DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC § 102/103.
Applicant argues:
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant respectfully submits that Coustaud fails to render obvious the features "output, as afirst display image [...J, wherein the side viewpoint image shows a part of the organ and at least one target tissue internal the organ, and the side viewpoint image is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section" in the currently presented claim 1.
On pages 5-6 of the Office Action, the Office Coustaud's C4 L13-20, C6 L1-5, C8 L10- 25 and L40-50, and C16 L10-20 disclosed the features "the side viewpoint image shows a part of the organ and at least one target tissue internal the organ" in claim 1.
Referring to Coustaud's C6 L1-5, Coustaud teaches that the virtual environment displays external view(s) of an anatomy of interest, internal view(s) of an anatomy of interest (e.g., inside organs, vessels, along endoscopic viewing angles, etc.), combinations of internal and external views, etc. The internal view of the anatomy of interest of Coustaud is interpreted as the claimed target tissue internal the organ by the Office.
However, Coustaud does not teach or suggest that the side viewpoint image is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section, as claimed. The claimed side viewpoint image is a projection of an organ, i.e., a 2D image, which differs from the 3D image volume of Coustaud.
In particular, Coustaud's disclosures (e.g., C4 L13-20; C8 L10-25; C16 L4-20 of Coustaud) relate to providing multiple viewing angles, selectable slices, and user-adjustable representations of volumetric data. These teachings merely enable a user to extract or manipulate arbitrary 2D slices from a 3D volume or to adjust visualization parameters of separate representations. For example, Fig. 10 of Coustaud illustrates the selection and removal of a slice from a 3D volume, which corresponds to isolating a planar cross-section rather than generating a rendered projection from a side viewpoint.
Coustaud does not illustrate any images indicating the projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the image slice 810 (interpreted as the claimed cut section by the Office).
Examiner replies that:
Applicants arguments are not found persuasive. Applicant argues “Coustaud does not teach or suggest that the side viewpoint image is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section” and indicates several of Coustauds teachings, but the arguments do not articulate why the limitation is not taught by Coustaud. As indicated in the rejection:
“the side viewpoint image” – Coustaud has a slice, which is a cut in the body.
“is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane” Coustad has a slice, the slice is taken from the 3D image volume. The slice is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint, and it is on a movable plane.
“ which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section” – The slice from Coustaud can be moved by the user into any angle/position, including parallel to the normal line of the cut section as shown in Fig. 8 where there is a slice in each hand and they can be moved in space. In Fig. 8-10 the slice is parallel or substantially parallel to the normal line as it does not intersect the normal line.
Therefore Coustaud does teach “that the side viewpoint image is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section” and the amendment is not found to overcome Coustaud.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coustaud U.S. Patent/PG Publication 11062527.
Regarding claim 1 (independent):
An image processing device comprising: a processor, (Coustaud An example medical image visualization and interaction apparatus includes at least one processor and at least one memory including instructions. The instructions, when executed, cause the at least one processor to at least: generate a virtual environment for display of image content via a virtual reality display device)
wherein the processor is configured to receive a setting of a cut section with respect to an organ shown by a three-dimensional image, (Coustaud C9 L10-30 FIGS. 8-10 illustrate various manipulations of image slices within and outside of a 3D image volume shown in the virtual environment 200. For example, FIG. 8 illustrates grasping and removing of a 2D image slice 810 from a 3D image volume 820 using the hand avatar 220 in the virtual environment 200.)
and output, as a first display image that is generated by rendering based on the three-dimensional image and shows the organ, a side viewpoint image having a side viewpoint at which the set cut section is viewed from a direction intersecting a normal line of the cut section, set as a viewpoint of the rendering (Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.).
wherein the side viewpoint image shows a part of the organ (Coustaud C4 L13-20 The immersive VR environment provides the user with an increased number of viewing angles and vantage points into a patient. Additionally, an ability to overlay different scans and virtual representations gives the user a unique visual context when viewing the images. The VR goggles can display internal views of organs and blood vessels in addition to the surface views. ) where the user can view the volume from the side. Alternative, there is a side viewpoint of slices when they have a thickness (Coustaud C8 L10-25 In certain examples, tools 230 such as a slice thickness adjustment tool can be provided to a user in the virtual environment 200. In certain examples, a slice thickness indicator can be displayed and manipulated by the user in the virtual environment 200 to adjust the displayed slice thickness. A slice selector can also be displayed as part of or separate from the menu of tools 230. For example, a user can select a slice from within a displayed 3D volume to focus operations, 2D slice views, combination between the 2D slice and the 3D volume, etc. In certain examples, slice selection and/or slice thickness adjustment can be facilitated via one or more tools 230 in the virtual environment 200 by sliding a bar, indicator, other slider, etc., to select a slice, expand or contract selected slice thickness, etc.)
