DETAILED ACTION
This Application has been transferred to Primary Examiner Annette Dixon, AU 3785.
This Office Action is in response to the amendment, filed on July 31, 2026. Primary Examiner acknowledges Claims 1-27 are pending in this application, with Claims 1, 9, 12, and 18 having been currently amended, and Claims 25-27 having been withdrawn from consideration; thus, leaving Claims 1-24 to be examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 3, Lines 1 and 3-5 recite the term “the accessory”(4 – instances); however, this term appears to lack antecedent basis in the claims. It appears the recitation should be “the removable accessory” to provide consistency within the claim listing. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Specifically, Claim 3, Line 3 recites the term “the casing”; however, this term appears to lack antecedent basis in the claims. It appears the recitation should be “the pod casing” to provide consistency within the claim listing. Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vitcha et al. (2,771,308).
As to Claim 1, Vitcha discloses a pod (Figures 1-3) comprising: a flow management device (defined by the operation of 14/16, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “Valve head 14 normally bears against packing ring 42, and is held biased in that position by spring 44, within bore 46 of valve body 12. A disc 47 having apertures 48 therein, provides a seat for one end of spring 44, and the disc 46 is, therefore, normally held biased against the flange 36, on the opposite side thereof from valve seat 38. Disc 46 is rigidly attached to the stem 50 of valve 16, the stem 50 being freely reciprocal within the reduced portion 52 of bore 46.” Column 2, Lines 10-20; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. … Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. With the stem 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. Consequently, spring 44 acts to seat valve 14, which movement is also transferred to end portion 82 of stem 22. After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; “If it becomes necessary to uncouple sections 24 and 26 of valve body 12, for maintenance purposes, the tension of spring 44 on disc 46 is removed, and valve 16 is closed by the fluid pressure in the supply line. In this manner, one of the plurality of valve assemblies 10 can be dismantled without the necessity of closing down the entire delivery system.” Column 3, Lines 35-45) disposed within a pod casing (12 of 10, “The improvements forming the subject matter of the present invention, as illustrated in the drawing, are incorporated in a valve assembly broadly designated by the numeral 10. The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22. Valve body 12 consists of separable sections 24 and 26. Section 24 is internally threaded as at 28 to receive the threaded end 30 of section 26. Section 26 is threaded at its opposite end, as at 32, and thereby adapted for insertion in a supply line (not shown) leading from a pressure controlled source of gas or other fluid. Section 26 is additionally provided with an internal annular flange 36, providing a valve seat 38 for valve head 16.” Column 1, Line 60 thru Column 2, Line 5), the pod casing (12 of 10) defining an interior region (46 of 12, “Valve head 14 normally bears against packing ring 42, and is held biased in that position by spring 44, within bore 46 of valve body 12. … When the latch plate 20 is moved downwardly within slot 54, against the action of spring 60, an opening 62 in the latch plate 20 is in alignment with the bore 46 of valve body 12.” Column 2, Lines 10-30; also see: “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. … With the stern 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 'and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. … After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) and having an open front face (via 74 of 64 to lumen of 24 as 46, “End plate 64 is rigidly attached to section 24, by means of fastening elements 66, and includes upstanding ears 68, between which is pivotally secured actuator 70. When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60. End plate 64 has a central opening 74 therein, which opening 74 serves as a socket for stem 22. … The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64.” Column 2, Lines 25-50; also see: “To accomplish this end, it is only necessary that the central portions 80 of stems 22 differ according to the system with which they are to be employed, since the portions 80 are of the same configuration as the openings 74 of end plates 64.” Column 3, Lines 20-40; “With the stern 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 'and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10); and at least one fluidic coupling (18, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; also see: “A radial cavity 76, in section 24, receives ball detent 18 and spring 78. The cavity 76 is restricted at its point of juncture with the bore 46 to limit the extent of movement of detent 18 within bore 46. … End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18. … Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. ” Column 2, Lines 35-70; “After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; “The provision of a second shoulder 86 on end portion 82 of stem 22 and of ball detent 18 within cavity 76 of section 24 prevents, however, the possibility of stem 22 being ejected from the valve body 12 until the operator has exerted the slight additional pressure necessary to move shoulder 86 beyond ball detent 18 and latch plate 20.” Column 3, Lines 10-25) disposed within the interior region (46) of the pod casing (12 of 10) that is fluidically connected to the flow management device (defined by the operation of 14/16), the at least one fluidic coupling (18) being accessible through the open front face (via 74 of 64 to lumen of 24 as 46) and configured to fluidically connect with a removable accessory (22 via 87, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “End plate 64 has a central opening 74 therein, which opening 74 serves as a socket for stem 22. … The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64. The end portion of 82 of the stem 22 is the same diameter as the reduced portion 90 of the bore 46 within shoulder 40.” Column 2, Lines 25-50; “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18. … Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. ” Column 2, Lines 35-70; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. … With the stem 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. Consequently, spring 44 acts to seat valve 14, which movement is also transferred to end portion 82 of stem 22. After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74. It is thus seen that a double lock structure for quick- connect valves has been provided which permits easy insertion of the stem 22 into the valve body 12. Swinging movement of actuator 70 causes reciprocation of latch plate 20 within slot 54 and consequent automatic movement of the stem 22, as well as seating of the valve 14. The provision of a second shoulder 86 on end portion 82 of stem 22 and of ball detent 18 within cavity 76 of section 24 prevents, however, the possibility of stem 22 being ejected from the valve body 12 until the operator has exerted the slight additional pressure necessary to move shoulder 86 beyond ball detent 18 and latch plate 20. … Since, at the same time, other systems may be in use for fluids having entirely different characteristics, it is necessary to insure that stems 22 are used only with the particular fluid system intended. To accomplish this end, it is only necessary that the central portions 80 of stems 22 differ according to the system with which they are to be employed, since the portions 80 are of the same configuration as the openings 74 of end plates 64.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 40) insertable within the pod casing (12 of 10) through the open front face (via 74 of 64 to lumen of 24 as 46).
As to Claim 3, Vitcha discloses the removable accessory (22 via 87) is inserted within the pod casing (12 of 10), the at least one fluidic coupling (18) mates with at least one corresponding fluidic coupling (87, “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18.” Column 2, Lines 40-50) of the removable accessory (22 via 87) within the pod casing (12 of 10), and fluid managed by the flow management device (defined by the operation of 14/16) flows through the removable accessory (22 via 87) and in or out of an outlet (“The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64.” Column 2, Lines 40-50) of the removable accessory (22 via 87) that is fluidically connected to the at least one corresponding fluidic coupling (87).
As to Claim 7, Vitcha discloses an accessory receiving mechanism (20 to facilitate operation of 18 through springs 78 and 60, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “A slot 54, in one end of section 24, reciprocally receives latch plate 20, the latter having a lateral extension 58. A leaf spring 60, within slot 54, and beneath latch plate 20, holds latch plate 20 normally biased upwardly. When the latch plate 20 is moved downwardly within slot 54, against the action of spring 60, an opening 62 in the latch plate 20 is in alignment with the bore 46 of valve body 12. … When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60. ” Column 2, Lines 15-35; “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18.” Column 2, Lines 40-50; “As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. … When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) located within the pod casing (12 of 10), the accessory receiving mechanism (20 to facilitate operation of 18 through springs 78 and 60) facilitating an insertion and fluidic coupling of the removable accessory (22 via 87) within the pod casing (12 of 10).
