DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 13-15 have been amended. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/11/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and claims dependent therefrom have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20090034370) in view of Tai (US20120007471) and Otsuka (US20190162832).
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches an ultrasound probe comprising ([0035-0037]):
at least one vibrator (115) having a first surface which is located on a side on which the vibrator transmits and receives an ultrasound wave and a second surface opposite to the first surface (Figs. 1-3, [0003-0004], [0044], wherein PZT elements 115 are elements which vibrate);
a support portion (110) that supports the second surface (Figs. 1 & 3, [0041]);
an acoustic lens (144) that is disposed on a side opposite to a support portion side with respect to the vibrator (115) (Figs. 1-2, [0050]);
an acoustic matching portion (140, 142) that is disposed between the vibrator (115) and the acoustic lens (144) (Figs. 1-3, [0050]); and
a connection portion (120, 121) that connects a first range (142) and the support portion (110) to each other, the first range (142) being at least a partial range of the acoustic matching portion (140, 142) in a first direction (longitudinal direction) from the acoustic lens (144) toward the vibrator (115) (Figs. 1 & 3, [0045]),
wherein the connection portion (120, 121) directly contacts the support portion (110) (Figs. 1 & 3, [0045], “Metallic members such as sheets or plates 120, 121… may be bonded in any known way on either side of the backing block”), and
wherein the connection portion (120, 121) may be formed of aluminum ([0045]).
However, Guo fails to teach wherein the support portion, the connection portion, and the first range have the same thermal conductivity and the same acoustic impedance.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Tai and Otsuka teaches such a feature. Tai teaches wherein matching layers (205, 206) may be formed of aluminum (Fig. 2, [0045-0046]).
Otsuka similarly teaches wherein a backing layer (4) or support portion may be formed of aluminum ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to have the matching layers and backing layer be formed of aluminum as taught by Tai ([0045-0046]) and Otsuka ([0029]). Matching layers, such as those formed of aluminum, may have relative higher acoustic impedance and thermal conductivity which can improve thermal and/or acoustic properties of the ultrasound transducer as recognized by Tai ([0044]). Moreover, backing layer formed of aluminum may have an inhomogeneous structure capable of absorbing and scattering ultrasound from the vibrator as recognized by Otsuka ([0029]), thereby helping damping backward-propagating ultrasound. Because Guo teaches wherein the connection portion is similarly formed of aluminum ([0045]), Guo modified by the teachings of Tai and Otsuka to have the matching layer (first range) and backing layer (support portion) also comprise aluminum would predictably result wherein the support portion, the connection portion, and the first range have the same thermal conductivity and the same acoustic impedance as they are formed of the same material.
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
Guo further teaches wherein the connection portion (120, 121) is made of aluminum ([0045]).
However, Guo fails to teach wherein the first range, the connection portion, and the support portion are made of the same material.
In an analogous ultrasound transducer field of endeavor, Tai and Otsuka teaches such a feature. Tai teaches wherein matching layers (205, 206) may be formed of aluminum (Fig. 2, [0045-0046]).
Otsuka similarly teaches wherein a backing layer (4) or support portion may be formed of aluminum ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to have the matching layers and backing layer be formed of aluminum as taught by Tai ([0045-0046]) and Otsuka ([0029]). Matching layers, such as those formed of aluminum, may have relative higher acoustic impedance and thermal conductivity which can improve thermal and/or acoustic properties of the ultrasound transducer as recognized by Tai ([0044]). Moreover, backing layer formed of aluminum may have an inhomogeneous structure capable of absorbing and scattering ultrasound from the vibrator as recognized by Otsuka ([0029]), thereby helping damping backward-propagating ultrasound.
Regarding claim 3, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 2.
Guo further teaches wherein the first range (142) includes a contact surface which is in contact with the acoustic lens (144) (Fig. 1, [0050]).
Regarding claims 7, 8, and 9, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
Guo further teaches wherein the connection portion (120, 121) is in contact with the acoustic lens (144) (Fig. 1 & 3, [0052], “the metallic plates 120, 121 could be allowed to extend along and be glued or otherwise attached to the outer edges of one or both (or all) of the matching layers 140, 141”, wherein the connection portion 120, 121 extending along the matching layers 140, 142 as shown in figure 3 would result in the connection portion 120, 121 being in contact with the acoustic lens 144, as figure 1 and ¶ [0050] shows/teaches wherein the lens 144 is mounted on the matching layer 142).
Regarding claims 10, 11, and 12, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
Guo further teaches wherein the acoustic matching portion (140, 142) includes a plurality of layers (140, 142) laminated in the first direction (longitudinal direction), and the first range (142) is a layer of the acoustic matching portion (140, 142) closest to the acoustic lens (144) among the plurality of layers (Figs. 1 & 3, [0050]).
Regarding claim 19, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the invention as claimed above in claim 1.
However, Guo fails to explicitly teach an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising the ultrasound probe according to claim 1.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Otsuka teaches such a feature. Otsuka teaches an ultrasonic probe (1) including vibrators, a backing layer (4), a thermally conducting member (5), a heat dissipation member (6), and an acoustic lens (7) (Figs. 1-3, [0022]). Otsuka teaches an ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus (100) including the probe (1) and a main unit (101) (Fig. 1, [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to have an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus include the ultrasound probe as taught by Otsuka (Fig. 1, [0012]). The apparatus may predictably transmit and receive signals to/from the ultrasound probe for the generation and display of ultrasound images as recognized by Otsuka ([0013-0016]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20090034370) in view of Tai (US20120007471) and Otsuka (US20190162832) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Sliwa (US5560362).