and at least one target tissue internal the organ (Coustaud C6 L1-5 In certain examples, the virtual environment displays external view(s) of an anatomy of interest, internal view(s) of an anatomy of interest (e.g., inside organs, vessels, along endoscopic viewing angles, etc.), combinations of internal and external views, etc.)(Coustaud C16 L10-20 In certain examples, masks can be applied to display segmented anatomy(-ies). A MIP selection, orientation, window width, window level, etc., can be adjusted for one or more of the representations. Volume rendered opacity can be adjusted, for example. Masks can be applied to volume-rendered image(s) to display segmented anatomy(-ies), for example.)(Coustaud C8 L40-50 Different scans, different planes, etc., can be adjusted in the virtual environment 200. The user can interact with each individual representation (e.g., anatomic models, MIP views, 2D slice, MR image, CT image, etc.) to adjust thickness, opacity, position, overlay, measurement, annotation, etc., in the virtual environment 200.) since inside organs can be viewed, particularly with opacity adjustments.
And the side viewpoint image is a projection of the organ viewed from the side viewpoint onto a plane which is parallel to the normal line of the cut section (Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.).
Coustaud discloses the above elements in several embodiments. With the embodiments being disclosed in a single reference, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being aware of one embodiment would also have been aware of the others, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have combined these elements from two or more embodiments into a single arrangement for the benefit of enjoying the advantages of all the embodiments disclosed combined into a single arrangement.
Regarding claim 2:
The image processing device according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the processor is configured to output, as a second display image, a cross section image that shows a cross section of a human body including the organ and on which a position of the viewpoint of the first display image is displayed, and perform display control for displaying the first display image and the second display image in parallel on a display screen (Coustaud C8 L50-65 FIGS. 3-10 illustrate example implementations, modes, or snapshots of the example virtual environment 200 provided for user viewing and interaction. FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the virtual environment 200 in which a 2D image 310 is displayed with respect to a 3D volume 320. A dashed plane 330 illustrates a cut of the image 310 with respect to the 3D volume 320. The dashed plane 330 is movable in the virtual environment 200 (e.g., via the hand avatar 220, etc.) to show a particular 2D image cut 310 in the virtual environment 200.)(Coustaud Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3:
The image processing device according to claim 2, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the cross section image includes a plurality of cross section images that show respective cross sections of an axial cross section, a coronal cross section, and a sagittal cross section (Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example.) since the slice can be moved to show axial, coronal or sagittal cross sections over time. The claim does not require all to be displayed at the same time.
Regarding claim 4:
The image processing device according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the processor is configured to output a plurality of the side viewpoint images having different viewing directions in surroundings of the cut section, and switch and display the plurality of side viewpoint images as the first display image (Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.)(Coustaud Fig. 8-10).
Regarding claim 5:
The image processing device according to claim 4, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein, in a case where a head side in a body axis direction is an upside and an opposite side is a downside, the plurality of side viewpoint images include at least a first side viewpoint image obtained by viewing the cut section from the upside and a second side viewpoint image obtained by viewing the cut section from the downside (Coustaud C17 L25-40 In the 3D view in the virtual environment, however, the doctor can select/place plane(s)) (Coustaud C9 L10-30 FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.)(Coustaud C8 L10-20 In certain examples, tools 230 such as a slice thickness adjustment tool can be provided to a user in the virtual environment 200. In certain examples, a slice thickness indicator can be displayed and manipulated by the user in the virtual environment 200 to adjust the displayed slice thickness.) since there is a slice, and the user can look at either side of the slice which will show the upside and downside when horizontal.
