Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on September 22, 2023
Claims 1, 2, 4-12,14-16 and 18 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 9/22/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-12,14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lorca Hernando (US 2015/0189644 A1).
As per Claim 1 Lorca Hernando teaches a method of a terminal, comprising: receiving information on a plurality of channel information transfer models including a
wavelet transform function from a base station (Paragraph 0024, 0078 the eNodeB. in that case discrete wavelet transforms (DWTs) are calculated over the channel impulse responses h.sub.ij(t) (block 43), as well as the values of the wideband CQIs (CQIavg). Some of the resulting DWT coefficients may be discarded in order to compress the amount of information to be sent);
receiving a model activation indication of one channel information transfer model
among the plurality of channel information transfer models from the base station ;
receiving a reference signal from a base station (Paragraph 0007, 0067, 0077 the estimations performed by the eNodeB based on the sounding reference signals (SRSs) sent by the UE. The channel frequency response, which is fundamental in the normal demodulation process and aided by the available Reference Signals: Cell Reference Signals (CRS), Demodulation Reference Signals (DM RS) and CSI Reference Signals (CSI RS));
generating channel information based on the reference signal (Paragraph 0073, 0077 report as high as possible channel information, Cell Reference Signals (CRS), Demodulation Reference Signals (DM RS) and CSI Reference Signals (CSI RS).); generating wavelet-transformed channel information by activating the one channel information transfer model according to the model activation indication and applying wavelet transform to the channel information (Paragraph 0032, 0035, 0077the method comprises said CSI reporting being activated based on a low mobility estimation of said UE, said mobility estimation being performed by said eNodeB. The CSI reporting activated based on a low mobility estimation of the UE and including a first CSI report type containing CSI information in discrete wavelet transforms (DWTs) form of the channel impulse responses and average CQI indications for the codewords in use, being some of the discrete wavelet transforms (DWTs) coefficients admissible to be discarded for increased compression; discrete wavelet transforms (DWTs) are calculated over the channel impulse responses h.sub.ij(t) (block 43), as well as the values of the wideband CQIs (CQIavg). Some of the resulting DWT coefficients may be discarded in order to compress the amount of information to be sent.); by
generating compressed channel information by compressing the wavelet-transformed channel information (Paragraph 0039, 0069, 0077 UE comprises generating and transmitting to said eNodeB incremental compressed of said CSI reports and said compressed CSI reports and performs advanced scheduling and MIMO precoding operations. A first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transform of the channel impulse responses as well as average CQI indications for the codewords in use, where some of the DWT coefficients may be discarded for increased compression; This report may be efficiently compressed by any of the usual lossless compression methods, and is also sent along with any user data on PUSCH. ); and
transmitting the compressed channel information to the base station (Paragraph 0035, 0038, when CSI reporting is activated said UE comprises generating and transmitting to said eNodeB incremental compressed of said CSI reports and said eNodeB decompresses said compressed CSI reports and performs advanced scheduling and MIMO precoding operations), wherein each of the plurality of channel information transfer models includes at least one wavelet transformer and at least one encoder (Paragraph 0024, 0077, 0135 The proposed CSI scheme comprises two different formats to take both considerations into account: a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transforms of the channel impulse responses, and this scheme is quite complex in practice to be done by a UE, and also has the drawback of not providing an adaptive way to encode more or less efficiently according to the user's mobility..).
As per Claim 2 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a wavelet activation indication from the base station, wherein the terminal generates the wavelet-transformed channel information by applying wavelet transform to the channel information according to the wavelet activation indication (Paragraph 0039, 0068 The channel impulse response is then compressed by means of a Discrete Wavelet Transform (DWT), which is especially suited for transient signals, a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transform of the channel impulse responses as well as average CQI indications for the codewords in use, where some of the DWT coefficients).
(Canceled)
As per Claim 4 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one channel information transfer model includes a wavelet transformer and an encoder, the wavelet transformer performs wavelet transform on the channel information to generate the wavelet-transformed channel information, and the encoder compresses the wavelet-transformed channel information to generate the compressed channel information (Paragraph 0121, 0135 In general these algorithms work best on data with repeated patterns, so they are especially suited for the proposed Type-II CSI report: when the channel is in a low-mobility condition, the DWT coefficients and the CQI values will presumably experiment little variation in time, therefore the differences will be small and possibly highly correlated and this will aid in the compression process. The proposed CSI scheme comprises two different formats to take both considerations into account: a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transforms of the channel impulse responses, and a second CSI report type carrying only differences in the DWT coefficients and the CQI values. ).
As per Claim 5 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one channel information transfer model includes a plurality of wavelet transformers and an encoder, the plurality of wavelet transformers generate the wavelet-transformed channel information by performing iterative wavelet transforms on the channel information, and the encoder compresses the wavelet-transformed channel information to generate the compressed channel information (Paragraph 0040, 0069 a second CSI report type containing differences in coefficients of said discrete wavelet transform for each of said channel impulse responses, and differences in the average of said CQI values. the UE sends only differences in the DWT coefficients and the global CQI. The differences are taken with respect to the last complete CSI report previously sent to the eNodeB. This report may be efficiently compressed by any of the usual lossless compression methods, and is also sent along with any user data on PUSCH. ).