As to Claim 8, Vitcha discloses the accessory receiving mechanism (20 to facilitate operation of 18 through springs 78 and 60) includes a first receiving structure (via 60, “A leaf spring 60, within slot 54, and beneath latch plate 20, holds latch plate 20 normally biased upwardly. When the latch plate 20 is moved downwardly within slot 54, against the action of spring 60, an opening 62 in the latch plate 20 is in alignment with the bore 46 of valve body 12. … When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60.” Column 2, Lines 15-35; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) on a first side (exterior, best seen Figure 3) of the pod casing (12 of 10) and a second receiving structure (via 78, “Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; “A radial cavity 76, in section 24, receives ball detent 18 and spring 78.” Column 2, Lines 35-40) on a second side (interior, best seen Figure 3) opposite the first side (exterior, best seen Figure 3) of the pod casing (12 of 10).
As to Claim 9, Vitcha discloses a cover (via 70, “End plate 64 is rigidly attached to section 24, by means of fastening elements 66, and includes upstanding ears 68, between which is pivotally secured actuator 70. When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60.” Column 2, Lines 25-35; “When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20.” Column 2, Line 65 thru Column 3, Line 10; “Swinging movement of actuator 70 causes reciprocation of latch plate 20 within slot 54 and consequent automatic movement of the stem 22, as well as seating of the valve 14.” Column 3, Lines 10-25) that at least partially covers the interior region (46) of the pod casing (12 of 10).
As to Claim 10, Vitcha discloses tubing (“Section 26 is threaded at its opposite end, as at 32, and thereby adapted for insertion in a supply line (not shown) leading from a pressure controlled source of gas or other fluid.” Column 1, Line 65 thru Column 2, Line 5) is connectable (via 32 at the inlet of the pod) to the pod (Figures 1-3) for delivering medical gas or oxygen to a patient. Alternatively, Vitcha discloses tubing (“This invention relates generally to fluid flow systems and particularly to a valve assembly which is actuated by the insertion within the valve of the stem of a fluid line leading to a point of fluid discharge.” Column 1, Lines 10-20) is connectable (via 22 at the outlet of the pod) to the pod (Figures 1-3) for delivering medical gas or oxygen to a patient.
As to Claim 18, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “End plate 64 has a central opening 74 therein, which opening 74 serves as a socket for stem 22. … The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64. The end portion of 82 of the stem 22 is the same diameter as the reduced portion 90 of the bore 46 within shoulder 40.” Column 2, Lines 25-50; “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18. … Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. ” Column 2, Lines 35-70; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. … With the stem 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. Consequently, spring 44 acts to seat valve 14, which movement is also transferred to end portion 82 of stem 22. After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74. It is thus seen that a double lock structure for quick- connect valves has been provided which permits easy insertion of the stem 22 into the valve body 12. Swinging movement of actuator 70 causes reciprocation of latch plate 20 within slot 54 and consequent automatic movement of the stem 22, as well as seating of the valve 14. The provision of a second shoulder 86 on end portion 82 of stem 22 and of ball detent 18 within cavity 76 of section 24 prevents, however, the possibility of stem 22 being ejected from the valve body 12 until the operator has exerted the slight additional pressure necessary to move shoulder 86 beyond ball detent 18 and latch plate 20. … Since, at the same time, other systems may be in use for fluids having entirely different characteristics, it is necessary to insure that stems 22 are used only with the particular fluid system intended. To accomplish this end, it is only necessary that the central portions 80 of stems 22 differ according to the system with which they are to be employed, since the portions 80 are of the same configuration as the openings 74 of end plates 64.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 40) for use with a pod (Figures 1-3), the removable accessory (22 via 87) comprising: a body portion (80, “The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64.” Column 2, Lines 25-50; also see: “To accomplish this end, it is only necessary that the central portions 80 of stems 22 differ according to the system with which they are to be employed, since the portions 80 are of the same configuration as the openings 74 of end plates 64.” Column 3, Lines 20-40) having a first side (interior proximate 86) and a second side (exterior proximate 22) opposite the first side (interior proximate 86); at least one fluidic coupling (87, “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18.” Column 2, Lines 40-50) disposed on the first side (interior proximate 86) of the body portion (80) configured to be fluidically coupled to a flow management device (defined by the operation of 14/16, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “Valve head 14 normally bears against packing ring 42, and is held biased in that position by spring 44, within bore 46 of valve body 12. A disc 47 having apertures 48 therein, provides a seat for one end of spring 44, and the disc 46 is, therefore, normally held biased against the flange 36, on the opposite side thereof from valve seat 38. Disc 46 is rigidly attached to the stem 50 of valve 16, the stem 50 being freely reciprocal within the reduced portion 52 of bore 46.” Column 2, Lines 10-20; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. … Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. With the stem 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. Consequently, spring 44 acts to seat valve 14, which movement is also transferred to end portion 82 of stem 22. After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; “If it becomes necessary to uncouple sections 24 and 26 of valve body 12, for maintenance purposes, the tension of spring 44 on disc 46 is removed, and valve 16 is closed by the fluid pressure in the supply line. In this manner, one of the plurality of valve assemblies 10 can be dismantled without the necessity of closing down the entire delivery system.” Column 3, Lines 35-45) of the pod (Figures 1-3), as a function of the removable accessory (22 via 87) being inserted within a pod casing (12 of 10, “The improvements forming the subject matter of the present invention, as illustrated in the drawing, are incorporated in a valve assembly broadly designated by the numeral 10. The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22. Valve body 12 consists of separable sections 24 and 26. Section 24 is internally threaded as at 28 to receive the threaded end 30 of section 26. Section 26 is threaded at its opposite end, as at 32, and thereby adapted for insertion in a supply line (not shown) leading from a pressure controlled source of gas or other fluid. Section 26 is additionally provided with an internal annular flange 36, providing a valve seat 38 for valve head 16.” Column 1, Line 60 thru Column 2, Line 5) of the pod (Figures 1-3), the first side (interior proximate 86) facing a rear wall (proximate 32, best seen Figure 3) of the pod casing (12 of 10) when the removable accessory (22 via 87) is inserted within the pod casing (12 of 10); and an outlet (22 through insertion via 74 of 64 to lumen of 24 as 46 – leading to “a fluid line leading to a point of fluid discharge”, “End plate 64 is rigidly attached to section 24, by means of fastening elements 66, and includes upstanding ears 68, between which is pivotally secured actuator 70. When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60. End plate 64 has a central opening 74 therein, which opening 74 serves as a socket for stem 22. … The stem 22, having an elongated fluid passage (not shown) therein, has a central portion 80 of the same configuration as the opening 74 of end plate 64.” Column 2, Lines 25-50; also see: “To accomplish this end, it is only necessary that the central portions 80 of stems 22 differ according to the system with which they are to be employed, since the portions 80 are of the same configuration as the openings 74 of end plates 64.” Column 3, Lines 20-40; “With the stern 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 'and the stem 22 to the point of discharge. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; also see: “This invention relates generally to fluid flow systems and particularly to a valve assembly which is actuated by the insertion within the valve of the stem of a fluid line leading to a point of fluid discharge.” Column 1, Lines 10-20) fluidly connected to the at least one fluidic coupling (87), disposed on the second side (exterior proximate 22) of the body portion (80), the second side (exterior proximate 22) facing away from the rear wall (proximate 32, best seen Figure 3) of the pod casing (12 of 10) and the outlet (22 through insertion via 74 of 64 to lumen of 24 as 46 – leading to “a fluid line leading to a point of fluid discharge”) being accessible when the removable accessory (22 via 87) is inserted within the pod casing (12 of 10).
