DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KAWAGUCHI et al. (US 2011/0227866 A1) in view of FUJIYOSHI et al. (WO 2018159460 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, KAWAGUCHI discloses a capacitive sensor comprising:
one or a plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]) including one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]);
an elastic dielectric body (Fig. 1-5 Item 124 or 120 discloses elastic member 120 and the thickness of the air layer is 0. In this case, because the elastic member 120 having a specific dielectric constant in Paragraph [0065 & 0069]) disposed below the one or plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]);
a shield electrode (Fig. 1-5 Item 131 or 132 discloses shield electrode 131 is connected to a ground potential and is opposed to the electrode pair 125 in the Z-axis in Paragraph [0065]) disposed with the elastic dielectric body (Fig. 1-5 Item 124 or 120 discloses elastic member 120 and the thickness of the air layer is 0. In this case, because the elastic member 120 having a specific dielectric constant in Paragraph [0065 & 0069]) interposed between the shield electrode (Fig. 1-5 Item 131 or 132) and the one or plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125);
a driving circuit (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13 includes a driver circuit that generates a drive signal input to the electrode pair 125 in Paragraph [0075]) coupled to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125) with a capacitance intervening between the driving circuit and the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 13discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieve in Paragraph [0074])
a first voltage output circuit that outputs a first alternating-current voltage to the driving unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0075]);
a detection circuit (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0075]) that detects a proximity, a contact, and pressing of a detection target to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item object or finger discloses two capacitively-coupled electrodes E11 and E12 as shown in FIG. 5, and a change in coupling capacitance thereof is detected. Generally, when a grounded object comes close to a capacitively-coupled area in Paragraph [0077]);
wherein the detection circuit (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0075]) has an circuit that has an inverting input terminal connected to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]) and also has a non-inverting input terminal to which the second alternating-current voltage is applied (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 or 23 discloses a control unit 23, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0098]).
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach a second voltage output unit that outputs a second alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage being applied to the one or more detection electrodes;
a third voltage output circuit that outputs a third alternating-current voltage to the shield electrode, the third alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to the frequency of the first alternating-current voltage and to the frequency of the second alternating-current voltage; and
wherein the first voltage output circuit, the second voltage output unit, and the third voltage output unit respectively output the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage so that an amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage becomes larger than or equal to an amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage and that an amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage becomes smaller than the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage.
wherein the detection circuit has an operational amplifier circuit.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches a second voltage output circuit that outputs a second alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses Second AC voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 in abstract); the second alternating-current voltage being applied to the one or more detection electrodes;
a third voltage output circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes); that outputs a third alternating-current voltage to the shield electrode, the third alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to the frequency of the first alternating-current voltage and to the frequency of the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses Second AC voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 in abstract); and
wherein the first voltage output circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract); the second voltage output circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract); and the third voltage output circuit respectively output the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage so that an amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage becomes larger than or equal to an amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage and that an amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses second AC voltage having a second amplitude smaller than the first amplitude is applied to the one drive electrode, and the third amplitude has the third amplitude); becomes smaller than the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage.
wherein the detection unit has an operational amplifier circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item 221 discloses FIG. 4 includes an operational amplifier 221);
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
While KAWAGUCHI as modified does not expressly teach wherein when a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target is denoted Cf, a capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit is denoted Cp, a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode is denoted Cs, the first alternating-current voltage is denoted VA, the second alternating-current voltage is denoted VB, the third alternating-current voltage is denoted VC, a capacitance of a capacitor connected between an output terminal of the operational amplifier circuit and the non-inverting input terminal is denoted Cq, and an output voltage at the output terminal is denoted V0, the output voltage V0 is represented as in equation (1) below:
The applicant's claimed equation is considered to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure as described in KAWAGUCHI as modified, and in the same environment, it is considered that the combination reads on all of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Regarding to claim 2, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to claim 1, wherein:
the one or plurality of front-side electrodes are a plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]); and
the driving circuit (Fig. 1-5 Item 13discloses control unit 13 includes a driver circuit that generates a drive signal input to the electrode pair 125 in Paragraph [0075]) is at least one front-side electrode included in the plurality of front-side electrodes, the at least one front-side electrode being other than the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding to claim 3, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to claim 1.
