DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/24, 8/12/24, 10/30/24, and 7/25/25 was filed prior to the mailing date of a first Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is believed that “isoparaflin” should be “isoparaffin.” Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, and 13 each recite ranges for amounts of specific ingredients, but fail to recite the units on the percentage, as well as what the percentage is with respect to. For example, in claim 14, is the range “0.01-4% of a rheology modifier” a weight percent, and is it a percent with respect to the total weight of the composition? Clarification is required. Since dependent claims 2-37-9, 11-12, and 14-15 do not clarify the point of confusion, they are also rejected.
Claim 2 recites an iron chelator having a log K1 of greater than about 16. This limitation is indefinite because the skilled artisan would recognize that a given chelator does not possess a single log K1, but rather a log K1 that will vary with the ion of interest as well as the ionic strength, pH, and temperature of the composition in which the log K1 is measured. Claim 2, however, fails to recite the ionic strength, pH, and temperature at which the recited log K1 value is obtained, and while the claim recites that the chelator is an “iron chelator,” it does not specify that iron is the ion used to measure the log K1 recited by the claim. The skilled artisan would recognize that metal chelators typically are capable of chelating a variety of ions, such that the “iron chelator” of claim 2 may possess chelating abilities for many metal ions besides iron, and would possess a different log K1 value for each of them. Clarification is required.
Claim 12 recites “the conditioner gel matrix” in parts a), b), and c), but there is no antecedent basis for this limitation. Clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites a rheology modifier that “is a polymeric rheology modifier or polyacrylamide & C13-14 isoparafin & laureth-7,” which is indefinite because it is unclear if polyacrylamide, C13-14 isoparafin, & laureth-7 are each separate and independent species of rheology modifier, or if claim 14 requires the presence of all three of these species in combination. Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination in view of the prior art, claim 14 has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation, which is that only one of a polymeric rheology modifie,r polyacrylamide, C13-14 isoparaffin, or laureth-7 is required.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and recites that the composition is “further comprising about 5% to about 45% of one or more detersive surfactants” which reads on an embodiment comprising one detersive surfactant in the amount of, for example, 45 wt% or 5%, but base claim 1 recites that the composition comprises “about 10% to about 20% of a detersive surfactant.” Therefore, claim 6 is broader than claim 1 with respect to the amount of the detersive surfactant. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kasuga et al. (US Pat. No. 6,624,126).
As to claims 1 and 5-9, Kasuga discloses personal cleansing compositions such as shampoo (a “hair care composition” of claims 1 and 6)(column 5, last full paragraph). The composition comprises an anionic surfactant (a “detersive surfactant” of claim 1) such as alkyl sulfates or alkyl ether sulfates (claim 7) in the amount of 8-22 wt% which encompasses the range of claim 1 and overlaps the range of claim 6 (column 2, 1st full paragraph), the composition further comprising an antibacterial agent (column 1, lines 40-43) such as piroctone olamine (i.e., “1-hydroxy-4-methyl-6-(2,4,4-treimethylopentyl)-2-pyridone monoethanolamine salt” of claim 1)(column 2, 2nd full paragraph) in the amount of 0.1%-0.4%, which overlaps the ranges of claims 1 and 5 (column 3, lines 39-45), the composition further comprising a chelating agent such as DTPA (column 4, lines 36-44) in the amount of 0.2 wt%-5 wt%, which overlaps the range of claim 1 (column 5, lines 27-30), and further comprising water to balance (an “aqueous carrier” of claim 1)(see Table and Examples 2-5). The composition further comprises a glyceryl ether in the amount of 1-30 wt% (column 3, last full paragraph). The ranges taught by Kasuga allow for amounts of water within the about 40-95 wt% range recited by claim 1 for the aqueous carrier. For example, the use of 30 wt% glyceryl ether, 5 wt% DTPA, 0.4 wt% piroctone olamine, and 22% anionic surfactant would be within the ranges taught by Kusaga and totals to 57.4%, which implies 42.6% water to balance. Additionally, discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, the surfactant may be a zwitterionic surfactant such as a quaternary ammonium surfactant wherein each aliphatic substituent comprises 6-14 carbon atoms (which overlaps the about 8 to about 18 carbon atom range recited by the claims), and a phosphate, phosphonate, or sulfonate group (column 2, lines 22-44).
