeup signal may save decoding resources at the UE and reduce power consumption in comparison to control channel mechanisms),
Islam et al. teach and monitor, in response to transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, for a second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a second subset of the synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 6, [0006-0007, 0149], the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor the beams carrying the set of signals. After transmitting the wakeup signal, the base station may transmit a second set of signals (e.g., reference signals or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof) that may be used for hierarchical beam management. For instance, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal on multiple coarse beams. The base station communications manager 615 may also transmit, to a UE that is operating in a DRX mode, a wakeup signal to wake the UE 115 from a sleep state of the DRX mode, the wakeup signal transmitted using a first transmit beam and a second transmit beam of a first set of transmit beams in accordance with a beam sweeping configuration. In some cases, base station communications manager 615 may transmit a set of signals using a second set of transmit beams, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof, and receive an indication of a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams, the transmit beam selected by the UE),
Islam et al. teach wherein each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals corresponds to a plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 10, [0180], the UE communications manager 1015 may also receive, from a base station, a first set of signals in a first set of transmit beams and a second set of signals in a second set of transmit beams, wherein the first set of signals comprise reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. The UE communications manager 1015 may also select a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams based at least in part on the received first set of signals. In other examples, the UE communications manager 1015 may also transmit an indication of the selected transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams to the base station).
Islam et al. is teaching the beamforming for synchronization and wakeup signals. Islam et al., however, fail to expressly disclose to transmit beamform wakeup signals. (Emphasis added)
Regarding claim 1, Sarkis et al. teach transmit one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1-2, [0064, 0089], a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. In the wireless communications system 200 (e.g., mmW system supporting beamforming), the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210 on a downlink channel 205 (e.g., a downlink control channel). In one example, the base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signals 210 using a number of different downlink transmit beams (not shown). The base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signaling to improve the reception reliability at the UEs 115. If the UEs 115 successfully receives one or more of the wake-up signals 210 transmitted by the base station 105-a, the UEs 115 may perform a wake-up procedure and transition to a higher power level to support data transmission and reception. In one example, the UEs 115 may attempt to receive the wake-up signals 210 using a number of downlink receive beams (not shown). In some examples, the UE 115-a may monitor wake-up signaling using a first set of downlink receive beams and the UE 115-b may monitor wake-up signaling using a second set of downlink receive beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Sarkis et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring wake-up signal using common identifier (see [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Islam et al. teach a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to (Figs. 1 and 9, [0167, 0170], device 905 may be an example of or include the components of wireless device 605, wireless device 705, or a base station 105 as described above. The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including base station communications manager 915, processor 920, memory 925, software 930, transceiver 935, antenna 940, network communications manager 945. Software 930 may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as system memory or other memory. In some cases, the software 930 may not be directly executable by the processor but may cause a computer (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform functions described herein).
Islam et al. teach transmit a first set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a first subset of synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 8, [0012, 0165], the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals comprising reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. Beam monitoring configuration component 840 may configure the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof),
Islam et al. teach receive one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 8, [0064, 0115], each of the base stations 105 and UEs 115 may use a plurality of antenna ports associated with rays to emit one or more transmit beams (e.g., BRSs for beamformed (e.g., beam sweep) data transmission and reception. For example, a base station 105 may use beamforming techniques for downlink (DL) reference signal, wakeup signal, PDCCH, and physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission to one or more configured UEs 115. Similarly, the UEs 115 may implement beamforming techniques for receive beam training, DL transmit beam selection, and UL transmission including beam recovery signal transmission. Beamformed (e.g., beam swept) data transmission and reception between the UE and base station, in accordance with a DRX configuration at the UE, may include procedures to establish beam selection during wakeup signal procedure, and beam refinement prior to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission. The wakeup signal may initiate a DRX-On cycle at the UE without including resource allocation or grant information. As a result, the wakeup signal may save decoding resources at the UE and reduce power consumption in comparison to control channel mechanisms),
Islam et al. teach and transmit, in response to receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a second subset of the synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 6, [0006-0007, 0149], the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor the beams carrying the set of signals. After transmitting the wakeup signal, the base station may transmit a second set of signals (e.g., reference signals or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof) that may be used for hierarchical beam management. For instance, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal on multiple coarse beams. The base station communications manager 615 may also transmit, to a UE that is operating in a DRX mode, a wakeup signal to wake the UE 115 from a sleep state of the DRX mode, the wakeup signal transmitted using a first transmit beam and a second transmit beam of a first set of transmit beams in accordance with a beam sweeping configuration. In some cases, base station communications manager 615 may transmit a set of signals using a second set of transmit beams, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof, and receive an indication of a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams, the transmit beam selected by the UE),
Islam et al. teach wherein each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals corresponds to a plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 10, [0180], the UE communications manager 1015 may also receive, from a base station, a first set of signals in a first set of transmit beams and a second set of signals in a second set of transmit beams, wherein the first set of signals comprise reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. The UE communications manager 1015 may also select a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams based at least in part on the received first set of signals. In other examples, the UE communications manager 1015 may also transmit an indication of the selected transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams to the base station).
