DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 6/22/2026.
In the RCE, Applicant cancelled claims 1, 6-8, and 12-20 and added new claims 21-40.
Claims 21-40 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 6/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 6-8, and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the newly-cited reference Zhou ’466 et al (US 2025/0280466) for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou ’466 et al (US 2025/0280466) in view of Zhou ’796 et al (US 2024/0340796).
Regarding claim 21: Zhou ’466 discloses a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), first configuration information related to discontinuous reception (DRX), via higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0336]-[0337] and step 3701 of Figure 37A, for example, which describes a UE receiving (and a base station transmitting) RRC (higher layer) signaling including configuration information related to DRX);
receiving, from the BS, second configuration information related to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block periodicity, via the higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0313], which indicates that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message”; the RRC message is part of the higher layer signaling (one or more RRC messages); as indicated in [0144], SSBs refer to SS/PBCH blocks);
receiving, from the BS, in a first slot, downlink control information (DCI) including information indicating an operation of a network energy saving method among a plurality of network energy saving methods, wherein the plurality of network energy saving methods includes the DRX for network energy saving and a periodicity adaptation of SS/PBCH block reception (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; first, as indicated in [0341], this message may be “a DCI”; second, the as indicated in [0347], the period 3704 (which is triggered by the DCI message 3703) performs the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); third, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”).
Zhou ’466 does not explicitly disclose the limitations of identifying a delay time associated with the operation of the network energy saving method indicated by the DCI; and performing the operation of the network energy saving method at a second slot that is determined based on the first slot and the delay time. However, Zhou ’796 discloses analogous art including configuration network energy saving operations by a base station for a user equipment. For example, see the abstract, which discloses that energy savings may be implemented by changing the number of periodic CSI reference signals (P-CSI-RSs). The change in the number of P-CSI-RSs is triggered by “a DCI comprising an energy saving indication” (see abstract, for example). In addition, Zhou ’466 introduces an “application delay” (also referred to as at least a “time gap” and an “application time delay”) that delays the “application” (or performing) of the energy saving operation (such as changing the number of P-CSI-RSs) for a time period after the receipt of the DCI. For example, see [00460], which indicates that “the wireless device may determine a time gap starting from T0 for applying the switching off 2nd CSI-RS resources”. Time T0 is the time that the DCI is received as indicated in Figures 44 and 45; see [0465], which indicates “the application delay window starts from the first slot (which is T0) where the DCI is received by the wireless device”. Figure [0472] indicates that the application delay can be applied in at least Figures 44 and 45.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou ’466 implement an application delay (a delay time associated with the operation of the network energy saving method) between the receipt of the DCI indicating the activation of network DTX and the associated DRX energy saving operation and the application of this DRX energy saving operation. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent a misalignment between the base station and the wireless device/UE as suggested in [0455] of Zhou ’796.
Regarding claim 26: Zhou ’466 discloses a terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (see the combination of elements 1520 and 1522 of Figure 15A, for example); and
a processor configured to (see element 1518 of Figure 15A, for example):
receive, from a base station (BS), first configuration information related to discontinuous reception (DRX), via higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0336]-[0337] and step 3701 of Figure 37A, for example, which describes a UE receiving (and a base station transmitting) RRC (higher layer) signaling including configuration information related to DRX),
receive, from the BS, second configuration information related to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block periodicity, via the higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0313], which indicates that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message”; the RRC message is part of the higher layer signaling (one or more RRC messages); as indicated in [0144], SSBs refer to SS/PBCH blocks),
receive, from the BS, in a first slot, downlink control information (DCI) including information indicating an operation of a network energy saving method among a plurality of network energy saving methods, wherein the plurality of network energy saving methods includes the DRX for network energy saving and a periodicity adaptation of SS/PBCH block reception (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; first, as indicated in [0341], this message may be “a DCI”; second, the as indicated in [0347], the period 3704 (which is triggered by the DCI message 3703) performs the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); third, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”).