As to claims 1 and 5-9, Kusaga does not further expressly disclose a single embodiment comprising the detersive surfactant, DTPA, 1-hydroxy-4-methyl-6-(2,4,4-treimethylopentyl)-2-pyridone monoethanolamine salt, and aqueous carrier within the amounts recited by claim 1, nor that the modified fractional inhibitor concentration of the DTPA and piroctone olamine is less than about 50 ppm as recited by claim 1. Additionally, while Kasuga discloses that the composition may comprise an amphoteric surfactant such as amidopropyl betaine (i.e., a derivative of a tertiary amine having a carboxy anionic group)(column 5, lines 39-40), it does not specify that the number of aliphatic substituents is about 8 to about 18 carbon atoms as recited by claim 8.
As to claims 1, 5-9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the disclosure of Kusaga by selecting a detersive surfactant, DTPA, 1-hydroxy-4-methyl-6-(2,4,4-treimethylopentyl)-2-pyridone monoethanolamine salt, and aqueous carrier as the ingredients of the composition and within the amounts recited by claim 1, because Kusaga expressly teaches that each of the foregoing ingredients may be used in the compositions taught therein and in amounts within the recited ranges. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301). MPEP § 2144.07. The resulting composition will possess a modified fractional inhibitor concentration of the DTPA and piroctone olamine of less than about 50 ppm as recited by claim 1 because it comprises DTPA and the piroctone olamine in the same amounts recited by the claim and a product cannot be separated from its properties. The U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the countless ways that an Applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When the prior art appears to contain the same ingredients that are disclosed by Applicants' own specification as suitable for use in the invention, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established, and the burden is properly shifted to Applicants to demonstrate otherwise. See MPEP 2112.01.
As to claim 8, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select a number of carbon atoms in the aliphatic substituent of the amphoteric surfactant that is within the about 8-18 recited range, because compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups, are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kasuga et al. (US Pat. No. 6,624,126) as applied to claims 1 and 5-9 above, and further in view of Miracle et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2013/0045910; of record in IDS).
The teachings of Kasuga are relied upon as discussed above, but Kusaga does not further expressly disclose that the iron chelator has a log K1 of greater than about 16 (claim 2) or is at least one of DTPMP and desferrioxamine (claim 3) which is present in an amount within the range of claim 4.
Miracle discloses detergent compositions comprising iron chelating agents such as DTPMP in the amount of about 0.1-50%, which overlaps the range of claim 4 (paragraphs 6, 106, and 112).
As to claims 2-4, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Kusaga cleansing composition by selecting DTPMP as the chelator in amounts within the range of claim 4 instead of, or in addition to, the DTPA chelator disclosed by Kusaga, because Kusaga does not limit the identity of the chelator to those expressly disclosed therein, and Miracle teaches that DTPMP in such amounts is suitable for use as a chelator in a cleansing composition, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that it successfully could be used as a chelator in the Kasuga composition. Such a modification is merely the simple substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, the metes and bounds of this claim are unclear as discussed in the 112(b) rejection, supra. Since claim 3 (which recites DTPMP as the chelator, depends from claim 2) depends from claim 2, however, DTPMP is considered to possess a log K1 within the scope of claim 2.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Kasuga et al. (US Pat. No. 6,624,126; of record in IDS) as applied to claims 1 and 5-9 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0348886).
