DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending herein.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign priority application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each pedal is connected with a corresponding pedal bracket through a rotary shaft” (Claim 10) must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “each of the mating protruding block” (line 7) should be rewritten as: “each of the mating protruding blocks”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6, the claim recites the limitation: "mating portions matched with the limiting portions are disposed on an inner surface of the tire; the mating portions are respectively clamped with the limiting portions", which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5, and 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, 7, & 8, the claim recites the limitation: "matched with", which is unclear, and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 9, the claim recites the limitation: "respectively clamped" (line 2), which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 11,485,171 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses: A motor for a unicycle (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 1), comprising: a motor main shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 2); a stator mechanism disposed on the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 1); and a rotor mechanism disposed on the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 1); wherein the motor comprises a bearing sleeved on the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 9); the rotor mechanism is connected with the motor main shaft through the bearing (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); the stator mechanism comprises a stator support (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); an electric core mechanism is disposed on the stator support (See, e.g., Fig.1-3).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses: A unicycle (See, e.g., Fig.1-3), comprising the motor for the unicycle according to claim 1 (See, e.g., Fig.1-3), a housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 7+1), and a tire (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 4), wherein the motor for the unicycle is disposed in the housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); limiting portions (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 5+8+71) are disposed on an outer surface of the housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); mating portions (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 6) matched with the limiting portions are disposed on an inner surface of the tire (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); the mating portions are respectively clamped with the limiting portions (See, e.g., Fig.1-3).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses: wherein the limiting portions comprise limiting protruding blocks (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 5+8+71); the limiting protruding blocks are evenly spaced apart and each of the limiting protruding blocks is disposed on a corresponding limiting portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); each of the limiting protruding blocks defines a limiting protrusion (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); the mating portions comprise mating protruding blocks (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 6); the mating protruding blocks are evenly spaced apart (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); each of the mating protruding blocks is disposed on a corresponding mating portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); each of the mating protruding block defines a mating slot (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); each mating slot is matched with a corresponding limiting protrusion (See, e.g., Fig.1-3).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses: wherein the tire comprises a ball tire (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 4), and a tire lining (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 6+7); the mating protruding blocks are disposed on an inner surface of the tire lining (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); limiting ribs are evenly spaced and disposed on an outer surface of the tire lining (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); limiting teeth matched with the limiting ribs are disposed on an inner surface of the ball tire (See, e.g., Fig.1-3).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses: wherein the unicycle further comprises pedal brackets (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 3) respectively fixed on two sides of the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); a pedal (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 3) is disposed on each of the pedal brackets (See, e.g., Fig.1-3); each pedal is connected with a corresponding pedal bracket through a rotary shaft ; and a decorative plate is disposed on each pedal (See, e.g., Fig.1-3, 3+32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Simeray (US PG PUB 2019/0276107 A1).
[Claim 2 and 5] Regarding Claim 2 and 5, Liu fails to explicitly teach: wherein the stator mechanism comprises a stator core and a stator winding; the stator winding is disposed on the stator core; the stator support comprises a support frame; a fixing ring disposed on an outer side of the stator support; a shaft sleeve ring disposed on an inner side of the stator support; the support frame connects the shaft sleeve ring with the fixing ring; the stator core is disposed on the fixing ring; the stator support is fixed on the motor main shaft through the shaft sleeve ring; a plurality of installing positions for the electric core mechanism are evenly spaced and defined on the support frame along a circumferential direction of the motor main shaft (Claim 2) and wherein the rotor mechanism comprises rotor supports and a rotor sleeve ring; the rotor supports are disposed on the motor main shaft through the bearing; permanent magnets are evenly spaced and disposed on an inner side of the rotor sleeve ring along the circumferential direction of the motor main shaft; a position of the stator winding is matched with positions of the permanent magnets; the rotor supports are respectively fixedly disposed on two sides of the rotor sleeve ring (Claim 5).
However, Simeray teaches a similar motor for a unicycle (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 104) wherein the stator mechanism comprises a stator core and a stator winding (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 12); the stator winding is disposed on the stator core (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 12); the stator support comprises a support frame (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 108); a fixing ring disposed on an outer side of the stator support (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 108); a shaft sleeve ring disposed on an inner side of the stator support (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 108); the support frame connects the shaft sleeve ring with the fixing ring (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11); the stator core is disposed on the fixing ring (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11); the stator support is fixed on the motor main shaft through the shaft sleeve ring (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11); a plurality of installing positions for the electric core mechanism are evenly spaced and defined on the support frame along a circumferential direction of the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11) (Claim 2) and wherein the rotor mechanism comprises rotor supports and a rotor sleeve ring (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 13+112); the rotor supports are disposed on the motor main shaft through the bearing (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11); permanent magnets are evenly spaced and disposed on an inner side of the rotor sleeve ring along the circumferential direction of the motor main shaft (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11, 13); a position of the stator winding is matched with positions of the permanent magnets (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11); the rotor supports are respectively fixedly disposed on two sides of the rotor sleeve ring (See, e.g., Simeray: Fig.1-11) (Claim 5).
Simeray teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle motor design to provide the motor with specific stator and rotor components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the motor taught by Liu modified with the specific stator and rotor components such as taught by Simeray, for the purpose of conveniently propelling the unicycle as the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Claims 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Simeray and further in view of Lin et al. (US PG PUB 2019/0315241 A1).
[Claim 3 and 4] Regarding Claim 3 and 4, Liu fails to explicitly teach: wherein the electric core mechanism comprises an electric control board and an electric core support; the electric core support is fixedly disposed on the plurality of installing positions for the electric core mechanism; an electric core disposed on the electric core support is connected with the electric control board (Claim 3) and wherein at least one limiting hole and at least one fixing hole are defined on the electronic control board; the electric control board is sleeved on the motor main shaft through the at least one limiting hole; the electric control board is fixed on the electric core support through the at least one fixing hole; the electric core is directly connected with the electric control board (Claim 4).
However, Lin teaches a similar electric motor device (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21, 200) wherein the electric core mechanism comprises an electric control board (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21, 203) and an electric core support (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21); the electric core support is fixedly disposed on the plurality of installing positions for the electric core mechanism (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21); an electric core disposed on the electric core support is connected with the electric control board (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21) (Claim 3) and wherein at least one limiting hole and at least one fixing hole are defined on the electronic control board (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21, 203); the electric control board is sleeved on the motor main shaft through the at least one limiting hole (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21); the electric control board is fixed on the electric core support through the at least one fixing hole (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21); the electric core is directly connected with the electric control board (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21).
Lin teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle motor design to provide the motor with an electronic control board. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by the combination of Liu in view of Sim modified with the electronic control board such as taught by Lin, for the purpose of conveniently controlling the propelling the motor of the unicycle (See, e.g., Lin: Fig.1-21; P[0039]), as the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: wherein the unicycle comprises latches; the limiting protruding blocks are respectively clamped with a corresponding mating slot; and each of the latches is inserted between each limiting protruding block and a corresponding mating protruding block, as claimed in Claim 9 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613