As to Claim 22, Vitcha discloses an pod engagement mechanism (20 to facilitate operation of 18 through springs 78 and 60 – through engagement of 86/84 to 87, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; “A slot 54, in one end of section 24, reciprocally receives latch plate 20, the latter having a lateral extension 58. A leaf spring 60, within slot 54, and beneath latch plate 20, holds latch plate 20 normally biased upwardly. When the latch plate 20 is moved downwardly within slot 54, against the action of spring 60, an opening 62 in the latch plate 20 is in alignment with the bore 46 of valve body 12. … When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60. ” Column 2, Lines 15-35; “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18.” Column 2, Lines 40-50; “As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. … When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) disposed on the body portion (80).
As to Claim 23, Vitcha discloses an pod engagement mechanism (20 to facilitate operation of 18 through springs 78 and 60 – through engagement of 86/84 to 87) includes a first engagement structure (engagement of 86 via 60, “A leaf spring 60, within slot 54, and beneath latch plate 20, holds latch plate 20 normally biased upwardly. When the latch plate 20 is moved downwardly within slot 54, against the action of spring 60, an opening 62 in the latch plate 20 is in alignment with the bore 46 of valve body 12. … When the actuator 70 is swung about the axis 72, in a clockwise direction (viewing Fig. 3) it engages extension 58 of latch plate 20, and depresses the latter against the action of leaf spring 60.” Column 2, Lines 15-35; “In operation, the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, until the end portion 82 thereof engages valve 14 and unseats the latter, against the action of spring 44. As the stem 22 is inserted into the bore 46, the leading, sloping side of shoulder 86 engages latch plate 20, and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 60, to permit passage of shoulder 86. … When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) at a first location (proximate 86, best seen Figure 3) of the body portion (80) and a second engagement structure (engagement of 84 via 60, “End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18. The shoulder 86 slopes downwardly to end portion 82 on both sides thereof, whereas the shoulder 84 is flat on one side and slopes downwardly to end portion 82 on the other side thereof. … Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. ” Column 2, Lines 35-70; “When latch plate 20 is pressed downwardly by actuator 70, the flat side of shoulder 84 is no longer in engagement with the latch plate 20. … After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10) at a second location (proximate 22, best seen Figure 3) of the body portion (80) opposite the first location (proximate 86, best seen Figure 3).
As to Claim 24, Vitcha discloses the first engagement structure (engagement of 86 via 60) is configured to cooperate with a first receiving means (88 to operate 14/16, “With the stern 22 thus locked within the socket 74 and the bore 46, fluid from the pressurized source is free to flow around valve 14, through the passage 88 and the stem 22 to the point of discharge.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) of the pod (Figures 1-3) and the second engagement structure (engagement of 84 via 60) is configured to cooperate with a second receiving means (18, “The valve assembly 10 includes an elongated valve body 12, valves 14 and 16, ball detent 18, latch plate 20 and a specially formed stem 22.” Column 1, Lines 65-70; also see: “A radial cavity 76, in section 24, receives ball detent 18 and spring 78. The cavity 76 is restricted at its point of juncture with the bore 46 to limit the extent of movement of detent 18 within bore 46. … End portion 82 is provided with shoulders 84 and 86, presenting a groove 85 for plate 20 and a groove 87 for detent 18. … Shoulder 86, under the pressure of insertion, also engages ball detent 18 and forces the latter downwardly, against the action of spring 78, to permit passage of the shoulder 86. Similarly, the sloping side of shoulder 84 also engages latch plate 20, to depress the latter, but the flat side of shoulder 84, after passing latch plate 20, engages the latter, and is held thereagainst by the action of spring 44 acting on valve 14. ” Column 2, Lines 35-70; “After valve 14 has seated, ball detent 18 engages the shoulder 86 with sufficient force to prevent automatic ejection of the stem 22 from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 having been in engagement with the sloping side of shoulder 84 when the valve was seated. When slight additional pressure is exerted on stem 22 to remove the same from the bore 46, the ball detent 18 and latch plate 20 ride over the sloping shoulder 86, against the action of springs 78 and 60, and can be withdrawn from the socket 74.” Column 2, Line 50 thru Column 3, Line 10; “The provision of a second shoulder 86 on end portion 82 of stem 22 and of ball detent 18 within cavity 76 of section 24 prevents, however, the possibility of stem 22 being ejected from the valve body 12 until the operator has exerted the slight additional pressure necessary to move shoulder 86 beyond ball detent 18 and latch plate 20.” Column 3, Lines 10-25) of the pod (Figures 1-3).
Claims 12-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Szohatzky (3,170,667).
