DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this continuation application filed on 09/22/2023
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method for generating a chemical reaction product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/21/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 13-23 in the reply filed on 05/21/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, replace the word “find” with the word “fin”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Reactor vessel 21-23 depend from heat exchanging assembly claim 13. The examiner is not able to determine the metes and bounds of claims 21-23 since it is not positively recited what structural limitations of claim 13 are or are not included in claim 21. It is respectfully requested that claim 21 be rewritten in independent form to include all the structural limitations of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rubinstein (US 3,881,962).
Regarding claim 13, Rubinstein discloses a heat exchanging assembly (Fig.3), comprising:
an outer tube (Fig.3:52) having an opened end (Fig.3:72) and a closed end (Fig.3:58), wherein an outer diameter of the outer tube is capable of at least being partially coated in a catalyst (col.5, lines 15-63);
an inner tube (Fig.3:54) located at least in part in an interior of the outer tube (Fig.3:52) and having first (Fig.3:42) and second opened (Fig.3:73) ends, the first opened end (Fig.3:42) being located proximate the closed end (Fig.3:58) of the outer tube (Fig.3:52), the second opened end (Fig.3:73) being located proximate the opened end (Fig.3:72) of said outer tube;
wherein the outer tube (Fig.3:52) and inner tube (Fig.3:54) coact to provide a flowpath for a heat transfer media (col.4, lines 17-56) that extends between the outer tube (Fig.3:52) and the inner tube (Fig.3:54) from the opened end of the outer tube (Fig.3:72) to the first end (Fig.3:42) of inner tube and then extends internal to the inner tube (Fig.3:54) to the second end (Fig.3:73) of said inner tube (Fig.3:54).
Regarding claim 14, Rubinstein discloses that the outer diameter includes at least one heat transferring fin (Fig.3:96 or 100).
Regarding claim 15, Rubinstein discloses that at least one heat transferring fin is an axial fin (Fig.2:100 and 96) arranged generally parallel to a length of the heat exchanging assembly.
Regarding claim 18, Rubinstein discloses that the at least one heat transferring fin (Fig.10:271) and the outer diameter (Fig.10:213) of the outer tube are capable of coacting to create a channel for the downward flow of liquid.
Regarding claim 19, Rubinstein discloses that the outer tube (Fig.3:52) is adapted and configured to support the heat transfer assembly (Fig.3:100 and 96) from a flange (Fig.3:98).
Regarding claim 20, Rubinstein discloses a first fluid manifold (Fig.3:66) in fluid communication with the opened end of the outer tube (Fig.3:52) and a second fluid manifold (Fig.3:68) in fluid communication with the second opened end (Fig.3:73) of said inner tube (Fig.3:54).
Regarding claim 21, Rubinstein discloses a reactor vessel (Fig.3:10), the reactor vessel comprising: a top end (unlabeled top of 10 as shown in Fig.3), a bottom end (Fig.3:23), an interior (unlabeled inner space of 10 as shown in Fig.3), and a plurality of parallel, spaced-apart tubular heat exchanging assemblies (Fig.10:271) located in the interior.
Regarding claim 22, Rubinstein discloses that each tubular heat exchanging assembly (Fig.3:100 and 96) is supported at the opened end (Fig.3:73) of the outer tube by a flange (Fig.3:98) and each tubular heat exchanging assembly is capable of being adapted and configured both to be repeatedly removed separately from the flange (Fig.1:100 and 96) and to be repeatedly installed separately to the flange.
Regarding claim 23, Rubinstein discloses that the opened ends (Fig.3:72) of each outer tube (Fig.3:52) are in fluid communication with one another and wherein the second opened ends (Fig.3:42 and 73) of each inner tube (Fig.3:54) are in fluid communication with one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinstein (US 3,881,962) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Bostrom (US 3,789,494).
Rubinstein appears silent to disclose that the at least one heat transferring fin has a spiral shape along a length of the heat exchanging assembly.
Bostrom discloses a method (col.1, lines 4-9) for the manufacture of finned units that are spiral (Fig.7:30) since spiral finned ducts achieve low pressure drop and effective heat transfer (col.1, lines 43-48). The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add spiral finned tubes to Rubinstein heat exchanging assembly since spiral finned ducts achieve low pressure drop and effective heat transfer.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rubinstein (US 3,881,962) as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Holcombe (US 2010/0240780 A1).
Rubinstein discloses plurality of heat transferring fins.
Rubinstein appears silent regarding that the fins are at least partially coated in the catalyst.
Holcombe discloses a heat exchanging assembly (Fig.2:1) where fins are coated with a thin layer of catalyst [0036] in order to control and ensure low pressure drops, simple fabrication and easy service [0027]. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to add Holcombe fins that are coated with catalyst to Rubinstein heat exchanging assembly in order to control and ensure low pressure drops, simple fabrication and easy service.
Double Patenting
Claims 13 and 16-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,641 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of claims 13 and 16-23 of 18/472,403 and the scopes of 1, 3-4, and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,641 B2 are the same, but written using different words (claim 13 vs claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,641 B2; claims 19 and 17 vs claims 3-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,641 B2; claims 16, 18 and 20-23 vs claims 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,641 B2).
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798