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach a selection unit that selects the one or more detection electrodes from the one or plurality of front-side electrodes, wherein
the second voltage output circuit outputs the second alternating-current voltage to the one or more detection electrodes selected by the selection unit.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches a selection circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes) that selects the one or more detection electrodes from the one or plurality of front-side electrodes, wherein
the second voltage output circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract) outputs the second alternating-current voltage to the one or more detection electrodes selected by the selection circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses the second AC voltages V2 applied to each of the plurality of drive electrodes X is switched on the basis of the sequence of a preset amplitude pattern in abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 6 KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to Claim 1.
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage, and the amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage are set to such amplitudes VA, VB, and Vc that a term (VB - VA) XCp and a term (VB - Vc)xCS in the equation (1) are mutually canceled in a state in which the proximity, the contact, and the pressing by the detection target is not being performed.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract) the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract), and the amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).are set to such amplitudes VA, VB, and Vc that a term (VB - VA) XCp and a term (VB - Vc)xCS in the equation (1) are mutually canceled in a state in which the proximity, the contact, and the pressing by the detection target is not being performed (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 7, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to claim 1.
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a sine wave.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract);, the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract), and the third alternating-current voltage are each a sine wave (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 8, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to claim 1.
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a square wave.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a square wave. (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & v2 discloses drive unit 24 applies a second AC voltage V2 having a frequency and phase substantially equal to the first AC voltage V1 to each of the plurality of drive electrodes X. In the following, as an example, the waveform of the second AC voltage V2 is also a rectangular wave that periodically oscillates around the reference voltage Vref, similarly to the first AC voltage V1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 9, KAWAGUCHI discloses a capacitive sensor comprising:
one or a plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]) including one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]);
an elastic dielectric body (Fig. 1-7B Item 120 discloses elastic member 120 and the thickness of the air layer is 0. In this case, because the elastic member 120 having a specific dielectric constant in Paragraph [0065 & 0069]) disposed below the one or plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]);
a shield electrode (Fig. 1-5 Item 131 or 132 discloses shield electrode 131 is connected to a ground potential and is opposed to the electrode pair 125 in the Z-axis in Paragraph [0065]) disposed with the elastic dielectric body (Fig. 1-5 Item 124 discloses electrode portion 125, which are arranged on the dielectric layer 124 in Paragraph [0065]) interposed between the shield electrode (Fig. 1-5 Item 131 or 132) and the one or plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125);
driving means (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13 includes a driver
circuit that generates a drive signal input to the electrode pair 125 in Paragraph [0075]) coupled to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125) with a
capacitance intervening between the driving means (Fig. 1-5 Item 13) and the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item 125);
first voltage output means that outputs a first alternating-current voltage to the driving means (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0075]);
detects a proximity (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13, and an arrangement interval therebetween or an input voltage is determined such that capacitive coupling therebetween is achieved in Paragraph [0075]), a contact, and pressing of a detection target to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-5 Item object or finger discloses two capacitively-coupled electrodes E11 and E12 as shown in FIG. 5, and a change in coupling capacitance thereof is detected. Generally, when a grounded object comes close to a capacitively-coupled area in Paragraph [0077]);
the capacitive sensor according to claim 9, wherein the detection means has a circuit that has an inverting input terminal connected to the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]),
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach second voltage output means that outputs a second alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage being applied to the one or more detection electrodes;
third voltage output means that outputs a third alternating-current voltage
to the shield electrode, the third alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to the frequency of the first alternating-current voltage and to the frequency of the second alternating-current voltage; and detection means that
wherein the first voltage output means, the second voltage output means, and the third voltage output means respectively output the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating- current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage so that an amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage becomes larger than or equal to an amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage and that an amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage becomes smaller than the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage;
wherein the detection unit has an operational amplifier circuit; and also has a non-inverting input terminal to which the second alternating-current voltage is applied.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches a second voltage output means that outputs a second alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to a frequency of the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses Second AC voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 in abstract), the second alternating-current voltage being applied to the one or more detection electrodes;
third voltage output means (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies
the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes) that outputs a third alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses Second AC voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 in abstract) to the shield electrode, the third alternating-current voltage having a frequency substantially equal to the frequency of the first alternating-current voltage and to the frequency of the second alternating-current voltage; and detection means that
wherein the first voltage output means (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract), the second voltage output means (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract); and the third voltage output means (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes); respectively output the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating- current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage so that an amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract), becomes larger than or equal to an amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes); and that an amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage becomes smaller than the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage.