As to Claim 12, Szohatzky discloses a system (best seen Figures 2 and 3) comprising: a plurality of pods (45/46/47, “Turning to FIGS. 2 and 3 there is illustrated a plurality of couplings 45, 46, 47 with coupling 47 being that shown in FIG. 4. The couplings are mounted on a panel-board 44 with the female members 45a, 46a, 47a secured to the panelboard and the male members 456, 46b, 47b connected to the female members.” Column 3, Line 75 thru Column 4, Line 15) that are at least partially recessed within a finished surface (44, “panel-board 44” Column 3, Line 75 thru Column 4, Line 15), each pod (each of 45/46/47) of the plurality of pods (45/46/47) comprises a flow management device (35 of 45a/46a/47a), “Disposed in the bore 17 of the female member 11 is a ball 35 and a coil spring 36. The spring 36 normally biases the ball 35 against the 0-ring 20, thereby sealing the female member. Upon insertion of the male member 12 into the female member, the end 37 of the extended portion 34 abuts the ball 35 and displaces the ball from the seal 20, thereby allowing fluid to flow through the inlet ports 38, through the bore 28 and out of the coupling.” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 15) disposed within its own discrete pod casing (11 in each of 45/46/47, “The coupling includes a female member 11 and a male member 12. The female member 11 includes a collar 13 which is threaded as shown at 14 to the forward portion 15 of the female member 11. The member 11 is internally bored as at 16 and 17, with the bore 17 being larger in diameter than the bore 16.” Column 2, Lines 35-50; “An annular groove 33 is provided in the periphery of an extended portion 34 of the male member 12. The groove 33 is adapted to receive the ball detents 23 carried by the collar 13 thereby to secure the female and male members 11 and 12 in a connected position. Disposed in the bore 17 of the female member 11 is a ball 35 and a coil spring 36. The spring 36 normally biases the ball 35 against the 0-ring 20, thereby sealing the female member. Upon insertion of the male member 12 into the female member, the end 37 of the extended portion 34 abuts the ball 35 and displaces the ball from the seal 20, thereby allowing fluid to flow through the inlet ports 38, through the bore 28 and out of the coupling” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 15; “Thus the female member 11 includes all of the parts shown in FIG. 1 with the exception that a ring having a different configuration than the ring 24 is utilized in the modification.” Column 3, Lines 30-45; “Thus insertion of the extension 34 into the female member 11 will cause the ball 35 to be depressed from the 0-ring 20 and thereby allow the flow of fluid through the ports 38. The extension 34 is retained within the female member 11 by virtue of the ball and groove arrangement 23, 33.” Column 3, Lines 40-65) and at least one fluidic coupling (operation of 23 via 33, “An annular groove 33 is provided in the periphery of an extended portion 34 of the male member 12. The groove 33 is adapted to receive the ball detents 23 carried by the collar 13 thereby to secure the female and male members 11 and 12 in a connected position.” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 15; “The male member is retained within the female member by virtue of the ball detents 23 being received in the annular groove 33. The ball detents 23 are displaced radially inwardly into the groove 33 through coaction between the sleeve 29 and the ring 24. … Longitudinal movement of the ring 24 causes the surface 25 on the ring 24 to cam the balls 23 inwardly into the groove 33. … With the ring 24 in its original position, the male member 12 may be withdrawn since the ball detents 23 are no longer retained in the groove 33. ” Column 3, Lines 10-35; “The extension 34 is retained within the female member 11 by virtue of the ball and groove arrangement 23, 33. The ball detents 23 are caused to enter the groove 33 by virtue of the flange 43 being received within the groove 41 in the ring 39 thus allowing the sleeve 42 to abut the ring 39. Due to the greater strength of the spring 31, relative to the spring 26, the ring 39 is moved longitudinally causing the surface 40 to cam the ball detents 23 into the groove 33 and thereby retain the male member within the female member.” Column 3, Lines 50-65; “When the flange 50 abuts the ring 39, the groove 33 in the extended portion 34 has not reached a position where it might receive the ball detents 23. The result is that the camming action of the surface 40 on the detents 23 is to no avail and the ring 39 is effectively locked in position.” Column 4, Lines 25-50; “Thus, should the flange 50 be of a length substantially less than that shown in FIG. 5, the groove 33 would reach a detent receiving position before the spring 31 was fully compressed and the coupling would be fully connected.” Column 4, Lines 45-70; “Since the flange is not present, the coupling functions as in FIG. 1 and it is possible to insert the extended portion 34 to a position wherein the ball detents 23 may be cammed downwardly into the groove 33. As pointed out in the discussion relating to FIG. 5, should there be a flange present on the sleeve associated with the male member, the flange is ordinarily of such an axial extent that the spring 31 would have been compressed before the groove 33 might be aligned with the ball detents 23.” Column 5, Lines 5-25) within the discrete pod casing (11 in each of 45/46/47) fluidly connected to the flow management device (35 of 45a/46a/47a).
As to Claim 13, Szohatzky discloses a receptacle (defined by the openings in 44 upon which 11 is received from each of 45/46/47) recessed within the finished surface (44), wherein the plurality of pods (45/46/47) are arranged within the receptacle (defined by the openings in 44 upon which 11 is received from each of 45/46/47). Alternatively, Szohatzky discloses a receptacle (lumen of 11 via 17, “The female member 11 includes a collar 13 which is threaded as shown at 14 to the forward portion 15 of the female member 11. The member 11 is internally bored as at 16 and 17, with the bore 17 being larger in diameter than the bore 16.” Column 2, Lines 35-50) recessed within the finished surface (44), wherein the plurality of pods (45/46/47) are arranged within the receptacle (lumen of 11 via 17).
As to Claim 14, Szohatzky discloses the finished surface (44) is a wall of a hospital room (“One prominent use of quick connect couplings has been in panel board installations where a plurality of fluid lines are to be connected to several different devices. An example of this is an instrumentation set up where pressure lines run from a particular machine to a panel- board where they are connected through quick connect couplings to a series of measuring devices. Another example of the use of these couplings is to be found in connection with hospitals where various gases, such as oxygen and anesthetics, are provided and quick connect couplings are used to couple the particular gas with the particular type of equipment.” Column 1, Lines 10-35).
As to Claim 15, Szohatzky discloses removable accessories (45b/46b/47b) configured to be fluidly coupled to the plurality of pods (45/46/47), wherein the fluidic connection between each removable accessory (45b/46b/47b) and each pod (each of 45/46/47) is located within (lumen of 11 via 17, “The female member 11 includes a collar 13 which is threaded as shown at 14 to the forward portion 15 of the female member 11. The member 11 is internally bored as at 16 and 17, with the bore 17 being larger in diameter than the bore 16.” Column 2, Lines 35-50) the pod (45/46/47) behind the finished surface (44).
As to Claim 17, Szohatzky discloses fluidic connections to a gas supply (“Another example of the use of these couplings is to be found in connection with hospitals where various gases, such as oxygen and anesthetics, are provided and quick connect couplings are used to couple the particular gas with the particular type of equipment.” Column 1, Lines 10-35) are located within the pods (45/46/47) and behind the finished surface (44).
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams (3,096,782).
It should be noted although Williams is not a medical device as the disclosed invention, the claims do not effectively limit the scope of the claims to exclude this reference.
