DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2023, 12/07/2023, 05/28/2024, 12/12/2024, 05/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-12, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US Pub 2013/0113422 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a system comprising:
a power antenna (310; ¶ 0046; the receiving coil 310 receives power from the
transmitting coil 210 of the wireless power transmitter 200 through electromagnetic induction; element 310 functions as the power antenna);
a wireless power receiver (320 and 330) coupled to the power antenna (fig. 3, element 310);
a data antenna (fig. 4, element 340; ¶ 0049; The short-range communication
antenna 340 may perform a function of an antenna which transmits and receives information to and from the reader);
a wireless data receiver (fig. 4, element 370; the short-range communication
module 370 may receive a current through the short range communication antenna 340 in ¶ 0078) coupled to the data antenna (fig. 4, element 340);
a switch (fig. 4, element 350) selectively coupling the data antenna to the wireless data receiver (¶¶ 0069-0071; The switch 350 is connected to the short-range communication antenna 340 and receives an open or short signal from the controller 390 to be described below such that the switch 350 may change a conducting state of the short-range communication antenna); and
control circuitry (fig. 4, element 390) configured to operate the switch (350) to disconnect the data antenna from the wireless data receiver in response to power being received by the wireless power receiver through the power antenna (¶0070; If it is determined that the power is received from the transmitting coil 320, the switch 350 may receive the open signal from the controller 390 such that the switch 350 may break the current from flowing through the short-range communication antenna 340).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to operate the switch to connect the data antenna to the wireless data receiver when an amount of power received by the wireless power receiver is below a predetermined threshold (¶ 0073; The Zener diode may allow only a current having a value equal to or less than a threshold current value to flow through a circuit. The threshold current value may be variably set and may be a limit value at which the short-range communication module 370 may be normally operated).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to default to a power receive mode with the switch in an open position (see fig. 11, step 103; starting with open switch).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the control circuitry is configured to respond to a data availability event (¶¶ 0068, 0078 and claim 20; by NFC antenna) by:
Connecting (¶ 0071; the switch 350 may receive the short signal from the controller 390 such that the switch 350 may conduct the current through the short-range communication antenna 340, so the switch 350 may allow the short-range communication antenna 340 to be operated) the data antenna (340) to the wireless data receiver (370) using the switch (350), and actively pinging for a readable data tag (¶ 0068; NFC (Near Field Communication) may be preferably used for the wireless communication antenna 340 and the short-range communication module 370) with the wireless data receiver (370).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the power antenna is a planar coil antenna (¶ 0046 and fig. 1-3, 5-7; show coil structure typical of planar spiral coils).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses wherein the data antenna is a planar coil antenna (¶ 0046 and see fig. 6; show coil structure typical of planar spiral coils).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the data antenna (fig. 8, element 340) is in a parallel plane (¶ 0049; the receiving coil 310 may be disposed in the
reception space inside the printed circuit board 301, and the short-range communication antenna 340 may be disposed to surround the receiving coil 310 on the printed circuit board 301. Therefore, the receiving coil 310 is substantially in a parallel plane to the short-range communication) to the power antenna (fig. 8, element 310).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the data antenna (340) overlaps the power antenna (310) along an axis normal to a plane of the data antenna (see fig. 6b).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses a method comprising:
detecting a data availability event on a device (¶ 0073; The zener
diode may allow only a current having a value equal to or less than a threshold current value to flow through a circuit; when this condition is met),
wherein:
the data availability event indicates an availability of data wirelessly available for the device (¶ 0078; the short-range communication module 370 may receive a current through the short range communication antenna 340),
the device includes a wireless power receiver (320 and 330) coupled to a power antenna (310; ¶ 0046; the receiving coil 310 receives power from the transmitting coil 210 of the wireless power transmitter 200 through electromagnetic induction; element 310 functions as the power antenna),
the device includes a wireless data receiver (fig. 4, element 370; the short-range communication module 370 may receive a current through the short-range communication antenna 340 in ¶ 0078) coupled to a data antenna (fig. 4, element 340; ¶ 0049; The short-range communication antenna 340 may perform a function of an antenna which transmits and receives information to and from the reader), and
the device includes a switch (fig. 4, element 350) selectively coupling the wireless data receiver to the data antenna (¶¶ 0069-0071; The switch 350 is connected to the short-range communication antenna 340 and receives an open or short signal from the controller 390 to be described below such that the switch 350 may change a conducting state of the short-range communication antenna);
in response to detecting the data availability event, operating the switch to selectively couple the wireless data receiver to the data antenna (¶0070; If it is determined that the power is received from the transmitting coil 320, the switch 350 may receive the open signal from the controller 390 such that the switch 350 may break the current from flowing through the short-range communication antenna 340); and
initiating a connection between the device and a wireless data source through the data antenna (¶ 0049; The short-range communication antenna 340 may communicate with a reader capable of performing a shortrange communication. The short-range communication antenna 340 may perform a function of an antenna which
transmits and receives information to and from the reader).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses wherein the data availability event includes a detection of an amount of power received by the wireless power receiver below a predetermined threshold (¶ 0073; The Zener diode may allow only a current having a value equal to or less than a threshold current value to flow through a circuit).