Islam et al. is teaching the beamforming for synchronization and wakeup signals. Islam et al., however, fail to expressly disclose to receiving beamform wakeup signals. (Emphasis added)
Regarding claim 10, Sarkis et al. teach receive one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1-2, [0064, 0089], a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. In the wireless communications system 200 (e.g., mmW system supporting beamforming), the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210 on a downlink channel 205 (e.g., a downlink control channel). In one example, the base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signals 210 using a number of different downlink transmit beams (not shown). The base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signaling to improve the reception reliability at the UEs 115. If the UEs 115 successfully receives one or more of the wake-up signals 210 transmitted by the base station 105-a, the UEs 115 may perform a wake-up procedure and transition to a higher power level to support data transmission and reception. In one example, the UEs 115 may attempt to receive the wake-up signals 210 using a number of downlink receive beams (not shown). In some examples, the UE 115-a may monitor wake-up signaling using a first set of downlink receive beams and the UE 115-b may monitor wake-up signaling using a second set of downlink receive beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Sarkis et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring wake-up signal using common identifier (see [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, Islam et al. teach a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising (Figs. 1 and 12-13, [0197-0198], device 1305 may be an example of or include the components of UE 115 as described above. Device 1305 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including UE communications manager 1315, processor 1320, memory 1325, software 1330, transceiver 1335, antenna 1340, and I/O controller 1345. The Processor 1320 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions),
Islam et al. teach monitoring for a first set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a first subset of synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 8, [0012, 0165], the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals comprising reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. Beam monitoring configuration component 840 may configure the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof),
Islam et al. teach transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 8, [0064, 0115], each of the base stations 105 and UEs 115 may use a plurality of antenna ports associated with rays to emit one or more transmit beams (e.g., BRSs for beamformed (e.g., beam sweep) data transmission and reception. For example, a base station 105 may use beamforming techniques for downlink (DL) reference signal, wakeup signal, PDCCH, and physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission to one or more configured UEs 115. Similarly, the UEs 115 may implement beamforming techniques for receive beam training, DL transmit beam selection, and UL transmission including beam recovery signal transmission. Beamformed (e.g., beam swept) data transmission and reception between the UE and base station, in accordance with a DRX configuration at the UE, may include procedures to establish beam selection during wakeup signal procedure, and beam refinement prior to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission. The wakeup signal may initiate a DRX-On cycle at the UE without including resource allocation or grant information. As a result, the wakeup signal may save decoding resources at the UE and reduce power consumption in comparison to control channel mechanisms),
Islam et al. teach and monitoring, in response to transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, for a second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a second subset of the synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 6, [0006-0007, 0149], the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor the beams carrying the set of signals. After transmitting the wakeup signal, the base station may transmit a second set of signals (e.g., reference signals or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof) that may be used for hierarchical beam management. For instance, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal on multiple coarse beams. The base station communications manager 615 may also transmit, to a UE that is operating in a DRX mode, a wakeup signal to wake the UE 115 from a sleep state of the DRX mode, the wakeup signal transmitted using a first transmit beam and a second transmit beam of a first set of transmit beams in accordance with a beam sweeping configuration. In some cases, base station communications manager 615 may transmit a set of signals using a second set of transmit beams, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof, and receive an indication of a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams, the transmit beam selected by the UE),
Islam et al. teach wherein each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals corresponds to a plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 10, [0180], the UE communications manager 1015 may also receive, from a base station, a first set of signals in a first set of transmit beams and a second set of signals in a second set of transmit beams, wherein the first set of signals comprise reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. The UE communications manager 1015 may also select a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams based at least in part on the received first set of signals. In other examples, the UE communications manager 1015 may also transmit an indication of the selected transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams to the base station).
Islam et al. is teaching the beamforming for synchronization and wakeup signals. Islam et al., however, fail to expressly disclose to transmit beamform wakeup signals. (Emphasis added)
Regarding claim 23, Sarkis et al. teach transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1-2, [0064, 0089], a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. In the wireless communications system 200 (e.g., mmW system supporting beamforming), the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210 on a downlink channel 205 (e.g., a downlink control channel). In one example, the base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signals 210 using a number of different downlink transmit beams (not shown). The base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signaling to improve the reception reliability at the UEs 115. If the UEs 115 successfully receives one or more of the wake-up signals 210 transmitted by the base station 105-a, the UEs 115 may perform a wake-up procedure and transition to a higher power level to support data transmission and reception. In one example, the UEs 115 may attempt to receive the wake-up signals 210 using a number of downlink receive beams (not shown). In some examples, the UE 115-a may monitor wake-up signaling using a first set of downlink receive beams and the UE 115-b may monitor wake-up signaling using a second set of downlink receive beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Sarkis et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring wake-up signal using common identifier (see [0006]).
Regarding claim 27, Islam et al. teach a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising (Figs. 1 and 9, [0167, 0170], device 905 may be an example of or include the components of wireless device 605, wireless device 705, or a base station 105 as described above. The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including base station communications manager 915, processor 920, memory 925, software 930, transceiver 935, antenna 940, network communications manager 945. Software 930 may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as system memory or other memory. In some cases, the software 930 may not be directly executable by the processor but may cause a computer (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform functions described herein).