As to Claim 1, Williams discloses a pod (Figures 1-4), comprising: a flow management device (knobs of 23/24 to open/close the valves to permit the passage of hot/cold water, “Water pipes 21 and 22 are installed within the wall structure, and through the studs 18 where desirable to provide accessible taps or faucets 23 and 24, as shown in FIGURES 1, 2 and 3, or vertically between the studs 18 and through the bottom 14 of the receptacle 10, as shown in FIGURES 5, 6 and 7.” Column 2, Lines 30-50; “Also formed in the upper edge of the lower frame member 43 are a pair of spaced notches 46 in which the hot and cold water hoses rest when connected to the faucets 23 and 24 so that any leakage from the faucets, or the hose connection, is drained behind the frame 34 and into the box 10 and prevented from running down the hoses to the floor. The slots or notches 46 may be of any desired form, or may be apertures through which the hoses can be passed before connecting the same to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 20-40; “The front frame 34, in the modified form, is provided with an opening 48 for access to the faucets 23 and 24, and has a peripheral flange 49 which projects internally of the receptacle 10 from the rear of the frame 34, as shown best in FIGURE 9. In the lower portion of the frame 34, below the opening 48, are a pair of circular apertures 50 adapted to receive the ends of hoses (not shown) extended therethrough for attachment to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 45-60) disposed within a pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34, wherein 10 – “Accordingly, the invention comprises a box 10 of metal, or other suitable material, having a top or cap 11, sides 12 and 13, and a bottom or cup 14, the latter being inclined from the back wall 15 and the sides 12 and 13 toward a central drain outlet 16 which is shown in detail in FIGURES 2, 3 and 4. The depth of the box 10, or the lateral dimension of the top, sides and bottom is such that the box 10 can be installed in a conventional wall structure without protruding beyond the inner wall surface 17, as illustrated in FIGURES 2, 3, 6 and 7.” Column 2, Lines 20-35; and wherein 34 – “After the box 10 is installed a frame 34 is applied to the front thereof by screws 35 arranged in a plurality of slots 36 formed in the inner edges of lateral flanges 37 integral with the side members 38 of the frame 34, as shown more particularly in FIGURE 4.” Column 3, Lines 1-20), the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34) defining an interior region (bounded by 11/12/13/14/15 and 34, wherein 11/12/13/14/15 – “a top or cap 11, sides 12 and 13, and a bottom or cup 14, the latter being inclined from the back wall 15” Column 2, Lines 20-35; and wherein 34 – “After the box 10 is installed a frame 34 is applied to the front thereof by screws 35 arranged in a plurality of slots 36 formed in the inner edges of lateral flanges 37 integral with the side members 38 of the frame 34, as shown more particularly in FIGURE 4.” Column 3, Lines 1-20) having an open front face (48, “The front frame 34, in the modified form, is provided with an opening 48 for access to the faucets 23 and 24, and has a peripheral flange 49 which projects internally of the receptacle 10 from the rear of the frame 34, as shown best in FIGURE 9. In the lower portion of the frame 34, below the opening 48, are a pair of circular apertures 50 adapted to receive the ends of hoses (not shown) extended therethrough for attachment to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 45-60); and at least one fluidic coupling (defined by the outlets of 23/24 to permit the passage of hot/cold water to the hose, “Also formed in the upper edge of the lower frame member 43 are a pair of spaced notches 46 in which the hot and cold water hoses rest when connected to the faucets 23 and 24 so that any leakage from the faucets, or the hose connection, is drained behind the frame 34 and into the box 10 and prevented from running down the hoses to the floor. The slots or notches 46 may be of any desired form, or may be apertures through which the hoses can be passed before connecting the same to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 20-40; “The front frame 34, in the modified form, is provided with an opening 48 for access to the faucets 23 and 24, and has a peripheral flange 49 which projects internally of the receptacle 10 from the rear of the frame 34, as shown best in FIGURE 9. In the lower portion of the frame 34, below the opening 48, are a pair of circular apertures 50 adapted to receive the ends of hoses (not shown) extended therethrough for attachment to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 45-60) disposed within the interior region (bounded by 11/12/13/14/15 and 34) of the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34) that is fluidically coupled to the flow management device (knobs of 23/24 to open/close the valves to permit the passage of hot/cold water), the at least one fluidic coupling (defined by the outlets of 23/24 to permit the passage of hot/cold water to the hose) being accessible through the open front face (48) and configured to fluidically connect with a removable accessory (“hot and cold water hoses” Column 3, Lines 20-40; “ends of hoses (not shown) extended therethrough for attachment to the faucets 23 and 24.” Column 3, Lines 45-60) insertable within the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34) through the open front face (48).
As to Claim 5, Williams discloses the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34) includes at least one knockout (30, “The box 10 is fabricated with a suitable number of knockout disks 30 in the sides 12 and 13 and the top 11 to provide openings for the water supply pipes 21 and 22, which project through the sides 12 and 13, and a drain pipe 31 entering the box 10 through the top 11 for draining an air conditioner, or other appliance, *as shown in FIGURES 1, 3 and 4.” Column 2, Lines 60-70) to allow entry of a supply line (21/22, “water supply pipes 21 and 22” Column 2, Lines 60-70) from a remote source.
As to Claim 6, Williams discloses the flow management device (knobs of 23/24 to open/close the valves to permit the passage of hot/cold water) is fluidically connected to the supply line (21/22) within the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34).
As to Claim 9, Williams discloses a cover (34, “After the box 10 is installed a frame 34 is applied to the front thereof by screws 35 arranged in a plurality of slots 36 formed in the inner edges of lateral flanges 37 integral with the side members 38 of the frame 34, as shown more particularly in FIGURE 4.” Column 3, Lines 1-20) that at least partially covers the interior region (bounded by 11/12/13/14/15 and 34) of the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34).
As to Claim 11, Williams discloses the pod casing (the combination of 10 and 34) is configured to be disposed at least partially within a wall cavity (defined by 18, “The sides 12 and 13 each are provided with laterally extending tabs 27 and 28 set near the front edges of the sides 12 and 13 providing means for securing the box 10 to wall studs 18 by nails 29, or the like, in the manner shown in FIGURES 3, 5 and 7.” Column 2, Lines 50-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitcha et al. (2,771,308) in view of Gavin (3,019,646).
As to Claim 19, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 32) and the gas outlet (via 22), wherein the body portion (80) of the removable accessory (22 of 87) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-3) via the pod casing (12 of 10); yet, does not expressly disclose “a canister operably attached to the body portion”.
Gavin teaches an alternative pod (via 10 of Figure 1, “The oxygen is supplied from an externally screw threaded wall outlet 10, to which there is connected an internally threaded wing nut 11, which is part of a flow meter fitting 12. The flow meter fitting 12 is conventional and includes a horizontally directed inlet 13, a rate of flow meter 14 and a downwardly directed outlet 15, which is externally screw threaded.” Column 2, Lines 5-15; “In use, the parts of the oxygen supply system are arranged in the manner shown and described and the oxygen flows from the wall outlet 10 through the inlet 13 to operate the rate of flow meter 14, then through the outlet 15 into the inlet passageway 19 of my fitting 16.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (11) to provide gaseous communication between the oxygen source (“The oxygen is supplied from an externally screw threaded wall outlet 10, to which there is connected an internally threaded wing nut 11, which is part of a flow meter fitting 12. The flow meter fitting 12 is conventional and includes a horizontally directed inlet 13, a rate of flow meter 14 and a downwardly directed outlet 15, which is externally screw threaded.” Column 2, Lines 5-15; “In use, the parts of the oxygen supply system are arranged in the manner shown and described and the oxygen flows from the wall outlet 10 through the inlet 13 to operate the rate of flow meter 14, then through the outlet 15 into the inlet passageway 19 of my fitting 16.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) and the patient (via 50, “A tube 50 is connected at one end to the outlet 49 and carries the oxygen from the humidifier to the patient. … It then flows through the outlet passageway 42 to the humidifier 47 and then through its outlet 49 to the tube 50 and to the patient. ” Column 3, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Gavin teaches the use of a canister (48, “The humidifier 47 is conventional in its structure and includes a water bottle 48 and means for passing the oxygen through the water in the bottle 48 and then out through a horizontally directed outlet 49.” Column 3, Lines 5-20) operably connected to the body portion of a removable accessory (11) for the purpose of imparting humidified gas to the patient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the removable accessory of Vitcha to include a canister attached to the body portion of the removable accessory, as taught by Gavin to impart humidified gas to be supplied to the patient.
As to Claim 20, the modified Vitcha, specifically Gavin teaches the canister (48) contains a liquid (“water”) for humidifying a fluid (“oxygen”) passing through the removable accessory.