Zhou ’466 does not explicitly disclose the limitations of identify a delay time associated with the operation of the network energy saving method indicated by the DCI, and perform the operation of the network energy saving method at a second slot that is determined based on the first slot and the delay time. However, Zhou ’796 discloses analogous art including configuration network energy saving operations by a base station for a user equipment. For example, see the abstract, which discloses that energy savings may be implemented by changing the number of periodic CSI reference signals (P-CSI-RSs). The change in the number of P-CSI-RSs is triggered by “a DCI comprising an energy saving indication” (see abstract, for example). In addition, Zhou ’466 introduces an “application delay” (also referred to as at least a “time gap” and an “application time delay”) that delays the “application” (or performing) of the energy saving operation (such as changing the number of P-CSI-RSs) for a time period after the receipt of the DCI. For example, see [00460], which indicates that “the wireless device may determine a time gap starting from T0 for applying the switching off 2nd CSI-RS resources”. Time T0 is the time that the DCI is received as indicated in Figures 44 and 45; see [0465], which indicates “the application delay window starts from the first slot (which is T0) where the DCI is received by the wireless device”. Figure [0472] indicates that the application delay can be applied in at least Figures 44 and 45.
Regarding claim 31: Zhou ’466 discloses a method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, first configuration information related to discontinuous reception (DRX), via higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0336]-[0337] and step 3701 of Figure 37A, for example, which describes a UE receiving (and a base station transmitting) RRC (higher layer) signaling including configuration information related to DRX);
transmitting, to the terminal, second configuration information related to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block periodicity, via the higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0313], which indicates that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message”; the RRC message is part of the higher layer signaling (one or more RRC messages); as indicated in [0144], SSBs refer to SS/PBCH blocks);
determining to operate a network energy saving method among a plurality of network energy saving methods, wherein the plurality of network energy saving methods includes the DRX for network energy saving and a periodicity adaptation of SS/PBCH block transmission (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; this message indicates to the UE to perform the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); clearly, the network determines this method prior to sending the message; further, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”); and
transmitting, to the terminal, in a first slot, downlink control information (DCI) including information indicating an operation of the network energy saving method (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; first, as indicated in [0341], this message may be “a DCI”; second, the as indicated in [0347], the period 3704 (which is triggered by the DCI message 3703) performs the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); third, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”).
Zhou ’466 does not explicitly disclose the limitations of wherein the operation of the network energy saving method is performed at a second slot that is determined based on the first slot and a delay time, and wherein the delay time is associated with the operation of the network energy saving method indicated by the DCI. However, Zhou ’796 discloses analogous art including configuration network energy saving operations by a base station for a user equipment. For example, see the abstract, which discloses that energy savings may be implemented by changing the number of periodic CSI reference signals (P-CSI-RSs). The change in the number of P-CSI-RSs is triggered by “a DCI comprising an energy saving indication” (see abstract, for example). In addition, Zhou ’466 introduces an “application delay” (also referred to as at least a “time gap” and an “application time delay”) that delays the “application” (or performing) of the energy saving operation (such as changing the number of P-CSI-RSs) for a time period after the receipt of the DCI. For example, see [00460], which indicates that “the wireless device may determine a time gap starting from T0 for applying the switching off 2nd CSI-RS resources”. Time T0 is the time that the DCI is received as indicated in Figures 44 and 45; see [0465], which indicates “the application delay window starts from the first slot (which is T0) where the DCI is received by the wireless device”. Figure [0472] indicates that the application delay can be applied in at least Figures 44 and 45.