Islam et al. teach transmitting a first set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a first subset of synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 8, [0012, 0165], the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals comprising reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. Beam monitoring configuration component 840 may configure the UE to monitor the first set of transmit beams to receive a set of signals from the base station while operating in the DRX mode, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof),
Islam et al. teach receiving one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 8, [0064, 0115], each of the base stations 105 and UEs 115 may use a plurality of antenna ports associated with rays to emit one or more transmit beams (e.g., BRSs for beamformed (e.g., beam sweep) data transmission and reception. For example, a base station 105 may use beamforming techniques for downlink (DL) reference signal, wakeup signal, PDCCH, and physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission to one or more configured UEs 115. Similarly, the UEs 115 may implement beamforming techniques for receive beam training, DL transmit beam selection, and UL transmission including beam recovery signal transmission. Beamformed (e.g., beam swept) data transmission and reception between the UE and base station, in accordance with a DRX configuration at the UE, may include procedures to establish beam selection during wakeup signal procedure, and beam refinement prior to physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission. The wakeup signal may initiate a DRX-On cycle at the UE without including resource allocation or grant information. As a result, the wakeup signal may save decoding resources at the UE and reduce power consumption in comparison to control channel mechanisms),
Islam et al. teach and transmitting, in response to receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprising a second subset of the synchronization information (Figs. 1 and 6, [0006-0007, 0149], the UE may be configured by the base station to monitor the beams carrying the set of signals. After transmitting the wakeup signal, the base station may transmit a second set of signals (e.g., reference signals or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof) that may be used for hierarchical beam management. For instance, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal on multiple coarse beams. The base station communications manager 615 may also transmit, to a UE that is operating in a DRX mode, a wakeup signal to wake the UE 115 from a sleep state of the DRX mode, the wakeup signal transmitted using a first transmit beam and a second transmit beam of a first set of transmit beams in accordance with a beam sweeping configuration. In some cases, base station communications manager 615 may transmit a set of signals using a second set of transmit beams, the set of signals including reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof, and receive an indication of a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams, the transmit beam selected by the UE),
Islam et al. teach wherein each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals corresponds to a plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1 and 10, [0180], the UE communications manager 1015 may also receive, from a base station, a first set of signals in a first set of transmit beams and a second set of signals in a second set of transmit beams, wherein the first set of signals comprise reference signals, or synchronization signals, or a combination thereof. The UE communications manager 1015 may also select a transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams based at least in part on the received first set of signals. In other examples, the UE communications manager 1015 may also transmit an indication of the selected transmit beam from the second set of transmit beams to the base station).
Islam et al. is teaching the beamforming for synchronization and wakeup signals. Islam et al., however, fail to expressly disclose to receiving beamform wakeup signals. (Emphasis added)
Regarding claim 27, Sarkis et al. teach receiving one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Figs. 1-2, [0064, 0089], a base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. In the wireless communications system 200 (e.g., mmW system supporting beamforming), the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210. For example, the base station 105-a may transmit wake-up signals 210 on a downlink channel 205 (e.g., a downlink control channel). In one example, the base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signals 210 using a number of different downlink transmit beams (not shown). The base station 105-a may transmit the wake-up signaling to improve the reception reliability at the UEs 115. If the UEs 115 successfully receives one or more of the wake-up signals 210 transmitted by the base station 105-a, the UEs 115 may perform a wake-up procedure and transition to a higher power level to support data transmission and reception. In one example, the UEs 115 may attempt to receive the wake-up signals 210 using a number of downlink receive beams (not shown). In some examples, the UE 115-a may monitor wake-up signaling using a first set of downlink receive beams and the UE 115-b may monitor wake-up signaling using a second set of downlink receive beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Sarkis et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting one or more beamformed wake-up signals based at least in part on the monitoring for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method for monitoring wake-up signal using common identifier (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 2-3, 15-16, 24-25 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0044584 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 3, wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 16, wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 24, further comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 25, wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 29, further comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof; regarding claim 30, wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0014, 0254-0255], a method may be provided for transmitting, by a base station, a signal in an ultra-high frequency mobile communication system. The method includes mapping, by the base station, a synchronization signal to which beamforming is applied to a resource block consisting of subcarriers set to multiples of 15 kHz, mapping a beam reference signal for identifying the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal to a symbol timing at which the synchronization signal is mapped, and transmitting the synchronization signal and the beam reference signal to a terminal. The BS maps a beamforming applied synchronization signal to a resource block consisting of subcarriers that are set to multiples of 15 kHz. The BS maps a BRS to a symbol timing mapped with the synchronization signal, in order to identify the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal. BRS may be mapped to eight successive subcarriers among 12 subcarriers, and in this case, another signal may be transmitted or no signal may be transmitted to the remaining four subcarriers. The BS transmits the BRS that enables the BS to identify the synchronization signal to which the beamforming is applied and the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal at the same symbol timing to the terminal).