Claims 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitcha et al. (2,771,308) in view of Caso et al. (8,193,944).
As to Claim 19, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 32) and the gas outlet (via 22), wherein the body portion (80) of the removable accessory (22 of 87) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-3) via the pod casing (12 of 10); yet, does not expressly disclose “a canister operably attached to the body portion”.
Caso teaches an alternative pod (via 218 of Figure 2, “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (104, “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112. Referring to FIG. 1, the case 102 houses all the other components, or the other components are affixed thereto. The input port 104 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow interior lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of (vacuum) the regulator 100. The output port 106 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of the regulator 100. The input port 104 and the output port 106 are operably connected by tubing, channels, or hollow pipe 130 with intervention by various valves. Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30; “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The pressure sensor 124 can be operably set to sample the pressure in the output line 106, the input line 104, or both.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) to provide gaseous communication between a suction source (“wall vacuum outlet 218” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) and the patient (via 212, “The vacuum output port 220 is operably connected to a vacuum line 208, which is affixed to the proximal end of a suction catheter or drainage tube 212 at its hub 210. The pressure regulator 100 is configured to maintain suction, or vacuum, that is sufficient to remove fluid and debris from a patient (not shown) through the drainage tube 212 but not so great as to cause tissue damage. Thus, careful control of the pressure regulator 100 output is necessary and desirable. For instance, the drainage tube 212 can be placed such that its distal end resides within the patient's pleural space to serve as a chest drainage tube for a pneumothorax.” Column 8, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Caso teaches the use of a canister (204, “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary pressure regulator 100 connected to a cardiotomy reservoir 204, pleural evacuation chamber, or the like via a length of vacuum output tubing 202. The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The reservoir 204 is configured with the vacuum input port 222 high, as is the vacuum output port 220. Thus, liquid that drains from the patient will collect in the container of the reservoir 204 and not be introduced into the regulator 100 by way of the vacuum line 202.” Column 8, Lines 15-35) operably connected to the body portion of the removable accessory (104) to drain liquid from the patient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the removable accessory of Vitcha to include a canister attached to the body portion of the removable accessory, as taught by Caso to drain liquid from the patient.
As to Claim 21, the modified Vitcha, specifically Caso teaches the canister (204) is configured to store medical waste (liquid drained from the patient) suctioned from the patient through the outlet of the removable accessory (104).
As to Claim 2, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 32) and the gas outlet (via 22), wherein the body portion (80) of the removable accessory (22 of 87) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-3) via the pod casing (12 of 10); yet, does not expressly disclose “a control interface electrically coupled to the flow management device for controlling at least one function of the flow management device, wherein the control interface receives input from a graphical user interface.”
Caso teaches an alternative pod (via 218 of Figure 2, “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (104, “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112. Referring to FIG. 1, the case 102 houses all the other components, or the other components are affixed thereto. The input port 104 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow interior lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of (vacuum) the regulator 100. The output port 106 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of the regulator 100. The input port 104 and the output port 106 are operably connected by tubing, channels, or hollow pipe 130 with intervention by various valves. Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30; “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The pressure sensor 124 can be operably set to sample the pressure in the output line 106, the input line 104, or both.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) to provide gaseous communication between a suction source (“wall vacuum outlet 218” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) and the patient (via 212, “The vacuum output port 220 is operably connected to a vacuum line 208, which is affixed to the proximal end of a suction catheter or drainage tube 212 at its hub 210. The pressure regulator 100 is configured to maintain suction, or vacuum, that is sufficient to remove fluid and debris from a patient (not shown) through the drainage tube 212 but not so great as to cause tissue damage. Thus, careful control of the pressure regulator 100 output is necessary and desirable. For instance, the drainage tube 212 can be placed such that its distal end resides within the patient's pleural space to serve as a chest drainage tube for a pneumothorax.” Column 8, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Caso teaches a control interface (“knob” or “proximity sensor detects a touch of the person's hand to a knob of the pressure controller”, “a knob attached to the adjustment valve” Summary; “an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114” Column 6, Lines 60-70; “the adjustment knob 114” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The location of the proximity sensor element will be determined by the physical dimensions of the case 102, and may be located in the knob 114, along the face of the case, along the side of the case, etc.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10; also see: “proximity sensor detects a touch of the person's hand to a knob of the pressure controller.” Claims 19 and 25; “In one aspect of the present disclosure, a method of reducing power consumption in a pressure (vacuum) regulator system is provided by waking the regulator upon detection of a person's hand proximity prior to adjustment of a pressure controller … In another aspect of the present disclosure, a pressure (vacuum) regulator system is provided capable of reducing power consumption by waking a regulator upon detection of a person's hand proximity prior to adjustment of a pressure controller … In yet another aspect of the present disclosure, a method is provided of reducing power consumption in a pressure (vacuum) regulator system by waking the regulator upon detection of a person's hand proximity prior to adjustment of the pressure controller … In yet another aspect of the present disclosure, a pressure (vacuum) regulator system is provided capable of reducing power consumption by waking the regulator upon detection of a person's hand proximity prior to adjustment of the pressure controller” Summary; “To avoid any small latency between user input and measured output, it is desirable to detect proximity of the user to the regulator, as one of several possible mechanisms for detecting user input. As a user's hand approaches the regulator to adjust the pressure, the circuitry, acting as a proximity sensor, in this instance, will detect this motion and command the microcontroller and pressure sensor to "wake up" and sample with greater frequency, that is, with smaller time intervals between samples. … When the clinical personnel deems a change in pressure is required, and as their hand approaches the regulator the proximity detector (using, any one or more of capacitance, inductance, thermal, ultrasonic, and so forth detection mechanism(s)) will sense this motion and provide an interrupt signal to the microcontroller.” Column 4, Line 35 thru Column 5, Line 15; “Another of a proximity trigger of sampling frequency is that the user could simply "wave" their hand close to the regulator to "wake" it up and increase the sampling frequency (decrease the sampling interval).” Column 5, Lines 10-25; “In various embodiments, however, a proximity switch can comprise a capacitance sensor, inductance sensor, ultrasonic sensor, etc., that senses the user's hand in close proximity to the regulator.” Column 6, Lines 50-70; “Activation of the proximity sensor 516 can comprise moving a hand close to a sensor, for example, embedded within the wall-mounted regulator such that the presence of the human hand or object can be detected by the proximity sensor. The proximity sensor can be an impedance sensor, capacitance sensor, motion sensor, inductance sensor, ultrasonic detector, and so forth.” Column 9, Line 55 thru Column 10, Line 20; “Referring to FIG. 6, the proximity sensor 602 may be affixed to the inside of the case 102. The location of the proximity sensor element will be determined by the physical dimensions of the case 102, and may be located in the knob 114, along the face of the case, along the side of the case, etc. The location of the proximity sensor element may be based on sensitivity requirements, the physical layout of the internal components of the regulator, and the material used for the case of the regulator, and so forth. The nature of the construction material of the case 102 may be determined by cost, toxicity, durability, etc., and may be plastic, metal, or other material. The proximity sensor 602 feeds input to the proximity sensor support electronics 604, which, in turn feeds electronic signals to the controller 108.