DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/11/2025 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Election/Restrictions
The Primary Examiner agrees with Applicant’s reasonable argument; thus, the restriction is withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo (WO 2021/147925 A1).
Re Claim 1, Guo discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (301), a message indicating:
activation of a cell, wherein a bandwidth part (BWP), of the cell, is associated with at least two control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes (gets a message telling it that a cell is being turned on; the cell has a portion of the bandwidth called a BWP, and that BWP is linked to at least two CORESET pool indexes and at least two TCI states, which define how signals are transmitted and received) (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
at least two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50);
activating, based on the message, the cell (turns on or enables the cell according to the message instructions) (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50);
receiving, via the BWP and using a first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more first downlink signals associated with a first CORESET pool index of the at least two CORESET pool indexes (receives downlink signals using the first TCI state; these signals come from the first CORESET pool index of the BWP) (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50); and
receiving, via the BWP and using a second TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more second downlink signals associated with a second CORESET pool index of the at least two CORESET pool indexes (receives additional downlink signals using the second TCI state; these come from the second CORESET pool index of the BWP) (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Re Claim 8, Guo discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station (gNB 311), a message indicating: activation of a cell, wherein a bandwidth part (BWP), of the cell, is associated with at least two control resource set (CORESET) pool indexes (send a message telling it that a cell is being turned on; the cell has a portion of the bandwidth called a BWP, and that BWP is linked to at least two CORESET pool indexes and at least two TCI states, which define how signals are transmitted and received) (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
at least two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50);
activating, after transmitting the message, the cell (turns on or enables the cell according to the message instructions) (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50);
transmitting, via the BWP and using a first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more first downlink signals associated with a first CORESET pool index of the at least two CORESET pool indexes (send downlink signals using the first TCI state; these signals come from the first CORESET pool index of the BWP) (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50); and
transmitting, via the BWP and using a second TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more second downlink signals associated with a second coreset pool index of the at least two coreset pool indexes (send additional downlink signals using the second TCI state; these come from the second CORESET pool index of the BWP) (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Re Claims 3 and 10, Guo discloses the message comprises at least one of: a medium access control (MAC) control command (CE); or a radio resource control (RRC) message (Page 1 lines 26-50, Page 2 line 9-12, Page 4 line 10-15).
Re Claims 4 and 11, Guo discloses the at least two TCI states comprises at least two lists of TCI states; a first list of TCI states, of the at least two lists of TCI states, comprises the first TCI state (Page 7 lines 5- Page 8 line 42, Page 12 lines 42- Page 13 lines 35); and
a second list of TCI states, of the at least two lists of TCI states, comprises the second TCI state (Page 7 lines 5- Page 8 line 42, Page 12 lines 42- Page 13 lines 35).
Re Claims 5 and 12, Guo discloses the BWP is associated with a primary secondary cell (PSCell) of a secondary cell group (SCG) (Page 13 lines 35-50); and
the message indicates activation of the SCG (Page 13 lines 35-50).
Re Claims 6 and 13, Guo discloses the message further indicates activation of the at least two TCI states (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2021/147925 A1) in view of Cirik et al. (US Pub. 20210378004 A1).
Re Claims 7 and 14, Guo discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
But Guo doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Cirik.
Cirik discloses at least one demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna port of the one or more first downlink signals is quasi co-located with a first reference signal indicated by the first TCI state [0294-295]; and
at least one DMRS antenna port of the one or more second downlink signals is quasi co-located with a second reference signal indicated by the second TCI state [0307-308].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing reference signaling used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Guo with Cirik to ensure proper reference information can be applied to improve signaling efficiency in the mobile network.
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (WO 2021/147925 A1) in view of Jang et al. (US Pub. 20230006727 A1).
Re Claim 15, Guo discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a base station, one or more configuration parameters indicating a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs), for a bandwidth part (BWP) of a cell, (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50) comprising:
one or more first CORESETs, wherein the one or more first CORESETs are associated with at least two transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (sending extra configuration information defining multiple CORESETs for the BWP; some of these CORESETs are linked to the two TCI states for normal reception) (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
a second CORESET (Page 8 lines 43 – Page 9 lines 11);
transmitting, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one downlink signal (sending one or more downlink signals through the second CORESET by using a reference signal to help with synchronization or decoding) (Page 4 lines 16-42, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
But Guo doesn’t explicitly teach a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set;
However, Jang discloses a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set [0223, 0245-0246];
Jang also discloses transmitting, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one downlink signal [0011-13, 0177].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing resource configuration used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Guo with Jang to ensure proper configuration information can be used to improve data processing in the network.
Re Claim 2, Guo discloses receiving one or more configuration parameters indicating a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50), for the BWP, comprising:
one or more first CORESETs, wherein the one or more first CORESETs are associated with the at least two TCI states (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
a second CORESET (Page 8 lines 43 – Page 9 lines 11); and
receiving, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one third downlink signal (Page 4 lines 16-42, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
But Guo doesn’t explicitly teach a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set;
However, Jang discloses a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set [0223, 0245-0246];
Jang also discloses receiving, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one third downlink signal [0011-13, 0177].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing resource configuration used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Guo with Jang to ensure proper configuration information can be used to improve data processing in the network.
Re Claim 9, Guo discloses transmitting one or more configuration parameters indicating a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs), for the BWP (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50), comprising:
one or more first CORESETs, wherein the one or more first CORESETs are associated with the at least two TCI states (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
a second CORESET (Page 8 lines 43 – Page 9 lines 11);
transmitting, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one downlink signal (Page 4 lines 16-42, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
But Guo doesn’t explicitly teach a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set;
However, Jang discloses a second CORESET associated with a recovery search space set [0223, 0245-0246];
Jang also discloses transmitting, using a reference signal and via the second CORESET, at least one downlink signal [0011-13, 0177].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing resource configuration used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Guo with Jang to ensure proper configuration information can be used to improve data processing in the network.
Re Claim 16, Guo discloses transmitting, a message indicating: activation of the cell (Figs. 9-13, Page 14 lines 7-50, Page 12 lines 17-50); and
the at least two TCI states (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50);
activating, after transmitting the message, the cell (Page 10 lines 1-5, 30-50); and .
transmitting, via the BWP and using a first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more first downlink signals associated with a first CORESET pool index of a plurality of CORESET pool indexes for the BWP (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50); and
transmitting, via the BWP and using a second TCI state of the at least two TCI states, one or more second downlink signal associated with a second CORESET pool index of the plurality of CORESET pool index (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Re Claim 17, Guo, as modified by Jang, Jang further discloses the at least one downlink signal comprises a beam failure recovery (BFR) response [0175, 0197-198, 0232]. See motivation to combine the references from the above.
Re Claim 18, Guo discloses transmitting, via a first CORESET of the one or more first CORESETs and using a first TCI state of the at least two TCI states, at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signals (Page 4 lines 3-15, Page 5 lines 30-37, Page 11 lines 31-50).
Re Claim 19, Guo discloses determining, based on the plurality of CORESETs comprising the second CORESET, a quantity of the at least two TCI states (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50); and transmitting, based on the determining, a message indicating the at least two TCI states (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Re Claim 20, Guo discloses each of the one or more first CORESETs is associated with a respective TCI state of the at least two TCI states (Figs. 12-13, Page 8 lines 43-51, Page 9 lines 25-40, Page 14 lines 31-50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-11832271-B2; US-20230284197-A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409