DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, and 10-12, drawn to a method for manufacturing a secondary battery, and a method for manufacturing an electrode structure, in the reply filed on 06/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected (Group II), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/09/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/12/2024, 01/17/2025, and 06/09/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 20220131138 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a method for manufacturing a secondary battery ([0020, 0072], zinc-ion battery), the method comprising: providing a metal substrate ([0040]: zinc metal anode); surface-treating the metal substrate ([0024, 0028, 0040, 0062]: forming a coating on the zinc substrate by different coating technologies) to form a passivation layer including S and F ([0040, 0062, 0103], the zinc anode comprises a protective coating including a fluoride compound, a sulfide compound, or any combination thereof); and using the metal substrate on which the passivation layer is formed as a negative electrode to manufacture a secondary battery ([0062, 0072]).
Specifically, Chen teaches that the coating formed on the zinc substrate is a protective surface layer ([0040]). Chen further teaches that the coating technologies, coating materials, and thicknesses described for the cathode are likewise applicable to the zinc anode ([0040]), and that the zinc anode comprises one of the coatings described for the cathode ([0062]), including fluoride and sulfide compounds ([0103]). Chen further discloses that various deposition techniques may be employed for creating or applying layers, including dip coating ([0024, 0028]). Dip coating involves immersing a substrate into a treatment solution to form a layer on the substrate surface. This technique is considered applicable to forming a passivation layer on a metal substrate because the substrate is contacted with a liquid treatment solution to produce a surface layer. The instant application (see page 12 of specification) likewise forms a passivation layer by immersing the metal substrate into a surface-treatment solution. Therefore, the dip-coating technique is considered as the method for forming the passivation layer on the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chen further teaches a limitation wherein the passivation layer further comprise N, O and C ([0112]).
Building on the anode coating of Embodiment 27 ([0111]), Chen further teaches that the coating further comprises compounds having hydroxyl or carboxyl groups, saccharides, (meth)acrylic acid/(meth)acrylate polymers, nitride compounds having an N-H group, and compounds having a carbon-nitrogen structure, thereby teaching C, O, and N in the passivation layer ([0112]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qiu et al. (Qiu, H., et al., 2019, Nature Communications, 10, 5374).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chen does not teach a limitation wherein an SEI layer is formed by using the passivation layer in a process of charging and discharging the secondary battery.
However, Qiu teaches this limitation. Specifically, Qiu teaches that a Zn-compatible interphase (SEI) is formed on the Zn anode during galvanostatic Zn plating/stripping (i.e., charge/discharge cycling), wherein SEI is formed in situ by preferential reductive decomposition of the TFSI-containing electrolyte. Qiu further teaches that the resulting SEI comprises inorganic species such as ZnF₂ and sulfides, together with S/N-rich organic compounds containing C–F, S=O, and C–N functional groups (page 6; Fig. 4f), thereby providing fluorine-, sulfur-, nitrogen-, oxygen-, and carbon-containing species within the SEI. The resulting SEI functions as a stable interphase that regulates Zn deposition, suppresses dendrite growth, and improves cycling stability (Figs. 4f-g, 5; pages 6-8; Discussion, p. 10).
Further, Chen, and Qiu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to improving the electrochemical performance of zinc-metal anodes by providing a protective surface layer on the zinc substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would use the passivated zinc substrate of Chen under the charge/discharge conditions taught by Qiu, whereby an SEI layer is formed during battery cycling, because Qiu teaches that such an interphase provides improved zinc deposition behavior, suppresses dendrite growth, and enhances cycling stability (pages 6-8; Discussion, p. 10).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20220131138 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chen further teaches a limitation wherein the passivation layer has a thickness of 20-30 μm ([0113]). Specifically, Chen teaches that the coating on the zinc substrate has a mean thickness from 0.1 nm to 50 μm ([0113]). The claimed passivation layer thickness of 20–30 μm falls entirely within Chen's disclosed thickness range of 0.1 nm to 50 μm. It has been held that in the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (US 20150364789 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Chen further teaches a limitation wherein metal substrate comprises zinc ([0040]). Specifically, Chen teaches coating a zinc-based metal anode ([0040]) and further teaches forming a coating on a zinc substrate for use as a zinc anode ([0110-0113]) in a zinc-ion battery ([0018, 0020, 0054]). Chen does not teach a limitation wherein the secondary battery comprises a zinc-air battery.