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) electrically coupled to the flow management device (120 or 116, “a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114” Column 6, Line 60-70; “Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108. The controller 108 can comprise a computer, memory, input-output devices, embedded software, and other components commonly found in electronic control devices. The controller 108 can be operably connected to the control valve 120 via a bus, wiring, electrical interconnects, or the like (not shown).” Column 7, Lines 1-25; “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a fluid input port 302, an adjustment valve 304, a pressure accumulator 312, a pressure output port 318, an output line pressure sensor 316, a bridge amplifier 324, a display processor 326, a visual display device 320, a battery 328, a controller 310, an adjustment device 308, an intent to modify sensor 333, an ambient air vent 306, a control valve 314, and an audio output system 322.” Column 8, Lines 30-45; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55) for controlling at least one function (vacuum operations) of the flow management device (120 or 116), wherein the control interface (“knob” or “proximity sensor detects a touch of the person's hand to a knob of the pressure controller”) receives input (“waking”) from a graphical user interface (“a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112.” Column 6, Lines 50-70; “The display controller 110 is electrically connected at its input to an output line of the controller 108. The output of the display controller 110 is operably connected with an electronic bus to the input port of the visual output device 112. The display controller 110 and the visual output device 112 can be affixed to the case 102 or other intermediate structures. The visual output device 112 can comprise a cathode ray tube (CRT), liquid crystal display (LCD), a light emitting diode (LED) array, single LEDs, and so forth. The visual output device 112 can be configured to output data such as, but not limited to, set pressure, output line pressure, time, battery level, alarm mode, warning mode, etc. The audio output device 128 can generate single tones, modulated tones, musical notes or strings of musical notes making up a tune, informational tones such as in the case of spoken language, and the like.” Column 7, Lines 25-50; “When not taking a sample, the microcontroller brings the entire display and control circuitry into "sleep" mode, thereby minimizing power consumption. Upon detecting an "intent" to change pressure, as when a user's hand approaches the device, the microcontroller "wakes up" and begins sampling at a much more frequent rate.” Column 9, Lines 1-30; “These data are then sent to the display or controller 432.” Column 9, Lines 25-40; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The output of the bridge amplifier 126 can be input to the controller 108 and ultimately end up in the visual display 112.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 20).
The resultant effect of this configuration is the ability to provide a control interface that is readily awake and prepared to operate without delay.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pod of Vitcha to include the use of a control interface electrically coupled to the flow management device, as taught by Caso to ensure ready operation without delay.
As to Claim 4, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 32) and the gas outlet (via 22), wherein the body portion (80) of the removable accessory (22 of 87) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-3) via the pod casing (12 of 10); yet, does not expressly disclose “the flow management device is a flow meter or flow regulator that includes at least one electronic valve for managing a flow of gas through the pod.”
Caso teaches an alternative pod (via 218 of Figure 2, “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (104, “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112. Referring to FIG. 1, the case 102 houses all the other components, or the other components are affixed thereto. The input port 104 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow interior lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of (vacuum) the regulator 100. The output port 106 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of the regulator 100. The input port 104 and the output port 106 are operably connected by tubing, channels, or hollow pipe 130 with intervention by various valves. Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30; “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The pressure sensor 124 can be operably set to sample the pressure in the output line 106, the input line 104, or both.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) to provide gaseous communication between a suction source (“wall vacuum outlet 218” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) and the patient (via 212, “The vacuum output port 220 is operably connected to a vacuum line 208, which is affixed to the proximal end of a suction catheter or drainage tube 212 at its hub 210. The pressure regulator 100 is configured to maintain suction, or vacuum, that is sufficient to remove fluid and debris from a patient (not shown) through the drainage tube 212 but not so great as to cause tissue damage. Thus, careful control of the pressure regulator 100 output is necessary and desirable. For instance, the drainage tube 212 can be placed such that its distal end resides within the patient's pleural space to serve as a chest drainage tube for a pneumothorax.” Column 8, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Caso teaches the flow management device (120 or 116, “a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114” Column 6, Line 60-70; “Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108. The controller 108 can comprise a computer, memory, input-output devices, embedded software, and other components commonly found in electronic control devices. The controller 108 can be operably connected to the control valve 120 via a bus, wiring, electrical interconnects, or the like (not shown).” Column 7, Lines 1-25; “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a fluid input port 302, an adjustment valve 304, a pressure accumulator 312, a pressure output port 318, an output line pressure sensor 316, a bridge amplifier 324, a display processor 326, a visual display device 320, a battery 328, a controller 310, an adjustment device 308, an intent to modify sensor 333, an ambient air vent 306, a control valve 314, and an audio output system 322.” Column 8, Lines 30-45; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55) includes a flow regulator (100, The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112.” Column 6, Lines 60-70) that includes at least one electronic valve (via operation of 108 to control 120, “The controller 108 can comprise a computer, memory, input-output devices, embedded software, and other components commonly found in electronic control devices. The controller 108 can be operably connected to the control valve 120 via a bus, wiring, electrical interconnects, or the like (not shown).” Column 7, Lines 1-30; “The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30) for managing a flow of gas through the pod (Figure 2).
The resultant effect of this configuration is the ability accurately control the operation of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pod of Vitcha to include the use of a control interface electrically coupled to the flow management device, as taught by Caso to ensure accurate control of the operation of the system.
As to Claim 11, Vitcha discloses a removable accessory (22 via 87) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 32) and the gas outlet (via 22), wherein the body portion (80) of the removable accessory (22 of 87) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-3) via the pod casing (12 of 10); yet, does not expressly disclose “the pod casing is configured to be disposed at least partially within a wall cavity.”
Caso teaches an alternative pod (via 218 of Figure 2, “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (104, “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112. Referring to FIG. 1, the case 102 houses all the other components, or the other components are affixed thereto. The input port 104 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow interior lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of (vacuum) the regulator 100. The output port 106 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of the regulator 100. The input port 104 and the output port 106 are operably connected by tubing, channels, or hollow pipe 130 with intervention by various valves. Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30; “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The pressure sensor 124 can be operably set to sample the pressure in the output line 106, the input line 104, or both.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) to provide gaseous communication between a suction source (“wall vacuum outlet 218” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) and the patient (via 212, “The vacuum output port 220 is operably connected to a vacuum line 208, which is affixed to the proximal end of a suction catheter or drainage tube 212 at its hub 210. The pressure regulator 100 is configured to maintain suction, or vacuum, that is sufficient to remove fluid and debris from a patient (not shown) through the drainage tube 212 but not so great as to cause tissue damage. Thus, careful control of the pressure regulator 100 output is necessary and desirable. For instance, the drainage tube 212 can be placed such that its distal end resides within the patient's pleural space to serve as a chest drainage tube for a pneumothorax.” Column 8, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, as best seen in Figure 2, a portion of the pod (via 218 of Figure 2) is disposed at least partially within a wall cavity (“a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216” to provide a location of connection the vacuum source.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to mount the pod of Vitcha in a location which is at least partially disposed within a wall cavity, as taught by Caso to provide a connection to vacuum source.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szohatzky (3,170,667) in view of Caso et al. (8,193,944).
