DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “Double lobe cam” as have two lobes and not just one must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “a single cam”, does not reasonably provide enablement for “Double lobe cam”. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to “Double lobe cam” the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The single cam is shown as element 114 but what structure in that element is the double lobe cam.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following claims are vague, indefinite, awkwardly, confusingly worded and/or lacking proper antecedent basis:
“double lobed cam” in claim 1. What is the structure or definition element supposed to be. The claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Su 8016279.
Su discloses the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1. A vise for holding objects comprising:
a vise body 101 &102 having a proximal end and a distal end and a central longitudinal axis;
engagement jaws 103 & 103 mounted on the distal end of the vise body, the engagement jaws being moveable between an open object-receiving position and a closed object- holding position, the engagement jaws remaining parallel to each other as they are moved between their open and closed positions;
wherein the engagement jaws extend longitudinally along a portion of the central longitudinal axis from the distal end to the proximal end;
the engagement jaws further comprise a first engagement jaw and a second engagement jaw interconnected to the vise body, and the engagement jaws each comprise a parallel interior plane therebetween and a parallel exterior plane opposite the parallel interior plane;
a double lobed cam 113 mounted to the vise body along the central longitudinal axis, positioned perpendicular between the first engagement jaw and the second engagement jaw;
wherein the actuation of the double lobed cam applies a positive pressure to the parallel interior planes of the engagement jaws moving the engagement jaws from the open object-receiving position to the closed object-holding position;
one or more of a spring 115 located between the parallel exterior planes of each engagement jaw and the vise body, the springs are configured to apply an expanding
force between the engagement jaws and the vise body in the open object-receiving position; and
an orifice 118 on the proximal end of the vise body capable of receiving a first end of an elongate shaft, wherein the elongate shaft is removably attached to the vise body.
2. The vise of claim 1, wherein a second end of the elongate shaft is removably attached to a rotary vise connection rod that is interconnected to a rotary vise handle.
3. The vise of claim 2, wherein the rotary vise connection rod is partially housed in a rotary rotation cradle, wherein the rotary rotation cradle is supported by a vertical support post.
4. The vise of claim 3, wherein the vertical support post is interconnected to a base.
5. The vise of claim 4, wherein the base comprises a clamp for securing the vise to an overhanging edge of a work surface.
6. The vise of claim 4, wherein the base is capable of self-supporting atop a work surface.
7. The vise of claim 1, wherein the vise body comprises magnetic materials.
8. The vise of claim 1, wherein the orifice on the proximal end of the vise body comprises magnetic materials.
9. The vise of claim 1, wherein the elongate shaft comprises magnetic materials.
10. The vise of claim 1, wherein the double lobed cam is interconnected to a vise handle which actuates rotation of the double lobed cam.
11. The vise of claim 1, wherein the engagement jaws have confronting faces and the confronting faces are provided with at least one complementary transverse arcuate groove for receiving, securing, and holding an object.
12. The vise of claim 1, wherein a second end of the elongate shaft is removably attached to a portable plate attachment.
13. The portable plate attachment of claim 12 further comprising a plurality of holes to allow for the connection of ropes or straps.
14. The portable plate attachment of claim 13, wherein the portable plate attachment comprises one or more of a strap to wear around the body of a person.
15. The portable plate attachment of claim 13, wherein the portable plate attachment comprises one or more of a strap to interconnect the portable plate attachment to an inanimate object.
Claim(s) 1- 6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Renzetti 6564494
Renzetti discloses the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1. A vise for holding objects comprising:
a vise body 42 &42having a proximal end and a distal end and a central longitudinal axis;
engagement jaws 44 & 44 mounted on the distal end of the vise body, the engagement jaws being moveable between an open object-receiving position and a closed object- holding position, the engagement jaws remaining parallel to each other as they are moved between their open and closed positions;
wherein the engagement jaws extend longitudinally along a portion of the central longitudinal axis from the distal end to the proximal end;
the engagement jaws further comprise a first engagement jaw and a second engagement jaw interconnected to the vise body, and the engagement jaws each comprise a parallel interior plane therebetween and a parallel exterior plane opposite the parallel interior plane;
a double lobed cam 50 & 50 mounted to the vise body along the central longitudinal axis, positioned perpendicular between the first engagement jaw and the second engagement jaw;
wherein the actuation of the double lobed cam applies a positive pressure to the parallel interior planes of the engagement jaws moving the engagement jaws from the open object-receiving position to the closed object-holding position;
one or more of a spring 60 located between the parallel exterior planes of each engagement jaw and the vise body, the springs are configured to apply an expanding
force between the engagement jaws and the vise body in the open object-receiving position; and
an orifice 45 on the proximal end of the vise body capable of receiving a first end of an elongate shaft, wherein the elongate shaft is removably attached to the vise body.
2. The vise of claim 1, wherein a second end of the elongate shaft 36 is removably attached to a rotary vise connection rod that is interconnected to a rotary vise handle 100.
3. The vise of claim 2, wherein the rotary vise connection rod is partially housed in a rotary rotation cradle 34, wherein the rotary rotation cradle is supported by a vertical support post.
4. The vise of claim 3, wherein the vertical support post 20 is interconnected to a base 12.
5. The vise of claim 4, wherein the base comprises a clamp for securing the vise to an overhanging edge 24 of a work surface.
6. The vise of claim 4, wherein the base is capable of self-supporting atop a work surface. This is the natural use of the claimed invention
12. The vise of claim 1, wherein a second end of the elongate shaft 36 is removably attached to a portable plate attachment.
13. The portable plate attachment of claim 12 further comprising a plurality of holes to allow for the connection of ropes or straps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su 8016279 in view of Su 7950638.
Su discloses the claimed invention as recited above and a rotating handle and a shaft is not disclosed.
Su discloses a clamp body holding a vice which allows a hold and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the SU device by adding a clamp to hold the vice with a rotating handle 33 &34 and a shaft 31 which allows the use of a handle to yield the predictable result of using a rotating handle to position the vice. KRS
In regard to claim 3. The vise of claim 2, wherein the rotary vise connection rod is partially housed in a rotary rotation cradle 36 & 37, wherein the rotary rotation cradle is supported by a vertical support post 10.
In regard to claim 4, The vise of claim 3, wherein the vertical support post is interconnected to a base 8.
In regard to claim 5, The vise of claim 4, wherein the base comprises a clamp for securing the vise to an overhanging edge 15 of a work surface.
In regard to claim 6, The vise of claim 4, wherein the base is capable of self-supporting atop a work surface. This is natural use of the device
In regard to claim 10 The vise of claim 1, wherein the double lobed cam is interconnected to a vise handle which actuates rotation of the double lobed cam 50 & 50.
In regard to claim 11 The vise of claim 1, wherein the engagement jaws have confronting faces and the confronting faces are provided with at least one complementary transverse arcuate groove for receiving, securing, and holding an object. See Fig.2
In regard to claim 12 The vise of claim 1, wherein a second end of the elongate shaft is removably attached to a portable plate attachment. See Fig.2
In regard to claim 13 The portable plate attachment of claim 12 further compr ising a plurality of holes to allow for the connection of ropes or straps. See Fig.2
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renzetti 6564494 in view of Little 5785304.
Renzetti discloses the claimed invention as recited above and a strap is not disclosed.
Little discloses a vice which having a strap for carrying the device and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Little device to have a strap which allows the device to be held to yield the predictable result of using a rotating handle to position the vice. KRS
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are rejected in view of the 112 rejections, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The 892 form discloses prior art being made of record.
LEE D. WILSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
Ldw
/LEE D WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 September 30, 2025