Regarding claim 36: Zhou ’466 discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the BS comprising:
a transceiver (see the combination of elements 1510 and 1512 of Figure 15A, for example); and
a processor configured to (see element 1508 of Figure 15A, for example):
transmit, to a terminal, first configuration information related to discontinuous reception (DRX), via higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0336]-[0337] and step 3701 of Figure 37A, for example, which describes a UE receiving (and a base station transmitting) RRC (higher layer) signaling including configuration information related to DRX),
transmit, to the terminal, second configuration information related to synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block periodicity, via the higher layer signaling (disclosed throughout; see [0313], which indicates that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message”; the RRC message is part of the higher layer signaling (one or more RRC messages); as indicated in [0144], SSBs refer to SS/PBCH blocks);
determine to operate a network energy saving method among a plurality of network energy saving methods, wherein the plurality of network energy saving methods includes the DRX for network energy saving and a periodicity adaptation of SS/PBCH block transmission (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; this message indicates to the UE to perform the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); clearly, the network determines this method prior to sending the message; further, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”); and
transmit, to the terminal, in a first slot, downlink control information (DCI) including information indicating an operation of the network energy saving method (disclosed throughout; see 3703 of Figure 3, for example; first, as indicated in [0341], this message may be “a DCI”; second, the as indicated in [0347], the period 3704 (which is triggered by the DCI message 3703) performs the operation of DRX for network energy saving by synchronizing the DRX with the cell DTX (“wireless device DRX operation may be enabled when the cell is in the first power state (e.g., in Cell DTX ON period) and go to sleep by disabling wireless device DRX when the cell is in a second power state (e.g., in Cell DTX OFF period), for example, based on enabling Cell DTX operation”); third, this DRX for network energy saving is one of a plurality of network energy saving operations that also include the periodicity adaptation of SSB (see [0329], for example, which indicates that “network energy saving operation may comprise shutting down some cells and/or reducing periodicity of SSB/SIB1/SIB2”).
Zhou ’466 does not explicitly disclose the limitations of wherein the operation of the network energy saving method is performed at a second slot that is determined based on the first slot and a delay time, and wherein the delay time is associated with the operation of the network energy saving method indicated by the DCI. However, Zhou ’796 discloses analogous art including configuration network energy saving operations by a base station for a user equipment. For example, see the abstract, which discloses that energy savings may be implemented by changing the number of periodic CSI reference signals (P-CSI-RSs). The change in the number of P-CSI-RSs is triggered by “a DCI comprising an energy saving indication” (see abstract, for example). In addition, Zhou ’466 introduces an “application delay” (also referred to as at least a “time gap” and an “application time delay”) that delays the “application” (or performing) of the energy saving operation (such as changing the number of P-CSI-RSs) for a time period after the receipt of the DCI. For example, see [00460], which indicates that “the wireless device may determine a time gap starting from T0 for applying the switching off 2nd CSI-RS resources”. Time T0 is the time that the DCI is received as indicated in Figures 44 and 45; see [0465], which indicates “the application delay window starts from the first slot (which is T0) where the DCI is received by the wireless device”. Figure [0472] indicates that the application delay can be applied in at least Figures 44 and 45.
Regarding claims 22, 27, 32, and 37: the combination of Zhou ’466 and Zhou ’796 (“Zhou ’466-Zhou ’796”) discloses the limitations of parent claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 as indicated above. Zhou ’466-Zhou ’796 further discloses the limitations of claim 22 of wherein in case that the network energy saving method is the DRX for the network energy saving, the delay time is a first delay time associated with the operation of the DRX for the network energy saving (in the Zhou ’466-Zhou ’796 combination described above, the network energy saving method is the DRX for network energy saving and the delay time is the time between receiving the DCI and applying the DRX mode for network energy saving; thus, the delay time is associated with the operation of the DRX for network energy saving), and wherein the operation of the DRX for the network energy saving is performed based on the first configuration information (disclosed throughout; see [0347], for example, which discloses that the DRX operation is implemented (according to the “device specific DRX configuration”) during the Cell DTX ON periods).