The teachings of Kasuga are relied upon as discussed above. Kusaga further disclose that the composition may comprise a cationic surfactant such as quaternary ammonium salts having an aliphatic long chain alkyl substituent having 6-14 carbon atoms (column 2, third full paragraph), but Kusaga does not further expressly disclose that the composition is a rinse off or leave on treatment (claims 10 and 12) such as a hair conditioner comprising a gel matrix comprising a high melting point fatty compound, cationic surfactant system, (such as mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salts of claim 11) and second aqueous carrier within the ranges recited by claims 10 and 12, nor the presence of a rheology modifier in the range of claim 13 such as a polyacrylamide of claim 14. Additionally, while Kasuga teaches that the composition may comprise an anti-dandruff agent (column 5, line 47), it does not teach that said agent is selected from one of the species recited by claim 15, such as ketoconazole, econazole, or elubiol.
Johnson discloses shampoos and conditioner compositions having improved rheology resulting in the creaminess desired by consumers while maintaining increased deposition of conditioning agents (paragraphs 1-4 and 6-7). The composition comprises a chelating agent, a surfactant, a cationic polymer, an associative thickener such as a polyacrylamide in the amount of 0.5-3 wt% which is within the range of claim 13, an anti-dandruff active such as ketoconazole, econazole, or elubiol, and an aqueous carrier (a “second aqueous carrier” of claim 10)(Abstract and paragraphs 105, 118, 132, 134, 149-151). The shampoo further may comprise fatty alcohol gel networks formed by combining fatty alcohols (a “high melting point fatty compound” of claim 10) and surfactants, and Johnson teaches that the gel network provides a stabilizing benefit and conditioned feel benefits to hair conditioners (paragraph 153). The fatty alcohol is present in the amount of about 1-10 wt%, which is within the range of claims 10 and 12, (paragraph 154), the second aqueous carrier is present in the amount of 60-85 wt% which is within the “at least 20%” range of claims 10 and 12 (paragraph 118), and the surfactant is present in the amount of about 8-30 wt%, which overlaps the range of claims 10 and 12 (paragraph 119). The composition may be rinsed off (paragraph 168).
As to claims 10-15, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the disclosure of Kusaga by incorporating a conditioning gel matrix comprising a fatty alcohol, cationic surfactant, and second aqueous carrier in amounts within the ranges of claims 10 and 12, along with a polyacrylamide rheology modifier in an amount within the range of claim 14 to form a rinse off hair conditioner, because Johnson teaches that shampoos and conditioner compositions having improved rheology resulting in the creaminess desired by consumers while maintaining increased deposition of conditioning agents can be formulated by incorporating the foregoing ingredients in amounts within the presently claimed ranges. The recitation of claim 12 that the composition is a “leave-on” treatment is an intended use of the composition and is not granted additional patentable weight, as the Johnson compositions are capable of being left on the hair. MPEP 2111.02.
As to claim 11, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select a mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt as the surfactant, because Kusaga itself teaches that such compounds are useful as surfactants in the hair care compositions taught therein, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that they also could be used as the surfactant in the gel matrix of the composition. Such a modification is merely substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 15, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select ketoconazole, econazole, or elubiol as the anti-dandruff agent, because Kusaga does not limit the identity of the anti-dandruff agent and Johnson teaches that these compounds are effective as anti-dandruff agents in hair care compositions such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that they could be used as the anti-dandruff active in the Kusaga hair care composition. Such a modification is merely the simple substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over all claims 1-5 of U.S. Pat. No. 11,801,213 and in view of Johnson et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0348886) and Kasuga et al. (US Pat. No. 6,624,126) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
The reference claims recite a shampoo composition comprising 10-20% detersive surfactant, and 0.1-10% 1-hydroxy-4-methyl-6-(2,4,4-treimethylopentyl)-2-pyridone monoethanolamine salt combined with 0.3-6% DTPA to have a modified fractional inhibitor concentration of less than about 50 ppm, and 40-95% aqueous carrier, and further comprising desferrioxamine as an iron chelator, and further comprising a gel matrix comprising 0.1-20% fatty alcohol, 0.1-10% cationic surfactant, and 20-95% aqueous carrier, the composition further comprising an anti-dandruff agent such as ketoconazole. Regarding claim 2, the metes and bounds of this claim are unclear as discussed in the 112(b) rejection, supra. Since claim 3 (which recites dexferrioxamine as the chelator, depends from claim 2) depends from claim 2, however, dexferrioxamine is considered to possess a log K1 within the scope of claim 2.
