DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed September 01, 2026, with respect to claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) rejections of claims 23 and 27 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed September 01, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-13, 15-20, and 24-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amended claim language is not taught by Kuehn US 2022/0249034 or Wang US 2022/0212260; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the article “Undercut Injection Molding: Effectively Using Undercuts in Injection Molding Designs” by Peng.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13, 19, and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuehn et al. US 2022/0249034 in view of Wang et al. US 2022/0212260 and of the article “Undercut Injection Molding: Effectively Using Undercuts in Injection Molding Designs” by Peng.
Regarding claim 1, Kuehn teaches a rotating frame for a gantry of a computed tomography unit (fig. 4), the rotating frame comprising: receiving areas (fig. 4a #4a), to which rotating components (#4, 7a, 7) of the computed tomography unit can be attached (para. 0122, 0127), wherein the rotating frame further comprises undercuts (fig. 5 #4; the drum 4 has an undercut in the space at the bend near 21a) the undercuts being in an axial direction (fig. 5 the horizontal direction is an axial direction) such that at least on portions of the rotating frame thicken in the axial direction or the rotating frame curve in the axial direction (fig. 5 #4; the bends in 4 cause a curve in the axial direction).
Kuehn fails to teach wherein the rotating frame and the undercuts are produced at least in part using additive manufacturing and the undercut being on an internal surface of the frame, curves inward, and defines at least one of the receiving areas.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotating frame and the undercuts are produced at least in part using additive manufacturing as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes and simplifying the attachment process of various components by attaching them as inserts.
Peng teaches that a variety of undercut types, including internal undercuts which curve inwards, are known in the art to be used in medical devices for securing components. The curved drum of Kuen bends inward (fig. 5, bend near 44) to define the receiving area (6, 7); however, the drum lacks a second bend (say near 46a) to define an inward curved, inner surface undercut. In light of Peng, the use of internal undercuts is well known in the art and it has been judiciarily determined that changing in shapes has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in shape is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of shape is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 2, Kuehn teaches the rotating frame further comprising: struts (fig. 6 #27).
Kuehn fails to teach the struts being formed via additive manufacturing.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the struts being formed via additive manufacturing as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Regarding claim 4, Kuehn does not specifically disclose wherein the rotating frame includes an average wall thickness of up to 20 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (less than or equal to 20mm) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical (MPEP 2144.05.I. in re Aller). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotating frame includes an average wall thickness of up to 20 mm in the rotating frame of Kuehn and Wang for the purpose of minimizing system weight.
Regarding claim 5, Kuehn does not specifically disclose the rotating frame weighs less than 200kg. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (less than 200kg) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical (MPEP 2144.05.I. in re Aller). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention to have the rotating frame weighs less than 200 kg in the rotating frame of Kuehn and Wang for the purpose of reducing shipping costs.
Regarding claim 6, Kuehn teaches the rotating frame further comprising: a frame not produced using additive manufacturing (fig. 4 #3a; para. 0034-0038).
Kuehn fails to teach at least one other element produced using additive manufacturing.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one other element produced using additive manufacturing as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Regarding claim 7, Kuehn teaches wherein the frame is produced from a rolled metal element (para. 0035; metal sheets are known to be rolled metal elements).
Regarding claim 8, Kuehn fails to teach wherein the rotating frame is entirely produced using additive manufacturing.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotating frame is entirely produced using additive manufacturing as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Regarding claim 9, Kuehn teaches further comprising: bracing elements (fig. 6 # 27), the bracing elements enclosing at least one receiving area on at least one side (fig. 6; the bracing element 27 encloses the receiving areas 6, 7, and 7a of fig. 4 by bracing one side of the elements 6, 7, and 7a which are inserted in the receiving areas).
Regarding claim 10, Kuehn teaches the rotating frame further comprising: at least one continuous ring (fig. 6 #46a); and struts (fig. 6 #27) positioned on the at least one continuous ring (fig. 6 #46a).
Kuehn fails to teach wherein the struts are added via an additive manufacturing process.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the struts are added via an additive manufacturing process as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Regarding claim 11, Kuehn does not specifically disclose wherein the rotating frame has a rigidity, such that during a rotation in operation of the computed tomography unit it is maximally deformable by up to 0.3 mm. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to recited range (having a deformity of .3mm or less) through routine experimentation and optimization. The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical (MPEP 2144.05.I. in re Aller). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotating frame has a rigidity, such that during a rotation in operation of the computed tomography unit it is maximally deformable by up to 0.3 mm in the rotating frame of Kuehn and Wang for the purpose of ensuring accuracy of imaging target region.
Regarding claim 12, Kuehn teaches a gantry (fig. 4) for a computed tomography unit (fig. 1) with the rotating frame of claim 1 (see Rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Kuehn teaches a computed tomography unit (fig. 1), comprising: the rotating frame of claim 1 (see Rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kuehn teaches the rotating frame further comprising: at least one continuous ring (fig. 6 #46a); and struts (fig. 6 #27) positioned on the at least one continuous ring (fig. 6 #46a).
Kuehn fails to teach wherein the struts are added via an additive manufacturing process.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the struts are added via an additive manufacturing process as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn and Tabolla for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Regarding claim 21, Kuehn does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts are irregularly shaped, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in shapes has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in shape is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of shape is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 23, Kuehn does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts connect two respective points on an outer ring of the rotating frame, the two respective points being spaced apart in a circumferential direction by an angular distance of 90 degrees to 170 degrees, however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 22, Kuehn and Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts have an irregular thickness, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in size has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in size is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of size is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 24, Kuehn teaches a rotating frame for a gantry of a computed tomography unit (fig. 4), the rotating frame comprising: receiving areas (fig. 4a #4a), to which rotating components (#4, 7a, 7) of the computed tomography unit can be attached (para. 0122, 0127) on an internal surface of the rotating frame (fig. 5), wherein the rotating frame further comprises struts (fig. 6 #27).
Kuehn does not explicitly disclose where the struts connect two respective points on the outer ring of the frame, however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Kuehn fails to teach wherein the rotating frame is produced at least in part using additive manufacturing and wherein the struts are formed via additive manufacturing.
Wang teaches an imaging system which is, at in least part, manufactured via additive manufacturing (abstract; figs. 1-2; para. 0001-0006, 0022; claim 2) for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the rotating frame is produced at least in part using additive manufacturing and wherein the struts are formed via additive manufacturing as taught by Wang in the rotating frame of Kuehn for the purpose of rapid prototyping or simplifying the manufacture of complex shapes and simplifying the attachment process of various components by attaching them as inserts.
Regarding claim 25, Kuehn and Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts are irregularly shaped, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in shapes has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in shape is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of shape is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 26, Kuehn and Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts have an irregular thickness, however, it has been judiciarily determined that changing in size has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.B). A change in size is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the change of size is not of patentable significance.
Regarding claim 27, Kuehn does not explicitly disclose wherein the struts connect two respective points on an outer ring of the rotating frame, the two respective points being spaced apart in a circumferential direction by an angular distance of 90 degrees to 170 degrees, however, it has been judiciarily determined that rearrangement of parts has been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04.IV.C). Rearrangement of parts is insufficient to establish patentability over the prior art of record unless it changes the operation of the device in some unexpected way. Since this device appears to operate in a similar manner to the prior art device, the rearrangement of parts is not of patentable significance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884