As per Claim 6 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one channel information transfer model includes a wavelet transformer, a first encoder, and a second encoder, the wavelet transformer generates the wavelet-transformed channel information by performing wavelet transform on the channel information, the first encoder compresses a high frequency band of the wavelet-transformed channel information to generate a part corresponding to a high frequency band of the compressed channel information, and the second encoder compresses a low frequency band of the wavelet-transformed channel information to generate a part corresponding to a low frequency band of the compressed channel information (Paragraph 0077, 0121 0135 a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transforms of the channel impulse responses, and a second CSI report type carrying only differences in the DWT coefficients and the CQI values, is responsible of estimating the channel frequency response, which is fundamental in the normal demodulation process and aided by the available Reference Signals: Cell Reference Signals (CRS), Demodulation Reference Signals (DM RS) and CSI Reference Signals (CSI RS).).
As per Claim 7 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the one channel information transfer model includes a first wavelet transformer, a second wavelet transformer, a first encoder, and a second encoder, the first wavelet transformer receives the channel information and performs primary wavelet transform on the channel information to generate primary wavelet-transformed channel information, the first encoder compresses the primary wavelet-transformed channel information to generate compressed primary channel information, the second wavelet transformer receives the compressed primary channel information and performs secondary wavelet transform on the compressed primary channel information to generate the wavelet-transformed channel information, and the second encoder compresses the wavelet-transformed channel information to generate the compressed channel information (Paragraph 0039, 0080 a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transform of the channel impulse responses as well as average CQI indications for the codewords in use, where some of the DWT coefficients may be discarded for increased compression; and [0040] a second CSI report type containing differences in coefficients of said discrete wavelet transform for each of said channel impulse responses, and differences in the average of said CQI values.).
As per Claim 8 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: selecting one wavelet waveform from among wavelet waveforms, wherein the terminal performs wavelet transform on the channel information by using the selected one wavelet waveform in generating the wavelet-transformed channel information (Paragraph 0024, 0038 a first CSI report type containing CSI information in DWT form of the channel impulse responses and average CQI indications for the codewords in use, being some of the DWT coefficients admissible to be discarded for increased compression; and a second CSI report type containing differences in coefficients of the DWT for each channel impulse responses, and differences in the average of CQI values. The system is adapted to implement the method.).
As per Claim 9 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the wavelet waveforms include at least one wavelet waveform among a Morlet wavelet waveform, a Daubechies wavelet waveform, or a biorthogonal wavelet waveform (Paragraph 0103, The described half-band filters form an orthonormal basis. In practice it is common to use Daubechies' filters, thus giving rise to Daubechies' wavelets, but any other suitable wavelet can be used depending on the implementation. ).
As per Claim 10 Lorca Hernando teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: transmitting information on the selected one wavelet waveform to the base station (Paragraph 0106 Some of the DWT coefficients may be discarded in order to reduce the amount of information to be sent, while at the same time retaining the most relevant information in both time and frequency. This can be done by selecting only those coefficients whose contribution to the global energy is not lower than a predefined threshold).
Claims 11-18 are a method claims corresponding to the method claims 1 – 10 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 – 10. Claims 11 – 18 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1 – 10.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on November 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 5 the Applicant argues in substance that:
Remark:
(A) “Lorca Hernando, which the Action alleges correspond to the channel information transfer models of claim 1, merely include a field for a discrete wavelet transform of a different channel impulse response for the relevant transmission/reception path, a field for an average CQI value for each of the received codewords, differences in DWT coefficients for each channel impulse response, and the like. Since Lorca Hernando does not disclose a wavelet transformer or an encoder, Lorca Hernando further fails to disclose or suggest Feature 3...”
Response: In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' representative’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation. Applicant’s representative’s are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Applicants representative is reminded that an encoder provides feedback on position, direction, speed, or counts by translating motion into an electrical signal also it converts analog signals into digital formats. Lorca Hernando discloses this in the prior art where it explicitly says a scheme to prepare multiple CQI report formats and switching between them based on the speed of the channel profile, providing CQI information for the effective frequency selective scheduling for slow moving UEs, and at the same time, saving uplink resource for the fast moving UEs. Examiner appreciates applicant’s representative’s explanation however, Lorca Hernando explicitly states CSI report type contains differences in coefficients of wavelet transform for each of channel impulse responses, and differences in the average of CQI values. The channel impulse response is then compressed by means of a Discrete Wavelet Transform (DWT), which is especially suited for transient signals. The rationale for using a discrete wavelet transform is based on the intrinsic transient nature of the impulse response. See Figure 6 shows an example of a measured power delay profile (the squared modulus of the channel impulse response), where the relative peaks show significant multipath components. It is possible to compress the signal in an efficient way through a DWT, further truncating high-frequency components so as to partially remove Gaussian noise.... Example from Lorca Hernando (Paragraph 0135 The proposed CSI scheme comprises two different formats to take both considerations into account: a first CSI report type containing detailed CSI information in the form of discrete wavelet transforms of the channel impulse responses, and a second CSI report type carrying only differences in the DWT coefficients and the CQI values...)
Therefore Lorca Hernando reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463