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teach wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0078-0081], a physical DL control channel described below may mean the PDCCH, mean the EPDCCH, or mean both the PDCCH and the EPDCCH. In addition, for convenience of description and ease of understanding, the EPDCCH, which is an embodiment of the present invention, may also be applied to a portion described with the PDCCH, and the PDCCH may also be applied to a portion described with the EPDCCH as an embodiment. Meanwhile, high layer signaling described below includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling which transmits RRC information including an RRC parameter. The eNB performs DL transmission to terminals. The eNB may transmit a PDSCH which is a main physical channel for unicast transmission, DL control information such as scheduling required to receive the PDSCH, and a PDCCH for transmitting scheduling approval information for transmission through an UL data channel).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0014, 0254-0255], a method may be provided for transmitting, by a base station, a signal in an ultra-high frequency mobile communication system. The method includes mapping, by the base station, a synchronization signal to which beamforming is applied to a resource block consisting of subcarriers set to multiples of 15 kHz, mapping a beam reference signal for identifying the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal to a symbol timing at which the synchronization signal is mapped, and transmitting the synchronization signal and the beam reference signal to a terminal. The BS maps a beamforming applied synchronization signal to a resource block consisting of subcarriers that are set to multiples of 15 kHz. The BS maps a BRS to a symbol timing mapped with the synchronization signal, in order to identify the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal. BRS may be mapped to eight successive subcarriers among 12 subcarriers, and in this case, another signal may be transmitted or no signal may be transmitted to the remaining four subcarriers. The BS transmits the BRS that enables the BS to identify the synchronization signal to which the beamforming is applied and the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal at the same symbol timing to the terminal).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. teach wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0078-0081], a physical DL control channel described below may mean the PDCCH, mean the EPDCCH, or mean both the PDCCH and the EPDCCH. In addition, for convenience of description and ease of understanding, the EPDCCH, which is an embodiment of the present invention, may also be applied to a portion described with the PDCCH, and the PDCCH may also be applied to a portion described with the EPDCCH as an embodiment. Meanwhile, high layer signaling described below includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling which transmits RRC information including an RRC parameter. The eNB performs DL transmission to terminals. The eNB may transmit a PDSCH which is a main physical channel for unicast transmission, DL control information such as scheduling required to receive the PDSCH, and a PDCCH for transmitting scheduling approval information for transmission through an UL data channel).
Regarding claim 24, Lee et al. teach further comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0014, 0254-0255], a method may be provided for transmitting, by a base station, a signal in an ultra-high frequency mobile communication system. The method includes mapping, by the base station, a synchronization signal to which beamforming is applied to a resource block consisting of subcarriers set to multiples of 15 kHz, mapping a beam reference signal for identifying the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal to a symbol timing at which the synchronization signal is mapped, and transmitting the synchronization signal and the beam reference signal to a terminal. The BS maps a beamforming applied synchronization signal to a resource block consisting of subcarriers that are set to multiples of 15 kHz. The BS maps a BRS to a symbol timing mapped with the synchronization signal, in order to identify the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal. BRS may be mapped to eight successive subcarriers among 12 subcarriers, and in this case, another signal may be transmitted or no signal may be transmitted to the remaining four subcarriers. The BS transmits the BRS that enables the BS to identify the synchronization signal to which the beamforming is applied and the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal at the same symbol timing to the terminal).
Regarding claim 25, Lee et al. teach wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0078-0081], a physical DL control channel described below may mean the PDCCH, mean the EPDCCH, or mean both the PDCCH and the EPDCCH. In addition, for convenience of description and ease of understanding, the EPDCCH, which is an embodiment of the present invention, may also be applied to a portion described with the PDCCH, and the PDCCH may also be applied to a portion described with the EPDCCH as an embodiment. Meanwhile, high layer signaling described below includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling which transmits RRC information including an RRC parameter. The eNB performs DL transmission to terminals. The eNB may transmit a PDSCH which is a main physical channel for unicast transmission, DL control information such as scheduling required to receive the PDSCH, and a PDCCH for transmitting scheduling approval information for transmission through an UL data channel).
Regarding claim 29, Lee et al. further comprising: transmitting control signaling that indicates: a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the one or more beamformed wake-up signals, a mapping between the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0014, 0254-0255], a method may be provided for transmitting, by a base station, a signal in an ultra-high frequency mobile communication system. The method includes mapping, by the base station, a synchronization signal to which beamforming is applied to a resource block consisting of subcarriers set to multiples of 15 kHz, mapping a beam reference signal for identifying the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal to a symbol timing at which the synchronization signal is mapped, and transmitting the synchronization signal and the beam reference signal to a terminal. The BS maps a beamforming applied synchronization signal to a resource block consisting of subcarriers that are set to multiples of 15 kHz. The BS maps a BRS to a symbol timing mapped with the synchronization signal, in order to identify the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal. BRS may be mapped to eight successive subcarriers among 12 subcarriers, and in this case, another signal may be transmitted or no signal may be transmitted to the remaining four subcarriers. The BS transmits the BRS that enables the BS to identify the synchronization signal to which the beamforming is applied and the beamforming applied to the synchronization signal at the same symbol timing to the terminal).
