EDETAILED ACTION
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
An aqueous heat-sealable resin composition comprising
a urethane resin (A) which is a product of reaction components including:
A polyether polyol (a1)
A polyisocyanate (a2)
A chain extender (a3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer et al. (US 2013/0149510).
With respect to claim 1, Meyer teaches an aqueous heat-sealable resin composition compromising a urethane resin composition formed from reaction components including a polyol, a polyisocyanate, and chain extender (see Claim 3; ¶¶ [0043] – [0047]). Accordingly, Meyer teaches the limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Meyer expressly teaches hydroxyethyl acrylate and hydroxyethyl methacrylate functional monomers (see [0050]), which correspond to the claimed (meth)acrylic acid hydroxyalkyl ester. Accordingly, Meyer teaches the limitations of claim 2.
With respect to claim 4, Meyer teaches laminate/composite foil substrates coated with aqueous polyurethane dispersion composition (see ¶¶ [0068] – [0075], Claims 13-14), thereby teaching the claimed laminate having a coating on at least one surface of a substrate. Accordingly, Meyer teaches the limitations of claim 4.
With respect to claim 6, Meyer teaches hydroxyethyl acrylate and hydroxyethyl methacrylate functional monomers corresponding to the claimed (meth)acrylic acid hydroxyalkyl ester (¶ [0050]) and further teaches laminate/composite foil substrates coated with aqueous polyurethane dispersion composition (see ¶¶ [0068] – [0075], Claims 13-14). Accordingly, Meyer teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2013/0149510) in view of Tago et al. (US 2022/0251379).
Meyer teaches an aqueous heat-sealable resin composition comprising a urethane resin formed from reaction components including a polyether polyol (a1), a polyisocyanate (a2), and a chain extender (a3) as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
However, Meyer does not teach the claimed wax component.
Tago teaches polyurethane resin compositions further comprising wax (see Claim 1, and 7-11; ¶¶ [0250] - [0252], Tables 1-16). Tago teaches incorporating wax into polyurethane resin compositions and provides numerous working examples containing wax. Tago further provides experimental data evaluating polyurethane resin compositions containing wax and resulting properties of the compositions, including humidity heat bloom resistance, demodability, discoloration resistance, and transparency (see ¶¶ [0269] – [0291]; Tables 1-16). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the wax taught by Tago into the aqueous polyurethane resin composition of Meyer in order to obtain predictable result of polyurethane resin composition containing wax and exhibiting the properties taught by Tago. The combination involves the predictable use of known wax additive in know polyurethane resin composition according to the established function. Accordingly, claim 3 would have been obvious over Meyer in view of Tago.
With respect to claim 5, Meyer teaches the composition of claim 2, including (meth) acrylic acid hydroxyalkyl ester component, and Tago teaches polyurethane resin compositions further comprising a wax component. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the Meyer composition to include the wax component taught by Tago. Accordingly, claim 5 would have been obvious over Meyer in view of Tago.
Conclusion
/PATRICK ROY THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ARRIE L REUTHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764