wherein the detection unit has an operational amplifier circuit (Fig. 1-6 Item 221 discloses FIG. 4 includes an operational amplifier 221); and also has a non-inverting input terminal to which the second alternating-current voltage is applied. (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes);
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
While KAWAGUCHI as modified does not expressly teach wherein when a capacitance between the detection electrode and the detection target is denoted Cf, a capacitance between the detection electrode and the driving unit is denoted Cp, a capacitance between the detection electrode and the shield electrode is denoted Cs, the first alternating-current voltage is denoted VA, the second alternating-current voltage is denoted VB, the third alternating-current voltage is denoted VC, a capacitance of a capacitor connected between an output terminal of the operational amplifier circuit and the non-inverting input terminal is denoted Cq, and an output voltage at the output terminal is denoted V0, the output voltage V0 is represented as in equation (1) below:
The applicant's claimed equation is considered to be an inherent result of the recited structure and is not structurally different from the prior art as it merely describes a relationship that naturally follows from the structure, using similar assumptions as described in KAWAGUCHI as modified, and in the same environment, it is considered that the combination reads on all of the limitation of the claimed invention.
Regarding to claim 10, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor
according to claim 9, wherein: the one or plurality of front-side electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]) are a plurality of front-side electrodes; and the driving means (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13 includes a driver circuit that generates a drive signal input to the electrode pair 125 in Paragraph [0075]) is at least one front-side electrode included in the plurality of front- side electrodes, the at least one front-side electrode being other than the one or more detection electrodes (Fig. 1-8 Item 125-3 discloses the electrode pair 125 includes a first electrode portion 125 a and a second electrode portion 125 b in Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding to claim 11, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to claim 9, further comprising
selection means (Fig. 1-5 Item 13 discloses control unit 13 includes a selection
circuit that generates a drive signal input to the electrode pair 125 in Paragraph [0075]) that selects the one or more detection electrodes Fig. 1-5 Item 125) from the one or plurality of front-side electrodes Fig. 1-5 Item 125-1, 125-2, 126-3).
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the second voltage output means outputs the second alternating-current voltage to the one or more detection electrodes selected by the selection means.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the second voltage output means outputs the second alternating-current voltage to the one or more detection electrodes selected by the selection means. (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & V2 discloses Second AC voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 in abstract).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 14, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to Claim 9.
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage, and the amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage are set to such amplitudes VA, VB, and Vc that a term (VB - VA) XCp and a term (VB - Vc)xCS in the equation (1) are mutually canceled in a state in which the proximity, the contact, and the pressing by the detection target is not being performed.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the amplitude of the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract) the amplitude of the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract), and the amplitude of the third alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).are set to such amplitudes VA, VB, and Vc that a term (VB - VA) XCp and a term (VB - Vc)xCS in the equation (1) are mutually canceled in a state in which the proximity, the contact, and the pressing by the detection target is not being performed (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the second AC voltage V2 having the first amplitude to one drive electrode X, and applies the second AC voltage V2 having the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 15, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to Claim 9,
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a sine wave.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the first alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 discloses charge is supplied cyclically to a detection electrode Y so that a first AC voltage V1 occurs in the detection electrode Y in abstract);, the second alternating-current voltage (Fig. 1-6 Item V2 discloses voltages V2 having equivalent frequency and phase to the first AC voltage V1 are applied to each of a plurality of drive electrodes X. An amplitude pattern that is a combination of the amplitudes of the second AC voltages V2 in abstract), and the third alternating-current voltage are each a sine wave (Fig. 1-6 Item 21 discloses control unit 21 applies the third amplitude to the remaining drive electrodes).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Regarding to claim 16, KAWAGUCHI discloses the capacitive sensor according to Claim 9
However KAWAGUCHI does not explicitly teach wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a square wave.
However, FUJIYOSHI teaches wherein the first alternating-current voltage, the second alternating-current voltage, and the third alternating-current voltage are each a square wave. (Fig. 1-6 Item V1 & v2 discloses drive unit 24 applies a second AC voltage V2 having a frequency and phase substantially equal to the first AC voltage V1 to each of the plurality of drive electrodes X. In the following, as an example, the waveform of the second AC voltage V2 is also a rectangular wave that periodically oscillates around the reference voltage Vref, similarly to the first AC voltage V1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the common feature of a detection mechanism outputs a detection signal on a movement amount of the second member in the first direction based on a change of a combined capacitance of the electrode pair as taught by KAWAGUCHI to further utilize the control unit performs switching of the amplitude pattern based on a predetermined series of the amplitude patterns as taught by FUJIYOSHI in order to control unit applies the second AC voltage having an amplitude larger than the first AC voltage to the one drive electrode.
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858