Regarding claim 30, Lee et al. teach wherein the control signaling comprises a system information signal, a radio resource control signal, or a combination thereof (Figs. 25 [0078-0081], a physical DL control channel described below may mean the PDCCH, mean the EPDCCH, or mean both the PDCCH and the EPDCCH. In addition, for convenience of description and ease of understanding, the EPDCCH, which is an embodiment of the present invention, may also be applied to a portion described with the PDCCH, and the PDCCH may also be applied to a portion described with the EPDCCH as an embodiment. Meanwhile, high layer signaling described below includes radio resource control (RRC) signaling which transmits RRC information including an RRC parameter. The eNB performs DL transmission to terminals. The eNB may transmit a PDSCH which is a main physical channel for unicast transmission, DL control information such as scheduling required to receive the PDSCH, and a PDCCH for transmitting scheduling approval information for transmission through an UL data channel).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Lee et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving control signaling that indicates a mapping between each beamformed synchronization signal of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the plurality of beamformed synchronization signals of the second set of beamformed synchronization signals. wherein the control signaling comprises a radio resource control signal. The motivation is to support an improved method of an ultra-high frequency mobile communication system (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 4-5, 17-18 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Agiwal et al. (US 2025/0016739 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; regarding claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: in response to a reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being greater than the reference signal receive power threshold, transmitting the single beamformed wake-up signal as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; and in response to the reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being less than the reference signal receive power threshold, transmitting the plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; regarding claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; regarding claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: in response to a reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being greater than the reference signal receive power threshold, receiving the single beamformed wake-up signal as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; and in response to the reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being less than the reference signal receive power threshold, receiving the plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; regarding claim 26, further comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals.
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Figs. 3A and 36, [0044, 0047, 0177-0178], processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, for example, processes for on demand paging as discussed in greater detail below. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator. UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS periodically or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when a time since the last transmission of an LP WUS in the camped cell exceeds a certain threshold (configurable by gNB 604) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when UE 602 enters (e.g., selects or reselects a cell) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is above a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold 1 and greater than a threshold 2. The thresholds can be configured/signaled by gNB 604 to UE 602. In case of beamforming, the transmission of step 612 is in the direction/coverage of gNB 604's best TX beam (based on an SSB or received LP SS)).
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: in response to a reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being greater than the reference signal receive power threshold, transmitting the single beamformed wake-up signal as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; and in response to the reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being less than the reference signal receive power threshold, transmitting the plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Figs. 3A and 36, [0044, 0047, 0185, 0192], processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, for example, processes for on demand paging as discussed in greater detail below. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator. The gNB 604 transmits an LP WUS and paging. In case of beamforming, gNB 604 transmits the LP WUS and paging in the direction/coverage of TX beams(s)/SSB(s)/LP SS(s) indicated by each received LP WUS. In case of beamforming where the LP WUS is transmitted in N*X occasions, UE 602 may monitor these sequentially until the LP WUS is received or UE 602 may monitor the occasions corresponding to a suitable (RSRP above a configured threshold)/best transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS where the suitable/best transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS is identified based on a measurement of the transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS).
Regarding claim 17, Agiwal et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Figs. 3A and 36, [0044, 0047, 0177-0178], processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, for example, processes for on demand paging as discussed in greater detail below. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator. UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS periodically or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when a time since the last transmission of an LP WUS in the camped cell exceeds a certain threshold (configurable by gNB 604) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when UE 602 enters (e.g., selects or reselects a cell) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is above a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold 1 and greater than a threshold 2. The thresholds can be configured/signaled by gNB 604 to UE 602. In case of beamforming, the transmission of step 612 is in the direction/coverage of gNB 604's best TX beam (based on an SSB or received LP SS)).
Regarding claim 18, Agiwal et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: in response to a reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being greater than the reference signal receive power threshold, receiving the single beamformed wake-up signal as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; and in response to the reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being less than the reference signal receive power threshold, receiving the plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Figs. 3A and 36, [0044, 0047, 0185, 0192], processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, for example, processes for on demand paging as discussed in greater detail below. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator. The gNB 604 transmits an LP WUS and paging. In case of beamforming, gNB 604 transmits the LP WUS and paging in the direction/coverage of TX beams(s)/SSB(s)/LP SS(s) indicated by each received LP WUS. In case of beamforming where the LP WUS is transmitted in N*X occasions, UE 602 may monitor these sequentially until the LP WUS is received or UE 602 may monitor the occasions corresponding to a suitable (RSRP above a configured threshold)/best transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS where the suitable/best transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS is identified based on a measurement of the transmitted beam/SSB/LPSS).