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 6, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
Guo further teaches wherein the at least one vibrator (115) includes a plurality of vibrators (115), and the plurality of vibrators (115) are arranged in a second direction along a plane intersecting the first direction (Figs. 1-2, [0036], wherein figure 2 shows the plurality of vibrators 115 arranged in a second direction (azimuthal direction) along a plane intersecting the first direction (longitudinal)).
However, Guo fails to teach a length of the connection portion in a third direction which is a direction extending along the plane and intersecting the second direction is greater than a length of the first range in the first direction.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Sliwa teaches such a feature. Sliwa teaches an ultrasound probe (1) with thermally conducting members (14, 15) comprising connection portions (Figs 1-2, Column 3 line 66 – Column 4 line 12). Sliwa teaches wherein the thermal member (15) may be made thick (thicker) and thus more thermally conductive (Column 4 lines 9-11). Sliwa therefore teaches increasing a length of a connection portion (thermal member) in a third direction (thickness direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to increase the thickness of the thermal member or connection portion as taught by Sliwa (Column 4 lines 9-11). By increasing the thickness, the component may be more thermally conductive as recognized by Sliwa (Column 4 lines 9-11). Modifying Guo with the teachings of Sliwa to increase the thickness of the thermal member would predictably result in thickening of the connection portions (120, 121) of Guo such that a length of the connection portion (120, 121) in a third direction may be greater than a length of the first range (142) in the first direction.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20090034370) in view of Tai (US20120007471) and Otsuka (US20190162832) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Okuda (US20180296195).
Regarding claims 13, 14, and 15, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
Guo further teaches wherein the at least one vibrator (115) includes a plurality of vibrators (115), and the plurality of vibrators (115) are arranged in a second direction along a plane intersecting the first direction (Figs. 1-2, [0036], wherein figure 2 shows the plurality of vibrators 115 arranged in a second direction (azimuthal direction) along a plane intersecting the first direction (longitudinal)).
However, Guo fails to teach wherein the ultrasound probe further comprises a heat dissipation member that is disposed to face end surfaces of the support portion and of the connection portion in a third direction which is a direction extending along the plane and intersecting the second direction, and at least one of the support portion or the connection portion is connected to the heat dissipation member.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Okuda teaches such a feature. Okuda teaches an ultrasound probe (220) (Figs. 1-2 & 4A, [0027], [0053]). Okuda teaches wherein the ultrasound probe includes first and second heat conduction members (301, 302) on each side of a support portion (224) (Fig. 5, [0059-0060], [0066-0067]). Moreover, Okuda teaches wherein the first heat conduction member (301) comprises a connection portion for connecting a vibrator (100) including a matching layer (130) to the support portion (224) (Fig. 5, [0039]). Okuda teaches the second heat conduction member (302) is disposed to face end surfaces of the support portion (224) and of the connection portion (301) in a third direction, and wherein the second heat conduction member (302) is connected to the support portion (224) and connection portion (301) (Fig. 5). Okuda teaches wherein heat dissipates from the heat conduction member (302) to a shield (223) and to the outside(Fig. 5, [0067], [0081]). Okuda therefore teaches a heat dissipation member (heat conduction member 302) facing end surfaces of a support portion and connection portion and wherein the heat dissipation member (302) is connected to the support and connection portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to include another heat dissipation member on the side surfaces of the transducer assembly as taught by Okuda (Fig. 5, [0066-0067]). A second heat dissipation member may predictably aid in further dissipation of heat to the outside air as recognized by Okuda ([0067], [0081]). Moreover, adding of the additional layer of heat dissipation to the side surfaces would predictably result in the heat dissipation member being connected to the connection portion (120, 121 of Guo) and/or support portion (110 of Guo) for the purposes of heat diffusion.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (US20090034370) in view of Tai (US20120007471) and Otsuka (US20190162832) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Wang (WO2020062272, translation provided).
Regarding claims 16, 17, and 18, Guo in view of Tai and Otsuka teaches the inventions as claimed above in claims 1, 2, and 3 respectively.
However, Guo fails to teach wherein the support portion has an end part on a side opposite to the vibrator; the end part of the support portion has a shape that allows an ultrasound wave radiated from the vibrator to the side of the end part to be scattered.
In an analogous ultrasound probe field of endeavor, Wang teaches such a feature. Wang teaches an ultrasound probe (1) including an acoustic lens (2), an acoustic matching layer (3), a piezoelectric layer (4) (vibrator), backing block (5) comprising a support portion, and a heat dissipation base (6) (Figs. 2-1 to 2-3, [0045]). Wang teaches that the heat dissipation base (6) extends into the backing block or support portion (5) (Figs. 2 to 6, [0045], [0052]). As shown in figures 2 to 6, the support portion (5) has an end part on a side opposite the vibrator (4), the end part of the support portion (5) having a shape (triangular cross-section) which allows ultrasound waves radiated from the vibrator to the side of the end part to be scattered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Guo to have the backing layer or support portion be shaped to have a heat sink extend into it as taught by Wang (Figs. 2 to 6, [0045], [0052]). By having such an arrangement, heat may more effectively be dissipated to the rear end of the probe, improving heat dissipation and ensuring normal use of the ultrasound probe for longer as recognized by Wang ([0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMMY T LY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797