Claim(s) 5-10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of LONGINOTTI-BUITONI et al. US 2019/0132948 (hereinafter Longinotti).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Lee fails to disclose wherein the data availability event includes a detection of a contact of at least part of the system with skin of a user.
Longinotti further discloses wherein the data availability event includes a detection of a contact of at least part of the system with skin of a user (¶¶ 0016, 0018, 0127; a body sensor may detect physiological status, including vital signs (pulse/heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, galvanic skin response (e.g., sweat), etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Longinotti by detecting galvanic skin response of the user, because it would be advantageous to
Regarding claim 6, Lee fails to disclose wherein the data availability event includes a detection of a garment pocket around at least part of the system.
Longinotti further discloses wherein the data availability event includes a detection of a garment pocket around at least part of the system (¶¶ 0018, 0077; A body sensor may detect user position (e.g., arm position, body position in space, posture, etc.); the shirt may also include a holder (e.g., pocket) on the body configured to hold a sensor manager unit in connection with the module interface).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Longinotti by detecting the garment pocket/location of a particular sensor as suggested Longinotti, because it would be advantageous to increase functionality of the module and further control additional enhancement elements added elsewhere in the intelligent wear system.
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not disclose the system further comprising a physiological monitor.
However, Longinotti further discloses an apparatus (e.g. garments) includes a plurality of body sensors to monitor physiological status in ¶ 0054.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Longinotti by including the physiological monitor in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase functionality of the module and further control additional enhancement elements added elsewhere in the intelligent wear system.
Regarding claim 8, Lee does not disclose wherein the physiological monitor includes a battery charged at least partially by the wireless power receiver.
Longinotti discloses wherein the physiological monitor includes a battery charged at least partially (¶ 0364; rechargeable battery) by the wireless power receiver (¶ 0261; power can be wireless).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Longinotti by wirelessly powering the battery of the intelligent wear system, because it would be advantageous to increase spatial flexibility of the whole system.
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not disclose wherein the physiological monitor includes a controller configured to operate the physiological monitor in response to data received by the wireless data receiver.
However, Longinotti discloses wherein the physiological monitor includes a controller (processor/controller) configured to operate the physiological monitor in response to data received by the wireless data receiver (¶¶ 0329, 0379; a plurality of body sensor signals are sent to a sensor module where a sensor board (FIG. 6E) on the module obtains the body sensor signals and the module processes the signals to generate an output).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Longinotti by including a controller to process the received data, because it would be advantageous to increase functionality of the module and further control additional enhancement elements added elsewhere in the intelligent wear system.
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Longinotti discloses wherein the data includes at least one of a garment type and a body location (Longinotti, ¶ 0586; The ECG electrodes may be positioned in the garment to be held against the right and left trunk regions, the respiration sensor may located on the garment to be held against the
xyphoid region).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Pub 2013/0113422 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 15, although Lee is silent about wherein the data antenna is concentric with the power antenna, changing the location of the data antenna from the location shown by Lee to the location on the center of the power antenna, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the Lee device that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to provide using routine experimentation since the courts have held that there is no invention in shifting the position if the operation of the device would not be thereby modified in order to minimize overall antenna module size without sacrificing performance and transmission efficiency. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wiley (US 2012/0149301).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses wherein the wireless power receiver includes a Near Field Communication power receiver (¶ 0046; The receiving coil 310 receives power from the transmitting coil 210 of the wireless power transmitter 200 through electromagnetic induction)
Lee fails to teach the wireless data receiver includes a Near Field Communication data tag reader.
Wiley further discloses the wireless data receiver includes a Near Field Communication data tag reader (¶ 0058; NFC functionality may respond when
receiver 400 is positioned proximate an NFC reader).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Wiley by including NFC reader in the system, because it would be advantageous to achieve effective and interference-protected NFC-based charging and tag reading system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ekambaram et al. US 2017/0098353 (hereinafter Ekambaram).
Regarding claim 20, Lee fails to disclose wherein the data availability event includes a detection of an insertion of the device into a pocket of a garment adjacent to a data tag.
Ekambaram discloses wherein the data availability event includes a detection of an insertion of the device (¶ 0024; if a physical object, even a non-ferrous physical object, is placed [inserted] between an NFC transmitter and an NFC receiver, the
NFC signal will be attenuated (reduced in strength) by the physical object) into a pocket of a garment adjacent to a data tag (¶ 0024; when the object is placed back into the
pocket, communication between NFC circuits significantly reduces).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to incorporate with the teaching of Ekambaram by enabling automatic data reading upon inserting/removing a physiological monitor into a smart garment pocket, because it would be advantageous to detect and prevent an unauthorized removal of an object from a garment pocket made from a smart textile.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 05/28/2026