Regarding claim 26, Agiwal et al. teach further comprising: receiving control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Figs. 3A and 36, [0044, 0047, 0177-0178], processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, for example, processes for on demand paging as discussed in greater detail below. The processor 340 can move data into or out of the memory 360 as required by an executing process. In some embodiments, the processor 340 is configured to execute the applications 362 based on the OS 361 or in response to signals received from gNBs or an operator. UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS periodically or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when a time since the last transmission of an LP WUS in the camped cell exceeds a certain threshold (configurable by gNB 604) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when UE 602 enters (e.g., selects or reselects a cell) or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is above a threshold or UE 602 may transmit the LP WUS when the RSRP of cell is below a threshold 1 and greater than a threshold 2. The thresholds can be configured/signaled by gNB 604 to UE 602. In case of beamforming, the transmission of step 612 is in the direction/coverage of gNB 604's best TX beam (based on an SSB or received LP SS)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Agiwal et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving control signaling that indicates a reference signal receive power threshold for transmitting a single beamformed wake-up signal or a plurality of beamformed wake-up signals as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals and transmitting the single beamformed wake-up signal as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; and in response to the reference signal receive power associated with one or more beamformed synchronization signals of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals being less than the reference signal receive power threshold. The motivation is to support an improved method of receiving, from a BS, a signal, and generating, based on the received signal, a paging request (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) and Agiwal et al. (US 2025/0016739 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Rostami et al. (US 2021/0127335 A1).
Islam et al., Sarkis et al. and Agiwal et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al., Sarkis et al. and Agiwal et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a selected wake-up signal sequence of a plurality of wake-up signal sequences, the selected wake-up signal sequence based at least in part on a quantity of beamformed wake-up signals transmitted as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals; regarding claim 19, wherein receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a selected wake-up signal sequence of a plurality of wake-up signal sequences, the selected wake-up signal sequence based at least in part on a quantity of beamformed wake-up signals received as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals.
Regarding claim 6, Rostami et al. teach wherein transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a selected wake-up signal sequence of a plurality of wake-up signal sequences, the selected wake-up signal sequence based at least in part on a quantity of beamformed wake-up signals transmitted as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Fig. 5-6, [0072-0073], the network node 500 may comprise a transceiver 502 and a processing unit 504. The processing unit 504 may be configured to generate the sequence 600 of WUS instances, and the transceiver 502 may be configured to transmit the sequence 600 of WUS instances to the user node by using a burst transmission. The sequence 600 of WUS instances comprises five WUS instances for the WUS 200 or the WUS 202, there may be more or fewer WUS instances in the sequence 600 of WUS instances in different situations. In any case, a total number of WUS instances is at least two. The reason for this may be that two or more WUS instances reduce the probability of occurrence of the above-mentioned WUS misdetection and false alarm because the user node has at least two “tries” to decode and identify the WUS correctly).
Regarding claim 19, Rostami et al. teach wherein receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a selected wake-up signal sequence of a plurality of wake-up signal sequences, the selected wake-up signal sequence based at least in part on a quantity of beamformed wake-up signals received as the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Fig. 5-6, [0072-0073], the network node 500 may comprise a transceiver 502 and a processing unit 504. The processing unit 504 may be configured to generate the sequence 600 of WUS instances, and the transceiver 502 may be configured to transmit the sequence 600 of WUS instances to the user node by using a burst transmission. The sequence 600 of WUS instances comprises five WUS instances for the WUS 200 or the WUS 202, there may be more or fewer WUS instances in the sequence 600 of WUS instances in different situations. In any case, a total number of WUS instances is at least two. The reason for this may be that two or more WUS instances reduce the probability of occurrence of the above-mentioned WUS misdetection and false alarm because the user node has at least two “tries” to decode and identify the WUS correctly).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Rostami et al. et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a selected wake-up signal sequence of a plurality of wake-up signal sequences. The motivation is to support an improved method to a network node and a user node both so configured as to enhance power consumption of the user node (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (US 2020/0112919 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates additional information for the monitoring of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information comprising a time window, a frequency location, one or more candidate beam directions, or any combination thereof; regarding claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates additional information for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information comprising a time window, a frequency location, one or more candidate beam directions, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Nam et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive control signaling that indicates additional information for the monitoring of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information comprising a time window, a frequency location, one or more candidate beam directions, or any combination thereof (Figs. 1 and 10, [0092, 0164], UE communications manager 1015, or its sub-components, may be implemented in hardware, code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor, or any combination thereof. If implemented in code executed by a processor, the functions of the UE communications manager 1015, or its sub-components may be executed by a general-purpose processor. Base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station 105. Some signals, such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115)).
Regarding claim 20, Nam et al. teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit control signaling that indicates additional information for a user equipment (UE) to monitor for the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information comprising a time window, a frequency location, one or more candidate beam directions, or any combination thereof (Figs. 1 and 10, [0092, 0164], UE communications manager 1015, or its sub-components, may be implemented in hardware, code (e.g., software or firmware) executed by a processor, or any combination thereof. If implemented in code executed by a processor, the functions of the UE communications manager 1015, or its sub-components may be executed by a general-purpose processor. Base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission. Transmissions in different beam directions may be used to identify (e.g., by the base station 105 or a receiving device, such as a UE 115) a beam direction for subsequent transmission and/or reception by the base station 105. Some signals, such as data signals associated with a particular receiving device, may be transmitted by a base station 105 in a single beam direction (e.g., a direction associated with the receiving device, such as a UE 115)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Nam et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving control signaling that indicates additional information for the monitoring of the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information comprising a time window, a frequency location, one or more candidate beam directions, or any combination thereof. The motivation is to support an improved method that support discontinuous reception wakeup operation with multiple component carriers (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) and Nam et al. (US 2020/0112919 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. (US 20220030439 A1) (Taherzadeh et al. hereinafter).
