DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vailancourt (US 4512766).
Regarding claim 1, Vailancourt discloses an apparatus (fig. 1) comprising:
a hub (catheter hub 10 in fig. 1) that defines a cavity (chamber 11);
a catheter (catheter tube 19 in fig. 1) that comprises a lumen (fig. 1 shows the catheter tube 19 as having a lumen which can receive needle 23);
a core attached to the catheter (insert member 20 in fig. 1 is attached to the proximal end of catheter 19), the core comprising a valve actuation tip (annular edge 35 in fig. 2), wherein at least a portion of the core is configured to be positioned within the cavity of the hub (fig. 1); and
a valving member (valve member 30 in fig. 1) comprising an attachment portion that is fixedly attached to the core (see below, the portion below surrounds and contacts insert member 20 and is fixed against distal movement due to flange 21; 5:12-16) and a valve positioned distal to a proximal end of the cavity and proximal to the valve actuation tip of the core (see below, the valve below is distal to a proximal-most end of cavity 11 and is proximal to edge 35), the valve being movable relative to the core such that as at least a portion of the valve moves distally, interaction between the valve and the valve actuation tip opens the valve to establish fluid communication between the cavity of the hub and the lumen of the catheter (fig. 2 shows that when the valve below is moved distally, edge 35 opens slit 37 of the valve which would establish fluid communication between the cavity and the lumen of catheter 19 via the lumen of insert member 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vailancourt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burkholz (US 9750928).
Regarding claim 2, Vailancourt discloses all of the claimed limitations set forth in claim 1, as discussed above. While it appears necessary that the core (insert member 20 in fig. 1) would be movable at some point in order assemble the core within the hub, Vailancourt does not explicitly teach or disclose that the core is movable relative to the hub from a retracted position to an advanced position.
Burkholz is directed towards a similar apparatus (fig. 4) comprising a hub (catheter adaptor 120 in fig. 4), a core (septum activator 130 in fig. 4) attached to a catheter (catheter 50 in fig. 4) and a valving member (septum 40 in fig. 4). Burkholz further teaches that the core is movable relative to the hub from a retracted position to an advanced position (9:31-45 discloses that the septum activator 130 is movable during assembly from a retracted, or “non-inserted”, position shown in fig. 5 to an advanced, or “inserted”, position shown in fig. 4 by inserting the septum activator 130 into the adapter 120 to secure catheter 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Vailancourt so that the core is movable relative to the hub from a retracted position to an advanced position during assembly, as taught by Burkholz, as Burkholz teaches that this movement is necessary to secure the catheter to the hub (9:35-37).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified apparatus of Vailancourt, Vailancourt discloses the hub is configured to securely couple with the core when the core is moved to the advanced position (3:67-4:7 discloses that when the insert member 20 is moved to the advanced, or “inserted”, position shown in fig. 1, the insert member 20 secures the catheter 19 in bore 17 of the hub 10 in a “tight interference fit”).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY B FREDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783