As to Claim 16, Szohatzky discloses a removable accessory (45b/46b/47b) providing fluid communication between the gas source (via 16) and the gas outlet (via 12), wherein the body portion (34) of the removable accessory (45b/46b/47b) is inserted within the pod (Figures 1-7) via the pod casing (lumen of 11 via 17); yet, does not expressly disclose “a power source electrically coupled to a control interface of each pod for controlling a flow through the pods.”
Caso teaches an alternative pod (via 218 of Figure 2, “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) for attachment to a body portion of a removable accessory (104, “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112. Referring to FIG. 1, the case 102 houses all the other components, or the other components are affixed thereto. The input port 104 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow interior lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of (vacuum) the regulator 100. The output port 106 is affixed to the case 102 and further comprises a hollow lumen through which fluid can flow into or out of the regulator 100. The input port 104 and the output port 106 are operably connected by tubing, channels, or hollow pipe 130 with intervention by various valves. Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30; “The pressure regulator 100 is configured as a vacuum regulator in this embodiment and is affixed to, as well as being operably connected, at its input port 104, to a wall vacuum outlet 218, which is affixed to a wall plate 216. The reservoir 204 further comprises a fluid input plenum 206 further comprising a vacuum output port 220 and a vacuum source port 222.” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55; “The pressure sensor 124 can be operably set to sample the pressure in the output line 106, the input line 104, or both.” Column 10, Line 55 thru Column 11, Line 10) to provide gaseous communication between a suction source (“wall vacuum outlet 218” Column 7, Line 65 thru Column 8, Line 10) and the patient (via 212, “The vacuum output port 220 is operably connected to a vacuum line 208, which is affixed to the proximal end of a suction catheter or drainage tube 212 at its hub 210. The pressure regulator 100 is configured to maintain suction, or vacuum, that is sufficient to remove fluid and debris from a patient (not shown) through the drainage tube 212 but not so great as to cause tissue damage. Thus, careful control of the pressure regulator 100 output is necessary and desirable. For instance, the drainage tube 212 can be placed such that its distal end resides within the patient's pleural space to serve as a chest drainage tube for a pneumothorax.” Column 8, Lines 5-35).
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Caso teaches the flow management device (120 or 116, “a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114” Column 6, Line 60-70; “Air channel(s) 132 is connected to the control valve 120 and (optionally) adjustment valve 116. The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108. The controller 108 can comprise a computer, memory, input-output devices, embedded software, and other components commonly found in electronic control devices. The controller 108 can be operably connected to the control valve 120 via a bus, wiring, electrical interconnects, or the like (not shown).” Column 7, Lines 1-25; “The pressure regulator 100 comprises a fluid input port 302, an adjustment valve 304, a pressure accumulator 312, a pressure output port 318, an output line pressure sensor 316, a bridge amplifier 324, a display processor 326, a visual display device 320, a battery 328, a controller 310, an adjustment device 308, an intent to modify sensor 333, an ambient air vent 306, a control valve 314, and an audio output system 322.” Column 8, Lines 30-45; “The vacuum regulator 100 comprises the pressure input port 104, the pressure output port 106, the adjustment knob 114, the proximity sensor 602 embedded within the regulator case 102, the proximity sensor support electronics 604, the control valve 116, the controller 108, the case 102, the visual display 112, the pressure sensor 124, the bridge amplifier 126, and the adjustment valve 116.” Column 10, Lines 45-55) includes a flow regulator (100, The pressure regulator 100 comprises a case 102, an input port 104, an output port 106, a controller 108, a selector switch 118, a control valve 120, an adjustment valve 116 further comprising a knob 114, an output pressure transducer 124, a transducer bridge amplifier 126, a display controller 110, an audio output device 128, and a visual display 112.” Column 6, Lines 60-70) that includes at least one electronic valve (via operation of 108 to control 120, “The controller 108 can comprise a computer, memory, input-output devices, embedded software, and other components commonly found in electronic control devices. The controller 108 can be operably connected to the control valve 120 via a bus, wiring, electrical interconnects, or the like (not shown).” Column 7, Lines 1-30; “The control valve 120 resides between the input port 104 and the output port 106 and restricts or opens the channel for flow therebetween in response to electrical or fluidic signals received from the controller 108.” Column 6, Line 60 thru Column 7, Line 30) for managing a flow of gas through the pod (Figure 2), whereby power is supplied to the system via a battery (328, “FIG. 3 illustrates a block diagram of an exemplary pressure regulator 100. The pressure regulator 100 comprises a fluid input port 302, an adjustment valve 304, a pressure accumulator 312, a pressure output port 318, an output line pressure sensor 316, a bridge amplifier 324, a display processor 326, a visual display device 320, a battery 328, a controller 310, an adjustment device 308, an intent to modify sensor 333, an ambient air vent 306, a control valve 314, and an audio output system 322.” Column 8, Lines 30-45; “A battery/self powered electronic pressure gauge having electronic measurement, control, output, and display capability is described having the flexibility of using a sampling rate that is variable, based on either a random sampling scheme or one that learns from the history of use during the previous minutes, hours, days, months, etc. The variable sampling rate enables extended operational time before replacement of the battery.” Abstract)
The resultant effect of this configuration is the ability accurately control the operation of the system over an extended period of time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the pod of Szohatzky to include the use of a control interface electrically coupled to the flow management device, as taught by Caso to ensure accurate control of the operation of the system over an extended period of time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims, with respect to the double patenting rejection, have been considered and are persuasive. The amendments to each of the independent claims, Claims 1, 12, and 18, have created a chasm between the claimed invention and the copending application.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims, with respect to the prior art rejections, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
An updated search of the newly claimed invention has yielded several references which appear to conflict with the current claim listing as noted in the aforementioned rejections.
In light of the aforementioned reasoning, the rejection of the claims has been maintained and made FINAL.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McKee (2,742,052) and Schneider (4,712,594) each disclose additional pods having a flow management device and at least one fluid coupling to facilitate the delivery of fluid (gas or liquid) to a patient from a source.
Anderson (3,847,175) discloses a pod having a flow management device disposed within a pod casing, the pod casing defining an interior region and having an open front face, at least one fluidic coupling disposed within the pod casing, wherein a removable accessory is insertable within the pod casing through the open front face. It should be noted although Anderson is not a medical device as the disclosed invention, the claims do not effectively limit the scope of the claims to exclude this reference.
Kifer et al. (4,410,004) discloses a pod (Figures 1-4) having a flow management device (knobs of 28/30), a pod casing (14), the pod casing (14) defining an interior region (upon which 40/42 are retained) having an open front face (148 via 18), at least one fluidic coupling (via taps of 28/30) disposed within the pod casing (14), wherein a removable accessory (hoses to washer) is insertable within the pod casing (14) through the open front face (148 via 18). . It should be noted although Kifer is not a medical device as the disclosed invention, the claims do not effectively limit the scope of the claims to exclude this reference.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANNETTE FREDRICKA DIXON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3782
/Annette Dixon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785