However, Ogawa teaches this limitation. Specifically, Ogawa discloses a zinc-air battery including a zinc anode ([0033]). Ogawa further teaches providing the zinc anode with an anion-conducting layer covering the active material layer to suppress dendrite growth and improve cycling performance ([0033, 0308-0309]). Ogawa also teaches that zinc-air batteries are advantageous because they do not require rare metals in the electrode material, and, if dendrite-induced short circuits are suppressed, are expected to become more widespread due to these safety and cost advantages ([0026]).
Further, Chen, and Ogawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both references are directed to improving zinc-anode performance by providing a protective surface layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would incorporate the coated zinc anode of Chen into the zinc-air battery of Ogawa because Chen teaches that the coating improves zinc-anode performance ([0018] of Chen), while Ogawa teaches the advantages of zinc-air batteries and the desirability of improving zinc-anode durability in such batteries ([0026] of Ogawa). Using Chen's coated zinc anode in the zinc-air battery of Ogawa would have been no more than the predictable use of a known zinc-anode structure in another known zinc battery configuration to achieve its expected benefits. In addition, it is obvious to simple substitute the coated zinc anode of Chen into the end-user of the Ogawa Zn-air battery and expect functionality of the resultant battery retaining benefits of Chen. See MPEP 2143 I (B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art and additional prior art references cited below fail to teach or suggest every limitation of claim 10.
Claim 10 recites a method for manufacturing an electrode structure comprising:
mixing trimethylethyl ammonium hydroxide and acetonitrile and adding methyl trifluoromethanesulfonate to prepare Me3EtNOTF;
dispersing Zn(OTF)2, Zn(TFSI)2, and Zn(FSI) in a solvent and adding Me3EtNOTF to prepare a mixed solution;
and immersing a metal substrate in the mixed solution to form a passivation layer on the metal substrate.
Qiu et al. (Qiu, H., et al., 2019, Nat Commun, 10, 5374), as cited above, discloses the formation and characterization of a Zn-containing passivation (SEI) layer in Zn(TFSI)₂-based electrolytes (Figs. 4f-g, 5; pages 6-8; Discussion, p. 10). However, Qiu neither discloses the preparation of Me₃EtNOTF according to limitation (i), nor adding Me₃EtNOTF to a solution containing Zn(OTf)₂, Zn(TFSI)₂, and Zn(FSI) as required by limitation (ii).
Additional prior art references were cited in Pertinent Prior Art section, but such references fail to teach or suggest every limitation of claim 10.
There is nothing in the prior art to teach or reasonably suggest the limitations (i), and (ii). Accordingly, although some individual components are known in the prior art, the relevant prior art, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the limitations (i), and (ii) of claim 10.
Claims 11 and 12 depend from claim 10 and are allowable for at least the same reasons. Therefore, claims 10-12 are allowed.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Chen et al. (Chen, L., et al.,2020, ACS Energy Letters, 5 (3), 968-974) discloses hybrid aqueous electrolytes containing the asymmetric ammonium salt Me₃EtN-TFSI and further describe forming a passivation layer/ solid electrolyte interphase on a lithium electrode (last paragraph of page 968, and page 973). However, Chen does not disclose the preparation of Me₃EtNOTF according to limitation (i), and the use of the claimed zinc salt combination of limitation (ii).
Freeman et al. (US 20210280851 A1) discloses electrodes having passivation layers and electrolytes including Zn(OTF)₂ and Zn(TFSI)₂ ([0005, 0054]). However, Freeman does not disclose the preparation method recited in limitation (i), and the claimed mixed solution comprising Zn(OTF)₂, Zn(TFSI)₂, Zn(FSI), and Me₃EtNOTF, recited in limitation (ii).
Conclusion
/LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/JESSIE WALLS-MURRAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728