Regarding claim 6:
The image processing device according to claim 5, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein a first side viewpoint of the first side viewpoint image and a second side viewpoint of the second side viewpoint image are set on a reference line passing through a reference point set in advance within the cut section (Coustaud C17 L25-40 In the 3D view in the virtual environment, however, the doctor can select/place plane(s)) (Coustaud C9 L10-30 FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.)(Coustaud C8 L10-20 In certain examples, tools 230 such as a slice thickness adjustment tool can be provided to a user in the virtual environment 200. In certain examples, a slice thickness indicator can be displayed and manipulated by the user in the virtual environment 200 to adjust the displayed slice thickness.) since the slice is the reference line.
Regarding claim 7:
The image processing device according to claim 6, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein one of the first side viewpoint and the second side viewpoint is settable as an initial position (Coustaud C7 L15-30 FIG. 2 depicts an example virtual environment 200 including a 2D image slice 205 overlaid on a 3D image volume 210. Within the virtual environment 200, the user can interact with the composite of 2D 205 and 3D 210 image information via an avatar and/or other virtual representation of themselves, such as a stylized hand 220, etc. The virtual hand 220 can mimic the user's hand movement and/or otherwise be controlled (e.g., by gesture, by touchpad, by mouse, by joystick, by sensor glove, etc.) to move to a desired location in the virtual environment 200. In certain examples, a menu 230 can be activated in the virtual environment 200 to facilitate manipulation of the image(s) 205, 210, annotation, processing, overlay of another image, etc. In certain examples, the user can move the image(s) 205, 210 backward, forward, sideways, rotate, peel apart, combine together, zoom in/out, etc., by manipulating the image(s) 205, 210 via the hand/cursor/other virtual tool 220.) since the user places the slice, they determine the initial position and can place the slice such that the first or second side is visible initially.
Regarding claim 8:
The image processing device according to claim 7, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the second side viewpoint is set as the initial position (Coustaud C7 L15-30 FIG. 2 depicts an example virtual environment 200 including a 2D image slice 205 overlaid on a 3D image volume 210. Within the virtual environment 200, the user can interact with the composite of 2D 205 and 3D 210 image information via an avatar and/or other virtual representation of themselves, such as a stylized hand 220, etc. The virtual hand 220 can mimic the user's hand movement and/or otherwise be controlled (e.g., by gesture, by touchpad, by mouse, by joystick, by sensor glove, etc.) to move to a desired location in the virtual environment 200. In certain examples, a menu 230 can be activated in the virtual environment 200 to facilitate manipulation of the image(s) 205, 210, annotation, processing, overlay of another image, etc. In certain examples, the user can move the image(s) 205, 210 backward, forward, sideways, rotate, peel apart, combine together, zoom in/out, etc., by manipulating the image(s) 205, 210 via the hand/cursor/other virtual tool 220.) since the user places the slice, they determine the initial position and can place the slice such that the first or second side is visible initially.
Regarding claim 9:
The image processing device according to claim 2, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein an intersection position where an extension line in a visual line direction of the set side viewpoint intersects a body surface is displayable (Coustaud Fig. 8)(Coustaud C8 L50-60 FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the virtual environment 200 in which a 2D image 310 is displayed with respect to a 3D volume 320. A dashed plane 330 illustrates a cut of the image 310 with respect to the 3D volume 320.).
Regarding claim 10:
The image processing device according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the side viewpoint is set according to at least one of information based on an input of a user, information regarding the organ, or information regarding an operative method for cutting the organ (Coustaud C9 L10-30 FIG. 8 illustrates grasping and removing of a 2D image slice 810 from a 3D image volume 820 using the hand avatar 220 in the virtual environment 200. […] The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.).
Regarding claim 11:
The image processing device according to claim 2, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the processor is configured to change another viewpoint in conjunction in a case where the viewpoint is changed in one of the first display image and the second display image on the display screen (Coustaud Fig. 8)(Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example. The user can pull the slice 1010 towards him/her, push the image slice 1010 away, etc., using the hands 220, for example.) where the environment (including the 3D volume) can be rotated and the slice can be rotated, which will update the secondary slice view.