Although the reference claims do not recite that the surfactant comprises an anionic surfactant, or an amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactant with aliphatic substituents of 8-18 carbon atoms and an anionic group such as a carboxy group, or that the cationic surfactant comprises a mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, it would have been prima facie obvious to select these surfactants for inclusion because Kusaga teaches that these surfactants are suitable for use in hair care compositions, and because compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups, are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Although the reference claims do not recite that the composition comprises a polyacrylamide rheology modifier in an amount within the range of claim 14, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate same because Johnson teaches that shampoos and conditioner compositions having improved rheology resulting in the creaminess desired by consumers can be formulated by incorporating polyacrylamide in such amounts.
The recitation of claims 10 and 12 that the composition is a “leave-on” or “rinse-off” treatment is an intended use of the composition and is not granted additional patentable weight, as the reference compositions are capable of being left on the hair or rinsed off.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as unpatentable over all claims 1-4 of U.S. Pat. No. 11,529,299 and in view of Johnson et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2014/0348886) and/or Kasuga et al. (US Pat. No. 6,624,126) where indicated below.
The teachings of the cited secondary references are relied upon as discussed above.
The reference claims recite a shampoo composition comprising 10-20% detersive surfactant, and 0.1-10% 1-hydroxy-4-methyl-6-(2,4,4-treimethylopentyl)-2-pyridone monoethanolamine salt combined with 0.3-6% DTPA to have a modified fractional inhibitor concentration of less than about 50 ppm, and 40-95% aqueous carrier, and further comprising desferrioxamine as an iron chelator, the composition further comprising an anti-dandruff agent such as ketoconazole. Regarding claim 2, the metes and bounds of this claim are unclear as discussed in the 112(b) rejection, supra. Since claim 3 (which recites dexferrioxamine as the chelator, depends from claim 2) depends from claim 2, however, dexferrioxamine is considered to possess a log K1 within the scope of claim 2.
Although the reference claims do not recite that the surfactant comprises an anionic surfactant, or an amphoteric or zwitterionic surfactant with aliphatic substituents of 8-18 carbon atoms and an anionic group such as a carboxy group, or that the cationic surfactant comprises a mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt, it would have been prima facie obvious to select these surfactants for inclusion because Kusaga teaches that these surfactants are suitable for use in hair care compositions, and because compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups, are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Although the reference claims do not recite that the composition comprises a polyacrylamide rheology modifier in an amount within the range of claim 14, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate same because Johnson teaches that shampoos and conditioner compositions having improved rheology resulting in the creaminess desired by consumers can be formulated by incorporating polyacrylamide in such amounts.
The recitation of claims 10 and 12 that the composition is a “leave-on” or “rinse-off” treatment is an intended use of the composition and is not granted additional patentable weight, as the reference compositions are capable of being left on the hair or rinsed off.
Although the reference claims do not recite that the composition further comprises a gel matrix comprising 0.1-20% fatty alcohol, 0.1-10% cationic surfactant, and 20-95% aqueous carrier, it would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate same because Johnson teaches that shampoos and conditioner compositions having improved rheology resulting in the creaminess desired by consumers while maintaining increased deposition of conditioning agents can be formulated by incorporating the foregoing ingredients in amounts within the presently claimed ranges.
The recitation of claim 12 hat the composition is a “leave-on” treatment is an intended use of the composition and is not granted additional patentable weight, as the Johnson compositions are capable of being left on the hair.
As to claim 11, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select a mono-long alkyl quaternized ammonium salt as the surfactant, because Kusaga itself teaches that such compounds are useful as surfactants in the hair care compositions taught therein, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that they also could be used as the surfactant in the gel matrix of the composition. Such a modification is merely substitution of one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results, which is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600