Islam et al., Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al., Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein a quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a UE capability, a reference signal receive power associated with the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information, or any combination thereof; regarding claim 21, wherein a quantity of directional beams associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a UE capability, a reference signal receive power associated with the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Taherzadeh et al. teach wherein a quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a UE capability, a reference signal receive power associated with the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information, or any combination thereof (Fig. 6, [0056-0058], as illustrated in the example timing diagram 600, beamforming may also be applied to WUS transmissions. For example, a set of N (e.g., out of up to 64 SSBs) beams may be configured for a UE. The value of N, and the directions of N beams, may be UE (or group)-specifically determined by gNB (e.g., as a function of link quality, UE mobility, UE capability, C-DRX cycle length, etc.)).
Regarding claim 21, Taherzadeh et al. teach wherein a quantity of directional beams associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based at least in part on a UE capability, a reference signal receive power associated with the first set of beamformed synchronization signals, the additional information, or any combination thereof (Fig. 6, [0056-0058], as illustrated in the example timing diagram 600, beamforming may also be applied to WUS transmissions. For example, a set of N (e.g., out of up to 64 SSBs) beams may be configured for a UE. The value of N, and the directions of N beams, may be UE (or group)-specifically determined by gNB (e.g., as a function of link quality, UE mobility, UE capability, C-DRX cycle length, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Nam et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of a using quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is based on a UE capability. The motivation is to support an improved method to techniques for coverage enhancement information indication via wake-up signaling (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 9 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2019/0059129 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 9, wherein a first quantity of directional transmission beams associated with transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is greater than a second quantity of directional receive beams associated with monitoring the first set of beamformed synchronization signals; Regarding claim 22, wherein a first quantity of directional beams associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is greater than a second quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals.
Regarding claim 9, Luo et al. teach wherein a first quantity of directional transmission beams associated with transmitting the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is greater than a second quantity of directional receive beams associated with monitoring the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Fig. 1, [0080, 0082, 0102], a base station may use a number of antenna ports associated with arrays of antennas for directional receive beam configurations at the base station and one or more directional or beamformed downlink transmissions. Similarly, a UE may utilize beamforming for directional receive beams at the UE and for beamformed uplink transmission to the base station. Accordingly, both the UE and base station may use beamforming techniques for wakeup signal reception and transmission over one or more transmit beams. The base station and UE may cooperate in a beam update procedure for the wakeup signal. For example, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal using a set of transmit beams (e.g., two, three, etc., transmit beams) that are beamformed towards the UE. Base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission).
Regarding claim 22, Luo et al. teach wherein a first quantity of directional beams associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is greater than a second quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals (Fig. 1, [0080, 0082, 0102], a base station may use a number of antenna ports associated with arrays of antennas for directional receive beam configurations at the base station and one or more directional or beamformed downlink transmissions. Similarly, a UE may utilize beamforming for directional receive beams at the UE and for beamformed uplink transmission to the base station. Accordingly, both the UE and base station may use beamforming techniques for wakeup signal reception and transmission over one or more transmit beams. The base station and UE may cooperate in a beam update procedure for the wakeup signal. For example, the base station may transmit the wakeup signal using a set of transmit beams (e.g., two, three, etc., transmit beams) that are beamformed towards the UE. Base station 105 may use multiple antennas or antenna arrays to conduct beamforming operations for directional communications with a UE 115. For instance, some signals (e.g., synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a base station 105 multiple times in different directions, which may include a signal being transmitted according to different beamforming weight sets associated with different directions of transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Luo et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of associating directional beams with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals is greater than a second quantity of directional beams associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method to support beam management for connected discontinuous reception with advanced grant indicator (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 11 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2020/0244338 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with transmitting the second set of beamformed synchronization signals; regarding claim 28, wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals.
Regarding claim 11, Raghavan et al. teach wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with transmitting the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Fig. 1, [0080], Beamforming operations may include beam management techniques at a transmitting device (e.g., the base station 105) and the receiving device (e.g., the UE 115). In some examples, beam management techniques may be based on different beam widths. For example, beam management may use a P1/P2/P3 procedure, with a P1 beam having a wider beam width than a P2 or a P3 beam , e.g., begin with a wide beam-width and hierarchically move to a narrower beam-width on base station side with a P2 beam and at the UE side with a P3 beam. In some examples, the P1 beam may be performed over a secondary synchronization signal block (SSB), whereas a P2/P3 procedure may be performed over a channel state information reference signal (CSI RS).