Regarding claims 23, 28, 33, and 38: the combination of Zhou ’466 and Zhou ’796 discloses the limitations of parent claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 as indicated above. Zhou ’466 focuses on the DRX/cell DTX configuration/operation and is silent regarding the entire limitation of claims 23, 28, 33, and 38 that in case that the network energy saving method is the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception, the delay time is a second delay time associated with the operation of the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception, and wherein the operation of the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception is performed based on the second configuration information. However, as noted above, Zhou ’466 discloses that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message” (see [0313]). Further, Zhou ’796 discloses that “in response to transmitting the DCI indicating the energy saving, the base station may transmit the SSBs (or one or more of the SSBs) with adjusted transmission parameters (e.g., longer periodicity, smaller number of beams/SSBs, reduced transmission power etc.)” (see [0471] and [0476], for example). Thus, the DCI may indicate periodicity adaptation (adjustment) of SSB reception.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou ’466 to indicate via the DCI to perform the operation of adjusting the SSB periodicity as suggested above. It would further have been obvious to apply the application delay of Zhou ’796 to this DCI as well by delaying the application of the SSB periodicity adjustment until after the application delay has elapsed. This delay time is associated with the operation of the SSB periodicity adaptation/adjustment. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide additional mechanisms for network energy savings (such as the SSB periodicity adjustment) and to prevent a misalignment for these mechanisms between the base station and the wireless device/UE as suggested in [0455] of Zhou ’796.
Regarding claims 24, 29, 34, and 39: the combination of Zhou ’466 and Zhou ’796 discloses the limitations of parent claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 as indicated above. Zhou ’466 is silent regarding he delay time and thus does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 24, 29, 34, and 39 of receiving/transmitting, from the BS, information for the delay time via the higher layer signaling, wherein the delay time associated with the operation of the network energy saving method indicated by the DCI is determined based on the information for the delay time. However, Zhou ’796 discloses that “[t]he time gap may be configured by the base station in RRC, MAC CE and/or DCI” (see [0460], for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou ’466 implement an application delay (a delay time associated with the operation of the network energy saving method) between the receipt of the DCI indicating the activation of network DTX and the associated DRX energy saving operation and the application of this DRX energy saving operation. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the one or more RRC messages (the higher layer signaling) to configure the application delay/time gap from the base station as suggested by Zhou ’796. The rationale for doing so would have been to prevent a misalignment between the base station and the wireless device/UE as suggested in [0455] of Zhou ’796 and to further enable the network to adjust this application delay to improve system performance.
Regarding claims 25, 30, 35, and 40: the combination of Zhou ’466 and Zhou ’796 discloses the limitations of parent claims 21, 26, 31, and 36 as indicated above. Zhou ’466 focuses on the DRX/cell DTX configuration/operation and is silent regarding the entire limitation of claims 25, 30, 35, and 40 that in case that the network energy saving method is the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception/transmission, the DCI including the information indicating the operation of the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception is associated with a specific radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) defined for the periodicity adaptation of the SS/PBCH block reception. However, as noted above, Zhou ’466 discloses that “[t]he base station may indicate a transmission periodicity of SSB via an RRC message” (see [0313]). Further, Zhou ’796 discloses that “in response to transmitting the DCI indicating the energy saving, the base station may transmit the SSBs (or one or more of the SSBs) with adjusted transmission parameters (e.g., longer periodicity, smaller number of beams/SSBs, reduced transmission power etc.)” (see [0471] and [0476], for example). Thus, the DCI may indicate periodicity adaptation (adjustment) of SSB reception. Further, Zhou ’466 discloses that a dedicated RNTI can be used for the DCI signaling the DRX/cell DTX activation. For example, see [0365] and [0367], which indicate that “[t]he base station may send/transmit the DCI indicating the cell on/off operation (or a cell DTX configuration/operation, such as described with respect to FIG. 37A) with a RNTI (different from the PS-RNTI)…” and the “wireless device may monitor PDCCH for an RNTI dedicatedly configured for receiving DCI comprising cell-on/off (or cell DTX enabling/disabling, cell DTX activation/deactivation, etc.) indication…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Zhou ’466 to indicate via the DCI to perform the operation of adjusting the SSB periodicity as suggested above. It would further have been obvious to utilize a dedicated RNTI to send the DCI activating the SSB periodicity adjustment as suggested by Zhou ’796. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide additional mechanisms for network energy savings (such as the SSB periodicity adjustment) and to prevent a misalignment for these mechanisms between the base station and the wireless device/UE as suggested in [0455] and [0365] of Zhou ’796.
Conclusion
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 July 7, 2026