Regarding claim 14:
The image processing device according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud further teaches wherein the first display image is switchable to a viewpoint image obtained by viewing the organ from a viewpoint different from the side viewpoint (Coustaud C9 L10-30 As shown in the example of FIG. 8, the 2D image slice 810 can be viewed with respect to the 3D volume 820 as well as separate from the 3D volume 820. FIG. 9 shows the virtual environment 200 rotated as the user views the 3D volume 820 and 2D slice 810 from a different angle. The angle of viewing can be adjusted by manipulating the avatar 220, selecting a menu option 230 (not shown), moving a scroll wheel and/or touch pad, clicking a button, etc. FIG. 10 shows a horizontal 2D image slice 1010, rather than a vertical image slice 810, being selected from the 3D volume 1020 and being manipulated by the avatar hands 220 to separate the 2D image 1010 from the 3D image volume 1020, for example.) since manipulating the slice changes the viewpoint.
Regarding claim 15 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Regarding claim 16 (independent):
The claim is a parallel version of claim 1. As such it is rejected under the same teachings.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coustaud U.S. Patent/PG Publication 11062527 in view of Rioux U.S. Patent/PG Publication 6268863.
Regarding claim 12:
The image processing device according to claim 1, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud. Coustaud does not teach image filtering although they teach saving the slice data (Coustaud C14 L50-60 At block 1310, an output is generated from the virtual environment 200. For example, a composite image, image slice, image volume, annotated tumor measurement, etc., can be generated and output to a secondary display 150, an external system 160, data storage 115, other image data processing and/or clinical decision support application, etc. At block 1312, the output is saved. For example, the image content and/or related annotation, measurement, reporting, etc., information can be saved in the memory 115, routed to storage and/or application at the external system 160, provided to an image archive, radiology desktop workstation, etc.). In a related field of endeavor, Rioux teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to acquire optical characteristic information representing an optical characteristic of a camera, and execute characteristic reflection processing of reflecting the optical characteristic in the first display image based on the optical characteristic information (Rioux C6 L60-C7 L5 In order to render the virtual object, a camera is simulated. The camera has parameter values similar to real photographic cameras. A perspective is providing to the rendering system. A lens focal length or other lens identifier is selected from predetermined lenses. The imaging plane of the virtual camera, where film is located in its real counterpart, is oriented relative to the virtual lens. Film speed, f-stop, focus, and shutter speed are selected from available values.)(Rioux C7 L20-30 Referring to FIG. 6, another user interface is shown for entering the parameter values. Here, an image of a camera is provided having input/output analogous to that of a photographic camera and representing values of parameters. An f-stop lever 100 is slidable across the lens 300.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a filter as taught by Rioux. The rationale for doing so would have been that it combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, where Coustaud has a 3D scene that is rendered to a 2d slice and for saving, and Rioux renders 3D scenes using changeable parameters, where the end result is merely an aesthetic difference in the output of the Coustaud image with no change to the functionality of the medical imaging. Further, the motivation to combine would be to provide the user of Coustaud with more aesthetic customization when shared (Coustaud C11 L5-15). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Rioux with Coustaud to obtain the invention.
Regarding claim 13:
The image processing device according to claim 12, has all of its limitations taught by Coustaud in view of Rioux. Rioux further teaches wherein at least one of a distortion characteristic (Rioux C6 L60-C7 L5 In order to render the virtual object, a camera is simulated. The camera has parameter values similar to real photographic cameras. A perspective is providing to the rendering system. A lens focal length or other lens identifier is selected from predetermined lenses. The imaging plane of the virtual camera, where film is located in its real counterpart, is oriented relative to the virtual lens. Film speed, f-stop, focus, and shutter speed are selected from available values.)(Rioux C7 L20-30 Referring to FIG. 6, another user interface is shown for entering the parameter values. Here, an image of a camera is provided having input/output analogous to that of a photographic camera and representing values of parameters. An f-stop lever 100 is slidable across the lens 300.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a filter as taught by Rioux. The rationale for doing so would have been that it combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, where Coustaud has a 3D scene that is rendered to a 2d slice and for saving, and Rioux renders 3D scenes using changeable parameters, where the end result is merely an aesthetic difference in the output of the Coustaud image with no change to the functionality of the medical imaging. Further, the motivation to combine would be to provide the user of Coustaud with more aesthetic customization when shared (Coustaud C11 L5-15). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Rioux with Coustaud to obtain the invention.
Conclusion
For the prior art referenced and the prior art considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure but not relied upon, see PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON PRINGLE-PARKER whose telephone number is (571) 272-5690 and e-mail is jason.pringle-parker@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30am-5:00pm est Monday-Friday. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, King Poon can be reached on (571) 270-0728. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JASON A PRINGLE-PARKER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617