Regarding claim 28, Raghavan et al. teach wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Fig. 1, [0080], Beamforming operations may include beam management techniques at a transmitting device (e.g., the base station 105) and the receiving device (e.g., the UE 115). In some examples, beam management techniques may be based on different beam widths. For example, beam management may use a P1/P2/P3 procedure, with a P1 beam having a wider beam width than a P2 or a P3 beam , e.g., begin with a wide beam-width and hierarchically move to a narrower beam-width on base station side with a P2 beam and at the UE side with a P3 beam. In some examples, the P1 beam may be performed over a secondary synchronization signal block (SSB), whereas a P2/P3 procedure may be performed over a channel state information reference signal (CSI RS).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Raghavan et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting first beam width associated with the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with transmitting the second set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method to support beam management for techniques provide capability for coordinated beam training between multiple transmitting devices (see [0006]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Islam et al. (US 2017/0289932 A1) (Islam’932 hereinafter).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein a same one or more directional beams are associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the second set of beamformed synchronization signals.
Regarding claim 12, Islam’932 teach wherein a same one or more directional beams are associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the second set of beamformed synchronization signals (Fig. 2, [0057], base station 105-a may configure a first set of beam directions for synchronization signals to be broadcast to a UEs 115-a and 115-b. Base station 105-a may transmit the synchronization signals by beamforming using interleaved sweeping. The base station may schedule to transmit a first set of synchronization signals over a first symbol period of a synchronization subframe and a second set of synchronization signals over a second symbol period of the synchronization subframe. For the first set of synchronization signals, base station 105-a may transmit the synchronization signals in a first set of beams directions (e.g., beams 205-a and 205-b), where the first set of beams 205-a and 205-b may correspond to a part of a first set of beam directions. For the second symbol period, base station 105-a may transmit the second set of synchronization signals in a second set of beams (e.g., beams 210-a and 210-b), where the second set of beams 210-a and 210-b may correspond to a part of a second set of beam directions. The second set of beam directions may interleave with the first set of beam directions. For example, beam 210-a may be spatially in between beam 205-a and beam 205-b, and beam 205-b may be spatially in between beam 210-a and beam 210-b).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Islam’932 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of associating directional beams with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals and the second set of beamformed synchronization signals. The motivation is to support an improved method to support beam management for techniques provide capability for transmitting a first plurality of synchronization signals (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0349204 A1).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals or the second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprises transmitting one or more repetitions of synchronization signal blocks over a single transmission beam.
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura et al. teach wherein transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals or the second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprises transmitting one or more repetitions of synchronization signal blocks over a single transmission beam (Fig. 1A, [0086, 0108, 0121-0122], when beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The first SSBs need not be transmitted periodically. A specific number of (M) repetition transmissions of a first SSB may be performed in each specific time period. The specific time period may be one frame or longer or may be 20 ms or longer. M repetition transmissions of a first SSB and N repetition transmissions of a second SSB may be performed in each specific time period. The specific time period may be specific periodicity×(M+N) or longer. The first SSBs (primary SSBs) may be existing (Rel-15/16 NR) SSBs. The first SSBs may be transmitted periodically. The first SSBs may be a first set of SSBs.).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. and Nam et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Matsumura et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals or the second set of beamformed synchronization signals comprises transmitting one or more repetitions of synchronization signal blocks over a single transmission beam. The motivation is to support an improved method to a terminal, a radio communication method, and a base station in next-generation mobile communication systems (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2019/0053321 A1) in view of Sarkis et al. (US 2020/0314755 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10 and 23 above, and further in view of Islam et al. (US 2019/0053162 A1) (Islam’162 hereinafter).
Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Islam et al. and Sarkis et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 14, wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals.
Regarding claim 14, Islam’162 teach wherein a first beam width associated with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals (Fig. 1, [0054], a gNB may use a pseudo-omni transmit beam to wake up a UE operating in a DRX mode. For example, the UE may be operating in a DRX mode and the gNB may have data available for the UE. The gNB may configure and transmit a wakeup message to the UE using a first transmit beam, e.g., a pseudo-omni transmit beam. The first transmit beam may include a beamformed beam having a wide beam width, e.g., a beam width wider than the beam width used for beam management and/or data communications with the UE, but narrower than a fully omni-directional transmit beam. The gNB may also transmit beam management transmissions to the UE, e.g., channel state information reference signal(s) (CSI-RS(s)) and/or synchronization signal(s), in a second set of signals during a beam management procedure. In some aspects, the second set of signals may be transmitted using a second set of transmit beams. The UE may try different receive beam configurations for the beam management transmission(s) to identify a UE receive beam to use for communicating with the gNB. In some instances, the UE may respond by transmitting a signal, e.g., a beam recovery message, to the gNB. In other instances, the UE may respond to the wakeup message by transmitting the signal to the gNB. In some instances, the signal may carry or otherwise convey an indication of the UE receive beam and/or a beam management transmission beam index. The gNB may receive the signal and identify a second transmit beam to use for transmitting the data to the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Islam et al. with Sarkis et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Islam’162 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of associating a first beam width with transmitting the first set of beamformed synchronization signals is wider than a second beam width associated with receiving the one or more beamformed wake-up signals. The motivation is to support an improved method for supporting a wake up procedure using a pseudo-omni beam (see [0006]).
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
2/8/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473